Image of Gala Placidia Hotel

Gala Placidia Hotel

106 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de Roma, 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Janet Bevan
VERY LIVELY
4 years 6 months ago
We had a fantastic holiday but I would not recommend taking children as it is a prodominantly stag/hen hotel and they can be very colourful but as a couples/group booking it is great and the staff were very happy and accommodating, I would highly recommend this hotel to friends. The entertainment guy was so bubbly and friendly and worked his socks off to make sure everyone had the opportunity to join in the day or evening games and his kareoke is one you have to see to believe, I still ache from belly laughing. Reception Staff were very helpful and the bar staff were very accommodating. The resteraunt was very clean and again the staff were always on hand for anything you needed, meals were repetitive but there was something to eat for everyone, you would have to be really fussing to leave hungry.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SunSave

Recommended
A Williams
I would not even rate it one star!
4 years 10 months ago
Just back from the Gala Placidia Hotel which has three stars but I would not even rate it one!

The rooms and the hotel were dirty we went for a week and our bed was not changed at all and the floor was not brushed or moped all week! The fittings were hanging ofg the walls there was black mould on the ceiling in the shower. Went for breakfast two mornings and the food was cold, our bed was broken and there was rust all over the balcony. I will never stay there again worst hotel I've ever stayed in and we go on holiday twice a year!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Not Specified
Not wheelchair accesible
6 years 10 months ago
Booked in quickly and reception staff really nice.

We only had breakfast one day as the tables were too close together unsuitable for a wheelchair, also to get to the dining-room there is a lift which was big enough for the wheelchair and a few people.

The hotel was full with the Spanish pensioners free week so it was very difficult to get to the food this was not the hotels fault, I don't look for anything special because I'm in a wheelchair but respect is a basic for all people in my opinion, however in the dining room the Spanish guests were very rude, I have a leg extension on my chair and one person walked into it and the look I got was it was your fault, after that we dined out.
10 years 2 months ago
The location of the hotel is very good, near the beach and plenty of shops and bars.

The rooms are cleaned daily, which was usually very well done and beds made.

The food was awful, it was the same sort of thing every day, a lot of the food was leftovers from previous meals turned into something else. Food was always cold especially the bacon and chips. My 2 oldest children lived on tubs of ice cream at most meals. There wasn't really much for kids to eat at all except cheese and chips. The desserts weren't very nice either, usually very sickly covered in squirty cream. The bar staff in the restaurant were not very friendly either, and would snatch the money out of your hands.

The reception staff weren't to bad and could speak enough English to get by.

Entertainment was all Spanish, we didn't stay in at all for that. There are also activities in the afternoon which are taken up mainly by Spanish.

The small swimming pool was very rough at the bottom where some of the tiles are missing, my daughters knees were cut up because of this.

They also have alot of broken chairs round the pool area and very large puddles of water.

The beds aren't very comfortable especially if you have to have the third bed for a child, or even a teenager as we did.

Luckily the rooms all have air conditioning.

There seem to be a lot of break ins in the hotel as well even from the deposit boxes.

We would definitely go back to Benidorm again but would stay as far away from this hotel as possible. It really does need pulling down and rebuilding.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Claire
10 years 2 months ago
I stayed at this hotel with my sister for two weeks. I found the food quite varied. Breakfast had a wide choice from cereal to cooked breakfast. Tea had at least 1 meat dish, one fish dish and one vegetarian dish. In the 2 weeks I did not eat the same dinner twice. I do think children might be put off by the some of the food as it is presented differently to here in the UK. Desserts could have been more varied each day, but I was usually full from the main course!

We found the hotel to be very clean with our room cleaned and beds made everyday and clean towels when we wanted.
The pool area was cleaned every morning.

I like the location of the hotel as it was quieter than ones I have stayed in previously. Only a short walk to the main shopping area and the beach. Bus stop at the end of the road.

We found the hotel staff quite pleasant and friendly. Although the hotel had a lot of Spanish people staying there, the staff knew enough English to answer any queries, and the Rep came every day.

There was entertainment every night, and the person doing it always involved the children first. He spoke in Spanish first then translated it to English, it did not stop the kids or adults having fun.
During the day there were games around the pool, and everyone was asked if they wanted to take part.
Activities were listed in the bar area with what was happening on each day at certain times.

We paid for the safety deposit box in our room, on the fourth floor, and had no problems.

You can upgrade to all inclusive in this hotel for an extra charge each day, which many British people were doing, we choose not to as we werent in the hotel during the day.

We had a great holiday here, and would certainly come back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ralph
11 years ago
Was sold this hotel as 4 star by Expedia, on arriaval found it to be 3 star. Hotel was dirty in all areas, pillow cases had dirty marks on them, bathroom dirty. Dinning area had dried food all over walls, that remained for the whole week we were there. Food was very basic, we gave up on dinner after 2 days as little to choose from, salad bar had only lettuce, tomatoes or onions. although we continued to have breakfast this was also limited. Dinning room was dirty, table clothes had food and staines from the night before.
Air con in room was not working and after a number of fail promises was fixed after 3 days. Is there anything positive I can say about this hotel, the answer has to be no, I would not even give it a star rating. My advice would be avoid at all cost.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: internet Expedia

Wooders
14 years ago
The hotel was fine albeit a little old. I was expecting this though because I had done my homework on the Internet before booking.

The phone system is very old too. You cannot call outside the hotel using the room phone although I believe you can receive calls from outside. There is also a phone in reception which I think you can call out on.

I found the hotel to be quite clean.
Food was fine. Even for a finicky person like myself. I always found something to eat, occasionally quite a few things. Plenty of choice and quite tasty too. Buffet style as you would expect. Spanish bacon leaves a lot to be desired though. This is not a criticism of this hotel, just the strange pigs they must have in Spain.

The location was a little different. Previously I had stayed outside or on the outskirts. You are right in the middle of the new town and this takes some getting used to. There is always something going on 24/7 and I would not recommend it if you enjoy it too quiet.

The staff were great and spoke better English than I expected. This lead to a little laziness on my part as I knew I did not need to use my Spanish.

Entertainment? I don't go to Spain to spend days or nights in the hotel so therefore I didn't see any! However I am sure it was going on and if you are of a 'certain age' and need to know this then I expect that this hotels entertainment was on a par with any other. Seriously though folks there are plenty of places to be entertained within stumbling distance of this establishment. Go on, get out there and enjoy it.

I would happily stay in this hotel again. Don't get hung up on star ratings though. In my experience star ratings in Spain don't mean a deal. They are definitely NOT like UK hotels. They are seen as more of a eating and sleeping place rather than a home from home. I invariably stay in 3* hotels but they can vary a lot. You have to take things in the round and consider all aspects including the location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Maureen
14 years 1 month ago
Booked 3 star half board on arrival so I thought that it would have been 3 star. Looked like a 1 star hotel. Was very old looking and the rooms were not much better. The dining room looked clean but it was not ... Where the food was, behind the hot plates, it was really dirty.... Food was not up to much only two choices, chicken or meat dish, pasta was not nice and the salads were very limited with tomato and lettice and some thing in a salad sauce which tasted awful...

As for entertainment none as far as I was concerned. He only knew 5 songs and just kept repeating them all night.

The pool was deep and that was at both ends so if you were not a good swimmer you would not have been able to go in it. I would not recommend any one to go to this hotel as in Dec they say that it is being pulled down and a new one being built in it place. Probably why they have let it go to ruin and did not fix anything. Lifts kept breaking down. The next time I book I will make sure that I know the hotel I am going to ... and not do this again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Discount Holidays

Natalie
14 years 1 month ago
After reading reviews about this hotel my partner and I were weary, to say the least. However, these apprehensions were not justified. We had a brilliant time at the Gala Placida.

The staff were great and very welcoming.

The food was ok, although slightly repetitive my boyfriend enjoyed it enough. They always had chips, or something that I would eat.

Pool area was cleaned daily, and usually beds were available.

Loads of things to do in Benidorm, we would recommend the Jukebox for a lovely 3 course Sunday lunch, at only 10 euro.

While we were there the door handle broke in our room, and this was fixed by a maintenance man promptly without our request.

Would definitely recommend you to stay at this hotel if you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
CLAIRE
14 years 2 months ago
Myself and my fionce just came back yesterday. And we wouldn't go back!
The food was nearly the same every day and there wasnt much choice.
Entertainment was an old man playing the piano and shaking his leg (buy one get one free happy hour).
The pool has cold water in but does get a little bit warmer as the sun comes round which is about 1pm. The steps which help you get in are hagging off (both pairs) I bruised both my legs on them so be carefull!
Hotel room was nice but the plugs, shower rail and lights were hagging off. Hotel lifts really dated makes funny noises whislt in them!
Reception and bar staff are both friendly and polite apart from one bar tender who takes half an hour to get you a drink!
We went for dinner mostly to the jukebox which is just outside the hotel turn right. The food was lovely and it was cheap!!!
We didnt like it but you might dont take other peoples advice try it!
Happy Holidays
Love Claire and Joe xxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: AIRTOURS

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum