107 independent reviews of Playa Amadores, Spain
Playa Amadores Location

4/5
Playa Amadores is rated 4 out of 5 from 107 Reviews

Playa Amadores Hotels

Playa Amadores Reviews

4/5


Josh Kane visited here on December 2007
Amadores beach was great, clean & tidy, we all played with the ball in the crystal blue clear water.
My uncle david, dad, mum, jamie, jordan and me (Josh) all dived from the platform adjacent to the concrete promenade at the rocks sheltering gran amadores beach, great too to fish off of.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Stuart Chadwick visited here on September 2007
The resort is beautiful, surrounded by mountains leading down through a valley to the golden beach.

The resort is clean and tidy.

There is a wide range of bars, all tailored to the tourist market, if you want real Gran Canarian bars/restaurants you have to look hard.

The main centre of the resort could be very crowded at evenings and at night with lots of people who had had a bit too much holiday spirit.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Denis McCarthy visited here on August 2007
The resort was ok in the day time and the shoping and boat trips were good,the entertainment was for a young drinking crowd and was rough.
The bar touters outside the bars were aggressive in their approach and bad mannered.
Amadores and puerto de Mogan were of a far higher standard, well kept and safe.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Bell Family visited here on August 2007
Amadores is gorgeous the sunsets are beautiful.The beach is so clean and safe.There are cameras for security toilets and showers which you have to pay for but thats how it stays so well looked after.There are plenty of shops and restaurants along the beach front.They do pester you to eat in there\'s but so no thankyou and they leave you alone.There isn\'t much at nights in Amadores itself a few restaurants that stay open and a mini golf course which was good for a laugh.
The europa shopping centre at the top of the cliff had plenty bars, shops restaurants and supermarkets.For the children there were trampolines, amusements and another mini golf.
Puerto Rico was 5 mins away in a taxi which ...
cost 3 euros or you could walk the promenade and it took 20mins which was a lovely walk and plenty of lizards through the day.Puerto Rico has mini golf and another europa shopping centre (bigger) and a McDonalds.When we came in May 2006 the \'loocky\', \'loocky\' men were terrible but i must say they must of got rid of them as we only spotted 1 and he was ushered away from the restaurants.This actually made it much better.Yes there\'s time share touts but instead of trying to get you to go to Amadores it\'s Amalfi beach now but say no thanks and they do give up.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Sargeant visited here on August 2007
We stayed in the resort of Amadores which is a beuatiful man made beach in a horseshoe shape. Bars and restaurants are plentiful and you have to have a drink in the \'Queen Vic\' (We also took PG tips tea bags and Ian the owner is quite happy to supply you with a mug og boiling water to make your own tea). There are sunbeds and brollys to hire (6 beds and three brolly\'s = 21 euro\'s)Spotless clean, boats sailing by and loads of sunshine. Doesn\'t get much better. There are toilets on site (50c) but they too are spotlessly clean and have a shower facility free of charge once you have paid your 50c to get ...
in. Our hotel supplied a free coach to and from the beach so we only had to walk about 50 meteres.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


H Black visited here on July 2007
Amadores is beautiful. In complete contrast to Puerto Rico which is overrun with bars and restaurants. There was no real entertainment in the resort itself but plenty of really good quality restaurants which are on the beach front. We recommend London Pride and Ciao Ciao.

This is the best of both worlds as you could have a nice quiet night in Amadores or pay around 3 euros for a taxi into Puerto Rico if you\'re looking for something a bit livelier.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Elizabeth and John visited here on June 2007
It is a small resort but was very clean. There are some beautiful, colourful flowers and plants. The beach and beach restaurants were very good. I think there will be more in the future. A small harbour would be good rather than people having to walk (a beautiful cliff walk) to Puerto Rico to get the ferries - or even a small jetty for smaller ferries. The only entertainment, other than a stunning miniature golf course, was at the Mirador, unless you count excursions and sails e.g. dolphin search, although a new restaurant and sun terrace down at the beach opened during our stay.

We certainly had a fantastic holiday (apart from being delayed going ...
home due to the terror attack at Glasgow).

Yes, I would visit the resort again.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


walker & hall family visited here on May 2007
great place for us with the kids & gran, 2 mins walk to the clean, blue water beach, great bars & eating places. quiet at night, but go in to commercial center,and up the hill to europa centre.3euros, in a taxi to puerto rico. great scottish, irish, british bars etc, good chinese, indian curry houses.definetley go back to gran amadores resort, puerto mogan nice boat trip, friday very busy with the market. 20 minute walk on the great wall of china into puerto rico nice at night when cool

Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Kenny Elliott visited here on May 2007
Immacualte resort with a beautiful beach and plenty to do, the only problem was that most places close around 11pm. So if you wanted a late one you would have to get a taxi into Peuto Rico (3 Euros) or up to the Europa centre which is about the same price in a Taxi.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


wilma, john, kevin, dawn, craig and elaine visited here on May 2007
The lovely man made beach is just a short walk from the Gran Amadores apartments with nice restaurants and bars. Everyone cleans to a high standard. The resort of puerto rico is a 25 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride which costs in the region of 3 euros
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Lisa visited here on May 2007
The resort was very good except for a few scruffy looking hotels nearbye. Their were many bars, cafés and restaraunts. Amadores beach is excellent and is also surrounded by cafés and shops and even a crazy golf course.
Great resort highly recomeded
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Dave and Chris visited here on April 2007
This resort has two centre\'s which in our opionion were tacky.
We found the habour/marina area quite nice, with the Wig Wam bar our ist choice.
Time share sellers are about on a morning and can intimidate.
Amadores Beach is purpose built and cover with cctv.
Lot\'s of water sports in the area.
Dont miss a trip to Porto Mogon
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Melanie visited here on April 2007
First time to Gran Canaria. Not impressed at all with Puerto Rico. The resort looked pretty but it was really tacky, just had basic souvenir shops, a couple of supermarkets and a row of bars. Personally much prefer Puerto Del Carmen in Lanzarote.
Would consider Maspalomas to see what that is like next time I went as I have been told this is more upmarket
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


sylvia visited here on March 2007
Puerto Rico is small and quite pretty, with a harbour and the usual centralised shopping area. The beach is golden sand, with lots of sunbeds. We generally went sightseeing, to Puerto Mogan, which is lovely, and Anfi, which is another pretty manmade resort.

Whilst we enjoyed the area, one week is probably quite sufficient.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Kevin Chestney visited here on February 2007
The resort should be called Puerto Rico as it is so close, just a bus or taxi ride away for about a £2. You can walk there but a taxi or bus is a must on the way back unless you don\'t mind the long climb back. There is nor shortage of entertainment in Puerto Rico with the usual lively bars and restaurants. Plenty of electrical, perfume and the usual shop tourist tack. The park in the centre is very pleasant but beware of the fortune tellers and other street people who stop you as you may end up without your wallet/purse.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Rebecca & Adrian visited here on January 2007
Resort was a small village with a man made beach at the bottom on the hill, the beach was lovely. However there was very little to do or see in Amadores so we went to Puerto Rico which was pretty lively but not the most appealing resort by any stroke of the imagination. We are not snobs and we like a drink and a laugh but Puerto Rico was pretty awful and seemed to have an underlying aggressive atmosphere. As the entertainment in our hotel was so mind numbing we had little choice but to go to Pueto Rico.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Karin visited here on September 2006
Amadores is just lovely. It is clean and the beach is amazing. I\'ve been going to GC for years and feel that this up and coming resort is the nicest on the Island.

There are soem excellent restaurants which are quiet on the beach which can make a nice change from Puerto Rico.

Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Phil & Dee visited here on September 2006
A very clean resort with plenty of rubbish bins around and clean sidewalks.Lots of palm trees and an abundance of flower bankings make this a pretty resort.
Entertainment is a total no-no, it is not a resort like the neighbouring Peurto Rico.You have a crecent shaped man made beach which is lined with restaurants,all busy throughout the day.On a night not all are open as a lack of punters was to be seen.
A great way if you just want a chill,good food and wine and chat the night away.
All the reataurants have a similar menu covering all types of food, meat/fish/pasta etc.. so I would not waste time browsing the menus and getting hassled by the staff to get you in ...
- just pick one that looks nice and enjoy, or listen to other peoples comments.
Out of several we tried on an evening Ciao-Ciao was the best for Pasta,Robinsons for steaks.For breakfast the Duke of York was tops for the full English.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


louise & warren visited here on September 2006
The resort and beach was lovley and clean the only thing was that if you wanted a drink in the evening and didn\'t want to go to one of the centres there is only restaurants on the beach which close early and have no entertainment on otherwise everything was great.

We ate at the London Pride restaurant a lot the food was lovley and the staff were nice and you got value for money.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Nick Ans Lisa visited here on August 2006
Playa Amadores is a purpose built beach - imported coral! It was a bus ride down the hill from the hotel, and a welcome ride back up!!

The whole area is devoted to tourism - hotels and apartments, restaurants and bars at beach level. If you are looking for beautiful, this is not the place for you!

Puerto Rico was a 10 minute Taxi ride away. Another heavily built up area with tourist accommodation but lots of entertainment.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Amadores Beach Apartments  stars Amadores Beach Apartments
These modern apartments are located in a peaceful and relaxing setting, just 100m from Amadores Beach, a large curved bay where you can hire pedalos and enjoy scuba diving.

Latest Review: May 2005

Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

5/5
Dunas Amadores Hotel  stars Dunas Amadores Hotel
Address: Playa Amadores, 35130 Playa Amadores - Gran Canaria

Latest Review: Jul 2010

Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4/5
Gloria Palace Amadores Hotel  stars Gloria Palace Amadores Hotel
Address: Calle La Palma, 2, 35139 Puerto Rico, Spain

Latest Review: Jul 2011

Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

Gloria Palace Royal & Spa  stars Gloria Palace Royal & Spa
With the Atlantic Ocean one die and the beach on the other, perfect fro a relaxing holiday. The complex offers comfortable accommodation in a relaxing environment with local amenities nearby.

Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4/5
Gran Amadores Apartments  stars Gran Amadores Apartments
The Gran Amadores Apartments are only 200m away from the new Amadores Beach with a choice of bars and Restaurants. Situated on the flat with stunning sea views. Puerto Rico is only a 15-20 minute walk along the new seafront promenade.

Latest Review: Jul 2008

Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4/5
Mirador Del Atlantico ApartHotel  stars Mirador Del Atlantico ApartHotel
Address: Amadores, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

Latest Review: Jul 2013

Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4/5
Vistamar Club Riu Hotel  stars Vistamar Club Riu Hotel
Situated on a cliff-top, over-looking Los Amadores beach, the Riu Vistamar enjoys an excellent setting and has stunning sea views. This brand new hotel offers very high standards and will particularly suit a relaxing holiday with plenty to do within easy reach.

Latest Review: Feb 2011

Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores
Share