Image of Best Western Victoria Hotel

Best Western Victoria Hotel

75 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Avenida de Emilio Ortuño, 20, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
This hotel offers suites with lovely sea views, as well as modern guest rooms with all the amenities you would expect. Relax at the hotel pool and sun terrace area, or treat yourself to a treatment at the spa. Entertainment is provided for all ages, and there is a mini kids club.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Eric
9 years 9 months ago
Second visit to the Victoria and will go again
food excellant, never dined out, chinese theme, indian theme, mexican theme worst night was the English night,people coming in from nearby apartments and paying for the buffet meals.
5 mins one way to old town, 10 the other to new town
5 to the beach
rooms spotless and towels whenever you wanted just leave old ones in the bath,room cleaned daily
80%spanish
Usual Best Western standard
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tyler

Recommended
Norma & Jim
11 years 2 months ago
The Victoria Hotel, Benidorm, is indeed a lovely hotel. It is very clean and the rooms on the higher floors give lovely views of Benidorm and I would recommend requesting a high floor for this reason.

Restaurant is buffet service and I do not personally like buffet meals but notwithstanding this, the quality and variety of the food did seem to appeal to most people but it is the buffet concept that I do not like, consequently, we ate out most of the time but that was through choice, not necessity.

Because of the hotel location near to the old town, the clients appear to be mostly Spanish and the hotel does cater mainly for these clients. Which means that at night the hotel is very quiet and you are unlikely to be disturbed by unruly holidaymakers returning in the early hours of the morning!!!

My main criticism was that on one occasion we chose lunch instead of dinner and I must say we were treated very disrespectfully by the Maitre'D. There are no checks on entering the dining room, no one asks your room number and no one checks your hotel card.

On entering the dining room, we passed the Maitre 'D at the desk and made our way to a table. My husband could see the desk and saw the Maitre 'D ordering a waiter over to our table.

We were asked for our room number and had to show our card and asked what we wanted to drink. On placing our order, he asked that we pay it immediately, although no other diners required to do this. He had obviously thought that we were not residents at the hotel.

The waiter reported back to the Head Waiter and he came over and made a fuss about us being in, everyone was looking at us and it was very embarrassing. We were half board and the choice was there for lunch OR dinner and all the Head Waiter had to do was ask us when we were at the desk for our room number and we could have told him we were changing dinner for lunch.

I also feel the staff should make more of an effort for their non Spanish clients - they are very curt and abrupt at the reception desk - no friendly smiles or assistance unless you are Spanish.

The chamber maids were nice and friendly and kept everything spic and span. But overall, I would probably go back as the good points out way the singly bad experience that we had and I would give them another chance.

There is a mini bar in the room which you can use and you are only charged for what you use. But if you want to use it as a fridge then they remove the contents and you are charged 2 Euros per day. But if you simply purchase one bottle of water at 1.50 euros then you can put your own drinks in and save about 12 euros per week as they then don't charge you!!

In short if you are looking for a nice hotel, kept to European standards, good location and good quality food then you should give this one a try.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
The Victoria is a 4 star hotel and certainly the Public rooms match up to that rating. All areas are kept very clean, and the appearance is quite "plush".

The rooms however whilst certainly being more than except able, are not quite up to the same standard, and were not much of an improvement, (carpeted floor apart), from the 2 star hotel i have normally stayed at in Benidorm. You do get a fridge/mini bar in your room. If you wish to use it as a fridge tell reception, and the maid will empty the bar for you. The normal charge then would be 2 euros per day, but if you fill in a card at reception for the "Gold Crown Club" you will get this free of charge, as well as the room safe free too!. Sat TV did not offer the full range of English channels it advertised. We requested a low floor through Wintersunshineholidays and also sent a letter to the manager requesting the same.

On allocation however we were given floor 10!...I did ask for a lower floor if possible and we were given one on the 1st floor, it was actually for Disabled use with a large bathroom, and was fine for us, and good to see the hotel helping meet the needs of wheelchair users.

The food was again quite a disappointment. Nothing actually bad about it. Just about enough choice for everyone and of average quality. But that is what disappointed me. My usual 2star (Now 3) provides more choice and to be honest better quality too. We were only there for a short break (4nights) and ate breakfast each morning and dinner twice, i would not have enjoyed eating here every night for 2 weeks.

Entertainment again was much more limited than the 2 star I normally use, same act on three or four times a week...very repetitive!

The pool area was clean but rather small. Smoking is allowed in the hotel bar at the front, and the location of the hotel was excellent.

Overall a nice hotel, and I could not complain at the price we got it for. But there are much better options in Benidorm, and I would not stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Paul
One of the best around!
12 years 4 months ago
Arrived at gone 10pm, whilst checking in the receptionist informed us that as the restaurant had closed a cold buffet had been left out for us. What a lovely well laid out & presented buffet it was too. Two plates of assorted cold meats and two individual bowls of salad, bread rolls and a bowl of fruit. Flowers on the table, and an empty restaurant. A real nice intimate meal to start our holiday off.

When booking with Beninter I asked for a high room facing the old town. We were given just that, a room on the 16th floor, two balconies and a view of both the Poniente & Levante beaches. This was perfect, along a very large room with a carpeted floor two balconies, more than plenty of hanging & drawer space, 20 inch screen TV with satellite channels all clean and in good order. One big plus was the strong box in the room was free, there is a first.

The lifts were plenty and fast so no problems being so high up.

The restaurant always had spare tables & chairs so no problems there at meal times. Also we were given a book of vouchers for a free bottle of wine or water with our meals. The food was pretty good, and there was always something there that was homemade and very nice.

The bar was small and had a happy hour each evening, but that was the only time we found it hard to get a seat & that was because outsiders from other hotels flocked in for the cheap drinks.

Because the Victoria is a Best Western franchisee the standard of the hotel is of a high standard, and the owner a pleasant old chap is very often around to oversee everything is ok.

For our stay of six days full board, in a lovely room with a view to kill for and ok food we paid less than £21 per day each. Complaints? At that price no way.

Will I be returning? You bet I will. My wife and I have stayed in around 20 hotels in Benidorm and pound for pound this rates as one of the best.

Go on give it a try, but not April or March as this is when we will be going back and we don't want you lot filling up the place preventing us from getting a booking!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Beninter on Internet

Recommended
Martin
Can’t fault this hotel
12 years 6 months ago
I stayed here for 4 nights in January. We booked direct on the web and got B&B for about £30 night. We are buying an apartment near Calpe and wanted somewhere to stay while we sorted out some business with the bank & lawyers.

I could not really fault this hotel, the room was quiet, comfy and clean with a good balcony, the reception and bar staff were nice and friendly, the only gripe was that the coffee at breakfast was like dishwater, like most others we ended up making cup of Nescafe.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and night time parking is free outside the hotel which suited us as we had a car and were away all day.

The hotel suited us fine and I would stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self booked

Recommended
Adele
12 years 10 months ago
Me and my friends were very impressed by the cleanliness of our rooms which were tidied and cleaned almost everyday by the maid. The bathroom was lovely decorated with a marbled sink and a large mirror. Our beds were also comfy, clean and warm.

The hotel staff were polite and helpful and spoke a good standard of English

Nearby were a number of shops, clothes shops,shoe shops tourist shops and restaurants. We visited these shops a number of times on our stay and bought some goodies as well!

Not only are you near the old town from Hotel Victoria but The new town takes 3 minutes in a cab and 10 minutes to walk!

We didn't stay in our hotel for the entertainment but it seemed popular with the guests and looked busy! We went to the new town nearly every night where there are good clubs and bars especially Bahamas, Beachbombers and Sinatra's!not only is there the new town there is also Benidorm palace A show full of dancing which is brilliant!

I would visit hotel Victoria again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Dennis And Di
13 years 4 months ago
We have visited the Victoria 5 times,and have found the Hotel to be excellent,in cleanliness,food and location.

It is not your typical Spanish type tourist hotel,and is more the better for this. Lots of Spanish stay there , especially at the weekends,and very few children.

The rooms are all a good size,carpeted and air-conditioned. The bathrooms are also a good size,with 2 wash basins, hairdryer and even a phone. All rooms have a large balcony and face either south or south west. Plenty of sun if thats what you want.

The food is better than at other Spanish Hotels we have stayed at. We were half board ,but we often changed our evening meal for the lunch . The hotel is OK with this and in our opinion the food is better at lunchtime with more local dishes available. We never eat breakfasts so cannot comment on them. The restaurant staff are not over friendly,mainly because there are a lot of Spanish eating there and they tend to look after them first.Its not a problem though.A good salad bar and plenty of choice of other dishes.Try the paella at lunchtime,very good.

Not a hotel for Happy Hours or Kareoke,but there is plenty of that in the bars and hotels nearby. Ideally situated for the Old Town,the beach, the Bullring and the local bars and restaurants. Highly recommended and in our opinion the best hotel in Benidorm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
J & S Bancroft
13 years 8 months ago
We were recommended to this hotel by friends, who had previously stayed here, as a nice comfortable hotel for a 28 night stay, and were not disappointed.

The hotel is very modern, having only been built in 2000, and is in an ideal position for the old town, the beach and the buses...all within a few minutes walk.

The complete hotel is immaculately kept with the owner always around to talk to customers.

Rooms were all excellent and room service was also very good.

The food was good, although I would not say it was excellent. It was always hot, had a very varied choice and there was always a gala dinner on Fridays.

The only area of disappointment was the entertainment, which never started till 10.45 at night, and was having to cater for all languages so tended to be lots of dancing, mime, puppets etc....although this did not bother us because there are lots of other hotel entertainment and bars nearby where we tended to go earlier in the evening.

All in all we were very satisfied with the Victoria, and will be using it again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Wulmac
Felt it was more of a business hotel
14 years 11 months ago
Just back from the Hotel Victoria last week and I don't have any horror stories for this one. The hotel is first class with carpets throughout. The room we stayed in was on the top floor [19th]. The room was air conditioned and fully carpeted. The toilet was a good size and very well equipped, hair dryer, soap and shampoo supplied.

Our room looked out to the beach and over the new town the views were brilliant. We had satellite TV with the usual news channels but also TCM for all the old movies (in English) also the sport channel. We had to pay to use the mini bar as a fridge. 28 euro's we felt that was a bit of a rip off but we like our drinks cold .Here's a tip if you want your fridge/ air con to stay on 24 hours slip a bit of cardboard in the light switch control it keeps the power on in the rooms all day.

I'm all for conservation but if I pay for a fridge I want it on all day .

We had the most relaxing holiday ever with carpets on the floors you just don't hear anyone moving around also the shutters totally closed the light out.

The food in the hotel was perfect the breakfast was as good as you get at home even with butchers sausages every morning the evening meals were first class we had our meal in the restaurant every night, they advertise 30 main courses fish, salads, grills stews, pie's and the best caramel ice cream I have tasted.

The pool area was pretty small with the smallest pool I have ever had at a hotel there was about 100 beds around the pool but I never once saw them all taken the pool was ok but my wife likes a serious swim and you could not get one at this hotel .There was a water jet /spa in the pool the sun stayed on the pool area most of the day although there is a lot of high buildings around the hotel.

The entertainment in the hotel was typical of a Spanish hotel bingo, dancing, kids disco not what I would stay in for. If you have kids this is not the hotel for you the few that were there were pretty subdued and could not really do anything other that have a dive in to the pool. A couple of kids I spoke to were pretty miserable as they had landed at this hotel as a square deal and thought they might be going elsewhere. There was about 90% Spanish in the hotel and a few French other than that Thomsons. The Thomsons rep was pretty poor she could hardly describe where to get a bus let alone inspire your holiday.

The hotel is situated in the centre of town just at the start of the Levante area about 7 mins walk to the beach there's plenty to do around we spent a few good nights in the tower lounge just 5 mins from the hotel it's about 15 mins stroll to the English part of the Levante.

All in all I would rate this hotel as a business hotel in the sun there's not really a holiday feel to it but saying that we had the most relaxing two weeks ever and still managed to hit the high spots most nights . I hope this report helps you to decide where you're going and doesn't not put you off if you have booked already but as I would say it's best to know anyway.

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum