21 independent reviews of the Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Address: Av de Bruselas Tr A, 13, 38660 Adeje, Spain
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Location
Ranked #36 of 80 hotels in Playa de las Americas


4/5
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel is rated 3.67 out of 5 from 21 Reviews
86% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (21 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Great for Families and Clean"
Faith Carribine had a holiday at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in May 2013
Hotel staff couldn't do enough for you whilst you were staying at this hotel. Food and entertainment was very good. I liked the fact that you couldn't reserve the beds by the pool and guests took note of this and there were plenty of beds to go around anyway. The hotel was very clean. I smashed a glass in the room and the hotel staff were up the in the room cleaning it within 10 mins. Fridge and air condition was very good. Definitely recommends this hotel. Towels changed daily and if you asked the maid she would give you extra towels. The hotel loaned out irons and ironing boards which is a plus. Very nice hotel indeed, great value for money.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Would definately stay again!"
Paula stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas in August 2011
1 reader found this review helpful

The hotel looks great from the outside. The reception area is lovely with plenty of comfy chairs and sofas.

The rooms are clean and comfy with a nice bathroom and balcony. If you order drinks up to the room you get the fridge unlocked for the rest of your stay. We paid extra for a room with a pool view but I wouldn't have minded a room that looked onto the road as it wasn't a busy road.

The restaurant is huge with two outside areas as well which a lot of people chose to use especially at the front where you can see the pool.

Breakfast was good and the evening meal was fantastic! Loads to choose from every night - steak, chops, chicken breast, fish which are all cooked fresh while you wait, plus other meat options already ...
prepared. There was also fresh pizza and the children had their own section so they can help themselves. The desserts were brilliant, loads of yummy things to choose from plus ice-cream, fruit.

The hotel is in a good location about a 10-minute walk down to the beach and promenade with shops along the way. As we were half-board we would walk down to the beachfront where there were bars that did reasonable meal deals for lunch which included toasted sandwiches or burgers, chips and drinks for two people for 6 euro.

The pool area is nice with a good size pool. This is roped off until 9.00 am and then there is a massive stampede to get the best sunbeds. Totally unnecessary, as I would wait until the stampede had finished and there was always some left but all taken by about 9.30. At 11.00 am every day, the manager would come round the pool and remove all the towels that were laid out and that hadn't been used. We found it quite entertaining to watch the people turn up later hunting for their towels.

Entertainment - can't really comment too much as we didn't hang around the hotel in the evening although we did go and have a look and the club room looked really nice and was very big. There was also an outdoor entertainment area at the front of the hotel where there was a singer every night.

On the last night of our stay the hotel put on an inflatable party. There were bouncy castles, slide, bucking bronko, gladiator inflatable, face painting, candy floss and popcorn and it was like a mini fair. Guests from two other sister hotels also came. It was brilliant!

This was our third visit to Costa Adeje and most definately the best hotel we've stayed in. Would recommend it to couples and families and would stay at this hotel again.


Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Shaun and Lisa stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in June 2010
I booked this hotel as my parents go there often and they are as fussy as me and they say its perfect so i had to see it for myself and all I can say is it was a perfect holiday, the hotel is spotless plus the room was perfect, and the staff are all very hard working and nothing is too much trouble, the entertainment was very good as there is lots of things to do in the day and two lots of entertainment on every night and the staff worked really hard making sure my young daughter really enjoyed her holiday too.
The food was very good and the all inclusive option was a very good decision.
We will visit this hotel again as soon as possible

Tour Operator: hays travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

phil/sharon visited the Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in June 2009
we stayed all inclusive,rooms great,food good,always hot good selection. the all inclusive drinks package was a joke, very little choice, watered down mixes short measures on spirits, poor bar service, choice of 2 cocktails. bar for all inclusive closed at 11pm!!
entertainment repetitive made you want to go out.
would never come again as all inclusive not value for money in that respect. towels were available but to hire at 10 euros each!!talk about rip off.

Tour Operator: escape

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Lee visited the Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas in April 2008
Hotel looks quite impressive when you arrive, rooms are very spacious and cleaned on a daily basis towels changed daily location is excellent near all amenities shops beach all nearby. Now the bad news food is not a good point at this hotel breakfast was ok but not great freshly cooked omelletes were nice, check bread and rolls for green mould was found on bread on more than one occasion. Evening meals had to check to see if food was adequately cooked. Would visit again as location great would probably eat out found some lovely restaurants down by the beach also drinks a lot cheaper out. Our flight was at 7pm did ask for a late check out but reception were not very helpful said needed room and did not have another spare so we had to put our cases ...
in luggage room
for most of the day while we went out till it eas time to leave. Went to Medievel Night would not recommend it got what looked like dog bowls for your soup and no cutlery had whole small chickens each and a potato had to eat with fingers dessert was tub ice cream did get plastic spoon. I love tenerife but not this hotel the weather was glorious while we were there 80-100 degrees fantastic for April.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jen & Bob visited the Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in March 2007
We stayed at the Hotel Fanabe Costa Adeje.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, staff always working.

The restaurant was spacious and we found the food very good all buffet style. Breakfast was cooked or continental whatever you felt like, the chef would cook you an omlette or fried eggs, breads were freshly baked, lots of fruit. There were two types of soup each evening, lots of fresh salad and meats were either already cooked in casseroles etc or the chef would cook you fresh chicken, pork, fish etc on a hot plate, the puddings were a bit repetitive but enjoyable all the same.

The location of the hotel was fine for us as it was a wee bit out of the noise and it was nice to have a walk in the evening and get rid of some of the calories!!!


Tour Operator: Freedom Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

J & E Tate had a holiday at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in January 2007
Bedroom - Very comfortable and clean. Towels changed daily. Abundant supply of hot water at all times. Good sized balcony and full bathroom. Satellite TV, but only BBC World News & Sky news for UK (not much for kids).

Restaurant - Busy at times, but ample amounts of food & live cooking. Sometimes short of veg selection. Plenty of fruit. More Spanish/Italian than English.

Entertainment - Excellent kids team (e.g. mini-disco / mini-club).

Staff - Generally all very hardworking and helpful. We were on an all-inclusive basis which was new to the hotel this month and the staff didn\'t all seem fully trained re what was/wasn\'t included (e.g. quick intro at Reception on arival, no formal info provided. As a result, we were unaware that swimming pool towels were available and included at ...
Reception). Good basic English spoken by most staff.

Location - 10 min pleasant walk away from beach in well laid-out, chic and safe area.

Would you visit again - Yes, definitely. A place to relax and get away from it all.



Read More

Tour Operator: On The Beach

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

hopalong stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas in December 2006
Had a lovely time in the Fanabe Costa Sur it is well located [much better than the gala we stayed in last month]it has very safe walking areas and the market is just outside the hotel. Also the bus terminus is just at the hotel.

The food is fairly hot and the sun roof is fine it's tiled and a bit dull, but as with the whole hotel well cleaned.

The Internet kept breaking down, but the staff are very quick to repair it.

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

S and I had a holiday at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas in October 2006
I really don\'t know what some people expect from a holiday, after reading some reviews on this site we were worried about what we would find at the Fanabe Costa Sur.

This hotel is lovely, the rooms are of adequate size and very clean

The pool and surrounding areas were spotless. The roof top sun bathing areas are excellent if you want to be away from kids. We were only charged once for the mats for the sunbeds, a tip to other travellers they usually come about 1pm for the money, so if you go up after that you\'re okay.

The food was not excellent but it was always edible, just lacked veg some nights.

We never stayed in for the entertainment so can\'t comment on that, however we did listen to the out door singer a couple of times and he was okay.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.


Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

m . williams visited the Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in June 2006
The hotel was excellent value for money.

We booked with travel republic for under

Tour Operator: travel republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

sue n zappy stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in June 2006
Just returned yesterday, excellent experience!

Lovely comfy rooms, 2 large beds & sofa bed. table & chairs. air con. large spacious bathroom with unlimited hot water. Rooms cleaned, and I mean properly cleaned daily. Buffet breakfast, always something to eat. Good choice for eve meal too, leg of pork, steaks, chops etc etc, couldn\'t fault the eve food. saw a couple of the entertainment turns from our balcony, were far better than we expected. would definately return.

Close to beach and a nice walk along the promenade. sunbathed on the roof top, 3 sections, 1 nude! with 2 jacuzzi pools up there, great retreat from the kids. 1.20 euro for bed mattress, not too bad, but could have been free considering it\'s a 4 star hotel.

We enjoyed our 40th birthday weekend very much AAA***

Tour Operator: thomsonfly

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

tim sands stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in December 2005
I was worried about going after reading some reviews,but found the hotel to be fantastic.

We only had breakfast but it was great! The room was modern and very clean with comfy beds and the staff could not have been more helpful.

The entertainment was\'nt west end but the usual Spanish hotel stuff,what I expected really. I was slighly worried about noise as hotels can be a bit loud,people coming in late etc but no.

This may be because it was mostly German or Spanish guests! Although I haven\'t stayed in a hotel in Tenerife for years and always go for xmas/new year I have no comparisons.

Love the area though,always stay here,much more upmarket than Las Americas.

Tour Operator: jp holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Paul Smith stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas in September 2005
We have stayed here twice - once before and once after the refurbishment. We have enjoyed our stay very much both times which is more a testament to the Adeje area than anything else.

The roof terrace is great for getting away from all the kids and just relaxing but don\'t miss out on El Duque beach-the best on the island. Meals are fine - nothing special.

I do agree that the dining room is a bit of a cattle market sometimes but eating out next to the pool makes it worthwhile. rooms are great since the refurbishment. Check out a bar on the seafront called the \'In and Out\'. A great band called the \'Lizard Kings\' play there most nights and they also do great meals if you get fed up with the hotel grub.

Tour Operator: Travel republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

J Goodfield had a holiday at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in July 2005
My partner and myself are wheelchair users and stayed at the fanabe Costa sur.

The reception staff on the whole were friendly. We had several problems with the key card for our room but this was always immediately remedied.

The breakfasts were edible but the food in the evenings left a LOT to be desired, for instance, sprouts in the paella?! By the time you had picked up the red hot plates, got your food and got back to your table it was lukewarm at best. We were disappointed by the lack of choice. There were no coffee facilities in the restaurant in the evening so you either had to pay for bottled water, wine or beer. The bar prices were expensive. It was cheaper to stock up the mini fridge in the room.

Every morning and evening to get to the ...
restaurant we had to walk past the water feature in the foyer which ALWAYS stank of stagnant water (not nice when you are going to and from a mediocre meal.

We would rate this hotel 3* at best.

Read More

Tour Operator: Accessible Travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

sylvia mcilmail stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in June 2005
1 reader found this review helpful

The last report on this Hotel was very accurate. The rooms cleaned daily, bed linen changed three times in the week and towels every day.

Any down side to this hotel would be, no tea/coffee making facilities, internet slow and gym was five euro and no one using it at that price.

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Louise stayed at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in June 2005
1 reader found this review helpful

I have stayed in many 4 star hotels before now and I would honestly say this wasnt one of them.

The food was ok, we where never left hungary but the choice wasnt great. The breakfasts were a lot nicer than the evening meals. The entertainment was standard at best.

However the location, cleanliness, and hotel staff could not be faulted.

Tour Operator: Orchid Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Elaine Simpson had a holiday at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in March 2005
We had visited this area before so knew the location of this hotel.

When we arrived we found the receptionist to be both polite and efficient on checking us in. When we arrived at our room the card key would not work, but after going back down to reception twice they sent up a technician, who quickly solved the problem (a faulty card key!!).

We were pleasantly surprised with the location of our room, we were on the top floor with views of both the sea/harbour and mountains...and nobody "clattering" about above us. With only booking 5 days prior to departure on a late deal we wondered if we would get a room overlooking the building site at the other end of the hotel, but we were luckier than most. The room was a good size with good sized beds, ...
six hangers on each side of the wardrobe and a nice sized bathroom, as you would expect from a refurbished hotel everything in the room was clean and fresh.

The restaurant was on the large side, but during the first week of our stay was fairy quiet, but when the hotel filled up half way through our second week with Spanish families it did get a bit full to capacity with kids "running wild", we were just glad we only had a few days of that!!

Breakfast time was abit like a self service cafe you had to go and get your own cutlery and set the table yourself, (you could eat outside at breakfast time as well, which was good) but we soon got used to that and in some ways it's better than sitting around waiting for the table to be laid.

The tables were set for you in the evening. There were plenty of "table clearers" on hand to tidy up after each course. We found no problem with the food, yes you had to queue for freshly cooked eggs/omelettes/pancakes, but if you want them cooked fresh that

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Patrick Price visited the Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas in January 2005
We got off to a bad start here, arrived at 9pm and waited at reception to check in ,after about ten minutes we were greeted with hola, passport, told the dining room was now closed, given an A4 sheet with the hotel rules and told our suite was on the 4th and the lift was at the other side of the building.

No welcome no help with the luggage, I could not help feeling like I was a pain in her a**e. But I must say when we got to our suite it was stunning ,with a huge bed large living area and a big round whirlpool bath and it was all brand new as the hotel had just been re-furbished.

In the morning we went down to breakfast and I found it to be the most chaotic dining ...
room I have ever encountered. You Q for the toaster You Q for coffee You Q for fried eggs (cooked to order)then you can get the rest of your food but again I must say although it was not hot the quality was superb as were all the meals we had in the hotel,plenty of choice and all freshly cooked.The sad thing was the dining room layout was a cross between a beerkellar and the last supper .

The pool area was well cared for and had plenty of sunbeds and a few days had entertainment which was mostly fashion shows of beachwear.

The evening entertainment was a guy playing a home keyboard and singing the hits of the 50s in spanish or german and the cabaret acts were circus types or people stamping their feet and waving their arms in the air I think they call it flamenco, anyway , not for me.

In conclusion this is a potentially superb hotel with excellent accomodation and food but the attitude of most of the staff particularly the receptionists lets it down if it was not for the lovely ladies who clean the rooms we would probably have felt unwelcome.

I would suggest to the owners they use the chambermaids to train the reception staff in customer service

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Carole Thatcher had a holiday at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in January 2005
Normally stay in an apartment as we like to eat out with no ties,but saw offer of free up-grade to half board so went for it.

We were lucky with reception very pleasant,but room was not ready until 3.30pm,so glad we did not arrive until 3.00pm.

When we got to room was very pleased with size,even the two single beds were big,bathroom also very large, and all very clean.The maids were very friendly and found the staff in dining room great. The dining room was the biggest I have seen in a while,so was a bit mad if everyone came together, but if you went down the far end always found it a lot quieter,and lots of free tables, but the food made up for the walk.

Did not stay for the entertainment as we found the drinks pricey,but were talking to anopther ...
couple who were using the facilities of the 5* across the road,which was stunning,with same bar prices,and they had a heated outside pool with loads of free sunbeds.

If we did go to a hotel again, would go here,though would still chose an apartment first for the freedom.

Read More

Tour Operator: Booked On Internet Seperate Flight,And Hotel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Mr Victor had a holiday at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel in March 2004
The room we stayed in had cracks in the walls. The room itself looks like a mirrorpalace.
There are mirrors everywhere...

The rooms need to be refurbished as they look very tacky.
The food was only worth 3 stars. The starters each evening were left-overs from the morning breakfast mixed with some sauce and/ or salad.

The only decent food to eat was what the show cooker cooked. One choice of fish and the other was meat.
The most frustrating thing was that the buffet didn\'t had any signs hanging or standing with the content of the meal. So you didn\'t know what was in the trays.

The hotelbar close at midnight and at 23.30 they start putting all the bottles away. No happy hour and if there was one it was not advertised.
The hotel\'s disco called Drago smelled like a old warehouse...

Don\'t try to ...
come for breakfast at 09.45 because they take the plates away a quarter before closing time(10.00hrs).

The staff was not very friendly except of the cleaningladies.

Won\'t go there anymore...


Read More

Tour Operator: TUI
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars
Other hotels in Playa de las Americas

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
1 star Hotels
Share