Image of Rila Hotel

Rila Hotel

34 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria
The attractive hotel Rila and its sister hotel Vitosha enjoy a fantastic sea front location just 200 meters from the centre of the resort. Renovated a few years ago, they provide a high standard of accommodation.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gemma
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed in hotel Rila when we arrived at this hotel early hours of the morning we felt disapointed at they way the hotel looked.

The lift was a disgrace we could not fit 4 small suitcases in the lift to get to the top floor. The lift had messages inside saying beware of moving wall as it was a very old lift. We stayed on the top floor there was a gap between balcany floor and wall starting which would be no good if travelling with children, this did only appear to be the top floor balcanys though.

Bathroom door was rotting and there was rust marks on other areas of the floor. We only stayed two nights before being moved to a different hotel.

Breakfast was small and looked unpleasent we did not eat or drink here. Pool looked nice but paving around un even. Minibar in room did have pop and chocolate which was nice and not to expensive.

Would not return to this hotel and would not recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Joanne
11 years 4 months ago
we went for 7 nights and had a fantastic holiday.

when we were dropped off at the rila at 2.30am we thought oh no were have we come to, especially when we had dropped others off at big nicer looking hotels.

however we actually stayed in the vitosha, we loved it, lovely large clean room with large balcony over looking pool and sea.

the rooms were cleaned everyday, our clothes all folded neatly, and towels arranged in different shapes on the bed.

lovely clean large pool, cleaned daily by pool boy.

massages available next to the swimming pool.

staff very friendly and helpful.

best location in sunny beach with the best pool.

mini bar in room with drinks and chocolate.

really glad we were here and not in one of those larger hotels which were right in the centre.

quite noisy, no air con but you can hire a fan for 4 lv a night, breakfast room not nice and food not nice either, luckly we liked toast and fruit for breakfast and the coffee was lovely.

the hotel could do with some modernisation.

we never used the lift, we walked up the stairs, lift small and rikety.

recommended hotel, going back to sunny beach next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Tracy
11 years 5 months ago
The hotel rila is where we stayed in it is in need of desperate updating.The fire alarms dont work as there was a fire there when we stayed!The breakfast was poor and no entertainment at night. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The hotel is the best location on sunny beach and the pool was the best also. A very relaxed atmosphere lots of sun loungers. Very good pool for children. It was very annoying when the pool was cleaned in the morning when everybody wanted to use the pool.As this should of been done when the pool was shut!! All in all we would not choose this hotel again as we would rather use a more modern hotel. We still had a good holiday as the location was spot on!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel was lovely, one minute away from beach and a lovely big pool. However the pool was lacking maintenance and you can tell from all round the edges. It was cleaned once in our two weeks stay and when it was done it had gone 11.30am. This should be all done by 8am every day.

We had a life guard who was at first concerned with younger children in the big pool, but soon all we ever saw him do was lay down on a sun lounger.

It is an old building but was kept clean and tidy, but the lift kept breaking down which was no fun being on the top floor. And on the last day the porter just watched us bring down all our luggage and never helped!!! We were not happy.

Breakfast was a joke, cold scrambled eggs, hotdog sausages and something else that I was not brave enough to try. The rest was cold meats, pate and salad, not my idea of a breakfast.

I reccomend to pay the extra and get a superior room as you get fantastic views and the room is very large, i loved it.

It was just the staff, lack of entertainment and the the food that let this hotel down.

You will love the location and your holiday if you are all clued upped about what I've said, be warned!!!!!!!and you will enjoy fantastic location at a budget price.

Also, there is talk that they are going to demolish it in two years time so make the most of it now.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Elizabeth Docherty
11 years 6 months ago
My late partner, our son and myself stayed in the vitosha and found it to be a lovely hotel. Our room was cleaned every day, breakfast was excellent and the staff were brilliant with our 4 year old son. We were due to go back this year but due to the sudden death of my partner decided i could not go again without him. Want to thank all staff for their kindness and help while we were there. Would reccommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Morag Wilson/David McLaughlin
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Ritosha last September for 2 weeks. We found the rooms were clean and spacious with a good view over the hills and a side view on to the sea.

The hotel is located right on the promenade only a hop skip and jump to the beach, which was great.

Can't really say much about the food as we only had breakfast there and me being vegetarian mainly just stuck to bread and jam.

The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen every 2nd day and the rest of the hotel was just as clean.

Only downside to our room however was that there was a restaraunt close by that played the same loud music every night we were there, however, we soon got used to this and managed to sleep through it.

The pool itself was lovely, though a little on the cold side, but the sea was that close that we could leave our towels on the loungers and go for a swim in the sea if we wanted to.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Bulkan Holidays

Recommended
Lorraine And Andrew
13 years 4 months ago
We loved this hotel with it's beach front location, which was one of the reasons we picked it from the brochure. Rila was set in a lovely setting just about 10 minutes from the lively centre.

We had a lovely view overlooking the pool and the beach and sea. The rooms were cleaned every day and the cleaners always said hello and had a smile.

The reception staff were very helpful along with the portering staff.

We found the food although quite basic just enough to put us on until lunch.

The pool area was very clean and well maintained After a storm one night(weather was fantastic the next day) we were amazed to see one of the cleaning ladies wipe down every single sun bed with a towel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Gregory Family
13 years 7 months ago
The best thing about this hotel is that the rooms are quite large and are very clean. the cleaning staff do a great job.

We often found a few of the staff grumpy and unhelpful.this was though just a few not all of them.
the food became boring and we got sick of eggs every morning for breakfast.

The location is excellent right on the beachfront. No entertainment at all in the hotel which made it hard to keep kids of 3 and 1 amused at times.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

14 years 3 months ago
The hotel was quite basic, the breakfast wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
The Smiths
14 years 4 months ago
Posted on behalf of the Smith family !!!!!

The Rila has a great position to the North of the centre right on the beach.

It has a large pool and pool bar.

The rooms were large and spacious. One point that is not in the brochure - family rooms actually have 2 bedrooms and this worked out better with older kids in the party wanting some privacy.

Rooms cleaned everyday and plenty of clean towels and bed changes.

Standard Bulgarian breakfast but bacon did appear one morning to go with the fried eggs !!

The only drawback was the late night noise from the beach bar opposite - sometimes banging away until dawn.

The rep did approach them after we complained and this did seem to help.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum