Image of Horizone Hotel

Horizone Hotel

15 of 53 hotels in Calangute

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Porba Waddo, Calangute, Bardez, Goa, India

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 3 months ago
Hi all stayed in the Horizon and it was fabulous, couldnt wished for a better hotel. The staff were brilliant, rooms cleaned great. We had a great room, got involved in the pool competitions they have every week, Horizon staff against the guests, my husband won on our second week. Cant wait to go back next year, they were so friendly, couldnt do enough for you. Anyone booked for this hotel wont be disappointed.

The resort itself was great, we ate in the Oriental at The Mira, this was an absolutely brilliant meal, loved it there.

The beach was amazing, love the shacks we were mainly at Tipsys the first one you come to, to the left as you go down the stairs to the beach, the food that comes out of these shacks are amazing.

I would definitely go back again and I would certainly stay at the Horizon, in fact we are hoping to go back next year at the same time

Thanks all at Horizon

Moira and Jim

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
This was are first time in goa and we loved every minute, the horizon is a great hotel it's very clean,towels and bedding changed every other day.Food is also to a high standard and good entertainment most nights they had a party night while we were staying which was a great night all the staff put in so much effort and the buffet was really nice. All the staff are really friendly even the cleaners and will do anything for you. Rooms were nice they are no more basic than places we have stayed in europe they have sky tv, fans, air con and a fridge which they keep stocked for you and then you just pay at reception for what you use.We will definatly be returning to the horizon and we can't wait!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thoms cook

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
This was our first tine in goa,and when we got dropped off, I a was little aprehensive, you have to walk down a dirt track to get to the hotel, but once there it was fab.

The staff were friendly and helpfull, sitting us down and explaining that they were sorting the rooms out and to get breakfast, got allsorts, eggs tea/coffe bacon sausage etc, as much as you wanted,(we were the first to arrive at 6.30am from the airport).

The rooms were basic but very clean, clean towels every day, didn't eat at the hotel but the entertainment was good, the ones we saw, pool was nice and clean ceaned everyday.

Night porters/security staff very friendly and went out of their way to help, would go again to this hotel, it was a little oasis away from the hustle and of calangutes busy road.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
Grant
10 years 5 months ago
Horizon Hotel is in Calangute, right in the middle of it. It is set back from the main road by 100m or so along a short red dusty road.

Be extremely careful crossing the road it is very dangerous.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and hospitable and will help to make your stay comfortable, tip them 20 rupees and they will sort your squeaky fan out. the aircon is a godsend in Goa especially since I tend to be somewhat sensitive to the 33 degree and above temperatures which is common in Goa.

I think the breakfast should start at 7AM (I suspect the workers in the hotel would beg to differ!) However if you need an early start going somewhere for the day
it would be best if breakfast was earlier as is the case in some other hotels. Though they did offer to make a "packed" breakfast on the last day but we just got up early and hassled people in a nice way to make us an omlette and some toast.

Towels seemed not to get replaced every day though one top tip is if you find the beds too hard just ask your room boy if you can get an extra mattress and they will do it, tip them decently 100 rupees and it is worth every rupee to sleep well. There is one room directly above the kitchen (we were in it) and it is normal for kitchen staff to be banging and clanging till 12:30 at night I think it was room 206.

They were lovely people at the hotel though and I would go again for sure, as good as anywhere I have stayed in Goa.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Sue & Steve
11 years 2 months ago
When arriving at the hotel, the road we pulled up on was very busy.

I thought this is going to be awful, but how wrong can you be! Great location.

Hotel was great - rooms a nice size - very clean, sky tv and good air-conditioning and good public space.

We met people who go back year after year which speaks for itself!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays travel

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
well what can i said is just fantastic,the staff,food,and hotel just great,what more can i say
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Kerry & Alan
12 years 5 months ago
Once getting the cases off the bus I had a big problem with crossing the road as it was crazy! A very short walk down a 'dirt track' even though there was a couple of small shops and very friendly locals asking how you are.

The entrance to the hotel is small and the security guy always stops to speak, which is nice. He is also fab at taking photo's!

There are taxi's outside of the hotel, we didnt use them as they are more expensive (my Goan standards) than the ones outside.

The hotel is basic but I think it is fantastic for the money, I have stayed worse in Europe!

The room was basic but big and very clean, our room guy Robert always presented our towels, we looked forward to getting back to see what he had done! Our fridge was always stocked, first time i have used the mini bar and it only cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
We stayed here last year and are returning this year in March too. Yes it's down a dirt track but don't let that put you off, there's a slum campment opposite but every morning they greeted us no problems with it. Taxi drivers outside first class.

Nice pool.

Clean rooms basic but expected.

Breakfast was acceptable (not big eaters)

Location suited us, quiet and secluded from road.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

We never ate in much, as we tried all different restaurants.

Entertainment was ok but not my choice,we are a young 40 something.

I would visit again and are along with 3 people we met with last year, so that's 5 of us returning. This is Goa and not expecting the Ritz, after all that sun and eating, all you need is a roof over you're head.

Did visit some 5* but not my cup of tea. This hotel suited us and can't wait to return
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Julie Allen
13 years 2 months ago
We arrived at the hotel at approximately midday, after travelling all night from England, extremely tired and just longing for some R&R.

First impressions of the hotel were quite negative, based on the dirt track which we had to use to access the hotel. There was an assortment of stray dogs and beggars here who, although not hassling, were nevertheless off-putting to those who aren't particularly fond of dogs.

The reception desk was very dark, having no lights overhead, giving the impression of arriving somewhere "shady". The seating area next to the reception area for guests was quite pleasant and light, looking onto the pool.

The first room we were offered would have been very acceptable had it not been for the strong smell of dried urine. We were then shown a second room, which smelt pleasant. However, after remaining in the room for a couple of hours with the windows open, it became apparent that the room had been sprayed. Once the aroma of the spray had dissipated, the room smelt damp and rancid. The third room was acceptable, and we were happy to sleep there. It was clean and bright.

After a couple of days, it soon became apparent that the staff had no intention of cleaning around the public areas. There were plenty of birds around, and they had left there marks! Not only did these remain around the pool, where children were running round in bare feet and then jumping in the pools, but they remained around the eating area, which was never washed. We spoke to other British guests who had been there a while, and learnt that the leisure areas had not been cleaned for at least two weeks.

There was dog dirt which had been trailed through the hotel (from a stray dog outside presumably) and which remained there for at least four days to my knowledge. Children, as mentioned, were obviously taking this also into the pools, which became distinctly cloudy (we couldn't read the hotel logo at the bottom any more). After vigorously and formally complaining, over the next three days, these areas were cleaned once, although certainly not daily. The dog dirt was noticeable up the stairs to the first floor, where it remained until it had been worn off by the tramp of many feet. The manager, after being questioned about the cleanliness by the Airtours rep, stated that he
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum