Image of St George Hotel

St George Hotel

21 of 63 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 38 reviews
4 stars
Chloraka, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
The Hotel St George is set in a serene location with a superb selection of facilities.

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nicolas Chiddle
great holiday
3 years 1 month ago
We spent a week here to relax after traveling in Italy for a week as part of our honeymoon and have to say it was fantastic.

The best part for us was the friendliness of the staff particularly the animation team and waiters/waitresses. The animation team we found to be fun and put on some great shows, the only problem is that sometimes the guests let them down by not joining in (people on here saying they are average or not very good are probably the same ones not willing to make an effort, try living a bit and stop being so miserable). The waiter service was superb and if you are friendly to them and give them a smile once in a while they remember you and you get a more personal service, unfortunately again the other guests we noticed could be quite rude and its very difficult to give good service to someone like that.

The food we found to be great on a whole, the local dishes are fantastic and they even cater for the fussy english with chips and chicken nuggets and an english breakfast. Some of the dishes where a good effort but you could tell it isn't something they would normally do. There is several themed evenings with an Italian night, oriental night and a BBQ night. We found by far our best part was the music bar, some nights it was a live pianist, a two act and the best we had was a young guy who i can't remember his name on a guitar who was fantastic.

There are lots of sun beds mostly on a grassed area looking down to the beach with a great view, the beach its self is not massive but there are beaches nearby if it gets to crowded and the pool area has limited space for beds but is only 20 steps from the grassed area so not really a big problem you can also swim in the sea witch they have built a rock barrier to help keep it safe.

The only two things I had a problem with was one they could do with a map of the hotel and a bit more information about whats what (for example what is included in all inclusive. We sort of figured it out on our own in the end but maybe some thing in your room would be nice) and two nothing to do with the hotel its self more of a problem with Thomson but our transfer from the hotel to the airport was rubbish. To the hotel was fine but on the way back there was no one to let you know the coach had arrived (there was a 30 min window we where told to be there for) and there was four different coaches in that time mostly dropping off but if we hadn't gone out and asked the driver I think we would have missed the transfer. No one came in to check and the driver did the same thing at each stop just pulled up outside each hotel and waited, he didn't even have any uniform on or any badge and I think he was english which explains a lot (I am english myself).

We would highly recommend and would return for sure.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Beautiful Hotel
4 years ago
We holiday as a big family and have stayed at the St. George two years in a row. As with all hotels everywhere it has its good and bad points.

The hotel itself is stunning with a beautiful palatial reception area with plush seating, sea views and the most beautiful crystal chandelier. Staff are friendly with the exception of one or two.

Food is on the whole good but tends to be repetitive and although there is a good variety, it all seems to taste the same! So by week 2 we were ready to eat out for a change.

Pool area is good but there is a huge lack of sun beds so if you don't get to the pool by 7am you can forget it! The beach is very picturesque and we spent a lot of time there but there is no sand, just shale, which is very uncomfortable to walk on and the whole area both in and out of the water is very very rocky so may not be suitable for small children or people who have a disability.

We enjoyed the light-hearted entertainment and the team were very friendly. As many people have pointed out, the hotel is a bit off the beaten track but that’s what we like and there is a regular bus to the harbour/pubs/shops etc if that’s what you want.

The rooms are adequate and clean if not dated but the hotel is closing in October to undergo a complete re-furb so should be stunning for the 2013 season. We will definitely be going back at some point in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul (Genevieve)
6 years 10 months ago
The hotel was superb to look at and didn't disappoint in the main. Our cleaner was great and kept the room very tidy and was always friendly. Huge bed and large balcony, although we had to turn the noisy fridge in the room off at night!

Food was always good although towards the end of 2 weeks was getting a little monotonous - felt too many weddings at times which hampered the availability of tables in the dining room and outside at times.Also nobody greeting us at door at dinner until last night - despite notice on door advising to wait to be seated!

Entertainment was good but could scream with repetition of kids tunes each night. Some of the evening entertainment was good, others a bit average - hypnotist was the best, although I didn't see a lot of it as I was on the stage making a XXXX of myself!

Pool was very nice although jacuzzi never worked, and always adequate beds to go around.

All staff always pleasant and helpful throughout.

The 'beach' is a little misleading and is the only reason why I wouldn't return as I do like a good sandy beach - this one is not! Small shingle and stones to get over or take your life in your hands on the slippery walkway into the sea - once in though it is very safe for swimming.

You can go easily into paphos or the opposite way to the sandy beaches at Coral bay and it only costs e1.50 on the bus.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
A
7 years ago
The staff was very rude, cleaning women shouting and being noisy in the morning, we found hair in our room from previous visitors, and in general you had the feeling that the staff in general felt that you should be thankful they let you stay at their hotel!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Faye Jones
7 years 11 months ago
we stayed in the st. george gardens hotel, which is a sister to the st george, and are next door to eachother.
The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly.
rooms very big and spacious, with air con and excellent sea veiws.
The food was excellent, plenty of choice.
plenty of drinks 2 choose from too, milkshakes were gorgeous!
the pool was large and clean.
the day time entertainment was good, however the night entertainment..u had to go next door to the st george, where your all inclusive package starts from 8:30pm. the entertainment varied from poor to the best shows i have ever seen, such as hypnotist, beach party (both excellent), comedians, singers, greek dancers!
The location from the main shops, restaurants, bars were about 10euros in a taxi, and the hotel was right on the beach, however i didnt think much of the beach, it had alot of seaweed, and the sand was rough.
the thomson reps were always available, and very helpful.
overall excellent hotel, and will be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 1 month ago
Having just returned from Cyprus, we were very impressed with this hotel. It has a beautiful reception area (recently refurbished)with panoramic views of the pool and sea and on arrival staff are very welcoming. Our room was lovely and the view from the balcony was amazing! Great pool and beach was nice too. Enjoyed jet-skiing very much!
Buffet meals were very nice; lots of choice. Will definetly be returning to this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Janice
9 years 1 month ago
We were upgraded from a 4* hotel in Limmasol due to refurbishment. Very impressinve reception area and quick check in-porter to take your luggage which is always appreciated.
Although we stayed half board, we found the food fairly bland and repetative although there was plenty of choice. We tended to eat out most of the time (fab Pizzeria at the top of the road-cheap too!!!)
The room was small and we found it a bit of a squash with a third bed in it. Tea/coffee machine was appreciated. Cleaners did a fairly good job but there were better days than others, overall the hotel was very clean.
The hotel boasts it own beach-fine if you dont mind hobbling across shingle and then climbing over huge rocks!! Take a bus trip (it stops at the top of the road) and for 80c each, travel down to Coral Bay which has a fantastic beach.
Staff were friendly but cannot comment on the entertainment as we were out most of the time!!
TV in room shows UK channels so no need to miss Eastenders (how sad is that!!)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Vicky
9 years 2 months ago
This was our first visit to the St George Hotel and would recommend it to others.

Our room was very comfortable, staff very friendly. Rooms cleaned every day. Food was very nice, carvery and local dishes.

Would go back in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ellie
9 years 8 months ago
Stayed at this hotel in November and had a great time, expected the weather to be poor but was beautiful, hotel is gorgeous, massive with loads to do and loads of facilities, beach is quite small so have to get there early even in november!!

Food was nice, show cooking and plenty of choice as well as cheese etc for afters, only grip was staff could be a bit rude and some didnt seem to know what they were doing

All in all was a good hotel and would go back location could be better but bus service is at top of road and we hired a car for the 5 minute drive to Paphos, fab hotel and fab holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pat &norm
10 years 1 month ago
Breakfast is as per most hotels with a full english but there is also continental and there is a fruit and yoghurt section but no omlette station.

The restaurant is clean but in a morning the staff are a bit slow cleaning used pots away. The evening meal taken in a different restaurant starts at 1900-2200 and gets busy around 2030.there is a good selection of food and a carvery section each evening and also a cypriot dish most evenings.

You can book for the al a carte and receive 5cypounds towards the cost of the meal which can be a change.the staff are very busy in the evening and andreas the head waiter is excellent.

It can get a bit hairy in the restaurant in the evening with people criss crossing to different food sections. The selection of food on the buffet is quite good and plenty of it.the live entertainment is a bit average.

The hotel is about four miles out of paphos which can be reached by bus at the top of the road at a cost of about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: