Image of Diamond Hotel

Diamond Hotel

73 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
4 stars
Sunny Beach, 8240, Bulgaria
The Diamond is a modern hotel, located in the centre of Sunny Beach, just a few minutes walk from the beach. Refurbished for Summer 2003 and now divided into three and four star accommodation.

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nadine
Worst hotel EVER
7 years 5 months ago
This place is so bad I don't even know where to start! Arrived with my 2 small children to find we had been put 3 floors up despite being promised a low floor, had a hole just about the same size as my 1 year old daughter in the (cracked) balcony glass and huge pieces of glass next to my son's bed, all over the floor but being 4 am we all just wanted to get to bed so thought I would mention it all in the morning, but surprise, surprise no cot (as promised) so still had to move the kids back downstairs again where I was (with a sigh) told it would be ready soon. Soon turned out to be an hour later when we were finally given the cot 2 of the sides were broken but we were so tired by then just let it go until 3 nights later we awoke to our 1 year old screaming by our bed because she had fallen out the bottom of the cot. Informed the hotel but was ignored.

Thought next day we would at least take advantage of being all inclusive by having a few drinks around the pool but was just settling down round the pool when there was a loud bang and then something hit my back. Look down and there's glass everywhere where some idiot has thrown/dropped a glass off of his balcony. Both my kid's towels were covered in glass and my back was cut. It was just lucky the kids were under a sunshade and didn't get cut. After a day round the pool we realised this wasn't a one off either it happened every day at least. This you may be thinking is nothing to do with the hotel but the staff came out looked at the pool area full of glass ignored us completely when I tried to tell them what had happened and then went in and didn't even clean it up. I don't even want to think about how many people must have cut themselves.

There was only warm wine which tasted of what id imagine cats pee would, beer and vodka which tasted of petrol. I'm not fussed with vodka but this was something else,revolting so had to go to the real bar and spend every day, least I can get some food here I thought but after 3 days of the same for breakfast and lunch which I wouldn't feed a homeless dog we ended up eating out every night aswell.

The only thing worth going all inclusive there for is the water machine (when it works) and soft drinks if you don't expect service with a smile. Then comes the music, not from the hotel from the guests which they placed in-between my mum's room and ours. They must have paid thousands for this ghetto blaster because it's louder than most clubs I've been. I may have children but I'm still not fussed about loud music, I actually quite like it as it was the only entertainment we were going to get. But bearing in mind we did't get in til around 2am ourselves and this music didn't start til another few hours and went on until at least 7am and the beds in our room were moving and plaster fell off the walls gives you a bit of an idea. One night I couldn't take anymore so went down to reception where I was told I had to call reception. I asked why as I'm here now, seems pointless and was just quoted the number to call so I went up the 3 flights of stairs to phone to which the same guy turned up at my room and asked what was wrong. Anyway I pointed out to her a guide which was in my room which stated that after 1am no noise even talking on balconies was permitted. I said I'm not asking for that just for the music to be kept to at least lower than the hotel bars downstairs and stop around 3/4. That night it did for an hour. The next night and every remaining night it was back. People were cheering when they were leaving.

All staff bar, reception, shop, waiters except the lobby barmen and lady in the dining room and 1 of the maids were unbelievably rude.

I wish I listened to the previous reviews but I always hear people complain on reviews and I've been away twice a year for the past 21 years and never minded anywhere so thought people were again just moaning but they were right. I will be taking my complaint further aswell. I wouldn't stay here for free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Scott Slater
9 years 4 months ago
Our Hotel was good, I enjoyed it. Was free wi'fi, a bar open all hours and a hairdressers/tatooists etc.
Staff were friendly and the food was decent to be fair, would reccommend. it really is an 18-30 year olds sort of hotel though. entertainment at night is non-exsistent basically though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Moira Smillie
9 years 7 months ago
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from 15th May.What a nightmare,after many years of travelling abroad we have never experienced a holiday such as this one.Our first complaint was not getting linen changed,towels were changed after our complaint,but bel linen was only changed once in our 2 week stay.I thought I was going to turn into a chicken as it was chicken every evening for dinner with very little choice of salad or sweet.Breakfast every morning was eggs,either fried,scrambled,boiled,omelette,poor choice of cereal. 2days after our arrival we were invaded by about 200 Bulgarian students,seemingly this was their prom,the noise and carry on of them went on 24hrs a day,compliants to security were ignored,We also found them very ill mannered and arrogant.After 4days we wre never so glad to see them leave,but our gladness turned to sadness when another corwd of students arrived.They were not any better than the first crowd.They really spoiled our holiday along with the staff from the hotel who very rarely smiled or acknowledged you.The only up side of this Hotel was the location.The entertainment was zero as entertainment area was reserved for Bulgarian students only.So if you are planning to go to this Hotel DONT GO LAST FORTNIGHT IN MAY,and hopefully you are a lover of chicken Quack Quack
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

10 years 6 months ago
the hotel was the diamond this is the third time we have stayed here.it will be the last,when we arrived we found that it was full of 18 to 30s at first they were germans then another lot from england. the food was worse than the last twice we stayed there but we knew that as we always eat out as the resort is cheap to eat out. alhough it is creeping up this year.
the staff and cleaners are very helpful,but cant do anything about the 18 to 30s, its very sad to see this hotel going down this road as they will lose the family market.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Barry Nuttall
10 years 6 months ago
Hotel was full of 18 to 30. Very noisy most nights.

Location was spot on. Food was bad the, worst I have ever had they just brought it out and put it near any label never knew what it was and it was cold.

Plan on going again but not to this hotel avoid at all costs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunsave.com

10 years 6 months ago
Hi I stayed at Hotel Diamond in June and I could not fault it we had an large room overlooking the pool and a great balcony, the staff there are really friendly and yes there are a few who speak pretty good english, the only downside was the food it was quite repetitive, although there is a lot of choices for breakfast if you make it down in time, lol,but it is so cheap to eat out and the food in restuarants is beautiful, everyone going on about this hotel being 18-30 but the kids there at the time were well behaved there was a bit if noise at night but like you say drink some more ,the hotel bar is buy one get one free on vodka redbull at happy hour 8=2 and cocktails, the other bar is open all night it`s a bit more expensive but hey still buy one get one free, just go and enjoy yourselves you will have a great time ,these people who moan and whinge are just never satisfied it is a good hotel don`t worry , it`s clean and the cleaners come in every day ,the beds are comfy , there is a small fridge , it`s right in the centre only a couple of mins to the main strip and the beach, what more could you ask for,just thought I would put your mind at rest.Go and have a ball, go to Billy`s if you get a chance 1 lev a pint.I would recommend this hotel, our party was a party of 6 all in our 40`s.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
The only real fault that I found with this hotel was the food. I am willing to try anything but everything that was served up whether it be as soon as the restraunt opened or near the end of the session was always cold. We commented this to our rep who confirmed to us that the restraunt manager refused to heat the hotplates.

So as far as evening meals were concerned I would have a plate of cold chips to tide me over until we went in search of an outside restraunt, which was quite annoying as we ended up paying for food twice. Breakfast was no better and we couldn't even have butter on our bread as it had turned due to the fact that the sell by date was 2005 (we think).

As for the rest of the hotel, staff were absolutely brilliant and very polite and helpful at all times.

Towels were changed everyday and the bed was changed midweek of our stay. I would not however say that this was a 4 star hotel. When we arrived, there was already a cigarette hole burn in the net curtain and also several of the hand towels left for us were frayed and had holes in them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Sunset

Recommended
BLMP
10 years 7 months ago
Would say hotel was more like a 2 or 3 star, not a 4. The food wasn't fantastic but it was ok and there was usually plenty of choice. Staff were pleasant enough but a couple of times the waiter didn't bring change back from drinks, just kept it as a tip without it been offered. Room was a bit drab but clean but backed onto supermarket behind which had people hanging around outside it all night. Most nights there were teenagers running around at 3 oclock in the morning, making a racket. We were disappointed first couple of days but think this was mainly due to flight been delayed and misreable weather. Thought Bulgarian people in general were nice and helpful. Once weather got a bit better quite enjoyed our stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Carlos Fandango
11 years 7 months ago
Heard a lot of bad reports on this hotel but was pleasantly suprised.

Very clean and towels changed everyday. maids were very friendly but they mop the carpet??? Whats that all about?!

Food was a bit of a let down and wasn't much variety but always something there we liked mainly pizza,chips n salad.

Pool area was nice but lost a lot of hours sun. bad planning. Watch out for the receptionist. Never seen someone so moody and rude. She also toldus at the end by saying we owe them money but couldn't say what we owed it for. We had to pay this to get our passports back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
Arrived at the Diamond and thought what a nice hotel.

Room was very clean and towels were changed every day although the beds were very uncormfortable the throw over the beds was made out of some material that made you itch, but it was too warm we didn't need that anyway. Aircon was turned on but you'd have had to hold your hand up to it to feel anything.

Didn't like the hotel food, I think it was aimed more at the Germans but the food in the resort was so cheap that didn't worry us too much.
Djannys was right behind our hotel.

DO NOT use the lifts in this hotel as we got stuck in it and this was about 2 in the morning, thought we were going to be there all night shouting HELP,HELP.
Thankfully someone heard us and about 45 minutes later they got the doors open but we were between two floors so another 20 minutes to get us to ground floor.

Hotel was very central but a very busy road outside which you had to cross to get to the main strip.

Our hotel pool was freezing, only seen about 3 people in the whole week.

They take your passports off you when you arrive and charge you 6 lev a day for safe. A bit of a panic on when we went to get our passports back a day later and they said they didn't have them but the receptionist had put them against a different room.

This isn't a 4 star hotel, 3 at best. Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay at the Diamond but if we go back think we would try a different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: diy

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum