Image of H10 Conquistador Hotel

H10 Conquistador Hotel

63 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Rafael Puig 36, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Suits those seeking relaxed and civilised surroundings. This hotel boasts a seafront location and a large pool. It has an international feel reflected in the wide choice of food and entertainment.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jinks
7 years 9 months ago
Hotel in need of a complete refurbishment
Outside of Hotel all apartmentrs need painting
Hotel Evening Meal very good very varied but too much time queing up
Hotel right by seafront and near to centre
Reception Staff surly and unhelpful - kitchen Staff ok
Nightly Entertainment never went looked very amatureish though
First floor sea side contained a large dirty noisy and loud air conditioning unit
Childrens Playground anea numerous missing,torn Rubberised Tiles exposing concrete underneath - misligned bolt on gate meant it could not be shut
Poolside very good
4 small very pokey lifts - nobody walked
Dining Roomwas dark with Rattan furniture and stained tablecloths and seat covers- grills missing from air conditioning vents leaving gaping holes - shortages of cups
Black damp like stains and peeling paintwork on main foyer ceiling.Even pieces of fabric were being used to disguise stains.
Xmas Tree only had lights oin half the Tree - Bulbs blown and out in street


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Pete
7 years 10 months ago
exellent hotel everything is spot on was here 7 yrs ago its even better now food choice amazing there are 5 food stations too choose from show cooking on everyone one of them clenliness good location good staff we found very friendly been too several good hotels in tenerife this is one of the best as good as the vulcano and thats saying something we recomend too anyone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: alpha rooms

Recommended
James & Jo
9 years 5 months ago
I'll start with the basics for those who just want a quick review:-
Airport was nice, quick service and about a 25 minute coach ride away to the Conquistador. Hotel facilities were very clean and modern. Pool was very big but a bit cold before mid day, fine in the afternoon though. Rooms were spacious (being renovated though, we had a new one which was very nice, can't comment on the older ones), Food was only let down, it was good food, nice etc but choice wasn't too great. The hotel had a lot of different nationalities there, not like the usual England with sun us brits are used to, so therefore the food choice as trying to please a wide variety of people, no problem if your willing to try all sorts, but we were a bit boring and like to stick to what we know so generally had full English in the morning and ate out most evenings. Local area was good, not enough for an action packed holiday but enough to keep you busy in between the pool and the beach. A good hotel overall which i would recommend but were I going to Playa again I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
David Newman
10 years 10 months ago
Recently returned from an outstanding value for money week at the Conquistador, A typical four star hotel in an ideal position the cleanliness of the hotel was excellent with the towels and bed sheets changed on a daily basis.

The dining room could do with some re organisation as to co-ordinate your meal to be able to eat it at it's best was difficult, however there was a large choice with selected dishes cooked in front of you and from which you could choose, but with the number of people to be served the catering can never be first class.
Staff varied in attitude but most were pleasant.

Entertainment was excellent and varied, several tribute acts, acrobats. Parrots, Snakes. Each evening plus a very nice piano bar and childrens activities organised daily. We would consider the Conquistador again but somewhere smaller may suit us better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Marc
11 years 1 month ago
Booked the Conquistador three weeks prior to the date we travelled. Was a bit worried by some of the previous reviews.

On arrival the reception was slow and wasn't helped by someone moaning that they had the right to be on a higher floor because they had been coming for a lot of years.

Once checked in we ventured to our rooms both of which had a sea /pool view and were pleasantly clean, and were serviced to a high standard each day sometimes your stuff was rearranged.

The bars were pleasant apart from the fact that the pool bar served you beer in a disposable coke cup and charged more for the privilege, at night I gave up on the table service at the pool side bar which was used for the evening cabaret, due to the fact you ordered with the waiter and could be waiting for up to 20 minutes to get your drink. Although service was slow due to a lack of staff all the staff were pleasant apart from one bar man who was miserable but I avoided him.

Normally I stay by the hotel pool on holidays but at this one I only did it one day due to the pathetic behaviour over sun loungers. People were reserving them at 06:00 in the morning one man even pinched a chair from the bar and sat guard over two loungers whilst his wife went to get the towels, People were moving their loungers during the day to keep pace with the sun which made it noisy and irritating, plus the pool area was like a concrete bowl which meant when the sun shined it was very hot but in the shad it was very cold, so we went to the beach from then on.

The food was good in the aspect that there was a wide selection and the cold food was nice but the hot food temperatures left a lot to be desired.

The hotel is centrally located with a short walk to either the Santiago shopping area or the Veronicas area. The hotel seems popular with more mature people so I wouldn't recommend it to families with children or young couples.

The entertainment is the usual hotel style entertainment 9pm some singers doing covers of old songs, 1015pm The feature show which was anything from acrobats to performing parrots, 1115 the disco (well actually the same singers as 9pm,) The 9pm and 11pm shows were very repetitive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Lyn Jones
11 years 11 months ago
We have recently returned from this hotel and must say that we were generally most disappointed. Having visited previously some 7 years ago, the hotel certainly then lived up to it's 4 star reputation. However, now I would rate it at no better than a 3 star hotel.

The food was predictable, unimaginative and barely warm at best, frequently running out at busy times. The breakfast was a little better, but again, they continually ran out of juices, milk, cereals at the various 'stations' provided.

The staff were always courteous and as helpful as possible, but one felt that the restuarant area was badly organised and not run as efficient as it could be, which was not surprising considering the number of rooms and the size of the hotel.

During our weeks stay we had problems with, no hot water, no water and a power cut with frequent problems with water pressure, only to be told that this happens when on a high floor (5th).

We booked a high floor following previous reports of cockroaches finding their way up to the 3rd floor - only to find a cockroach in our room one day!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Yvonne
12 years ago
4 star entrance lobby, 3 star restaurant, 2 star rooms.

We booked ground floor for the kids, the were in serious need of refurbishment. The paint was peeling the bathroom was black with damp and only half the lights worked. The cleaners either turned up late afternoon or we had to make numerous calls to reception for clean towels so we shower before dinner.

The food in the hotel was good but the staff needed lessons on customer care.

The pool area was fine, no complaints there.

On the plus side my husband and sister had birthdays when we were there and the staff obviously noticed the cards (they were hard to miss) and put a bottle of champagne in the room. The reception staff were really nice and helpful pity it didn't extend to the rest of the staff.

First and last visit I'm afraid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Jack Newton
12 years 10 months ago
We stayed here for one month from 21 December 2004.

The day started at 7.0am getting towels on the sunbeds on the limited sunny side of the pool.Mattresses and towel 1.50 euro a day.

Then queue for breakfast,find a table,queue to have your egg fried. The restaurant organisation is a complete shambles.

Behind the lavish marble frontage is a hotel that needs a complete refurbishment of the tired living areas. Our dingy room was on the first floor and never saw the sun,it was infested with small mites,cleaniless of room and bed linen was however faultless,the staff at the hotel are hardworking.

Entertainment was limited and third rate but the piano bar was popular.

We only finished up at this hotel because we were let down on flights.We were booked in to the Esmeralda.

We certainly would not stay at the Conquistador again. We have stayed in better two star hotels
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

David
13 years 3 months ago
Just the pits. Do not believe any good reports about this dump. It may have been 4 star in 1980, but not anymore. The pool area is the best bit, and thats just about ok. The rest is awful. The rooms are shocking. Worn and tired with repulsive 80's decor. Very small and the worst bed I have ever slept in. I was supposed to be here for a week, but quit after 2 days. The area is awful too unless tattoo'd football wearing types are your thing. I hear the Karaoke is wonderful and you can get pie and chips for 3 Euro !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Abbott
13 years 8 months ago
this was the third time we had stayed, but never again.Yes, the main areas clean but i had to ask 5 times for a bed change.

The queues at meals at least 20 mins, the food had really gone down hill!

we even had to pay for beach towels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.