Image of Matina Apartments & Hotel

Matina Apartments & Hotel

8 of 25 hotels in Pefkos

4 out of 5 from 39 reviews
Pefkos Rhodes Greece, Pefkos 85107, Greece

39 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    21
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Heaven by the beach
5 years 7 months ago
Stayed at the Matina Aug 12 self catering. The apartments were basic but clean and adequate. The complex itself was clean and comfortably relaxed throughout the day and night. The proximity to the beach is fantastic. It is the shortest walk to the tiny beach at the bottom of the hill, hell to get in and out of the pebbly couple of feet where sea meets sand, but just so relaxing!!! You can have a nice walk along the beach to another bay or you can even float on your airbed. Cheap sunbeds. 2 Nice bars overlooking the beach. Matina staff brill, Great English bar manager, fab restaurant with Greek manager who made a point of asking our first names when we dined and remembered our names for the duration of our holiday. Uphill to resort, nice bars and eateries. Best cocktails at Zigzag bar on top rd. The Matina is a jewel in the crown and its location puts me to sleep every night when sleep evades me during those dreary winter months. Very disappointed that Jet2 are not featuring in their 2013 programme. Can't think why.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chloe
7 years 8 months ago
Amazing holiday. so close to the beach and a very nice pools, staff were very friendly especially Stergos he would just make your day with his famous line "hello my babies"

would definatly go there again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Dean Horgan
8 years 8 months ago
we loved everything about matina apartments it was very clean and well maintained with a beautiful beach and the staff were very friendly and helpful.We are looking forward to going there next year with our daughter as there is lots of activities for kids.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
This June was the second time we had visited the Matina, the last time being in September 08.
I can definitely say that this year was even better than last.
Since last October they have built 2 new blocks of studios/apartments, a second swimming pool with separate children
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Mary
8 years 10 months ago
this holiday was amazing and me and my family will go back next year !!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Wendy
9 years 4 months ago
although this complex is excellently located and has good facilities in the accommodation, it was a noisy complex, ideal for families but not for those wanting a nice relaxing holiday! If you end up in room 608 you are directly opposite the children's play area, full of uncontrollable children. The standard of cleanliness in the rooms is poor, the floors were flithy and was only cleaned once in 14 days and I doubt if the bathroom floor was cleaned once in that time. If you are up for karioke, greek nights,cheap bbq's then this is the place for you! if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday then do not stay at the Matina!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Derek Norman
9 years 5 months ago
After my last visit in May I decided to give this place a 2nd chance. I pre-booked a "quiet" room this time. Arrived at 1am and the bar was in full flow. Went to my room to find it was only 10m from the pool this time.Only used it as a base and ate and drank at other places.The bar area around the pool is in constant use after it closes about 3am but the people then bring out their own drinks and carry on until well after 4am.This would be ok if they kept the noise level down but they don't. Reception don't care about the noise and ignore any requests for peace. Early one morning a mini riot broke out and apartment windows were smashed and the toilet block was vandalised. So goodbye to the Matina ,I've already booked 2 more holidays next year to Pefkos but I won't be at the Matina.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

9 years 8 months ago
Our first visit to pefkos and we loved it, the matina was spot on for our needs, the staff were great especially stergio who will remember your name and most others, 2.8 e for a pint didnt eat in the hotel but plenty did during the day, always got a sunbed even tho the hotel was nearly full, best restaurant for us was ANIXIS a 10 min walk but best tasting food and best value, we had 3, 3 course meals, 3 drinks each and the bill was just under 60 euros. enigma, coliseum and 2 brothers also good, of course if you want a late night snack go to alexandros. resort wasnt very full so nowhere was busy, we frequented jasmines cocktail bar as there is a kids play area and we could enjoy a drink in just adult company, also fuse bar, both of them just to relax. Overall we really enjoyed it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
This year we opted to take a taxi to the hotel at a cost of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Mrs Heather Norman
9 years 9 months ago
We were recommended the Matina. Stayed for a week to attend a family wedding in Lardos. Great location, noisy pool area until 4.30am.

Would not advise to have room 106 which is the noisiest room in the hotel. Had to call security twice during the stay to stop noisy people around the pool until early hours.Room was cleaned and towels changed only if you were up early and out of your room as they don't come back.Had to ask at reception for towels.

Loved the Oasis bar across the road. Kostas runs a great quiz night, food good too.Watched the sunset at Lee's bar on beach, stunning view.

The Matina was noisy day and night so went out to other bars. We would return to the Matina but only as a base and pre-book a quiet rrom.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
No 1 Specialist Travel Agency in Lindos with a fantastic selection of apartments, hotels, traditional houses and luxury villas with pools
Holiday Truths Forum