Image of Oro Blanco Apartments

Oro Blanco Apartments

55 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

3 out of 5 from 57 reviews
2 stars
Av del Arquitecto Gómez Cuesta, 12, 38660 Playa de las americas, Spain

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Walsh
Better out of season
5 years 11 months ago
We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment; it was positioned above the hotel entrance. We were woken up every night in the early hours of the morning with youngsters returning from their night outs. The room itself was very adequate, beds were comfy and the balcony had sun on it most of the day.

We had an issue with the changing of sheets and towels (these were not done) they were supposed to have been done towels 3 times and Sheets once, we had to ask for clean towels and sheets after 4 days.

The pool area was clean and the sun beds were very comfy and plentiful. No queuing for beds at 8.30 in morning. You could hire a mattress for 1 euro a day.

I wouldn’t stay at these apartments in peak times due to them probably being full of youngsters. However defiantly stay out of season.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Walsh
Good for out of season travellers
5 years 11 months ago
We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment, it was positioned above the hotel entrance. We were woken up every night in the early hours of the morning with youngsters returning from their night outs. The room itself was very adequate, beds were comfy and the balcony had sun on it most of the day.

We had an issue with the changing of sheets and towels (these were not done). They were supposed to have been done towels 3 times and Sheets once, we had to ask for clean towels and sheets after 4 days.

The pool area was clean and the sun beds were very comfy and plentiful. No queuing for beds at 8.30 in morning. You could hire a mattress for 1 euro a day.

I wouldn't stay at these apartments in peak times due to them probably being full of youngsters. However defiantly stay out of season.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Hayley
8 years 6 months ago
The hotel was o.k. Cleaners came in often, changed the towels, swept the floors, etc. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which was massive and the balcony overlooked the pool area. The kitchen was a bit disappointing though - very small and not many utensils.

The bar doesn't shut until 12am so lots of noise especially as we were directly above it - we didn't mind as that's what time we usually came back in. The karaoke night can be painful, especially if it overruns! Some problems with the younger ones shouting when they roamed in around 4am but to be fair it does seem more of a youngsters place to stay. It's around the corner from all the bars and an ideal place for them to stagger back to.

We had a good holiday and the Oro Blanco was a nice place to come back to after a day at the beach.

I personally wouldn't go back but only because I feel the hotel is more suited to the youngsters who don't mind noise, not really a place if you have young kids.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kelly
8 years 9 months ago
we stayed in the oro blanco apartments last year and we thought it was really realllyy nice.

it was perfect. very basic. we didnt need anything else.
our apartment was cleaned every day. i was scared of finding cockroaches when i got there. but not one! haha!
the apartments were placed just perfectly. shops around the corner. a small walk from the beach. a short walk to all the bars at night. it really was perfect.
we wasnt there at night to test out the hotels entertainment. we was out at the bars. but im sure it was great!
the staff were really nice too.
i intend on coming with diffrent friends in may time next yearr!

i would reccoment this hotel as a place to relax and enjoy all the space to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Shevski
8 years 10 months ago
Stayed at aprtments in October 2008, good basic apartment, no different from the thousands of others all over the Canaries. You get what you pay for and what you get here is excellent value for money as well as a good location. Close to all the amenities but just outside to be quiet enough.
Staff are good however the guys at reception are a bit dour, The only problems i've ever seen at the apartments are caused by our home grown drunken visiters.
I am returning to the apartments on Tuesday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
The Corletts
9 years 2 months ago
Have just returned from a week long stay and can honestly say that these apartments are not as bad as some of the reports that have been written. Our room (016) was on the first floor and had 2 bedrooms, a lounge area with couches that could be converted into beds, a kitchen, a bathroom and 2 balconies that overlooked the pool area. On arriving at the apartments we had a speedy check in even though it was 1.30 in the morning. Our transfer to the airport took about 20 mins, but we did drop off at another hotel first. The hotel staff were always courteous and our maid was lovely. The apartments get cleaned/beds made every day except Wed and Sunday. Our sheets and towels weren't changed during our stay but I didn't complain as it wasn't a big issue to me. The cooking facilities are very basic (2 electric rings and a tiny grill/oven. There was entertainment on 2 nights whist we were there but as we were out and about every night I cannot really comment on what it was like. Some of the rooms face a busy main road and I think that if you had one of these rooms it would be quite noisy as the patio doors do not really block out much noise. On a couple of nights we were woken by people coming back from bars and clubs and diving into the pool.
We would definately return to the Oro Blanco apartments if we had the same room as there really wasn't anything we could complain about.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Essex Girls
9 years 2 months ago
Before me and my friends arrived we read loads of the reviews as it was our first girlie holiday we were aged between 17-20. we read so many bad ones and were bit wary of flying out but when we got there it was fine.. when we arrvied we relised most of the bad reviews were from families.

The oro blanco is the type of hotel where the young and lively stay i think the marjority of playa de las americas is for the young and lively. why take your families there in the first place?

I understand the fact that the 'youth' were loud but were on holiday course were going to be loud were having fun. I admit there was one night i got annoyed with people up at half 5 in the morning i managed to sleep through it in the end anyway. if you just ask them to keep it down they would were not all that bad. Anyway we had the most basic room of the hotel ever i think which was ok we didn't much of a kitchen though.

Rooms were tidy and cleaned regulary apart from sundays i think. the pool area was lovely one of the nicest pools in the area i think. The pool bar was great the people were lovely and the food was reasonably priced and tasty.

The restaurants out were nice, amazing restaurant called american dreams and of course there was a maccy d's and a burger king open late for you to get some drunken food. The bars were alright nothing special just the same as at home if i had to reccommend one it would o'neils cocktail bar.. 2 of my mates come 1st and 3rd in their wet t-shirt competition they got free drinks for it.

The clubs were ok i would recommend rags over tramps.. 10 euros to get in tramps and it was dead :(. If you get offered to go to a foam party at the san miguel castle go its really good foam stings your eyes little bit though. The people on the streets that try offering you things just shout no and walk straight pass always works ;)! But overall i had a really good holiday got a great tan for a week had a laugh with my friends made new friends.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sarah Childs
9 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the hotel the same time last year, which was nice so we booked again. this year was terrible the rooms was horrible the fridge door was hanging off u had to use your foot to kick it bk on.

The tv cabnet was falling to pieces we informed reception but nothing got done till the day before we was travelling home.

The hotel is supposed to be a 2 star rating but when you get there is isnt any it is 2 keys as they have had there stars took off them.

The entertainment is none existant, there was supposed to be things on at nite but all the 2 weeks we was there there wasnt anything on.

The food menu says its served all day but if the staff have had enough they stop cooking when ever they like.
you can stay in the hotel for 30 euros a night if you just turn up there. Which is a lot in price diffrence as we payed 3200 pounds for all over us.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel/thompson

Genna Kershaw
9 years 9 months ago
four of us stayed here November just gone we had a wicked time, don't expect much from hotel entertainment - there was non! but at night you must pay a trip to the royal oak and the bus stop there good bars and the staff are top. as for our hotel room, was really clean didn't see a cockroach at all in the room. its a very English hotel. oh and you must order a sex on the beach at the pool bar - there lethal!! ha ha definitely going back again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Debbie
9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from 1 weeks winter break. Glad to be home the only good things about the oro blanco is nothing......

The rooms are basic,this would be ok if they was cleaned on the odd occasion,i never got to sleep befor 3 am every night the noise was unbearable,and the poor security gard was running around all night trying to keep law & order,one night my door bell rung at 2.15 am,i opened the door and the security guard run into the room onto the balcony and was shouting at the noisy spanish neighbours.
when i told the rep the next day she said she could not do anything about it.thanks for nothing.
if you are between 18-25 you will love this hotel if not avoid it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my-travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.