Image of Palmarhina Hotel

Palmarhina Hotel

31 of 53 hotels in Calangute

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
Porbavaddo | Bardez, Calangute 403516, India

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brian Dudhill
I would return to this hotel!
7 years 5 months ago
Arrived back from Goa 11th December after 2 weeks stay at the Palmarinha hotel/resort Calangute.

Arriving at the Palmarinha we were given a complimentary beer (at 0730 hours), quickly checked in and shown to our room (No. 327 with balcony overlooking the pool). As we got to the room the door opened and a very powerful smell of mothballs told me there may be a problem with creepy crawlies but we accept that in Goa.

The receptionist was on the phone to remind us that breakfast is being served so we went down and enjoyed the best scrambled eggs I ever had with grilled tomatoes and hash browns with a choice of omelets, boiled or fried eggs and a small buffet. The breakfasts were the best ones we've ever seen anywhere in Goan resorts/hotels! It was free but a constant lack of cups, plates, teaspoons etc annoyed some folk.

The room was spacious, light and the bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping cleaned up every day and made the bed and included the best towel sculptures I'd ever seen. The aircon was included in the price, along with the TV and very noisy fridge.

Our second day we looked around the hotel which was clean and tidy with friendly staff all around. The pool looked inviting so we had a swim. It was the first sign that things might not be what they seem. Being an ex pool attendant I'm not keen on seeing what we call a scum line around the pool (in a pool of this size the scum line could be cleaned every other day) and a scum layer on the bottom at the deep end. It's where all the sun oils and greases stick to the pool wall but I thought if thats the only thing wrong, I can live with that.

The pool is a good size and we only ever used the main pool (there are 3 in all). To rent towels is expensive 400 Rs. For 2 weeks, cheaper to buy.

That evening we went to eat in the restaurant and found the food very well presented, hot and really very nice but the portions I found a little wanting. I still had room so I asked for apple pie and ice cream thinking it might fill me up, I was wrong! This too was a very small portion and at around £2 was a pretty poor show but never the less was tasty. The restaurant wasn't very well used simply because it was overpriced and with small portions and we heard one or two say this to the bar staff. I was still hungry so we decided not to use the restaurant again (only as an emergency), the same as everyone else, quite simply it was cheaper to get a taxi into Calangute, eat and drink well and return via taxi than to eat/drink at the hotel.

The drinks too were very expensive a typical price in Calangute or Candolim for a large Kingfisher was about 75/80 Rs. but in the Palmarinha was 106 Rs. A cup of Tea elsewhere was around 25/30 Rs but in the Palmarinha was 55 Rs. Again I saw most people not using the bar.

The hotel/resort is about half an hour walk from Calangute, the hotel taxis try to rip you off and we found our own taxi in Calangute and used him for the 2 weeks.

There was a lack of entertainment for the 25% European guests and 75% Indian guests.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and had really nothing to complain about but I wished they would realise that if they brought their prices down they'd make it pay better by everyone using the bar and restaurant.

Would I go back to the Palmarinha? Definitely.
Would I recommend it? Definitely.
Staff were great.
Location was a little far away from the main drag but we didn’t find this a problem.
Thank you Palmarinha for an overall nice holiday experience in lovely Goa.
PS. We took our own travel kettle but wherever we put it in the room it got infested with little mites, something we expected anyway. Be prepared to see a cockroach or two, it’s normal in Goan hotels.
Try the Rice Bowl in Calangute and Tony’s for fish chips & mushy peas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Claire And Colin
8 years 3 months ago
After my boyfriend mentioned about going to Goa for our first holiday together i have to say i was a little apprehensive, but always open for new challenges and new places to visit, we came, my boyfriend had been to Goa a few years ago so that persuaded me a lot, well why would someone go back to a place if they didnt like it the first time! Im glad we chose Goa in the end, most of all glad we stayed at The Palmarinha, on arrival the staff so friendly offered us cool towels, shown to our room which was over the front pool and on the second floor, everything very clean,room boys always did a great job of the room,leaving a different towel design on the bed each day, food was exceptional, we ate in their own restaurant ' The Palms ' each night, food was that good, entertainment was good each night and the fact that the waiters never failed to make us laugh each night, was no reason why we should go out in the evenings, the location was great for us, didnt want to be in the heart of Calangute needed somewhere quiet and out of the way, this fitted the bill, would definately go back, miss the happy smiling staff who would bend over backwards to get you want you need and keep you happy, thanks must go to Dominic, Diago,Francisco,Eugeine and Rubeesh the waiting staff. Guys you are a credit to the Palmarinha, the other staff that need mentioning are the two security guards that we saw, Carty and Bengal tiger or as we called him ' Tiger Paw' again two guys who used to greet us with a smile and a shake of the hand, you did indeed keep us safe. Miss you all and look forward to seeing you again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Gordon
9 years 4 months ago
this is an excellent hotel and good value for money. its outside calangute but only 100 rupees taxi ride away. On the plus side its away from the noise and hussle and bussle of calangute. the staff are very friendly and couldnt be more helpful. ask at reception for kettle and cups and make your own coffee and tea, no charge.

out room overlooked the paddy fields and it was beautiful to look out on a morning watching the locals go to work. I would recommend this hotel but really once the word is out it will be difficult to get a room. 3 star hotel with 5 star friendliness and cleanliness, sat tv, air conditioning, and large rooms, plenty of hot water and nice showers. what more do you need?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
well our first impression was not good,but we were dropped but the old part of the hotel,where most staff live..this hotel is a fair way out of calangute it is walkable into calangute but only if you do it early enough in the morning,it gets too hot otherwise,
the staff were very friendly and very helpfull,ask for a kettle and cups at the reception and they will oblige, no needt carry your room key either as it can be left should you wish,our room was cleaned every day,towells and sheets changed every other day,please be aware that there is a charge for a deposit box of 400rps a week,and they also introduce a charge for changing money 20rps each time,a taxi ride is 50-100 rps depending, but you can hire a bike from the taxi rank outside for 150rps a day,
first timers to goa and this hotel please note that the rep will try to sell trips these are expensive through him and can be done through a taxi driver for a lot less...

our room was basic but every good looking out on the back to paddy fields and some fab sunrises,
breakfast was fairly good,eggs anyway you like,even having a chef to cook fresh omellets,toast, bread, buns, ets, then curry too,
all meals after breakfast, and drinks are taxed so allow for that,
for hard of walking its fairly flat to get to the dining room terrace but 3 steps to go down to the front pool and 5 for he back pool, but an email t the reception t ask for a ground floor room will be ok,
entertainmet was ok but stay to watch hreman the one man band, tis guy puts so much into this hes very good,and always smiles...the waiters are brilliant, rupesh, francisco,domanic,all very good, deiago couldnt understand our sense of humor but laughed along with us,(should you wish to tip the room boy make the effort to go and see him,we did get told that management go in ad look in the room befor the boys clean it and take everything...)
the guys on security are fab, especially bengal tiger, who was so worried about me walking back from a local resturant ,came looking for me even thoug he was told i was with others... all in all a great pleace...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Jude Goody
9 years 4 months ago
Hotel in a lovely quiet setting, but short walk into Calangute or 50 rupees by tuk-tuk.
Excellent selection of food for breakfast (by Indian standards) and extremely clean rooms, pools and public areas. Don't be put off when you first arrive by external appearance of the hotel.
The staff were all friendly, cheerful and very helpful. We didn't sample the entertainment as we went out most nights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
This was our first time in Goa and we found the hotel to be extremely well-managed and very clean. Our room was on the ground floor, which we had requested via First Choice so that it would be more comfortable for my partner, who was recovering from an operation. The bedding and towels were changed every day. The shower was always hot. The breakfast was lovely - eggs in every form and omelettes to your requirements, two sorts of fresh fruit, the yummiest grilled tomatoes, a sort of hash brown which was better than the real thing, and lots of Indian nibbles. We were on bed/breakfast but the hotel restaurant was very good. We ate in there a few times and sometimes just stayed in our room, watching a film on the tv and had the excellent room service. The main hotel pool was situated situated outside our room - cleaned thoroughly every morning. There were plenty of sunbeds, but it was low season and there were not many of us there. There is a smaller pool near to the restaurant terrace, with plenty of sunbeds. There was some form of entertainment on every night - from DJ to singing duo, karaoke and an Indian Folk dancing night. The staff are wonderful, especially in the restaurant. the boys cannot do enough for you- always helpful and the brightest smiles I have ever seen. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. There is a free bus going to Calangute on the hour through the day - but it was only 100 rupees by taxi- the stand is just outside the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
the hotel palmarinha was wonderful me and my wife loved it after changing from our origianal booking to palmarinha before we went due to bad reviews for original hotel which we booked, it was a bit of a distance away from centre but was good as no hustle and bustle, no street noise, lovely country views.
the bar staff especially adam and diego was exceptional all of them worked so hard and i can't remeber there names, reception staff was wonderful, the pool attendent was just an all round friendly guy called raj a bundle of fun and liked a joke, clean beach towels every day and cleaning round pool every hour
food was excellent entertainment wasn't too bad needed a shake up but theme nights were ok
can't wait to go again loved it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jacy
10 years 6 months ago
This was my second visit to this hotel - first being November 2006 - the 1st season for First Choice. On our first visit we were impressed with this hotel for its cleanliness, polite and friendly staff, pools and overall atmosphere - the entertainment was not yet in place.

On our second visit the entertainment was in place and I have to say for Goa we found it to be really good - Magic Man (very impressive) local bands, local dancers, fire display by one of hotel staff, Fire works, karaoke etc. The staff were just as friendly and helpful and the cleanliness very good.

We had lunch several lunches and an evening meal at the hotel which were of a good standard, breakfast was fine and all food covered, eggs cooked to order - so no complaints.

The location of the hotel is not central so might not appeal to people who like to be in the hussle and bussle of it all - saying that taxi's are cheap for 100-150 rups. I think this would be a good family hotel as it does have evening entertainment most nights and 2 great pools (one with a baby pool) so if you didnt want to venture out your sorted.

We have been going to Goa for the last 11 years so always tend to use a hotel as a base as there is so much to see/do and so many different food places to try (very cheap) but we would have to say that the Palmarinha is the best hotel we have stayed in - If you have never been to Goa you should remember that standards ect are totally different from what you would get in Europe and therefore it is best to go with an open mind and not be too critical i.e some rooms may not be great but as long as they are clean then there should be no complaints- Hotel staff always make up for what is lacking.

Everyone has different experiences - likes and dislikes but we can honestly say that our stays at the Palmarinha have been good all round so good we are back end Jan 08.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Colin Brown
10 years 6 months ago
We stayed at this hotel after moving from another hotel.
All the staff including the managment team were so helpfull and friendly.
We were shown various rooms and we were left to pick which one we wanted.
The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day with great care.
The food at the hotel was excellent and if you wanted anything special they would go out off there way to try and accomodate you.
The waiting staff are so good (escpecially Deigo).
The pools are cleaned every night and the pool man cleans the sunbeds every day.
So good we are going back twice this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
We had a wonderful stay at the Palmarinha Resort, Calangute.

The rooms we were allocated were roomy, exceptionally clean, air-conditioned (which was a god send).

The staff were extremely happy and helpful and could not do enough for us during our stay. I would recommend this hotel especially for families as it catered for our every need.

There are two pools at the front of the hotel (adult and child pool), at the rear there is another pool (more for chilling out).

The location was excellent and as we travelled quite a lot during our holiday, the taxi fares were minimal, with a taxi "rank" just outside the hotel. Any information that we needed in respect of the location was freely and happily given by the Reception staff.

It was our first visit to Goa, a truly unforgettable experience and a fabulous holiday was had by us all.

Lorraine, Birmingham x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum