Image of Sunset Bay Apartments

Sunset Bay Apartments

54 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
Calle Antonio Navarro nº Urb. Torviscas Bajo Playa de Las Améri, 1, 38660 Adeje, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 7 months ago
We were self catering and this would have been the best equiped apartment we have stayed in we had everything from a 37" wide screen tv and dvd player to a sandwich toaster and iron and ironing board.
On the balcony we had two sun beds and four chairs and a table also there was a clothes horse for your washing.
The location would have been very central in the resort and not too far from the sea. One problem lots of steps which were not very well marked for any body with sight problems also they got very slipery in the wet.
The maid we had was not too over ambitious in her work our bed was only changed once in the two weeks. The ants were at their work on the kitchen benches but i just kept them clean with detox kitchen kleener and there was no problem.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: booked independant

Recommended
Mike B
7 years 9 months ago
Oh dear, should I try and be objective or just give it straight?

Well, we used a time share guest certificate and were expecting something better shall we say.

The whole complex was tired and in serious need of paint and updating. (Tommy Walsh would have his work cut out here though).

We were assisted to our two bedroomed apartment by a very helpful young man in a buggy, although we should have asked the ANTS to assist!! There were thousands of them, crawling across the 1970's style kitchen, in the bathroom, bedrooms - everywhere. Outside the cockroaches were holding their annual convention and in the evening we were treated to the wonderous sounds of drunks throwing up on the main road, having purchased their culinary delights from the 24hour kebab cafe opposite the apartment.

The main pool was freezing cold and the smaller pool near the reception was marginally heated but the floor was falling apart giving a rough texture underfoot.

In fairness the staff were friendly and the bars on the complex plentiful and cheerful.

The maid managed to drag herself round the apartment on the daily clean after our first night. That is to say she made the bed, replaced the towels and left, giving a thumbs up to the ants on the way out no doubt, as they had now multiplied ten fold by day 2.

I suppose we should have complained and i have no doubt the friendly staff would have moved us, but we decided to up sticks and book into our regular hotel instead.

I could go on, but you get the idea. If you want a nostalgia trip back to 1970's Butlins then this is the place for you. If you want a relaxing care-free holiday in a clean and comfortable complex, well ........

...but don't let me put you off.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Own arrangements

Garry
8 years 1 month ago
Just returned from sunset bay.We have stayed here before but have noticed things are going downhill.
the appartment was not cleaned very well,ants everywhere all the time,although we did notice that there seamed to be less cockroaches.
All staff were very helpful and friendly,the resort was always clean and tidy but does seem to be stuck in time.Our block is d and the noise from the wigan arms can be dreadful,did not bother to complain about anything as we had already decided not to return to ternerife, also there seemed to be a few groups of young lads staying on there own who did not have any regard for anyone, had not noticed this before,always was a family resort.
We will not be returning to sunset bay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: own arrangements

Garry
We will not be returning
8 years 2 months ago
Just returned from sunset bay. We have stayed here before but have noticed things are going downhill.

The apartment was not cleaned very well, ants everywhere all the time, although we did notice that there seemed to be less cockroaches.

All staff were very helpful and friendly, the resort was always clean and tidy but does seem to be stuck in time. Our block is d and the noise from the Wigan arms can be dreadful, did not bother to complain about anything as we had already decided not to return to Tenerife, also there seemed to be a few groups of young lads staying on their own who did not have any regard for anyone, had not noticed this before, always was a family resort.

We will not be returning to sunset bay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Andy
8 years 4 months ago
stayed here for the first time this april, found the place very friendly, the famly running the poolside bar were exceptional, top heated pool,very family friendly, no complaints at all, booking up for next year allready.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: made our own way

Recommended
Catherine
8 years 11 months ago
I have recently returned from a stay at Sunset Bay.
Location of the hotel is great everything you want is on your doorstep.
The place is very hilly and would not suit people with walking difficulties
The hotel itself was clean and the staff were very helpful, the pools at the hotel were very crowded and to get a sun-lounger you would have to be up very early in the morning.
Entertainment was more targeted toward children
The place itself was nice but could be cleaner, I would not stay at this hotel or resort again though as I was not found of the amount of Cockroaches running around our hotel room, complex and the resort at night
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independantly

Samantha Cruickshanks
8 years 11 months ago
i have stayed at sunset bay for 22 years, my mum and dad got a time share here in 1987 i came here with my son and partner + parents lol in 2008(after many holidays here with my parents) , it was the best holiday i have had, the location is central to it all, the staff are fab, i left my camera on the plane and they got it back for me through their hard work, if you are looking for a great fun and relaxing place to go then this is it but be in touching distance from it all then this is it, i am in the middle of booking my holidays for next year, i would love to go this year but its the recession and that the end of it. xx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: rci

Recommended
Adam
10 years ago
We stayed in the G block which is a bit of a walk uphill with some steps but you do get used to it, however i wouldnt recommend this block to people with walking difficulties.
The studio we had was very clean and well equipped. The kitchen had every appliance you could need and the bathroom looked fairly new. There was a very large balcony with views to both to the sea and also the mountains to the rear which was splendid.
The location in my opinion as i have been Tenerife 3 times now is the best you can get. There are many bars and restaurants within the complex with 'The Wigan Arms' and 'Sun Inn' being the most popular. The staff are friendly and the prices relatively cheap for what you get.
The beach is literally 3 mins walk and close by are endless shops to look around.
The hotel staff were very friendly and always on hand with any questions such as directions for local taxi's, attractions and any hotel queries. The staff at the pool bar were the best i have ever met and always ensured everyone were well looked after.
There is some entertainment during the day with quiz's and bingo and family games such as darts and pool with the winners recieving certificates.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Privatre

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
Stayed in a two bedroom apartment through Maestro vacations.

Apartment was very nice and spacious.

Good location only 5 or 10 min walk from two beaches.

Some parts of the complex had a lot of stairs and plenty of hills, not suitable for those with walking difficulties.

Our apartment was in block D at the entrance to the complex and was above some bars and restaurants which wasnt often a problem at night, but sometimes started playing loud music quite early in the morning.

Two pools at the complex, only one, smallish, pool was heated and was incredibly busy!! The other was absolutely freezing in April. For this reason and for the noise experienced I would not return here.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Maestro

10 years 9 months ago
I first bought my timeshare weeks in 1986 and have visited often. I was last there in November 2006 and had a wonderful time, and will be travelling again in October.

The apartments are not like they used to be, they were first class, they are not gold crown by all means. I think at the moment they are silver crown, but saying all that, for my daughter and I it is home from home. The gardens are well kept, the apartments and the resort are spotless clean, through the day we walk and at night spend most of our time at Sunset Bay.

There are a couple of nice restaurants on site and don't really need to leave the place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: I own a timeshare at the resort

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.