Image of Smolian Hotel

Smolian Hotel

25 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

4 out of 5 from 6 reviews
3 stars
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
This brand new hotel is located in the western side of the resort in the vicinity of the resort centre and the popular Trakia Plaza. There is a lovely outdoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy the sun.

6 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 5 months ago
The room was kept clean. The only query I had was the lack of bins in the room!!!!!!! We left a carrier bag each day with our rubbish in, which was always taken away. Towels changed twice and sheets once during our 14 day stay.

Free air conditioning was a blessing. Pool cleaned every day. Free loungers but not many parasols or small tables available. Pool bar open all day. Those who wanted to play pool, needed to pay for it.

We did not use the restaurant, simply because there are many places to try in Sunny Beach for food. The food did look nice. Slightly more pricey then in the resort. Breakfast was only 5 levs, eat all you like. Continental only and as usual left uncovered.

The only slight draw back was the staff. they could have been more friendly. We did try smiling and interact but met mainly with no response. The young man that cleaned the pool spoke every morning and the dark haired girl who worked behind the bar also tried hard.

With regards to location for us it was ideal. Not far from all the amenities, bus station etc. Others amy want to be nearer to the beach but this was only 10 minutes away? The only thing was crossing the busy road outside the hotel.

Entertainment as mentioned non existent but bar remained open all night.

I would visit the hotel again as it was good value or money. It was a good three star hotel for Bulgaria. For us it was ideal.



Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
KIRKWOOD
10 years 6 months ago
This was the third time my wife and I have stayed at the hotel Smolyan.

The first time we stayed at the hotel was 3 years ago when it just opened and we were allocated this hotel on arrival an allocated on arrival deal.

The hotel remains the same over the years, it is family run and the staff are very helpful.The rooms are kept very clean with bed linen and towels changed daily if required.

It is very near the bus station, the local market area and is only a 10 minute stroll down to the main nightlife.It is located next to the main road but traffic noise is not a problem.

This hotel is ideal for families as it is peaceful at night and the swimming pool is kept spotless by the staff with free sun loungers available.

Although there is no entertainment in the hotel, you are only a short walk to tavernas that provide music.

We certainly enjoy staying in a peaceful location with easy access to the main nightlife and are returning again in September 2008 for a weeks holiday.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: BALKAN

Recommended
Mike & Celia
11 years 3 months ago
The hotel was well situated, far enough away from the noise of what is a very lively resort, but within 5 mins you can be in the middle of the resort. The rooms were very clean and modern and the maids came in everyday.The pool area was clean and in the sun all day. We requested a room change after 4 days due to the fact that our balcony was on the side of the hotel and was a bit windy.We were immediatley given 2 keys to a couple of rooms overlooking the pool, and were told we could choose either of them.There is a main road outside this hotel, but I can honestly say that the traffic did not disturb us at all.The sun beds at the hotel were free, and it is our understanding that in a lot of the hotels you were charged for them.We were only bed and breakfast, and only used this twice when we went on trips, other than the fact it was salads and yoghurt, which we English dont eat for breakfast , there was boiled, fried and scrambled eggs, toast and cereals, plenty of fruit, it was always fresh and well presented. We would certinly go to this hotel again, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
We enjoyed our stay here at this lovely hotel the staff were great they will do anything to help you .

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Karen
11 years 5 months ago
Food was really good with lots of choice. Rooms were clean. The location is just out of the main hustle and bustle of the resort, but next to a very busy road. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful. There is no entertainment at this hotel.

The only downside to this hotel is the security. Gangs of drunken Norwegens throwing glasses/furniture/themselves in the pool around 3-5 am most mornings. The night staff were too young to cope and just let these gangs do what they wanted to do. Children were pulling glass out of the pool the next day. I would not recommend this hotel for children, until the security is vastly improved.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: A1 Travel

11 years 6 months ago
My husband and I visited this hotel for 2 weeks. Were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Rooms were comfortable with fridge and TV, also carpeted which meant no noise from any other rooms could be heard.

Breakfast was ample and adequate with the buffet choice of scrambled and boiled eggs, salads, jams, cereal,
fruit, ham, cheeses, bread, toasting machine etc.

Pool area was great as nobody hardly ever used it, preferring instead to go to beach.

Good location, only about 10 Min's from all action but a few bars and restaurants nearby. We preferred to sit round pool late at night as bar was 24 hour and very relaxing.

Only fault I would comment on is the air conditioning isn't much use-we had to sleep with balcony doors open.

Would definitely return to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum