Image of Dona Terezinha Resort Hotel

Dona Terezinha Resort Hotel

39 of 53 hotels in Calangute

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
2 stars
Gaura Waddo, Calangute, Goa 403516, India
On the main Calangute/Candolim road with both Calangute Main Square and beach just 15 minutes walk away. Transfer time from the airport approximately 1 hr 30 minutes.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
A KENNEDY
10 years 8 months ago
This was my fifth visit to the Dona Terezhina, and this is my third reveiew.
Things have changed a little from last year, firstly the food is now all buffet with only the afternoon snack menu to select from, there was the choice of both last year.
And it seemed as though the wasn't any difference between the lunch buffet and the evening buffet.
I'm sorry to say this, but it's down to cut-backs, and Albert, the restaurant manager has to do his best with what resources he is allowed.
One big improvement is the new sun loungers, and new table chairs.
It was noticed that there has been a big cut-back in staff, again, money saved.
The evening entertainment was very poor from previous years, mainly consisting of a couple of singers with a gituar and bongo drum, sitting on bar stools, not even with a microphone, nothing like it used to be, again, more cut-backs.
The staff are still as friendly and helpful as always, and nothing is too much trouble for them.
So it with heavy heart that we have done our last visit to the DT, we've had some great holidays there and met some wonderful friends, but now time to move on.
Location is still good, not too far from the beach with it's numerous shacks, and a brisk walk to Baga or the other way to the Ship on the beach at Candolim.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MANOS

11 years 7 months ago
You have to remember that this is a two star hotel and you shouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Alan Kennedy
11 years 8 months ago
Once again my wife and I have just returned from another wonderful holiday at the Dona Terezinha.

This was our fourth visit, and as I said in a previous review, it grows on you.

Things had changed from our last visit, the food is now on a buffet system, and at first we wondered what it would be like, no worries, we always had a good selection both at lunch and dinner. If there was anything else you wanted to eat it could be ordered from the menu. Breakfast is still a little sparse, but you get by. Alfred who is in charge of the restaurant is very good, he will go out of his way to make sure your meal is what you want and cooked how you like it.

And again, we did meet up with previous 'January' visitors, and it was good to see them and it helped to make for a very pleasant holiday.

I think for value, this hotel is very good. We are already looking towards 2009 (every two years).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
We have stayed at this hotel before ,I think this hotel is better than before ,it used to be waiter servise but now they have brought in buffet style menu ,which was realy good there was always something for everyone ,the hotel is basic but clean the location is ideal.

The staff are brilliant ,cannot do enough for you the hotel they will do there utmost to please you ,ok the entertainment was not great but then again they tried ther best I cannot fault this hotel and I am looking to go back in Febuary 2007
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
Well the hotel was basic to be expected but was kept clean and tidy,we went all inclusive but only for the reason it was cheaper than most other deals we could find, and we have been to goa before so was not expecting anything 5* you get what you pay for.

The staff where polite and would look after you even remembering our names when we were not there a lot, as we went the beach and out for meals most day and nights.

The breakfast was ok if you like eggs,never had dinner at the hotel always on the beach, but did have tea there once and it was not bad a buffet style with diffrent curries and rice and breads. The restaraunts in Goa though are fab and cheap so to eat in the hotel every night would be such a shame.

The entertainment leaves a lot be desired.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended
Alan Kennedy
12 years 8 months ago
Dona Terezhina, we will be staying at this hotel for our fourth visit in 2007,(every two years) so that says something.

The hotel was very basic, but you have to realise that it is a low budget hotel, it's clean, the gardens are well kept and although the pool is quite small it's plenty big enough to cool down in.

Food is cooked to order, and although the menu is a little limited it's quite good, and you will find a favouite in there somewhere.

The hotel is well positioned in Calangute, Candolim to the South and Baga to the North, it's a very pleasant walk along the beach to Baga, stopping off at any of the beach bars if you are in need of refreshment, there is also a Tibetan market in Baga, you can wonder around this without any hassle at all, just a friendly smile.

We have always found the hotel staff to be polite, helpful and courteous, but then after four visits, we know them quite well and you will get a very smart salute from the security man on the main gate every time you come and go.

The entertainment is very limited, but sometimes there is a reasonable Goan dance troupe if you like culture.

If you expect 4* A/I forget it, just accept what is on offer and I think you'll fall into the Dona Terehzina way of life, it might come as a bit of a shock at first, but it grows on you, some people we met have been going for nine or ten years and we look forward to meeting up with them in 2007.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
Cannot really fault the hotel it just wasn't for us. The pool was very small and sunbeds gone very quickly! We went all inclusive as we got an excellent deal and it was our first time to Goa.

The staff were all very friendly and courteous, remembering our names within 2 days. The entertainment left a lot to be desired, but having said that we soon found other places to go and would have been better of going B&B only.

If you have children it is very safe as there is security 24/7 on the gates.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Harry And Dee
12 years 9 months ago
We stayed for two weeks over christmas and new year and to be honest, cant really fault the hotel.

Dona Terezinha is set back on the main beach road between candolim and Calangute. For those of you that know the area its about half way between St.Anthonys chapel and daytrippers. Although on the main road, there is no traffic noise at all once you get into the complex.

Being christmas, the hotel was very busy although the staff were excellent.nothing was too much trouble for them and they all did a good job. The maitre d', I suppose thats the best way I can explain him! Was an absolute gentleman, our lad was ill through sunstroke for a couple of days (just cant tell them can you?), but he was looked after and constantly spoilt by all of the staff, mind you, I think the blonde hair and blue eyes helped!

Rooms were clean and basic, as per usual goan standards.we had a room just off the pool area, but moved after the first night as the stairwell was like an echo chamber at night when the bar was in full swing.

Food was average fayre, although the staff would have no problems tailoring to personal taste and everything was cooked fresh.buffet style for all meals although there is a fairly good snack menu which you can choose from.

Couple of shops on site, tailors were very good.they made 12 pairs of trousers, 3 suits, 2 coats and did some alterations to some of our own stuff for around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum