Image of Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel

Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel

36 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 38 reviews
3 stars
Av del Arquitecto Gómez Cuesta, 14, 38660 Arona, Spain
Suits couples and families. Close to the centre of the buzz and excitement that is all around Playa de las Americas, you're sure to have struck gold at this welcoming hotel. A popular choice with all visitors looking for the best that Tenerife has to offer.

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
E Mitchell
Dreadfully room
2 years 8 months ago
Recently spent time set this hotel my room was full of ants and I mean hundreds . Complained twice all they did was sent housekeeping maid with a spray. Ok 1st but we were still plagued with them until the day we left don't go in room 315.bathroom was very small. There were not enough tables in the dinning room for the amount of guests staying so it was more like a canteen. Constant movement didn't,t feel you could sit and relax to enjoy your meal. Definitely would not return to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Louise
6 years 8 months ago
I stayed at this hotel this year with my two children and couldnt wait to go home.the hotel should be rated a 2star and not a 3 star for starters.Our room was spacious but not very clean,there was alot of dust in the room and the bathroom was grubby,the tiles had scum on them especially around the toilet and bath.The cleaners if thats what you call them only made the beds,they were never changed for the duration of our stay which was for a week.we got back to our room one night to discover cockroaches in the bathroom I reported this to reception who said they would send someone up to deal with it,they never came so I dealt with them myself.I have never stayed at a hotel where staff have been very rude and argumentative and shouted at guests,especially the staff on reception,when I had to keep going down asking for clean towels as the cleaners did take the dirty ones away,but never replaced them.The food was terrible,it tasted blande and was just warm,and didnt look fresh.After the second day of eating hotel food and getting upset tummies we decided to eat out for the rest of the holiday.I know because it is a hot country cockroaches are very commonly seen,but I have never seen them in hotels,I have stayed at a few in the same area as this hotel and they were never a problem because decent hotels fumagate there property regulary to avoid such problems,because I have seen staff do it,but not at this hotel.Never again would I stay at or recommend this hotel to anyone.It was a nightmare of a holiday,couldnt wait to get home and recover.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Vickers
7 years 7 months ago
Had thought about staying at the Oro Negro for a few years and was put off by reports of it being in a dodgy area. However, wish i'd ignored all bad reports and gone sooner! The public areas, pool (though the pool area could be a bit prettier, it seems a bit functional - a bit of landscaping wouldn't go amiss)and bedrooms were beautifully clean, the food varied, well cooked and presented. Location fine for us as we walk everywhere but could imagine might be a bit far away for the less mobile or bone idle! It is a bit lonely coming back to the hotel via The Wigan Pier set of bars at night but the other way, past the Columbus is well lit and fine. The reception staff especially went out of their way to help, most of the staff in the restaurant were friendly enough although they did tend to concentrate on Spanish guests - perhaps they found it easier to converse, but some of us English have made the effort to learn the odd word you know! Couldnt say about the night time entertainment but Oscar was brilliant during the day with ping pong, bowls, shooting, hoopla etc etc, inviting everyone to jioin in without pressurising and laughing mercilessly at the hopeless amongst us!
What makes the Oro Negro ideal for us is that it's close enough to everything but far away to be peaceful at night, in fact there was NO noise whatsoever at night - I like to party but dont want that to continue back at the hotel. Am making at least two more 2009 bookings and can see we will be returning many times in the future. Would recommend without hesitation.
Booking again and would recommend without hesitation
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Sue
7 years 7 months ago
Had to use extra holidays up so Son and I got a late deal to the Oro Negro. Had read good reports and weren't disappointed. Panoramic views as our rooms were on the 11th floor. Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms, comfy beds, good maid service. Good public areas. Lively during the day with activities round the pool and gardens, - the rep Oscar deserves an Oscar for his enthusiasm and range of games. Quiet at night - no drunken palaver from rowdy groups. Food excellent, always lots of choice, plus a carvery and freshly made pasta every night. Good bar food in the day. Helpful reception staff and friendly and flexible courtesy room arrangements on your last day. Plenty sunbeds - perhaps the garden and pool area could do with a little prettying up, it's a bit functional looking, but that, if it can be called a criticism, was the only thing I could find even a bit wrong with the hotel. Try the external lift...! Brill views of Teide and Siam Park! Couldn't comment on hotel entertainment as we went out but whatever had been going on seemed to be over around midnight. Think you could say it's a pretty civlised place, good to relax and chill out in. We like to party but dont want to bring the party back to the hotel and this is exactly the right place for that with clubs/pubs nearby. Going back with my husband and wouldn'g hesitate to recommend to anyone wanting a quiet week or two to recharge their batteries without paying the silly prices some so called "luxury" hotels in the resort charge.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Strange Family
8 years 6 months ago
From the reviews I'd read, I expected good things from this hotel and I wasn't disappointed. We had a family room which consisted of two separate rooms, each with twin beds and television and bathroom with shared balcony, so that was a good start. The hotel is modern and very clean. Our room was cleaned every day (and no, we never saw a single cockroach !). The pool area is excellent with table tennis/pool tables and daily entertainment to keep everyone interested. The pool is unheated and so was a tad chilly when getting in, but there were plenty of people using it.

We were half board and the food was excellent. Plenty of choice including freshly cooked to order pasta, meat and fish as well as the normal pre-cooked food. I can imagine that after more than a week, the food will become a bit boring and repetitive, but I think they do the best they can given the resources they have.

There was evening entertainment every day from the very tacky and frankly embarrassing 'talent show' put on by the hotels own staff to the excellent 'we will rock you' show by a quartet of very talented Brits.

The location of the hotel is good. It's a short walk to the 'Patch' (for us family types) or to the other places for the young crowd, and yet remote enough not to have any drunken yobs singing outside your balcony at 3 in the morning. Plenty of night life available, although strangely quiet when we went in the Easter half term.

Overall, a hearty recommendation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Martin Cato
8 years 10 months ago
Returned last night so it's all fresh in my mind.
It's the first package holiday I have been on in many years, (always opted to travel.)
How pleasant our stay at the Oro Negro Hotel has been.
Given a room away from the restaurant and bar area, was ideal and quiet for our 21 month old daughter.
All I would expect and more from a three star Hotel.
I would say that a restaurants food is as good as its head chef!
They need to keep hold of this chef and staff! Massive choice, beautifully presented and always tasted delicious.
I would of been quite happy to sacrifice some dinners in search of nice restaurants. The hotel food was so good that I couldn't go else where!
All the staff were charming and the pool area relaxing.
I would certainly return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Josie Ryan
9 years 1 month ago
we arrived at the hotel at 2 in the morning and were a little apprehensive after reading previous reviews.we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman and when we got into the room which was on the 10 floor(there is actualy 12 floors the top being a penthouse)and had a fantastic veiw over the whole of las americas. the sunset was fantastic..the food was always hot and plenty of it and the restraunt staff were always polite .simone who was the hostess in the restraunt was exellent always smiling and once she had met you she rememberedyou at every mealtime .the pool wasnt family friendly as the shallow end was about 4ft although there was a small pool around the corner like a paddling pool.and because the weather was 36 39 degrees the pool was quite warm .the entertainment team susanna recardo and oscor worked and did a good job through the day as well as the shows at night .we found it was more spanish and italian than english but every one was very friendly .we made the mistake of not hiring a fridge 30 euros a week it would have saved us a fortuneas a small bottle of water was 1 euro out of the machine and 1.35 at the bar and a large bottle from the supermarket was 60cents .i would go there again.my 12year old daughter and 9 year old grandaughter had a great time and as did my husband and i
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carly And Billy
9 years 2 months ago
stayed here on three occasions and planining to go again . food is good ,people are helpful and hotel is very clean . the pool is good with sun beds for all but forget the entertainment no good at all
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ken/sue/Colin/Lesley
9 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very good we were a little worried about what to expect with it being a three star but were pleasantly surprised.

The food was good the staff very pleasant and helpful far the rooms were very spacious and cleaned every day.

All I will add is that it was a lot better than some of the 4 stars I have stopped in before.

The location is not that far from the front and the hill they refer to is only a steady gradient even Colin who is 66 and can not walk for a long while got around the area ok.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Michael & Anne
9 years 10 months ago
We work in the UK 4* & 5* industry so this may be too critical!

The hotel is clean but not as clean as it should be, check the dust build up in the public areas around fire extinguishers, door ledges etc. which should be cleaned daily and have not for months!

The rooms are clean enough for most people and towels are changed daily, beds are made up but we did not have a change of sheets all week! The bathroom was looking 'tired' but still functional.

The food was adequate and boring all week, but still edible and we didn't suffer any upset stomachs. The location of the hotel is further away from the beach than you may suppose from their blurb,a good 15mins walk, but not too far to spoil your holiday if you enjoy negotiating with all the time share demons on the way.

The swimming pool is not heated and is cold.

The customer facing staff were all excellent and deserve a reward for their hard work and committment to their guests. The entertainment was rubbish and insulting to the guests who deserve better.

I would not stay here again as there are far better 3* hotels around, it was not an unpleasant experience but not one that would make me want to return. As my grand-daughter age 15 said when they visited us one evening in the restaurant, "Nan - is this the canteen!"
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices