Image of Resorte De Tio Carmino Hotel

Resorte De Tio Carmino Hotel

43 of 53 hotels in Calangute

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
2 stars
Gaurawaddo, Calangute, Goa 403516, India
The Resorte de Tio Carmino is designed in attractive Portuguese style, providing simple and comfortable accommodation to suit those looking for a convenient base from which to enjoy all that Goa has to offer.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
In need of some TLC
6 years 6 months ago
This was our second visit in seven years to this hotel; our sixth visit to Goa in all.

I'm afraid this hotel is badly in need of some TLC. While the staff do their best to make you welcome the hotel is badly lacking in any form of comfort.

If you just want a bed for the night and somewhere to wash and dress then this place fits the bill.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Cathy Thompson
9 years 4 months ago
The hotel carmino is a great place to stay.It is clean friendly and nice and quite,it is situated in a great position right in the middle of Calangute and Candolim. This hotel is more for couples and maybe those in the forty above cat, all in all very basic but for those who have been before [our 3rd time] not a shock ,clean beds ,clean shower and clean bedding for the price paid it was brilliant.Entertainment is something you make for yourself in Goa and I can assure you this is not hard, so lack of hotel acts was a joy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Ann Calladine
9 years 4 months ago
We have been to Goa many times and stopped in a few hotels and Tio Carmino is the best out of the bunch,fair enough it is not up to our standards but we had our room cleaned everyday and clean sheets and towels every other day.The sheets have improved over the years.We have lost count how many times we have stopped in this hotel as the location is great just a short walk to the beach,the reception lads are very good and will help in any way they can.I cannot comment on the food as we have only had breakfast there but anyone going to Goa for the first time must go with an open mind and they will not be dissapointed.We will be going back to the Tio Carmino in 2010,cant wait
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: manos

Recommended
Colin & Colleen
9 years 4 months ago
The hotel is very basic but is always kept very clean.It is central to all the shops and bars and the beach is about a 10 minute walk. The rooms are cleaned everyday. The breakfast is tea and toast but you can order other food for just a few rupees. We got 6 food vouchers and the dinners in the hotel was always very good (try the spag boll!). We have already booked to go back to the hotel next year and cant wait!!!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sereta
11 years 3 months ago
Recently returned from Resorte de tio Carmino travelling on my own (single female)had a fabulous time. After reading many old reports on this website l was very apprehensive but l had a fab time.

It would be fair to say that the hotel could do with a little TLC but hey this is Goa. Great location 10 Min's to the beach and only 15 Min's walk into Candolim (the hotel is on the Candolim border ).

Took my own sheets with me after reading several reports glad l did as the sheets were stained.

The pool is fabulous bigger than average approx 17 metres length (believe me l know being a very active swimmer)l would not recommend this hotel for first time Goa as you are bound to be disappointed if you haven't done Goa before.

However the place is fine you get what you pay for its as simple as that. Saw alot of rats (fat and the size of cats).

All in all a basic base to explore Goa from at a very reasonable cost.

I can assure you there are a dam site worse hotels in the area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
Andy
11 years 3 months ago
I stayed at the Tio Carmino for 2 weeks in Feb/March 2007. By western standards it`s pretty poor. Not very clean Dirty sheets etc. Very, very basic (not even a cooker) and the staff not completely helpful but hey! Let's not forget this is India. It's a 3rd world Country and for what people are paying for their holidays I don't think you can really knock it.

I had an awesome time. The other guests in the hotel generally gathered around the pool and it was a great place to swap stories and make friends.

The pool was kept spotless (shame the rooms weren`t as well)

Location was quite good with pretty well everything you'd need close by. If your a backpacker and used to travel in Asia then this place is ideal. If your looking for a 3* plus resort with a bit of luxury then forget it.

Also heard reports whilst I was there that things were going missing from peoples rooms. I didn`t have anything stolen myself but I did hear reports. If you do find yourself staying here then hire a safety deposit box then at least your belongings are insured.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
Hilary
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel was basic but fairly clean.

Pool area was kept clean. Didnt eat there often as so many lovely places to eat around the area but what food we had was quite good. Staff were pleasant.

Major disappointment on our last morning though, we discovered my daughters mobile phone and charger had disappeared from her handbag in the room the day before. Hotel Manager was not very helpful. Such a shame as the Goan people such lovely people and I certainly never had any reason to distrust the staff up until that point.

Would recommend that any future visitors lock all mobile phones out of sight. My jewellery was not touched, just the phone and charger.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
Julie
12 years 1 month ago
This hotel is in a great location but the place is disgusting.

The rooms are dirty,the bedding stained and smelt of urine and are never cleaned properly. The staff are unfriendly and ignorant.

The pool itself was okay but sunloungers were old and broken so could not be used.

The food was okay,but ate out mainly.Would not set foot in this hotel again and would advise anybody wanting even a basic hotel,even just to use the room to sleep in, not to go!

We moved hotel and thoroughly enjoyed Goa!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

12 years 1 month ago
Well, not much to say about this hotel really. was my 6th time of visiting Goa, and this has to be one of the worst hotels ive stayed in.
Apart from the staff, this hotel was a nightmare.

Lovely swimming pool, but the rooms werent up to much.
Stained bed sheets, faulty fans (although the staff did fix it as soon as we told them)

I wouldn't stay here again if I was booking from a brochure, but if it was a late deal then i probably would, but take my own sheets.

The hotel is in quite a good location, although it says its calangute, its quite near candolim, we walked to candolim a few nights to visit fishermans cove, really great restaurant as you turn right out of the hotel.

Beach isn't too far, about a 5mins walk, plenty of taxi's available outside. Lots of shops, and the shop next door sells everything.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: son and brother

Withnail
12 years 2 months ago
Both me and the other half stayed here in March 2004, yes I agree it wasn't the Ritz but what did we expect for 300 quid pp???

The staff were really friendly and helpful, in particular Tony the barman (if that is his real name) was very affable.

The food was very good especially after a night on the cooking red - I can recommended omelette with cheese, four stars (fosters lager) and tandoori chicken for breakfast.

I did not see any rats the size of cats, in fact we did see many chucks (chickens) wandering around but that was it. Very well located in terms of beaches, bars, clubs & restaurants. Get to know one of the taxi drivers outside and he will be your friend for the duration.

If you are looking for a base to recover from hang-overs, explore Goa & generally enjoy yourself then this is the place for you. Look-out for Geoff a man of considerable carriage who stays during the English winter months, a very nice chap.

P.S look out for falling coconuts!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum