Image of Somy Resort Hotel

Somy Resort Hotel

42 of 53 hotels in Calangute

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews
Brisa Apartments Naika Vaddo, Calangute, Goa 403 516, India

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Overall great
6 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a 2 week holiday at the so my resorts. Absolutely fantastic! 1st class rooms, always cleaned every day. The girl at reception always smiling and very polite.

Overall a great holiday. Thank you. Will be returning
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr Geoghegan
8 years 3 months ago
just returned from this hotel,if you get a pool view ,it is a good hotel ,but not a room at the back,never ate there once, did not look too good,staff very frendly ,much better than the dirty osbourne that we stayed at last year, and better staff would go back if got good room .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Hannah Cookson
8 years 3 months ago
we have been to this hotel twice and we realy like it and our room was always clean and got clean towels everyday. the staff are realy friendley helpfull and very kind they was always up for having a laugh with you. the hotel location is very good because the beach is only down the road and the shops are just nextdoor to the hotel. the food is fantastick we would defenetley come back to somy resort hotel the staff at somy have made our holiday a good 1 thankyou

from Hannah Carol and Pete x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Dave Tuke
8 years 3 months ago
on arrival we checked in and were shown to our room.
passing on the way debris,stained mattresses, and an abundece of other clutter.
the room was situated at the rear of the hotel,it consisted of (if my memory serves me corrctly we didn,t stay long ha ha )i think four rooms firstwalked in achair a fridge in the middle of room round the corner second room bed room ha ha if you can call it that two singles joined barley room to walk round two wall lights hanging off the wall (didn,t work) third not sure but i think it was the kitchen (ha ha)contained a sink fourth contained nothing exept a shower and toilet wet room (seat was not fixed and shower curtain was coverd in black mould)it was disgusting
we left our things in the room and went to collect our thoughts in the breakfast area
we got coffee(cups were filthy)butter cut into cubes plates full of jam coverd in flies
we went to reception to complain but we were told there was no more rooms like it or leave
we waited for rep,tried telephoning rep to no avail and left
we went back several times to see the rep never turned up at the times
we got different accom elsewhere which was great but at our expense with no compensation from thomas cook
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

A.Hopkins
8 years 5 months ago
we arrived in the Somy resort at 04.00 hrs after a 27 hour flight delay, totally exhausted.We were allocated a room No H14 which on entering added to our nightmare journey.The room was in a disgusting state with no see through windows only bars and frosted glass covered in spiders webs and flies.The shower & toilet was a health hazard as was the fridge which was full of rust inside with congealed matter hanging from the trays.The bed linen was covered in sweat stains and had obviously not been changed.There was no patio door to the terrace only a badly fitting wooden door which let in the mosquito's. The terrace was over run with plant foilage so was unuseable with no sunlight.On complaining about the room we were told that's it, unless we paid an extra 450 rupee's per night to upgrade. We had no choice but to pay.
We immediately wrote a complaint to the tour rep who at the end of the holiday managed to get us a refund.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Toni
8 years 5 months ago
B&B if you love eggs your be a happy chicken hahaha otherwise you can have hard toast, T & coffee. BThe food is fine though if u want to order breko's
Hotel very clean, room was clean and maintained everyday, clean towels and loo roll when needed.
Hotel location about 30 mins walk to beach long way round but you can go a short cut. Taxie's at front of hotel excellent we had rubb's look atfter us the whole 2wks barter with them they love it...
Hotel staff, fine very pleasent and happy to help
some singers but we didn't stay at the bar atal during an evening...lots to see and do....
Yes, defo we would go back and are planning on doing so at the end of 2010 once again....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomos cook

Recommended
Yvette
8 years 6 months ago
we arrived at the somy resort at night pitch black and pouring down with rain it was our first time to goa so i new the hotel was going to basic. When we checked in i thought the worse as the reception area was very dated. When we was eventually shown to our room which was nearly a 10 minuite walking away and five floors up i was not suprised, the room very very basic but clean. When we woke up in the morning and looked out from our balcony it was over looking a so-called forest not a good view at all. The same morning we up-graded too a delux room overl looking the pool which was lovely compared to the dingy room we previously had.

The hotel staff were lovely and friendly and was always willing to help, we could'nt knock the service it was great.

The food on the other hand was questionable only ate at the restaurant the once, didnt reckon much to the food at all, preferred to go other places as there is so much choice.

The location was ideal easy to get about and in walking distance to the restaurants & shops.

A big must to hire a scooter dont know what we would of done without one as it is so easy to get out and about, without having to rely on a taxi to take us places, unless we was going further a field.

On all the hotel was ok if you stay in the delux rooms otherwise i would definately stayed somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Michael Aweeney
9 years 4 months ago
Just come back from a Fab holiday in Goa and couldnt fault this hotel at all.
As soon as we arrived the staff couldnt do enough to help, even taking your luggage direct to your room which after a 10 hour flight was a welcome.
Rooms were basic but clean and were requarly cleaned every other day. Had one problem with the fridge not working but this was rectified the same day, and even loaded with 12 bottles of water for 100 Rupes (
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jay And Sean
9 years 4 months ago
Hotel seemed nice on the internet. but when we arrived... the hotel was not what we hoped for. we did not say in here for long after a hour of arriving we checked in to better hotel in candolim called highland beach resort. i would not recommend this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2

Roger Harvey
9 years 6 months ago
this was the first time we had stopped at this hotel,liked it so much returning in january for another 2 weeks.
Could not fault the roomat all,room was kept very clean by freindly room boys who could not do enough for you.We only eat at lunch time when we had a day relaxing by the pool which we found exellent, enjoyed the snacks and heard no complaints regarding eve meals.
hotel location ideal for going into Calangute and Candolim, my wife and I have been comeing to Goa for 12 years and this hotel is one of the best we have stayed in for overall satisfaction.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cooke

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum