Image of Avantika Resort Hotel

Avantika Resort Hotel

29 of 53 hotels in Calangute

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
2 stars
Opposite Shri Shanta Durga Temple Near Centurian Bank, Calangute, 403516, India

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rees And Tracey
11 years 3 months ago
This hotel is ideal for long stays, our room
was large with plenty of room.

The staff are friendly and very helpfull at all times, soft mattress and pillows are available on request.
Breakfast time is the meeting place for all guests and you can find this very entertaining.

The swimming pool is cleaned every morning.

There is no evening entertainment but this is not a problem been in a middle of Calangute.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Gary And Kel Massett
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for a month in Feb 2007, the staff work very hard and attend to your every need. We will be returning back to this hotel in Jan/Feb 2008 for another month. The hotel is located away from the noise of the centre of calangute, this hotel is suitable to long stay holiday makers. See you all soon

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
John And Janet Biggins
11 years 4 months ago
Descriptions of the hotel in travel company brochures do not completely tie in with the facts, with regards to room and hotel facilities,however the rooms were fairly well kept and faults were promptly dealt with.

Linen and towels were changed each day and, on request, pool towels were provided. Breakfast became quite a social event as the small size of the hotel seemed to make it more friendly especially with the staff.

It is conveniently located for shops, bars and restaurants for English oriental and local foods.

There was very little evening entertainment.

In summary we were happy with it all and would certainly patronise it again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Shaun And Sharon
11 years 4 months ago
Some very pleasant rooms but be aware that there are also a number on the back next to a local (and noisy) bar. These are dim and small. Rooms are cleaned daily with changes of bedding and towels

Food is pretty good but don't expect the menu to reflect what is actually available.

Although its right in Calangute the hotel's position up a quiet side street means that you can be right in the middle of everything when you want it but don't have to listen to it all when you want to go to bed

Staff are very friendly and helpful and probably one of the main reasons why we'd use the hotel again.

There was no entertainment while we were there but due to the hotels location there was no one to entertain - everyone was in the excellent bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away

With just 22 rooms the guests and staff were all best of friends in a short time and that is a real draw for next time.





Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Eddie Pugh
11 years 5 months ago
Bed and Breakfast plus extras offered - avoid full breakfast.

Hotel very clean, rooms done daily with fresh towels- made into some very interesting designs. Pool cleaned daily.

Never ate at the hotel apart from breakfast however people who did eat there say it was good.

The location is probably the reason I never ate at the hotel, for those who know Calangute; the hotel is behind the building at the top of the main road, near the temple so is very handy for restaurants and shops. 10 minutes from the beach allowing for traffic.There are taxis outside for anyone who wants to travel.

The hotel staff were always friendly and always seemed happy. Not pushy like some hotels and not looking to sell you stuff - the "I know a man who sells this that and the other" routine. Anyone who has stayed at the Osborne will know what I mean by that.

Reception staff the same, very friendly and not pushing anything.

There is no entertainment at the hotel - apart from other guests. Another reason why few people eat in.

Overall very good as a base or a quiet day round the pool once the hotel next door is complete -almost complete now.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays(Airtours)

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
This hotel is ok as a basic base for anyone wishing to explore North Goa.

It is not quite as described in the brochure as not all rooms have a pool view or balcony.

My roon was right by the bar and had no terrace or balcony. The windows were small and frosted and as a result the room was perpetually dark.

Breakfast was coffee/tea and toast with jam. Other options such as eggs and full english are available at extra cost. I only had breakfast here which was ok.

The staff were helpful

Some people may be put off by the dirt track, cows and dogs you have to negociate with to get there.

A new building is being constructed next to the hotel and now forms part of the courtyard around the pool, this block off the sun in late afternoon. We were not disturbed by building work however a local cockerell made sure we did not linger in bed.

In short its ok as a base but don't pay too much! we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

T Langford
12 years 2 months ago
We stayed here for 21 nights apart from a 3 night trip to mumbai(what an experience) the room was large with a balcony overlooking the pool.

The room was cleaned daily as long as you handed your key into reception. The hotel lobby and bar area were always spotless. We never ate in the hotel apart from breakfast which comprised of fresh juice toast and jam and a pot of coffee (typical in my experience of most Goan hotels unless you go for 4* plus. location was ok down a bit of adirt track but only a few mins walk to the main resort.

Staff were great very smiley and eager to please. We went at the end of the season (ish) and there was no entertainment.

I would not hesitate to use this hotel again its great as a base.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Franklin
12 years 3 months ago
We are 2 couples, late 20's and stayed at the Avantika Resort hotel for 3 weeks, Feb/March.

Having been to Goa before I new the area and how to get about, but our friends had never been before. As a 1st time traveller to Goa the situation of this hotel may be abit off putting, as very busy and noisy part of Calangute.

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff very friendly. On the days we stayed around the hotel we had the pool to ourselves.

Never ate an eveing meal at the hotel but had breakfast and lunch and it was always good. No entertainment at hotel.

Ask for an upstairs room with a balcony if you can, but chances are because there are only 23 rooms if you havent got one when you check in you will have to wait for one to become available.

On the whole a good friendly small hotel. I would definately return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Rachel And Sam
12 years 5 months ago
We arrived at the hotel it was down a dirt track but new buildings are going up so I think this will improve in the future.

We got to reception, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We followed the porter to our room it was on the ground floor right next to the pool. The room was excellent, air con, TV and a very clean and comfy bed.

The staff were great anything we needed they could not help enough.

We only had breakfast there which was very good.

We would visit this hotel again it was small and sweet great for couples.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choise

Recommended
Jan & Richard
13 years 6 months ago
Although only staying on B&B basis we ate in the hotel a couple of times and found the food and the service to be of top quality. The staff were excellent friendly but very courteous and happy to go out of their way for you. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Due to the small size of the hotel it is very friendly and you were made to feel that your requests mattered.

The only problem was the location, it is very dark at night to walk along the track and there was quite a lot of noise late at night and early in the morning. Otherwise a very very pleasant place to stay - would definitely visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum