Image of Nizmar Resort

Nizmar Resort

30 of 53 hotels in Calangute

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Calangute, Goa

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
A good hotel
7 years 7 months ago
We stayed here for 2 weeks Bed and Breakfast. On arrival the room wasn't ready and we had to wait for 1 hour but as the manager explained they were only trying to accommodate my request of a particular room, they had another room ready but I decided to wait for my choice (top floor, sunny side, overlooking the pool).

The rooms are quite large with air con, 2 ceiling fans, TV, sofa, armchair, fridge, king size bed, bathroom and 2 balconies. Our sheets were changed every 2 days and towels changed daily, we tipped the room boys on our first day and told them we would do the same on our second week. The tea and coffee making facilities weren't in the room when we arrived but the reception staff organised it very quickly. I thought the rooms could have been cleaner, the windows, doors and paintwork were quite grubby but the floors and bedding were immaculate.

All the staff were excellent, very attentive and genuine smiles all the time.

Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, toast and Jam, cornflakes, fresh fruit, cakes and bread, eggs (alternating between cheese, mushroom or plain omlettes, scrambled and fried), fried potatoes, tea and coffee and some Indian breakfast food.

We were given some complimentary evening meal vouchers and used them all because the evening food was excellent, the bar prices are also the same as bars outside the hotel.

They try hard with the entertainment and lots of people enjoyed it, some joining in on Karaoke nights and some dancing to the bands who play although it wasn't really to my liking.

The pool area is very clean, pleanty of sunloungers and clean beach towels every day, the gardens are beautiful with lots of coconut palms, tropical plants and pot pants.

Overall I would say this is a very good hotel for Goa, they are trying very hard to be a posh hotel and I'm sure for Goa it is posh but don't expect the same standard as in Europe.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
We stayed 7 nights B&B, our 2nd visit here. Place came up to our expectation, clean and well maintained. Unfortunately there was 40 min wait to get into our rooms as they were not ready, and then our group was split up, 2 in block 3 and 3 in block 6. Location good for walking into Calangute town and for local restaurants. We prefer Candolim beach and either walked or got a taxi there each day.
Staff were friendly and helpful, except for when we asked for a cork screw to open the wine in the mini bar and they could't find one for us!
We did not purposely stay in for the entertainment as we prefer to go out, on the odd occasion we came back and the entertainment was still on it was nothing special.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Yhomson

Recommended
Dawn
10 years 7 months ago
Just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Nizmar. This was our 6th trip to Goa but 1st stay at the Nizmar. The hotel is a good choice for adults or older children, there was not much provision for young children / babies. We were with a large family group including 2 babies and an infant, most of us were on the 3rd or 4th floor and had trouble getting cots/ high chairs etc, however the staff were very helpfull and did their best for us. Food is lovely no complaints from any of us. Couldnt understand how although it was 'All-Inclusive' you had to pay for Diet Cokes/ fruit juices & all drinks in your mini-bar fridge in room. We were booked into superior rooms and we all were not allocated these on arrival which was very inconvenient after a long flight, many were given basic rooms and had to wait another day so be prepared & make sure you are given the correct room that you book. Pool area ok although gets very overcrowded as people do not seem to leave the free facilities & venture away from the hotel which is a shame. Beach 10 min walk away - much better than staying by the pool. Hotel staff very friendly, entertainment great for all ages. I would definately return to this hotel as it has been one of the best I have stayed in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Well,very hard to follow that last report as he got so much spot on. We were put in the supposedly dreaded block seven but found our room to be large and comfortable. Also our air con unit was the quietest we have ever experienced in Goa.

The thing that sets this hotel apart from others we have stayed at in Goa is the staff. They really do go out of their way to be friendly and polite at all times. Apart from one grumpy barman they were all excellent.

Valerie the receptionist seems to juggle about a dozen jobs effortlessly and always has time for the guests. She also comes round at breakfast to see if there are any problems.

This in India was a breath of fresh air. The popularity is obvious by the ammount of returning guests.

Yes the rooms are all a bit 1970 but this is Goa. Suspend your expectations of europe and you will have a great time here.

We stayed at the Highland Beach last year and the only thing better there was the number of pools. As we love the beach in Goa not a problem for us.

Please use the safety deposit boxes at reception. We did not and had some money go missing from our room. No blame attaches in any way to the hotel as I was stupid enough to leave it on a table right by the door. Most likely as the room boy was cleaning someone passed the room and saw some easy pickings. I had left rupees and sterling in the bedroom without problem.Harsh lesson but my own fault.

Will we go back. Definitely.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Like everyone says, the bus ride into North Goa is a little bit of a culture shock, especially if you have not been to Asia. This wears off quickly, however.

We got to the Nizmar and the staff was very helpful, telling us to go out and have breakfast. Being that it was the first day, we did not understand the the breakfast was not entirely "open", and I ordered an omelette from the chef. Wasn't bad, but not something you would want to pay extra for. We only did breakfasts at the Nizmar, which was more for a people watching experience than anything else, the food was mediocre at best, and I do not like that "some things are free, some things you pay for" set up.


For an old place, the Nizmar was immaculate. The staff was cleaning 24 hours a day! The general manager of the hotel celebrated his 50th birthday while we were there, what a set-up!

Floating swan statues in the pool with a golden 50 between them, tables lined up with the napkins and plates lined up in precise order, all of chic Goa must have been there that night, the parking lot was packed with SUV's!!!! We had a drink at the bar while general manager was toasting his family, and it looked like a hell of a party! Of course, the staff was so good, the next morning, you would never know that there was a party!

The location was fab, close enough to Candolim and Baga, and once we found the little short cut beach road that takes you out to the beach at Rosario's shack (super garlic shrimp from Rosario himself!), after much exploring, we found this to be the cleanest spot on the whole of Candolim, Calangute and Baga beaches!

Like I said, Nizmar staff was superb, couldn't do enough, especially the 2 lovely boys who cleaned our room, and the boy who took all our over-weight luggage down 4 flights of stairs at 4 in the morning when we left!

Entertainment seemed good, but we did not eat any other meal except breakfast there. The best entertainment we saw passed right outside the Nizmar when the "Shigmo" parade marking the 'Holi" festival was held. What floats, what dancers, what drummers, what music, what a blast!

I have to say, Nizmar was great, maybe they should revamp a little, but the staff was great.

And a word to the tourists who just hang all day by the pool...why did you waste your money..get out and see Goa, it is fantastic!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
The wind was howling around the roof and chimney while the rain tapped loudly on the bedroom window. It was also a Saturday morning. But I really didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jan And Ron Rowland
11 years 10 months ago
We moved to the Nizmar hotel from the Renton Manor owing to a awlful incident that happened there. The Nizmar hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

The staff very nice polite, the room we had was very clean nice fresh towles every day.

The breakfast was good nice to have clean cups to drink out. Live music every night, the whole place was a delight to stay.

If anyone is thinking of going to goa please try the Nizmar in calangute its super.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Donna Stearnes
12 years 6 months ago
I thought the hotel was basic, our room was large but could do with a refurb (paint, new curtains, bedspread), at least we had electricity and running water but the air con was noisey!

Staff were generally polite but at times lacked customer service skills and thought nothing of continuing a conversation with other colleagues when customers were awaiting attention.

If you wanted a sunbed you had to be up and at breakfast at 0700 to reserve one - we went to the beach everyday.

Silly rule about not permitting guests to bring in food or drink from outside. Was this a ploy to get guests to use mini bar and other hotel services? This meant relying on the room boy to correctly report what the mini bar usage was, and bar prices were almost double those of bars outside of the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Somak

12 years 8 months ago
This was our third time at the Nizmar. The hotel is classed as a 3* but you are in India...Hotel has been partly re-furbished,but some blocks still in need of TLC.

Stairs etc looking tired & grubby. Rooms although clean are also looking dated, but the boys do their best to keep on top of it.

We found keeping a few choc bars or sweets in the fridge for them gets better service!!! Remember they only earn 20/40 rupees per day!!

Breakfast now includes fresh fruit,cornflakes,rolls,jam,toast,either boiled/scrambled/omelette on alternate days. Also indian veggie-dish or bread. You can also order bacon/fried eggs for an extra charge.

Staff are great esp Francis, Sita, Santa, Lawrence & Rudolph. If you have a problem a quiet word with one of them will get it sorted.

Do use the safety deposit boxes 50rupees per day.If your room is being cleaned the door will be open and it's easy to blame the staff....remember not all guests are honest!!!!

Well situated in between Calangute & Candolim.
Taxi's outside hotel really great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
Stayed at the Nizmar with my daughter for two weeks in December and we both thought it was great.

The rooms are basic but were cleaned every day & towels changed every other day, all the staff at the hotel were brilliant & couldn't do enough for us.

We went to a couple of the theme nights at the hotel & really enjoyed them, especially the pirate night where the staff enjoy it as much as the customers.

The prevous reviewer said he thought is was a bit expensive at 600 rupees but the buffet is excellent & is open all night & it's only about 7pounds, I thought it was good value.

All in all we had a great time & would recommend the Nizmar to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum