Image of Ilyssion Hotel

Ilyssion Hotel

25 of 25 hotels in Pefkos

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Lindos Aera, Rhodes 85100, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Palmer
6 years 11 months ago
We too stayed at the Illysion in Rhodes .true the food will not win any awards but we stayed there for two weeks and never went hungry. However we also went to Corelli’s just down the road, and the food there was amazing the staff were without doubt some of the nicest people we have ever met in Greece. Don’t miss the glass bottom boat trip, great fun and good value. Illysion was lovely and clean, friendly and safe, only one problem for me too many steps......steps down to eat.....steps up to drink ....steps up to the pool etc...But I would still go back, great holiday, lovely memories.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rebecca
9 years 10 months ago
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE if you have this hotel booked - don't do go, speak to your travel agent and get somewhere else!

On first appearanee it looked okay - oh how deceiving. There are lots of steps to get down to the rooms so no good for anyone who is disabled.

Our room had sewerage running into the corridor from the room, a big padlock on the fridge, ripped sheets, ripped towels and the sink was almost hanging off the wall!! The air conditioning was payable locally which was fine but sounded like you were in the middle of a building site! There is no storage and we lived out of the suitcases for the full week.

The pool area was okay - the umbrellas around the pool are fixed so watch your heads if you visit. The shower around the pool is dangerous and one lady actually slipped and completely pulled it over!

The food was absolutely shocking! We only went for dinner on the first night - I didn't eat as it was that bad and bought some crisps (from their shop!). The bread etc was so hard that you could throw it at the wall and it would bounce back and hit you!! We spoke to someone about breakfast and the fruit was out of a tin so we didn't bother with that one!!!

That's all I can think of for now but please think twice before booking this hotel. Rhodes though is fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Yvonne
10 years 11 months ago
I've just come back from my third stay at this hotel in as many years - what can I say but don't believe all the negative reports you read on this or any other site.
Yet again, both my son & I were made to feel extremely welcome, nothing too much trouble. If other guests stopped and actually spoke to this family, they would realise just how lovely they are.
And I'm pretty certain that the majority of accomadation in greece charges for air con, fridges etc.
Yes, entertainment was a bit cheesy but it's all part of the fun - don'nt take it (or yourself) seriously.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Rob And Nita
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel is in a fantastic location overlooking the bay and we had a fantastic sea view. The rooms were cleanede regularly and to a good standarsd. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and the owner Costas is regularly on attendance.

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the food, now the breakfasts are ok as they are what you would expect in Greece but the evenibg meal, oh dear, you have to order the night before from a set menu, however, after a couple of nights it all looks and tastes the same and the desserts ranged from an apple on a plate to a pear on a plate.

It is a shame really because we enjoyed the holiday so much we did not really want to whinge but the fact remains the main topic of conversation amongst guests is the food. We, like lots of others began frequenting the nearby Corralis restaurant and this was very nice.

We would stay here again but only on bed and breakfast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Cameron
11 years 11 months ago
We have never gone back to the same hotel twice, but we did this year, having been at the Illysion in 2005. The location is perfect and the staff at the hotel could not be more helpful.

Costas (the owner) offered to run us into Rhodes, collect our teenage daughter from one of the teenage bars.

Although we were half board, we did not eat at the hotel as although the breakfast is OK, the evening meal was not.

We were not charged for the sunbeds around the pool. Our accommodation was perfect - right at the pool, which leads down to the sea. The outside terrace light bulb popped and the maintenace guy was there within 10 minutes to replace the bulb.

We have been to most places in Greece and have really enjoyed them, but the owners and staff in the Illysion really helped make the holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
During our visits to Pefkos over the years, we've walked past the Ilyssion quite a few times. From the outside it looks nice as it does as you walk into reception. So when we got to our room it was a big disappointment. The room was small and somewhat shabby, had limited storage space and a large 'padlocked' fridge (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

13 years 1 month ago
Although I'm going back 2 years, I have actually stayed here twice before. 2 years ago our family where actually booked into this hotel for our wedding, but we did stay on a couple of occassions.

I love the place and yes it has it's downsides i.e. bit out the way to the town (but this is known beforehand, and I had no problem), food isn't the greatest but there's plenty of eateries (although I thought the Terrace food was okay).

Think it's a lovely hotel, not much amenities but for a quiet relaxing holiday it's an excellent base.

Wouldn't hesitate at all to return here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Hampton
14 years ago
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Illysion Hotel but found that if you wanted extras i.e. fridge/air conditioning you had to pay more. We found the locked fridge off-putting and would have prefered to have paid more for the holiday and been able to use it when we got there.

The staff were reasonably helpful but were really only interested in you if you stayed in the hotel bar in the evenings which we did not as we have friends who run a bar and restaurant in Pefkos itself.

We would return to the hotel in the future but would hope that this time the fridge would not be locked and the staff more friendly!

The room we stayed in was clean and had lovely views over the bay there was also a small beach on which to sunbathe away from everyone by the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kosmar

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
No 1 Specialist Travel Agency in Lindos with a fantastic selection of apartments, hotels, traditional houses and luxury villas with pools
Holiday Truths Forum