Image of Philoxenia Apartments

Philoxenia Apartments

27 of 43 hotels in Malia

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
2 stars
Emmanouil Tsagkaraki str, Crete 70007, Greece
Just 500m from the centre of Malia , the Filoxenia Studios and Apartments are ideally situated for the hectic nightlife of this lively resort, while offering clean and simple apartments with a range of facilities ideal for recharging your batteries during your stay.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jodie Mead
10 years 1 month ago
Me and my two friends have just returned from the Feloxenia hotel and we would definitely stay in these appartments again. The rooms are clean, the pool is quite spacious and clean and the staff are really nice and frindly. Food is also very nice. The location is great literally step out the hotel and the strip is literally on your door step. beach is also only about a 5 min walk.Icouldn't find a fault with this hotel apart from sometimes when ordering food if you ask how long it will take or order something else you may end up with two lunches!! Also we got told off for being noisey one night and got shouted at outside our bedroom apart from that I would definitely return to this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Janine
11 years 3 months ago
Had a really nice time staff were really friendly and fun, lots of free shots.

The security guard was a pain you had to tip toe back everynight otherwise he would chase ya. Other wise great place def go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jo
11 years 3 months ago
These apartments are in a great location, seconds from the strip of bars & 2 mins from the beach. They are clean & tidy although the cleaners did not leave clean towels as often as I would have liked, we were there a week & only got 2 lots, we were told they would be changed 3 times.

The staff were very friendly & the food at the pool bar was pretty good. The pool is a good size & clean. My only moan about the pool is that the only music that gets played is hardhouse/techno, this isnt what you want to hear when you are trying to chill out, they also play it on the evening in the bar.

The bar is really nice & has pool tables & big screens, internet...they just need to invest in some new cd's!

Overall though, pretty good, Malia is a great place!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jodie
11 years 3 months ago
me and my two best friends stayed here in june 07, we had friends who were workin out in malia for the summer so didnt spend much time in the hotel!

the hotel in genral was very tidy but at 7am one mornin when i was tryin to sleep i had to open the door for the cleaner who was sweepin away floods of water, not what you would expect on the second floor!

also one of my friends decided to return back early to the hotel one night and was accompanied by one of our friends who wanted to make sure she got back safe.....only to be greeted by the reception lady who started shoutin all sorts of nasty things at her, which made my friend very uneasy for the rest of our holiday!

also we was not told about the 70 euro deposit on our arrival! we got it back at the end of the trip but we would have liked to have been warned about this!

in genral.....the holiday was awesome and im plannin on goin back out for a second time this year, i wont be stayin at this hotel!

first choice done an amazing job keepin us happy but the hotel staff were very rude!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Rose
12 years 2 months ago
Me and my friends went for a week and stayed here. We didn't know about the 50 euro deposit which you had to leave at reception and would not get back if the room was left in a state at the end of your stay.

Fortunately we got it back as our room was fine, however it was not hard to be left a mess as the room was generally quite small with 3 beds and not alot of space for suitcases etc.

The general standard of the room was good. The food there was quite nice, not the best dining experience but there are lots of restaurants around anyway and the price is right for what you get.

There was constant music by the pool from about 9am till 9pm so good in a way but bad when you want to sleep as we mainly got in around 7am and then two hours later it was 'thud thud thud'.

Saying that though the room was right next to the pool (which was really good when you wanted to go to the pool) The hotel staff were lovely, apart from one who was quite bossy and strict, but when you run a hotel with people mainly aged 18-25 you have to be.

There were pool tables and computers to use and a phone in reception so that was quite handy to call home. The location of the hotel was brilliant, about a 3minute walk from the best bars in Malia so was good when stumbling home! would definitely visit this hotel again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Vix
13 years 1 month ago
We stayed in the studio apartments which were basic but just waht we needed. All the Apartments has a balcony, an en-suite and a 'kitchen' which was basic with 2 hobs and a kettle, but sufficient.

Each room had 3 beds in, but there wasn't much storage space. Also in every room there was a safe. At the hotel there were two pools to choose from, one that was quiet and one that played music and had a bar which served nice food at a reasonable price.

There was a hotel bar which had a few TV's that they showed football matches on, and 3 Pool tables. The rep at the hotel - Laura was fab and really helpful. The location of the hotel is really good, its just down the road from Macdonalds and believe me it came in handy when you were wandering home at 4 in the morning because you could just look for the big 'M'.

The school disco night is alot of fun, make sure you get the uniforms!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Paul
15 years 2 months ago
I really did enjoy my stay at this hotel until the sercurity guards started given me hassle.

They will take advantage of you if you walk in drunk,etc.
They beat most my mates up for just starring alone and singing in the hotel late at nights but whatever you do dont retaliate. They wont let you get home in one piece.

Otherwise great place best night life 100%
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtors

16 years 5 months ago
We actually visited here in 1997.It was with my fiancee & brother who was 18 then. We stayed at the Filoxenia for 1 week in April. It was good location if you like loud bars etc, it was on a pretty busy road but in the small town of Malia. It is more a young persons place & not one for the elderly! It was quite quiet when we went just starting the season. The pool at the hotel was good, never tried any food there. Loads of restaurants on the street outside! Good shops nearby. The actual room was clean, not that modern but nice enough. We like Stalis which is 5 mins walk down the road so spent most nights there, where there isn't any 18-30's type holidayers! The beach is very close, you can walk there in about 5-10 mins.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum