Image of Park Avenue Hotel

Park Avenue Hotel

48 of 53 hotels in Calangute

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
2 stars

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 9 months ago
As I had managed to book a bargain I didn't expect much for this hotel.
First impressions were good as I had a large twin room, balcony and separate sitting area. Room was a bit tired looking but clean.
Breakfast - well again didn't expect much but after being ignored for a good 10 minutes I soon got the message! If you like hard toast and cold coffee you'll be okay. The staff leave a lot to be desired. After two weeks they still didn't know my name or what room I was in. I never ate at the hotel and only had a drinks a few times in the evening (which was alos an effort for the staff).
I can only praise my room boy who was great and most concerned when I wasn't well one morning.
The location of this hotel is what makes it work and the fact that the rooms are livable.
Yes, I would go back here but only if the price was right and ONLY because of the location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
We stayed here for two wks over the xmas period. the staff was good with us,we never stayed for the enterainment but some times caught the last half hr and it seemed to be ok and there was always people there.did not stay around the pool much because there was no breeze and the sun was not there after 3 water did not look to clean either, the rooms where in need of updating ie new toilet seats, paint, ect, the rooms are quite big and there was always hot water for us but did hear of off people not having hot water. We did eat there quite a few times and always had good food. The hotel was in a great place for us as we like it down that end. and yes i would stay there again we are talking india at the end of the day!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: oliympic holidays

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
Have stayed at the Park Avenue 7 times over the years, will not be going back for an eighth visit.

Hotel is basic but you get what you pay for. We found that this time the staff were lazy and very inattentive, they had their favourites who would get served breakfast before you even if they came down later than you. We found that they could get quite unpleasant if you didn't have a drink at their bar and when they found out that I had hired a bike from someone else they were most annoyed. The old security guard and the room boys were very good and the waiters should learn some manners from them.

However it is a good location if you want to be near the hustle and bustle. The food is OK and reasonably priced as is the bar. Breakfast is basic, tea toast and glow in the dark jam, if you are lucky or a big tipper you may get a glass of fresh orange thrown in.

If you book insist on a pool view room to avoid the constant noise of the road, lanes and toilet habits. speaking of the pool it was OK and thoroughly cleaned every morning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Kay And Eric And Axil
10 years 8 months ago
we hardly were asked if we wanted breakfast,i think we were served three times in three weeks we had to ask most of the time, clean cups ran out every day so did the water for tea, staff ignorant like they could not be bothered,they seemed to have there favoriets, the lads who cleaned the room was exccelent, location lively, entertianment was our daughter who sang. even the manager asked us to get her out of bed to sing cause no one else would.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: future travel

10 years 9 months ago
Our Hotel the Park Avenue, Calungute was in a very good location, next to the Infantaria.

Good for breakfast as the hotel toasts the bread the night before so you get stale bread the next day. We lasted a week of this.

Redonda is also across the road, great for people watching and drinking. The rooms are clean and the staff work hard to achieve this. What they don't have are phone's in case like us there was blue murder being committed by the rooms next door usually at 3am. So you can't contact reception and are left with few options.

The hotel food at night was excellent and cheap, as is all the food in Goa. The entertainment was the worst I have ever witnessed, but was good if you needed an excuse for an early night. The kareoke was higher quality.

Being woken by spitting staff in the morning nearly made me sick, but this was common throughout our whole stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Eric Joshi
10 years 9 months ago
Park Avenue was a shabby hotel with a lot of noise at front and rear and sides due to taxi ranks. Not much of a view from the balcomies either apart from unhygeinic toilet activities in the open air by the people operating taxis from their home at the back of the hotel. Too much noise in the early morning by brawlers followed by loud spitting and bathroom noises. very dickensian atmosphere and much like being in center of a shanty town. Staff try to please but really have no proper understanding of "hospitality"
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunwing

10 years 9 months ago
Hi,
me and my wife stayed here last year and our first visit was good the location is verry good and the room we had was good , however this time they put us at the rear with a not so good veiw and we had to listen to the staff all night spitting and dragging their lungs up not a nice thing to wake up to , one good thing was the room boy addy he kept the room clean and we had fresh towels every day, we have been coming to goa for around 7rys and some peaole excpect a full english breakfast like in blackpool , well you have to understand your in india , the hotel could well improve and someitmes they do try nad help you but i think hteir hands are tied by the rep who manged the rooms , i thought the rep was not helpfull at all ,but on the whole i thought park avenue isnt bad and you do get worse i would return to the hotel but a little tip , book a pool veiw not a inland veiw, and one more thing the noise from the rear of the hotel is from the local eating houses so if you dont mind be awoking at 2, 3 , 4 am then you have been warned and also the local church the bells ring at 7am and 7,30 am on sunday morning without fail
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: oylmpic holidays

Recommended
Robi Saha
11 years 6 months ago
Pool was cleaned every day.

Staff very helpful would stay again this was my 4th time in Goa
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: oddersy

Recommended
Derek Roberts
11 years 6 months ago
Hotel was very clean, serviced daily if required. Food was excellent and reasonably priced and so were the drinks.

Pool area and pool itself cleaned daily with clean towels provided for all sun beds.

Staff pleasant and welcoming.

Front bedrooms fairly noisy due to cafes across the road serving til early hours.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sue And Alan
11 years 10 months ago
was basic , lived out suit case no were to put any thing but did only sleep there, this is india.
breakfast is juise,toast coffee, u can pay for alternative b-fast which my husband did and enjoyed. i went for all on menue in the evenings and it was amasing cooked as i asked, the cook sunjay is so sweet (bless ). hotel in a noise road if u sleep in the front. lots to do and see and by the most fantastic baga beach (romantic at night ). all hotel staff very friendly and always smileing, and ready to help at the drop of a hat. entaitment was good but elec kept going out u need to take a big touch.
i hope to go back to park in november 2007, it was my first time and cud not of done it with out the help they gave us,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hayes travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum