132 independent reviews of Tossa de Mar, Spain
Tossa de Mar Location

4/5
Tossa de Mar is rated 4 out of 5 from 132 Reviews

Tossa de Mar Hotels

Tossa de Mar Reviews

3/5


John visited here on May 2007
Lovely town, nice shops, interesting castle but the beach was extremely gritty and steeply shelved. Just a boat trip of a short drive northerly was Giverola Beach which was quite a bit better.

Lovely location, fantastic views and a good range of restaurants.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Marlar visited here on April 2007
The resort itself was I think personally over developed for the size of the town, Plenty of hotels and shops for the tourists, The beach was small, hard gravel rather than sand. There is a great fortress by the beach which is well worth the walk around, just for the views.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


1-2-3 adios!! visited here on October 2006
Tossa de Mar is beautiful, historic & quiet with plenty bars, restaurants and shops to cater for your every need.
We visited in early October and the weather was good, with quiet, clean beaches and numerous walks around the bay.

An excellent, inexpensive bus service ( 18Euro Rtn to Barcelona- 1.5hrs) takes you wherever you need to go. With Marineland, Waterworld and many more tourist attractions within an hours` journey.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Samantha Watson visited here on October 2006
There were 12 of us in the party, ranging from 5yr old to 82 yr old, and we could not find fault with anything. The food was great, the hotel was clean, staff were extremely friendly and the free bus into San Eloy every hour was great. Gizmo the british driver of 5 years was so helpful and around the bus he puts up pictures the children have drawn for him. The biggest highlight for us was the entertainment team, Danny (Phwoar!!!!!), Amanda, Martin, Ivon & Javi - they worked hard every night to give a brilliant performance, after working hard all day with kids and adult activities, I dont know where they got the energy and ...
smiles from!!!!!!! We saw Grease, Cinderella, Mr San Eloy and the End of season Surprise show. My 5 yr old fell in love with Danny the head entertainer, and there was tears all the way to Girona when we left. Danny gave my son his lucky mascot for the year, a cuddly cow, and he hasn\'t slept without it since we got back!!!!!!

This is our 6th all-inclusive holiday, and we all agreed that it was the best one we have been on. There was a great selection of food even for the most fussiest eater, and if you are like us, it didn\'t matter if you missed breakfast, as you just picked up a bacon sarnie at the snack bar. Also being able to get chilled litre bottles of water from the bar was great - it helped the next morning when the AI alcohol left its mark.

San Eloy is set in the most beautiful green hilly surroundings and Tossa de Mar is also a fabulous place to visit, it is an old fishing village with so much to see. The people are so friendly and everything is so laid back and the shops are worth a visit too.

Put it this way I have been pricing properties for Tossa de Mar since we got back, but whether it would be the same without Danny, I dont know!!!!!

We thought that as it was the last week of the season, the staff would be winding down for their 6mnths off, but how wrong we were. Everybody put in a fantastic effort to make this a holiday to remember:-)

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


claire visited here on September 2006
We stayed in Tossa de Mar for 3 nights in September.

It is a very pretty resort, but quiet at that time of year. There are plenty of lovely restaurants to choose from, both on the beach front and in the quaint side streets.

The beach is very shingly and there are alot of pigeons on it. There is a lovely fort to walk up to from the beach which has fantastic views.

All in all a very nice resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

5/5


liz visited here on August 2006
Lovely resort with lovely people. tossa is a lovely place and we had a wonderful time walking around it with lots to look at and lots of shops and restaraunts.

Talking to Spanish people in the area they say the resort is expensive but we found it to be about the same as other resorts we have visited.

The beach is beautiful and clean and Villa Bella to the right of the beach is well worth a visit. We like the resort so much we are returning in October.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Debbie Tomkins visited here on August 2006
A lovely picturesque town with a brilliant castle which the kids loved. Loads of bars, cafes and shops all reasonably priced. A choice of boat and bus trips from Tossa itself which we found really good. The beach was quite small and got a bit crowded, also the WCs were not great there, but there was lots of cafes to use instead.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Richard Wedge visited here on August 2006
Tossa is certainly a great place. A walk through the old town with its many shops takes you up the the castle or Villa Vella. This is absolutely stunning and gives magnificent views over Tossa. Nearly at the top is a restaurant/bar which I would highly recommend, its prices are actually cheaper than some of those in the town
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Davies visited here on August 2006
I loved Tossa de Mar. The quaint streets and small bars give this place a lovely atmosphere. I cant comment on the beach as we are not beach lovers, but we did walk down by the beach which is tiny shingle and could be quite sharpe so wear some sort of beach shoe. It must be quite nice as it was packed when we went down there.

What I liked about the shops in Tossa was that you wasnt pounced upon when you went in. They are so laid back and you could have a good look around without being bothered or having the feeling that you were not trusted.

The town has loads of restaurants and small bars (not karioke) I loved it.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


J's visited here on August 2006
Fantastic resort. Chic and pretty, very welcoming locals. Well located supermarkets and restaurants.

Be sure to visit Bar Louis in the main town .. a must for any pizza fanatic. Also fabulous Chinese restaurant on the main road leading to the coach station and only charged at 7 Euros for buffet.

Couldn\'t fault this resort, can\'t wait to go back
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Fiona visited here on July 2006
Tossa is very unspoilt and not too touristy so its a lovely place to visit. Can\'t say anything about the entertainment but I there\'s not a huge amount of nightlife so wouldn\'t be good for 18-30\'s type of holiday. Don\'t like beaches so didn\'t spend any time there but it looked nice enough. I would definitely come back to Tossa.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

2/5


The Taylors visited here on October 2005
In October there is no-one about. The restaurants were empty. The old town of Tossa is worth a visit but once done, its done. There a 3 beaches all which are small and nothing to write home about. To get out of the area you have to go to Lloret to get another bus elsewhere. To get a train you have to get another bus to Blanes. Not much in the way of shopping. All shops sell the same things. Pretty much trapped in Tossa De Mar. The place is full of flies and we are never going back.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Huitson visited here on October 2005
The resort of Tossa de Mar is pleasant with lots to see. The old part of the town is lovely and there are nice walks. The beaches looked lovely although we did not go on them.
I probably would visit Tossa de Mar again, but certainly not this hotel. Hope this report is helpful.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Anne James visited here on October 2005
Tossa is the most beautiful town I have seen. It is clean and tidy with loads of old charm. The people are friendly, the restaurants are generally excellent, try Casa Andre\'s, it is great for adults and kids too with real family charm.

The shopping is laid back and easy, try the cask port in the little off licences on the Costa Brava Avenue, it is dirt cheap and really nice (comes in litre bottles). Caprabo supermarket will sell anything you need other than fruit squash, the real thing is far too cheap anyway.

All the bars and restaurants love kids and if you make a little effort with the language you will reap the rewards ...
with excellent service and atmosphere.

By the way, the closer to the castle you are the more expensive the food - but it\'s worth it just once. Look to the back streets for little bistros and listen out for local diners, they are the best places to eat.

Hire a car if you can and go north, the scenery is breathtaking and you can get as far as Empires and back in a day - it\'s a fabulous Roman/Greek site that will take your breath away.

For couples and families with children
Tossa is fabulous, there is some nightlife but not excessive and most tends to be near the beach so if you want quieter hotels head further up town nearer the Avenue de la Catalunya. happy hols

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


GILLIAN visited here on September 2005
Tossa de mar was a delightful town which we spent many hours strolling through and looking in the many shops and boutiques.

There are many bargains to be found and we even woke up to a market on the Thursday. Again many bargains to be found there.

The beach was beautiful but a bit sore on bare feet due to the shingle-parasols could be hired all day for 4 euros and there are glass bottom boat trips to keep you occupied, when you get bored of the lovely scenery, and the castle.

There are plenty of restaurants and bars to relax in and a couple of night clubs but these were only open Saturday and Sunday. There was no litter ...
in the streets and a friendly feeling from the locals.

We will definitely be going back to Tossa de Mar.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Val & Ken visited here on September 2005
If it\'s Blackpool you want do not come to this resort, for us it was ideal. Loads of retaurants, nice bars, although they do tend to close early, we were unable to find anything open after 12.00.

A very safe atmosphere no larger louts. Castle walk was fantastic, this whole area is very picturesque.Beaches very clean but shingle sand, sea shelves quickly and can be difficultt to get in and out but pleasant once in the water.

Try Berlins restaurant if you can find it its in a side street, set menu 8 euros, a litre of house red 5.35 euros, excellent choice of dishes and very friendly, we ate there twice. Chinese buffett also very good value.

We travelled to ...
LLoret using the local bus which was very easy, it is 38 years since we were there, the beach and esplanade area are really nice but the area behind this is very tacky. We ate at Orient Express on the front, had Steak & Guiness pie, excellent.

We would definately return to Tossa, excellent resort.


Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Hefin and Janet Jones visited here on September 2005
The resort of Tossa de Mar is charming, attractive and clean. It is surrounded by mountains and trees and has a labyrinth of narrow streets with the old walled town set on a hillside overlooking a horse-shoe shaped beach.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Sara visited here on August 2005
This delightful little fishing village was absolutly charming. It had quaint little sidestreets which were lined with welcoming restaurants and little shops.

The fabulous castle was brilliant to walk round at night, you can even have you dinner looking out over the village. In fact we loved the castle so much we claimed it ours!

There is however no real discos or clubs in this village, if you want the club scene then Lorret is the place! The resort is very clean. The beach is like fine shingle which i liked because it dosent get everywhere.

The sea is nice, but it can be a little choppy and it does go deep very quickly. Sunloungers can be hired on the beach ...
for around 4 euros which are more comfortable than the hotel ones. The beach area is not that large and on a hot day it can get packed.

This resort would suit a couple who want a nice relaxing holiday who like the thought of staying in a typical spanish resort. No loud music, no young clubbers, no louts. Plenty of places to eat, i\'d definately recommend \"Tom and Traceys steak house\" by the monument on the beach, they are really friendly and offer good value for money.

This resort was perfect, I\'d live there if I could!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Jackson Family visited here on August 2005
Lovely families and couples based resort with lots of nice bars and restaurants. Not a McDonalds or Burger King in sight!!

Fantastic!! Typical old spanish resort, can\'t understand why it is not more popular with the Brits!!

Only slight downside was that the beach was literally jam packed (to be expected in high season I suppose) and no parasols available for hire.

Cannot recommend highly enough!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


mary hiddleston visited here on August 2005
tossa de mar is unique-very quaint- loads of character- and no lager louts/arcades/english pubs/etc etc.
it is a family resort and has a mixture of french/spanish and english families,
it is a safe resort to wander around in and the medieval village is a \'must\' to explore-we loved all the old streets full of character.we\'d definately recommend it to anyone, for a restful holiday. there are loads of \'nice\' restaurants and bars and street just to wander and explore.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Bahia de Tossa Hotel  stars Bahia de Tossa Hotel
This is a modern hotel, set in a convenient location where all amenities the resort has to offer are nearby. The charm of Tossa de Mar with its rugged coast and picturesque Old Town and the facilities this hotel offers makes the perfect choice for a relaxing holiday.

Latest Review: Sep 2009

Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

3/5
Can Marti Camping  stars Can Marti Camping
Address: Carrer de Sot de Ses Pomeres, 3, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Continental Hotel  stars Continental Hotel
Address: Tossa, C/ Montseny, 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: Sep 2005

Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Costa Brava Hotel  stars Costa Brava Hotel
Address: Carrer de la Mare de Déu Montserrat, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: Sep 2004

Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Diana Hotel  stars Diana Hotel
The fully air conditioned Diana hotel is relatively small with 20 rooms and 1 suite. Games room and restaurant are available as well as views of the beach and castle nearby.

Latest Review: Sep 2004

Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

3/5
Don Juan Hotel  stars Don Juan Hotel
Address: Carrer de Barcelona, 22, 17320, Tossa de Mar, Girona, Spain

Latest Review: Oct 2007

Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

5/5
Gran Reymar Hotel  stars Gran Reymar Hotel
Situated on a gentle slope overlooking the bay of Tossa de Mar, the Gran Reymar is an ideal base from which to enjoy the pleasures of sightseeing as well as simply relaxing.

Latest Review: Jun 2004

Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

2/5
Mare Nostrum Hotel  stars Mare Nostrum Hotel
The bright and airy Mare Nostrum is an attractive and well-managed hotel which consists of two parts, the annexe where most of the more modern gust rooms are situated, and the main building.

Latest Review: Aug 2009

Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Medplaya Esmeraldas Aparthotel  stars Medplaya Esmeraldas Aparthotel
Part of the Med Playa chain, the Aparthotel Esmeraldas is a large property on the residential outskirts of Tossa de Mar. Tossa\'s sand and shingle beach is within walking distance and the hotel has its own pool with a separate section for children.

Latest Review: Aug 2008

Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Medplaya San Eloy Aparthotel  stars Medplaya San Eloy Aparthotel
This fortress styled accommodation is all inclusive and comprises four blocks of apartments, arranged around the pool. The Hotel San Eloy has a range of facilities providing everything you need for a relaxing break or an active holiday.

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Neptuno Hotel  stars Neptuno Hotel
Perfect for couples who want to blend a taste of traditional Spain with the charm of a relaxed nightlife in a romantic setting, the Hotel Neptuno is a picturesque, traditional Spanish hotel.

Latest Review: May 2007

Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Oasis Tossa Hotel  stars Oasis Tossa Hotel
Situated in a quiet area of the attractive reosrt of Tossa De Mar, this superb hotel offers comfortable accommodation combined with a wide range of facilities and friendly service.

Latest Review: Oct 2005

Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4/5
Park Hotel  stars Park Hotel
The Hotel Park offers a relaxed, traditional feel with plenty of Catalan character, and with the convenient location, you do not have far to go for all local amenities. During the day enjoy a cooling dip in the swimming pool, or stroll down to the beach.

Latest Review: Aug 2005

Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

3/5
Tossa Beach Hotel  stars Tossa Beach Hotel
Address: Avinguda de la Palma, 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

3/5
Tossa Park Apartments  stars Tossa Park Apartments
This friendly family run complex is ideal for those seeking basic self catering accommodation with a relaxing atmosphere. The Tossa Park Apartments are situated in a quiet area of the resort within easy reach of a number of amenities.

Latest Review: Jun 2007

Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Share