Image of Arenal Hotel

Arenal Hotel

17 of 29 hotels in San Antonio Bay

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
Avenida Doctor Fleming 16, San Antonio Bay, 07820

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lyn Hunt
8 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from one weeks holiday HB with friends at this hotel.

We had sea view rooms up on the second floor, the veiw was lovely but with the hotel right on the promenard the noise from clubbers wandering back from 4:00am onwards did wake us up, a shame the balcony doors are not double glazed as this would stop a lot of the noise.You can hear the deep boom boom from the music in the clubs but you do seem to get used to it and i cant say it kept us awake .

Be warned there is no air conditioning in the main dining room or reception area or in fact the whole hotel, basicaly you walk in from the heat outside to heat inside!The rooms have ceiling fans which just circulate warm air! you can have air conditioning in the room which will cost you 42 euros for the week!! a must in the heat of summer.

Fridges for the room can be hired at a cost of 50 eruos for the week(we hired one and shared it)A deposit is needed of 10 euros for the remote control for the telly and 3 euros for the safe, the 13 euros you do get refunded at the end of the week.

The dining area is very cramped and you sit at the same table for all meals which is a good idea just a shame they are not on the ball at clearing the tables!!. Breakfast was very good proper english sausages sadly the eggs were a bit on the hard side!! As for the evening meal, the hot meals did not look appertizing at all so salads were mainly eaten.

The rooms are cleaned every day wih clean towels but the sheets were not changed every day.

The pool is far too small too cater for all the guests and as usual the beds are taken early in the morning with the cerimonial laying out of towels!! it is in the shade so the best positions in the sun are taken!

We hired 4 sunbeds and 2 umbrella,s which cost 27.50 euros for the day!! needless to say we were not going to be paying that every day, so the men wandered down to the sister hotel Ses Savionnes(excuse spelling!) and as you approach along the promenard there is a small wall with a small gate it looks as if it belongs to the small house but it does belong to the hotel and has sunbeds on a small sandy beach so this is where we went for the rest of the holiday.

We were about a 10 min walk from all the hustle and bustle of San Antonio ,we enjoyed walking down of an evening and sitting at one of the many resturants, we never encountered any problems and everyone was very friendly.

The only reason we would not return to the hotel is we like to go to different places and try other hotels
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

9 years 8 months ago
My son (aged 7) and I went to Ibiza during the October half term, never having been there before, we didn't quite know what to expect.

We flew out of Manchester, on check in (which we could do early) we were advised that there was an hours delay due to a tech problem earlier in the day. By the time we'd walked through to departures our 1am departure had been changed to 5.05am! We spent the whole night, in an airport with little facilities open and available for those trapped all night. The one bar was open and although we were given
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Suze And Greg
10 years 10 months ago
On arrival to the hotel at 5am we were checked in very quickly, we went to our room and had 2 single beds as a young couple this was not good for us. We went straight down to reception and they changed us straight away no questions asked! result!! The Room was spacious with clean bed linen and towels every day. Air con is available but we choose not to have it, the ceiling fan and door open is good enough.

The food was disgusting, bland and just a big heap of mushy stuff (and no I'm not a fussy eater) so we ate out all week which is cheap enough. The staff were friendly and always happy.

Entertainment most the time is in the sister hotel just up the road. Kids disco starts at 9pm and finishes about 1:30am but what do you expect...your in ibiza!

The hotel is right on the beach about 3 minutes away from Eden and Es Paradis and yes there is noise all night but once again just remember where you are! Our first choice rep Spencer was always helpful and goes out of his way to make sure you enjoy yourselves even more.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jackie
10 years 10 months ago
we went to this hotel to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and was very pleased with everything about it.

The rooms was clean and big plenty of wardrobe space we had a sea view which we paid extra for but believe me it was worth every penny.

The view was out of this world the hotel is very clean food was brill always something to choice from if you are a fussy eater.

The pools was great also the sunbeds on the sea front are great to have I have nothing bad to say about this hotel it surely made our silver wedding anniversary one to remember we would go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Leanne
10 years 10 months ago
Well named the God Father hotel by me and my friend it was like living in the film itself!

The day we got there we thought it was a bit out of the way but towards the end of the holiday we realised we were in the ideal location.

The hotel is really clean.

Food not upto much but it saved us money so we had more to spend on alcohol....I would not recommend this hotel for a group of young lively people.

First Choice told us it was a adult only hotel but when we got there it was mainly families and couples that would be the only reason why I wouldn't return to it next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sharlene
10 years 11 months ago
We stayed in the Arenal for two weeks, and had a very enjoyable holiday.

The hotel was very clean, maid service was daily and you also had clean towels every day.

The hotel food was very basic, alot of cold foods and salads. Not alot of choice.we didn't mind as much as our evenings consisted of drinking rather than eating!we always found something we liked.

For a young group of friends the hotel is in an excellent location. The bars start just beside the hotel, and you can work your way up to the west end. There is also a burger king,KFC and Pizza Hut next door.

On booking we requested room with sea view but we got a pool view. It seemed all family bookings got sea views and young group bookings received pool views. As the hotel doesn't have air conditioning we had to leave our balcony door open during the night. This was very noisy! and still very hot!!

The staff in the hotel were very friendly, especially the bar staff. The cleaners tend to open your rooms and leave them open whilst cleaning other rooms. We had a few things stolen from our rooms, whether it was due to this we are not quite sure. But I recommend a safety deposit box for everything! including cameras, jewellery, purses and English money!

The hotel entertainment seemed very basic, not many guests stayed to watch. we didn't see too much of it as we didn't come down until midnight most evenings.

We didn't go to our welcome meeting on our first day so we didn't know who are rep was. We rarely saw any reps during our stay. On departure from the hotel, our party was the only ones leaving. We waited outside for our coach, when a coach finally turned up the rep got off and said it wasn't for us. After waiting a little longer, it then turned out it was our coach and they had gone without us! We then had to pay for three taxis to the airport, so its probably best to try and meet your rep so you know whats going on!

If I were on another singles holiday I would definitely go back to the Arenal, but I wouldn't return as a couple or a family. The hotel was very noisy during the early hours with clubbers returning to the hotel. We were the ones making the noise!! but we never had any complaints from staff! Excellent for young groups of friends!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Lucy
10 years 11 months ago
On the whole, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

The food was tasty, enough choice, entertainment could of been better though.

The rooms we're very clean, a bit small. A bit disappointed that you have to pay 6 euro's a day for your air conditioning on.

Pool area's good.
Ideal place for young people.
Staff we're very polite

On the whole, I enjoyed this holiday very much. Although good changes could happen.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Lisa Ford
10 years 11 months ago
Ages of party: 53, 50, 39, 34, 12 and 7 years. Stayed 2 weeks at Arenal.

Cleanliness: Our rooms, and the hotel in general were very clean and well maintained. Both the pools were spotless. The maid service was excellent, and cleaners were spotted around the hotel cleaning all the time.

Food: We found the food very good. Yes, there were occasional bizarre combinations (pork curry and sprouts?!), but there was a massive choice, so you could always pick and choose your own combination. My daughter (7 years) is infamously fussy, but found several somethings she liked every night, and just ate a lot of those. There was plenty of salad and fruit with the evening meal. We felt that the children were able to eat healthily and did not stuff chips every night.

Breakfasts were very average, but again, there was fruit, toast and cereal. If you are an incredibly fussy eater, there is a pub accross the road serving all day breakfast (very good value at under 6 euros), and a pizzeria accross the road (food good, service very good).

Hotel location: Good in terms of being near town. You are right in the centre of the Bay. It is inevitable there will be some noise from revellers. If you are very sensitive about noise, don't stay here. It did not bother us. If you want a quiet night, turn left outside the hotel. If you want a wild night out, turn right in to town.

Staff: They take a while to get used to! A smile costs nothing and if you are friendly, they will be too...eventually! The reception staff are particularly helpful.

Entertainment: Oh dear! The big let down of this hotel. We werenot expecting much (having read previous reviews) but it was truly abysmal. The entertainment guy (calls himself James Bond) is funny and he tries really hard, but you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. The one evening that we enjoyed was the parrott show. The rest...zzzzz.

**A few tips**
*A glass of diet pepsi is 1 euro 60, a can (twice as much) costs 1 euro 90.

*They charge you 1 euro 50 to "hire" table tennis bats (each time!!). Buy yourself a set over the road for about 5 euros and use your own.

*You have to pay for air con, but it was so worth it in July. It worked properly, consistently, and it was swithched on before our arrival (lifesaver).


All in all, would we stay there again? You bet! Now we're wise to the ways of the Bay.

Enjoy!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
This is a large hotel located in between the town and the bay, about two hundred yards from Bar M and Itaca which faces directly onto the beach.

The rooms are very spacious although a little old, giant single glazed sliding patio doors open onto a very large veranda which either face the busy San Antonino road or on the promenade facing the sea. Room service was excellent with rooms being cleaned and towels changed every day.

Food was a little basic and typical British affair with the usual fry ups for breakfast (although cereals were available) although food tended to be greasy and bland. In the dining room, it is reminiscent of a butlins camp, row of tables to which your are assigned one for your entire stay.

Entertainment, didn't stay in for it but seemed to provide something every day although it seemed a little tacky, such as Mrs personality, parrot show, magic show etc

The location although good for convenience to the town and facing the beach is a bit of a problem, if you have the sea view (I did) then you get constant noise during the night from night club revellers returning to their hotels and the hotel fronts the promenade, (it was noisy in May so god knows what it will be like in August), on the other side of the hotel is the busy San Antonio road with constant scooters and traffic.

Staff were very polite and helpful and they offer a range of equipment to hire such as hair dryers, toasters, radios etc etc with reasonable rates.

There is a basement gym which is very basic and a steam room which you have to request a key from reception to use. Overall the hotel is very spacious and although dated quite comfortable, however I won't be going back due mainly to the noise problems.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Claire & Matt
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed at this hotel for a week from 14/05/06, We found the hotel a little dated in its decor but very clean.

The food was ok there was a fair bit of choice. In the mornings there was an attempt at a fry up but also cereals, continental breakfast and fruit. In the evenings there was always different meals, only a few warnings though.. some days there would be onion rings and one night we found they changed them to squid! It was noted but we didn't see it until too late! Also they do sometimes put peanuts on desserts or in meals with no warnings near to them (a problem if like me you are allergic to them!)

The hotel was based right next to the beach with a lovely walkway between the hotel and the beach, this was nice for an evening walk after eating too much!

The staff were really nice and friendly, the maids would usually say hello to you in the mornings and the restaurant staff were pleasant too.

The entertainment was interesting to say the least, we didn't see most of it but what we heard was enough. Avoid the karoke it was terrible and some of the bands who are paid as entertainment where trying to sing in english and when they didn't know the words they mumbled instead! I know I can't sing in German, Spanish etc but it was funny to listen to!!

We would not go back to this area or hotel as we paid the extra for air conditioning but the hotel refused to turn it on as they did not turn it on until later on in the season. Not something you care about when you have already paid for it! Because of this we had to have the sliding doors open to stop us from melting and as previously mentioned the noise made from other inconsiderate tourists to the area. We were woken up at least twice if not more times a night! My husband (just married!) also suffered with heat rash because some nights we had to put up with the heat just to try to get a few hours of uninterrupted sleep! As I mentioned before be very careful if you have nut allergies. This is either not something they worry about in the hotel or hope you will be able to work out the ingredients of the meals without a list! I was quite poorly whilst on holiday because of this
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.