Image of Stema 2 Studios & Apartments

Stema 2 Studios & Apartments

39 of 49 hotels in Sidari

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
Sidari, Corfu, Greece

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve & Laura
Fantastic hotel, but awful rooms.
6 years 8 months ago
Where do I begin, The hotel and the pool are amazing. The rooms are huge and the pool is fantastic. The usual though not enough loungers and everyone getting up really early to put their towels down.

If I'm honest these are the only good points to this hotel. It is self catering accommodation but we did not have a kettle and when we asked about this we got told tomorrow you will have one. Tomorrow ended up being 11 days later.

On arrival in the room we were so pleased at the rooms size it was amazing, one of the best rooms I've had, its just a shame about the debris left from the previous guests. The cleaners are very friendly indeed but walk into your room with no notice or even a knock before entering

The hotel on the whole was a bit of a let down but, it truly is the most beautiful hotel I've stayed at and its only a short walk from the beach, markets and the pub strip but if I'm honest would not visit it again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Joanne
14 sleepless nights
7 years 7 months ago
Just got back from 14 sleepless nights in the Stemma.
We were in a room in the block closest to the bar social area so had to put up with loud music regularly until around 1 in the morning, I certainly didn't notice them drop the volume in the evening. Another problem were the mosquitos, we were eaten alive during the night despite using plug ins and lotions.

When we arrived the smoke detector was beeping (due to low battery) a staff member took the whole unit from the ceiling and said he would bring it back first thing in morning, despite asking several times it was still not returned after 14 days and it probably still isn't in place now. Let’s hope there are no careless smokers in that room now.

The hot water was a problem it seemed to run out about 7.30 - 8.00 so we always tried to get back for a shower before then or it was ice cold. Same problem early in the morning, don't expect warm water before 7.30 in the morning. Not good for those planning early excursions.

The cleaners did bring clean towels every 3 days but I had to beg and plead for the one change of sheets we had all holiday, rep said they should be changed every 3 days - I wish!

The fridge barely kept food chilled; I was worried about food poisoning. As for the mini cooker - it was hopeless, with the grill on full pelt it took 10 minutes for toast. Only one ring on top worked.

There were 3 people in our family and although 3 beds were made up there were only plates, dishes, glasses and cutlery for 2. After repeated requests and promises that they would be brought by the maids, I ended up having to go to the bar and insist that they give me them there and then we were fed up of struggling without them - that was day 3!

There were only two chairs on balcony the third just never arrived despite promises that it would. We had to use on of the chairs from inside.

The staff were indeed very friendly (and spoke good English) if you went to buy a drink or ice-cream from the bar but showed their true colours when you asked them for things i.e. smoke detectors, kitchenware’s, clean sheets. They certainly know how to huff and puff, they talk amongst themselves in Greek then.

We found it to be a problem with people getting up to put their towels in their favourite spots around the pool in the end I am sorry to say we couldn't beat them so had to join them at their own silly games.

As for the pool water - do not take your favourite white swimwear within days it will turn green - and it does not wash out when you get home. The first few days the water was lovely and clear but then suddenly turned very green. That night the staff were jet washing the gullies until 12 midnight - we were located close to the pool and found the noise of the jet washer very irritating at that time - at least I suppose a break from the music!

Don't whatever you do book trips with the rep you can get them for a fraction of the price on the Sidari strip/high street.

Sidari itself was disappointing far too commercialised, nothing whatsoever of an old town area, hard to find decent authentic food however lots of places catered for chip lovers and salad dodgers. Shop after shop selling tacky gifts, prices in small supermarkets were ridiculous (I noticed locals got discounts) and service extremely poor - do the Greeks want us there or not I was left wondering?

Plenty of water activities from the beach this kept my son happy, best beaches to visit are right at the opposite end of Sidari around the canal d amour - very scenic.

Would I go back to Stemma - No. Would I go back to Sidari - No. All in all however we had a great holiday simply because we ourselves made it so.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
7 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from the most fantastic fortnight's holiday we have had for many a long year.

Stema II is run by Nikos and Nikki (his wife), son Kostas, with Paula and Costas as their assistants. From the start each one could not do enough to make our holiday pleasureable. Apartments are extremely large by most standards, kept spotlessly clean, and well equipped.
Food, cooked either by Paula or Nikki, is excellent, and very competitively priced. I loved her beef in garlic sauce!!, and Paula's full English breakfast.

There was more than sufficient space and sunbeds around the pool, which was looked after by Kostas, and was always spotless. My only moan about this was the selfish English who removed the mattresses from the plastic sunbeds to use on the already sprung canvas ones, which occasionally left some people with a rather hard plastic sunbed to lie on.

Nikos was great fun, but you had to make the first move, otherwise he would, as a good proprietor, allow you your personal space. We had enormous fun with all the staff, whether during the day or the evening around the bar. As for noise from the bar late at night, it is absolute rubbish. Volumes were kept down from midnight onwards.

We were welcomed to the hotel by Paula and Nikki who helped us to our rooms, and organised safe deposit boxes etc and, at the end of our fortnight all of the staff came to see us off. Nikos even came on to the bus to say goodbye to my partner. Stema II is one of the few hotels we have all agreed we would most certainly go back to in the future
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jenny
8 years 4 months ago
We had a great stay at Stema studios, staff were lovely the appartments were clean and spaceous.Cleaners provided fresh towels and cleaned the appartments every couple of days. The pool area was nice with a mixture of people from all over england. The centre of sidari is about a 10 minute walk however its a scenic walk into town. The town is quiet this time of year (October).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Steve
8 years 4 months ago
The appartments are down a dirt track about 10 minutes walk from the main street,which the track is unlit,the appartments are ok,but it depends what you are looking for,we booked thinking it was going to be Kid free,but as usual there were English Kids there out of School,plenty of loud mouthed English holidaymakers who spolit it for the rest all who came from Northern regions.the staff were ok,but if you wanted an good nights sleep forget it as the music went on for aged,if you go take some earplugs with you.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Mr Flatt
8 years 5 months ago
Visted last year 2008 and it was good,but this year,oh dear,if you want a good nights sleep avoid the Stema,they play music until 2am and its loud and certain types try to sing along with it,trying to have a relaxing day by the pool is a no go as the same types try to out talk each other and it ends up in a shouting match,the town of Sidari is all Neon lights like Blackpool sea front,all to draw the English tourist with their fatty English breakfasts and tv's showing football and English soaps,oh dear what has Greece come to? another Yorkshire !!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Lyn
8 years 5 months ago
Well what can I say,the rooms were fine apart from the cleaners who did some sort of cleaning,there was mould in the bathroom and the shower was well useless,the draws and cupboards had no handles on them,the beds were supposed to be made and sheets changed but you could tell they hadn't be changed as you could feel sand and grit in the bed.If you wanted an early night that was too bad as those up north had a noisy karaoke night or 2 until 2am and around the pool if you wanted a relaxing sunbathe well you got shouting and swearing and footballs being thrown in the pool to try and splash you.not a good place to go if you want relaxation,and Sidari town is like Brighton seafront all bright lights not like Greece is supposed to be,I bet the older Greek people must shake their heads.all done for the English lager louts and tourists
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSONS

Michael
8 years 5 months ago
Well,what can I say,the room was ok,and the cleaners did turn up,the staff were fine,but if you wanted to get a good nights sleep then you were in for a shock as music played until 2am with a karaoke on more than one occasion and the Northerners could sing but had no consideration for others,The English kids who should have been at school were a pain,we booked in late September hoping we would miss them seeing as they did have 7 weeks school holiday's but alas not to be,more parents who thought they were better than the education system.and as for the pool,well if you wanted to sunbather quietly oh dear more shouting and screaming by the out of school kids.Towels by the Kids swimming pool?
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Andrea Spalding
8 years 6 months ago
We have stayed at this hotel before and definately will again. Room was very spacious. No complaints about cleanliness apart from bedding could have been changed a little more frequently. Never had time to watch cleaners! food was very good and service from staff brilliant. They are all really friendly. Location of hotel is great. No need for taxis into main part of town, only a short walk but far enough away not to be bothered by any noise. Bar area on an evening was very enjoyable. Not just for people up North as in one comment. the staff stayed up as long as they were required. Apart from the odd person that didn't like the noise, no-one else seemed to be bothered by it and to be honest it was very rarely on late. It certainly didn't keep us awake. My main complaint would be couples getting up at crack of dawn to place towels on beds especially around childrens pool, when they didn't have any children with them. I think that should be stopped.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Simon
8 years 6 months ago
Well,it was ok,but I have stayed in better,as the previous reports have said,if you like your sleep then this is not the place,music goes on some nights until 2am or when the staff think it time to call it a night or morning,by that time its breakfast.and as for sanbathing its not a quiet place to do it,kids shouting and screaming,try talking !!and 99% of the people staying here are from the North,may be why theres alot a screaming and shouting !!staff are ok and the cleaners do turn up eventually.entertainment well it does happen sometimes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum