Image of Ticlo Resort Hotel

Ticlo Resort Hotel

32 of 53 hotels in Calangute

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
2 stars
Opposite Calangute Association, Calangute Baga Road, Umt, Calangute, Indien 403516, India

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 1 month ago
my first trip to goa and my first trip to the ticlo! i arrived at dawn and the hotel was deserted other than a solitary room boy mopping the reception. the friendly fella immideately woke a receptionist who promply checked me in and luggage was carried to my room (single with small balcony). ouch....room not good! not dirty (as such) but brown water in the loo, stale smell throughout and generally not prepared for human habitation! unpacked and went to explore calangute with the intention of a right old moan later. when i got back a few hours later...what a surprise...clean loo..floors mopped and generally all fresh, clean.
breakfast is toast, jam juice, tea or coffee (bring your own mug as they have the worlds smallest cups and they are happy for you to do this). any extras are charged but the food is cheap and good. this also applied to the restuarant and the evening specials.
entertainment is basic but good fun. live bands,table magician and kareoke and the indian bingo caller is an act not to be missed! bar prices are some of the cheapest in town.
great location on the baga road. close to...well everywhere really.
best of all, i cant praise the staff enough. always friendly and helpful especially the hosts, bar staff and room boys.
would i go back? for a honeymoon....no way! as a single traveller backpacking or just cheap holidaying...yes definately!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel repulic

Recommended
RUDNICKI
8 years 3 months ago
STAYED AT TICLO RESORT ITS SMALL BUT WHAT A GOOD PLACE IM DISABELED AND STAFF COULD NOT DO ENOUGH TO HELP ME BRINGING MY FOOD TO MY ROOM GOING TO SHOPS NEVER ASKING FOR A THING ROOMS ARE CLEAND EVERY DAY CLEAN SHEETS TOWELS DAILY MOST NIGHTS ENTERTAINMENT POOL ON SMALL SIDE BUT OK THE FOOD EX I ATE EVERY NIGHT AT HOTEL THE DRINKS ARE CHEAP THE COFFEE MADE WITH MILK THE ONLY THING BAD IS MY STAY WAS TO SHORT I WILL GO BACK FOR A MONTH NEXT TIME NOT TWO WEEKS
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SELF

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
The Ticlo is situated on Baga road, near to the roundabout in Calangute and is in an ideal position.
The Hotel is classed as 2 star but could do with some TLC, rooms are cleaned daily,breakfast is tea/coffee/toast.
The Hotel is made up of 3 blocks, we stayed in the block overlooking the pool.
One problem we did come across is that you had to walk around the pool to get to the front accommadation block and the path around it is only narrow with the pool being 7ft deep this could cause problems with young children or if you have had a few!
All in all had a good holiday but will stay some where differant next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Cathyd
10 years 2 months ago
I stayed in this hotel for the last two weeks and had an excellent holiday.
The rooms were basic, like most in India but were clean and simply furnished including a/c.
The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets.
The hotel has an excellent pool and is ideal for groups or families that don't want an overcrowed hotel as it was mostly quiet.
Also it's very close in location to town which was useful.
The staff were an assest to the hotel, warm, friendly and really made our holiday special.
The food at the hotel is superb and we ate there many nights and struggled to find meals of the same standard in the town.
All in all a very good hotel, with a great service and after staying in several in Jaipur, Delhi and Agra it was a treat to return to. I'd go again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Keith R Sims
10 years 5 months ago
If you can get over the culture shock on your first visit to Goa,it's fair to say you will go back again.We stayed in the Ticlo for 4 weeks and loved every waking minute.Sure it's very very basic,but the staff,food,location and relaxed stay is well worth a look.My wife cried for the first couple of hours,but when I tell you that this Christmas 2009 we are going back for 6 weeks to this hotel speaks volumes.All at the wifes instigation I might add.Give it a try - you know you want to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hay's

Recommended
John Sandra
10 years 6 months ago
we have stayed at ticlo for the past severn years we would not stay anywhere else we are always treated like royalty nothing is to much trouble for the management and staff they are very polite people the hotel is very clean our room is cleaned every day clean towels and bedding the food is also very good i would recommend this hotel to any one who goes to goa looking forward to november 2008
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
Like John & Sandra we've stayed in this hotel a number of times and wouldn't go anywhere else. It's in a brilliant location (the reason we chose it originally) near to Calangute 'town centre' but far enough back from the road to be quiet enough to sleep and the atmosphere is fantastic. The boys go out of their way to be helpful and Glen, the owner, welcomes ideas from his guests. They're all always willing to join in the entertainment. The food is equal to many of the restaurants - which is not always the case in a hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Geoghegan
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. Having been to Goa on 10 occasions we found this hotel to be the dirtiest we have ever been to.

Staff were very unfriendly. We only had the misfortune to stay there as the Osborne was fully booked but we have booked to go back to the Osborne this year which will be the 7th time we will have stayed there. Take my advice do not think of going to the Ticlo. They say in the brochure it has been completely refurbished. What they mean is the outside was painted.

Would we go back again ? No chance.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

11 years 5 months ago
We booked this hotel 2 months before departure and only because it was the cheapest deal other than allocate on arrival and we knew that the location of the hotel was good.

Thankfully we were only here for 4 days before staying with family, a fortnight here would have been a bit dismal.

The cleanliness was average for a 2 star hotel. Sheets and towels were changed regularly but it had the dinginess that is a 2 star hotel. Our bedroom didn't have curtains although the window glass was frosted. But this was a pain at night as we were facing the path that leads to other rooms which were lit at night by fluorescent lights which shone into the room. We sellotaped my sarong to the window to act as a curtain and make the room darker at night.

We had to defrost the fridge when we arrived as we like to make our own ice and the icebox in the fridge was beyond solid.

Breakfast was tea, coffee, juice and toast. There were extras such as eggs but these were not part of the package and were charged for. With one breakfast exception, we didn't eat at the hotel at all.

The location is good as it is close the the Calangute / Baga road junction so it's very central and only a 10 minute walk to the beach. As a base it's good as long as you don't expect much more than a bed to sleep in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Macdonald
11 years 6 months ago
I booked into this hotel at 2030 local time. Saw the room 2035 local time and immediately phoned the Thomson tour operator to move me to another hotel or get me a flight back to England. A dark and dingy hotel in which the walls were dirty, the bathroom had to be seen to be believed. We were not impressed.

They promptly moved us to a different, lovely hotel. Would we go back to Goa? Having stayed at our second hotel, yes we would.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum