39 independent reviews of the St George Hotel
Address: Chloraka, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
St George Hotel
St George Hotel Location
Ranked #19 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
St George Hotel St George Hotel is rated 3.87 out of 5 from 39 Reviews
77% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (39 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

St George Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"great holiday"
Nicolas Chiddle visited the St George Hotel in July 2013
We spent a week here to relax after traveling in Italy for a week as part of our honeymoon and have to say it was fantastic.

The best part for us was the friendliness of the staff particularly the animation team and waiters/waitresses. The animation team we found to be fun and put on some great shows, the only problem is that sometimes the guests let them down by not joining in (people on here saying they are average or not very good are probably the same ones not willing to make an effort, try living a bit and stop being so miserable). The waiter service was superb and if you are friendly to them and give them a smile once in a while they remember you and you get a more personal service, unfortunately again the other guests we noticed ...
could be quite rude and its very difficult to give good service to someone like that.

The food we found to be great on a whole, the local dishes are fantastic and they even cater for the fussy english with chips and chicken nuggets and an english breakfast. Some of the dishes where a good effort but you could tell it isn't something they would normally do. There is several themed evenings with an Italian night, oriental night and a BBQ night. We found by far our best part was the music bar, some nights it was a live pianist, a two act and the best we had was a young guy who i can't remember his name on a guitar who was fantastic.

There are lots of sun beds mostly on a grassed area looking down to the beach with a great view, the beach its self is not massive but there are beaches nearby if it gets to crowded and the pool area has limited space for beds but is only 20 steps from the grassed area so not really a big problem you can also swim in the sea witch they have built a rock barrier to help keep it safe.

The only two things I had a problem with was one they could do with a map of the hotel and a bit more information about whats what (for example what is included in all inclusive. We sort of figured it out on our own in the end but maybe some thing in your room would be nice) and two nothing to do with the hotel its self more of a problem with Thomson but our transfer from the hotel to the airport was rubbish. To the hotel was fine but on the way back there was no one to let you know the coach had arrived (there was a 30 min window we where told to be there for) and there was four different coaches in that time mostly dropping off but if we hadn't gone out and asked the driver I think we would have missed the transfer. No one came in to check and the driver did the same thing at each stop just pulled up outside each hotel and waited, he didn't even have any uniform on or any badge and I think he was english which explains a lot (I am english myself).

We would highly recommend and would return for sure.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Beautiful Hotel"
Family of 8 visited the St George Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2012
We holiday as a big family and have stayed at the St. George two years in a row. As with all hotels everywhere it has its good and bad points.

The hotel itself is stunning with a beautiful palatial reception area with plush seating, sea views and the most beautiful crystal chandelier. Staff are friendly with the exception of one or two.

Food is on the whole good but tends to be repetitive and although there is a good variety, it all seems to taste the same! So by week 2 we were ready to eat out for a change.

Pool area is good but there is a huge lack of sun beds so if you don't get to the pool by 7am you can forget it! The beach is very picturesque and we spent a lot of time there ...
but there is no sand, just shale, which is very uncomfortable to walk on and the whole area both in and out of the water is very very rocky so may not be suitable for small children or people who have a disability.

We enjoyed the light-hearted entertainment and the team were very friendly. As many people have pointed out, the hotel is a bit off the beaten track but thatís what we like and there is a regular bus to the harbour/pubs/shops etc if thatís what you want.

The rooms are adequate and clean if not dated but the hotel is closing in October to undergo a complete re-furb so should be stunning for the 2013 season. We will definitely be going back at some point in the future.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Paul (Genevieve) visited the St George Hotel in September 2009
The hotel was superb to look at and didn\'t disappoint in the main. Our cleaner was great and kept the room very tidy and was always friendly. Huge bed and large balcony, although we had to turn the noisy fridge in the room off at night!

Food was always good although towards the end of 2 weeks was getting a little monotonous - felt too many weddings at times which hampered the availability of tables in the dining room and outside at times.Also nobody greeting us at door at dinner until last night - despite notice on door advising to wait to be seated!

Entertainment was good but could scream with repetition of kids tunes each night. Some of the evening entertainment was good, others a bit average - hypnotist was the best, although I didn\'t see a lot of it as ...
I was on the stage making a XXXX of myself!

Pool was very nice although jacuzzi never worked, and always adequate beds to go around.

All staff always pleasant and helpful throughout.

The \'beach\' is a little misleading and is the only reason why I wouldn\'t return as I do like a good sandy beach - this one is not! Small shingle and stones to get over or take your life in your hands on the slippery walkway into the sea - once in though it is very safe for swimming.

You can go easily into paphos or the opposite way to the sandy beaches at Coral bay and it only costs e1.50 on the bus.


Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

a visited the St George Hotel in July 2009
The staff was very rude, cleaning women shouting and being noisy in the morning, we found hair in our room from previous visitors, and in general you had the feeling that the staff in general felt that you should be thankful they let you stay at their hotel!!!!

Tour Operator: a
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

Faye Jones had a holiday at St George Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2008
we stayed in the st. george gardens hotel, which is a sister to the st george, and are next door to eachother.
The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly.
rooms very big and spacious, with air con and excellent sea veiws.
The food was excellent, plenty of choice.
plenty of drinks 2 choose from too, milkshakes were gorgeous!
the pool was large and clean.
the day time entertainment was good, however the night entertainment..u had to go next door to the st george, where your all inclusive package starts from 8:30pm. the entertainment varied from poor to the best shows i have ever seen, such as hypnotist, beach party (both excellent), comedians, singers, greek dancers!
The location from the main shops, restaurants, bars were about 10euros in a taxi, and the hotel was right on the beach, ...
however i didnt think much of the beach, it had alot of seaweed, and the sand was rough.
the thomson reps were always available, and very helpful.
overall excellent hotel, and will be returning.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Rachael stayed at St George Hotel in June 2008
Having just returned from Cyprus, we were very impressed with this hotel. It has a beautiful reception area (recently refurbished)with panoramic views of the pool and sea and on arrival staff are very welcoming. Our room was lovely and the view from the balcony was amazing! Great pool and beach was nice too. Enjoyed jet-skiing very much!
Buffet meals were very nice; lots of choice. Will definetly be returning to this hotel!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Janice stayed at St George Hotel, Paphos in June 2007
We were upgraded from a 4* hotel in Limmasol due to refurbishment. Very impressinve reception area and quick check in-porter to take your luggage which is always appreciated.
Although we stayed half board, we found the food fairly bland and repetative although there was plenty of choice. We tended to eat out most of the time (fab Pizzeria at the top of the road-cheap too!!!)
The room was small and we found it a bit of a squash with a third bed in it. Tea/coffee machine was appreciated. Cleaners did a fairly good job but there were better days than others, overall the hotel was very clean.
The hotel boasts it own beach-fine if you dont mind hobbling across shingle and then climbing over huge rocks!! Take a bus trip (it stops at the top of the road) and for 80c each, ...
travel down to Coral Bay which has a fantastic beach.
Staff were friendly but cannot comment on the entertainment as we were out most of the time!!
TV in room shows UK channels so no need to miss Eastenders (how sad is that!!)

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

vicky stayed at St George Hotel, Paphos in May 2007
This was our first visit to the St George Hotel and would recommend it to others.

Our room was very comfortable, staff very friendly. Rooms cleaned every day. Food was very nice, carvery and local dishes.

Would go back in the future.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Ellie visited the St George Hotel, Paphos in November 2006
Stayed at this hotel in November and had a great time, expected the weather to be poor but was beautiful, hotel is gorgeous, massive with loads to do and loads of facilities, beach is quite small so have to get there early even in november!!

Food was nice, show cooking and plenty of choice as well as cheese etc for afters, only grip was staff could be a bit rude and some didnt seem to know what they were doing

All in all was a good hotel and would go back location could be better but bus service is at top of road and we hired a car for the 5 minute drive to Paphos, fab hotel and fab holiday

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

0/5
0

graddage stayed at St George Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in November 2006
*Admin edit. This post has been removed as it had been posted from Cyprus. In order for our reviews to remain unbiased we do not allow reviews from the country where the accommodation is situated*

Tour Operator: my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating


3/5
3

pat &norm visited the St George Hotel, Paphos in June 2006
Breakfast is as per most hotels with a full english but there is also continental and there is a fruit and yoghurt section but no omlette station.

The restaurant is clean but in a morning the staff are a bit slow cleaning used pots away. The evening meal taken in a different restaurant starts at 1900-2200 and gets busy around 2030.there is a good selection of food and a carvery section each evening and also a cypriot dish most evenings.

You can book for the al a carte and receive 5cypounds towards the cost of the meal which can be a change.the staff are very busy in the evening and andreas the head waiter is excellent.

It can get a bit hairy in the restaurant in the evening with people criss crossing to different food sections. The selection of food on ...
the buffet is quite good and plenty of it.the live entertainment is a bit average.

The hotel is about four miles out of paphos which can be reached by bus at the top of the road at a cost of about

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Andy & Lesley visited the St George Hotel, Paphos in March 2006
I was disappointed with the hotels location, nobody tells you that the buses don\'t run after 7:00 in the evening during the winter and that there is nowhere to go in the immediate vicinity. The entertainment was poor. (The girl who did the daytime games & Bingo bongo at night was very good and worked very hard, well done Lubar),but it was as if the management couldn\'t care less as you had nowhere else to go so what!!

They have what is called the \"Premium\" Club a good sized room with a stage,a bar and plenty seats all we got was one show on the Saturday night and then bingo bongo and quiz nite and you could not find anybody to get you a drink whislt you were in there!!

Hotel cleanliness I thought was good. The rooms are not to ...
big but clean and we got Tea & Coffee making facilities which was good. Unfortunately not a room with a view.

The food was nothing to write home about but is that because we are in another country and are not use to their ways, not sure! We did have a meal in the A La Carte area one night and though you have to pay extra it was VERY good.

The hotel grounds were spacious plenty areas to relax with plenty sunbeds. They are busy trying to improve the \"Beach\" Area, building a break water and importing sand to construct a small beach. I used the gym whilst I was there & though small, all the equipment worked,there was small towels for your use and also a cold water machine, again I felt a good point.

I\'m not sure if I would go back, certainly not in the winter season, but may consider it in the summer.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

thomas stayed at St George Hotel in November 2005
I travelled to the apartments in November and found there was no entertainment so we had to walk all the way to the hotel for evening entertainment.

So we moved to the hotel and it was lovely as I've been here before and the food was lovely so was our room as was the pool area and we discovered there was a private beach I would definitely will come back.

Tour Operator: british airways

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Kevin & Hugh had a holiday at St George Hotel, Paphos in November 2005
Sorry, we cannot recommend this hotel. We have stayed in many Thom Platinum hotels and this does not come up to scratch.

Sure, there are bathrobes, half bottle of wine and tea/coffee making in the room (no need for the travel kettle!) but we were disappointed.

Our gripe is with Thomson\'s. Like some other reviewers, we cannot understand why Thoms rate this hotel as a 5 star, because it isn\'t. We have stayed in better 4 star hotels.

Hotel staff are friendly but then they\'re hardly like to scowl at you or ignore you, are they? They\'ll say hello but only if you say it first.

Pool staff and bar staff are there like a shot...Of course they are...You\'re paying

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

Deborah Goodman had a holiday at St George Hotel in October 2005
We travelled with my parents and our two children aged nine and three.

My parents had a jacuzzi suite and we had a 1 bed apt next door. The rooms were clean and airy, if a little basic. The jacuzzi was empty & the balcony seats broken but otherwise the rooms were more than adequate for a young family.

The hotel staff are friendly if a little thin on the ground.

Breakfast was nice but again, not many staff around.

There were ample sunbeds and a nice (if very cold) pool but the one big minus for us was the loud music pounding out from the pool bar which they put on every day, turned down when we asked and then put back on the next day - on one occasion waking up both my three year old and my father.

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

Rebecca Whitehead visited the St George Hotel, Paphos in October 2005
This hotel is definitely the best hotel I\'ve ever been to! I would go back every year if I could!

The staff were all very friendly to us and the food was lovely.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

The cleanliness was above excellent and the entertainment for kids was fab!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

peter and stella stayed at St George Hotel, Paphos in August 2005
We stayed at the St.George Hotel which is a short bus ride from Paphos Harbour.

We have been visiting this hotel for the past4 years. We usually visit in July, but this year we left it till August.

The hotel has certainly tried hard this year to introduce new and varied entertainment. The food is excellent.The staff especially in the restaurant and bars are really nice.

The hotel has started to introduce a different theme,with soft furnishings replacing the leather reception and lounge sofas. The rooms are well appointed and for us it doesn\'t really matter if we don\'t overlook the pool. We choose our rooms with convenience in mind.

This year we overlooked the villas next door and also had a fine view of the sea and the headland towards Coral Bay. Our balcony was pleasantly cool in the late afternoon ...
allowing us to sit and read prior to preparing for our evening meal, which is much more preferable than trying to sit on ablisteringly hot balcony. Our room was clean and the maid service and any maintenance asked for was\\dealt with in a courteous and very professional manner.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Read More

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

rachypach visited the St George Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
We have just come back from a fantastic stay at the St George in Paphos.

I read loads of reviews before booking the holiday and relied on them as we are fairly inexperienced hotel holidayers so I will be as accurate as possible.

It has to be said just to get the minor negatives out of the way this is not a 5* hotel but a good 4* - this just means that it lacked those extra touches of flair I presume you get from 5*.

The staff cannot do enough to help in fact you could as far to say that at some points they could be annoying because they were always asking if we needed anything. All speak good English as well.

Lovely arrival - porters ready to take bags to rooms and complimentary drinks on offer.

I have read ...
reviews that people said the food was cold and lacked variety...we are very fussy about food and would say that this was not the case.....main dinner restaurant was buffet style therefore there were some similar dishes on offer to fit in with that style of dining. However, there was always a range of salads on offer, a mixture of international and British dishes, soup, show cooking on a griddle and a SUPERB CARVERY!! Food was never really piping hot as it is buffet style so food naturally loses heat - our advice is have dinner early to get the freshest selection.

Sitting on the balcony eating is fantastic with the sunset. OK not all food was great - but just like all restaurants some things on the menu just aren

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

jane l visited the St George Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
We stayed at the St Georges gardens apartments adjacent to the St George, hoping to experience the best of both worlds, a 5 star hotel\'s facilities with the spaciousness of an appartment.

We were dropped at the main hotel with the the platinum guests but our booking couldn\'t be found as we were next door, how were we to know?

The staff were very gracious and sent round our luggage. What a dissapointment the entrance was after the elegant \'george\, but dont be put-off by that concrete facade and very drab reception.( we had been warned).

The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable and very spacious with a well equipped kitchenette including glasses, kettle toaster, table with 4 chairs, enough hanging and drawer space for a large family, as always take plenty of hangers. BIG GRIPE.

In the ...
thomson brochure the impression is given that a family room comprises a completely seperate bedroom, but the hotel classes it as a room with dividing door.

Not the hotels fault, so they suggested I speak to a thomson rep. Needless to say nothing happened, wonder if that had to do with us not being platinum enough!

Most of the clientele in the appartments were Spanish, Italian, German and Greek which was great! At the main hotel- mostly English.

If you go dont be shy, you are permiited to use all the facilities in the George, but our bit was lovely, very quiet and loads of loungers on a grass lawn going down to the small slightly rocky beach, loungers provided at no charge.

Good pool monopolised by a large family, but a decent size indoor pool usually quiet if you want a real swim.

Very pleasant bar and pool-side pizza express. Marred only by the MUSIC - TURN IT OFF !! It started pounding out at 10.30 am and didn\'t finish til 5. Why do they do this ?? We dont want it! I live in a city , on a flight path with trains etc.. I want to relax with a great book , the sun on my face, the gentle swishing of the sea and distant tinkle of childrens laughter, not be blasted out by a poor quality ghetto blaster playing bad compilations of the sort of eighties music we\'d all rather forget. I had pointed this out but was told no-one else \"minded\'. funny that.

I took a new fangled item with me called an i-pod, our son had a \'personal\' cd player. The idea being you can listen to the music you actually like without disturbing anyone else. novel.

We didn\'t eat there for lunch, so would suggest they lost out. Perhaps I shoul\'ve read out-loud. No-one would \'mind\'.

The breakfast spread was pleasant and varied, marred only by the loud piped music usually the bee-gees!!!
Picture the scene, excellent coffee, warm croissants, the sun on the horizon, a beautiful view, the gentle early morning banter with the people you love about the day ahead with the screaching piped sticcatto tones of \'tradjerdy.....ya goin noware.....\'

The food in the evening was fresh, hot and varied, the female chef was very courteous and smiley, the carvery was cooked to perfection so well done her. Would\'ve liked to have seen more Cyproit items on the menu. The oilves were delicious, but not put out every night?

Entertainment in the main hotel was enthusiastic but inconsistent. Brilliant hypnotist show of the family-friendly kind.
The animation team were fantastic, not at all pushy , but they even made a great effort with the bingo - well done.(they were all also lovely to look at) and did their very best. The themed Abba and dance shows were pretty awful, but entertaining for that.

The main hotel areas were plush and beautifully kept as were the gardens. All the staff at the main hotel were courteous and helpful,if not a little sombre.

Our room was kept very clean, cant fault the maid service down to the folding of the pj\'s with a choccy on the top, she even washed up a couple of things I\'d left in the sink and was observant enough to notice we were a glass short and replaced it. Excellent service.

The air conditioning in the room was extremely effective, reliable and needed. There are many internal steps from the pool area to rooms - be warned. The youngest and fittest can be \'overcome\' after a morning in 40 degrees, and thats before a chilled beer!

This hotel is quite isolated, though serviced by an excellent air conditioned bus to paphos every 10-15 minutes(men and women must wear shirts on the bus).

The nearest supermarket on the main road has everything you\'ll need, not cheap but they do have freshly baked bread and a tempting display of local fruit and veg which is great for lunch if you don\'t want to share a pizza with boy george and duran-duran at the poolside.

I know I've moaned, but this is a lovely spot and would advise you to read up on admiral dighenis and the greek uprising against the british before you go, as there is a statue and interesting museum in the grounds to this fascinating period in greek - cypriot history.

Needless to say one must read as much as possible to truly understand those still contentious issues. I\'m ashamed to say in the visitors book of the on-site museum some \"wit\' undoubtedly english has scrawled in their best blue biro \'bogeys\' shameful.


Read More

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Tom Jackson visited the St George Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2005
This is definitely one of, if not the very best, foreign hotel I have ever stayed in. The only negatives were the hotel location, a bit off the beaten track, but this was no problem as I hired a car at the airport for the duration of the holiday & the entertainment.

This aside, the hotel, the food, the hotel grounds & private beach, the bedrooms, the facilities etc, etc were absolutely first class, 10 out of 10.

I could not find fault with the St George. A hotel I will definitely be returning to and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share