Image of Sol Pelicanos Ocas Hotel

Sol Pelicanos Ocas Hotel

43 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 109 reviews
3 stars
Calle Gerona, 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
These two lively sister hotels offer a range of facilities. The daytime entertainment appeals to all ages. Guests will be allocated in either hotel and are able to use the facilities in both.

109 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    20
  • Very Good
    52
  • Good
    26
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
TV Benidorm Hotel
1 month ago
We paid nearly £5000 for 3 people 2 weeks all inclusive first flight delayed 18 hours so lost a day of the 2 weeks. Loads of Spanish, rude arrogant all entertainment in Spanish, all British kids had no idea what was going on had to leave the hotel every night for entertainment.

We spent another £1500 buying drinks the staff where nice there was meant to be 3 rooms for entertainment but Spanish football in them. All the food was covered in oil. People from other hotels used the pool and got photos of pool bar in TV show, I hated the whole 2 week, we will never go to Benidorm again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tui

Hotel tip: Morgans tavern is neptunes and a lot smaller than on TV good tribute act but once seen first week not much for second week

Sheila Norman
Load of rubbish
9 months ago
This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in , been coming to Benidorm since 1980 every other hotel been spot on he rooms are freezing cold and noisy all day / night the food is always cold and the. Choice is awful and the A I drinks are a bleeding joke we've paid £1600 for 1 week for the 2 of us and had to eat and drink off the premises each drink we ask for in this hotel were told this is not on A I and we have to pay so we said shove it we've paid enough in here and we go out each night , the manager is so in helpful and nasty we couldn't even talk to him he just said whatever lady goodbye I am raging and disgusted at the way we've been treated and can't wait to get home and out of this shot hole
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2

Hotel tip: No way would we ever recommend this accommodation it's the worst hotel I have stayed at in Benidorm

Mugged
hotel was fine...
1 year 3 months ago
Watch yourself if you go to the strip. There are African thieves there. They mugged me and got away with 60 euro. They work in packs so one of them will restrain you while another goes through your pocket. They're nasty people who have ruined a great resort that I have been to before without any problems.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Mark&Pauline
Too many kids
6 years 1 month ago
We have just come back from the ocas, we had booked the sol pelicanos but was put into the ocas which was a good size room with a flat screen TV, fridge, walk in shower and a balcony overlooking the pool.

The food what you could see them cooking was always hot but the food that was put out such as the chips and veg, were cold. There was too much noise in the dining room from children screaming.

If you want a quit relaxing dinner don’t go to this hotel drinks are 3.50 euros a pint and 1 to 1.50 euros outside of the hotel entertainment was the hotel team miming to shows from 10 to 11.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Definitely visit again
6 years 6 months ago
Just returned from the Pelicanos and had a great time.

Arrived at check in and asked for a pool view room which we got, room was clean and adequate. Had a lovely view of the amazing pool which has got to be the best in Benidorm.

Tried some food at the pool bar which was nice and not too expensive, breakfast was nice and hot. Drinks more pricey than outside but to be expected.

Would definitely visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Revil
Better than expected
7 years 4 months ago
I was a bit worried about staying here after reading some of the reports on here but I have to say that the hotel was very clean and the rooms were clean and what you would expect of a 3 star hotel.

The only gripes we had were that there was not a fridge or hairdryer in the rooms,although both could be hired from reception. Beds were comfortable and bed linen was changed every 3 days. Pillows could have been better.

The hotel is in an excellent location, 5 mins walk from the excellent Lavante beach and all bars and nightlife but not noisy at night. Indoor market is 2 min walk away and there is a shop next door to hotel(bodega barril) where you can get a newspaper and also change your money at same rates as in indoor market.

The quality of the food was very good. Breakfast was pretty much standard hotel fare, with english tasting sausage, spanish bacon, beans, fried bread, scrambled,boiled or fried eggs, ommlettes as well,lots of fresh fruit,a good selction of cheese and cold meats, toast and preserves, tea, coffee and fruit juice.

Evening meal had a very good selection of meat and fish dishes to choose from every night,lots of fresh salad, pasta, paella, fruit and deserts to choose from. With previous reports on here with regards to the food,it would seem that this issue has now been rectified. There is an area set aside for families with young children to eat with a flintstones theme.
The only thing to let down the breakfast was the time it took to do your toast as the machines were not very good and you had to put it through twice to toast it properly.

The large pool area is the best we have used in Benidorm with lots of sunbeds available although the beds get reserved quite early so you have to be quick to get the best spots.There are also 2 other reasonable sized pools and 2 baby pools to use.The large pool is very big and takes 10 mins to swim around. It has 3 jaccuzzi areas and a swim up bar (although this was closed for our visit).There is a large poolside bar area serving drinks and snacks.
There are poolside activities arranged every day if you wish to take part.

We didnt see any of the entertainment at the hotel.

We would definitely stay at the sol pelicanos again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Revil
Great value for money
7 years 4 months ago
I was a bit worried about staying here after reading some of the reports on here but I have to say that the hotel was very clean and the rooms were clean and what you would expect of a 3 star hotel.

The only gripes we had were that there was not a fridge or hairdryer in the rooms, although both could be hired from reception. Beds were comfortable and bed linen was changed every 3 days. Pillows could have been better.

The hotel is in an excellent location, 5 minutes walk from the excellent Levante beach and all bars and nightlife, but not noisy at night. Indoor market is 2 minute walk away and there is a shop next door to hotel where you can get a newspaper and also change your money at same rates as in indoor market.

The quality of the food was very good, breakfast was pretty much standard hotel fare, with English tasting sausage, Spanish bacon, beans, fried bread, scrambled, boiled or fried eggs, omelettes as well, lots of fresh fruit, a good selection of cheese and cold meats, toast and preserves, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Evening meal had a very good selection of meat and fish dishes to choose from every night,lots of fresh salad, pasta,paella, fruit and deserts to choose from.

With previous reports on here with regards to the food, it would seem that this issue has now been rectified. There is an area set aside for families with young children to eat, with a Flintstones theme.
The only thing to let down the breakfast was the time it took to do your toast as the machines were not very good and you had to put it through twice to toast it properly.

The large pool area is the best we have used in Benidorm with lots of sunbeds available although the beds get reserved quite early so you have to be quick to get the best spots. There are also 2 other reasonable sized pools and 2 baby pools to use. The large pool is very big and takes 10 minutes to swim around. It has 3 jacuzzi areas and a swim up bar (although this was closed for our visit). There is a large poolside bar area serving drinks and snacks.
There are poolside activities arranged every day if you wish to take part.

We didn't see any of the entertainment at the hotel.
We would definitely stay at the Sol Pelicanos again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Next time we will give this hotel a miss!
7 years 7 months ago
Have been to the Pelicanos many times before the last time was in March a few years ago and my impression then was that the standard of food had changed for the worst.
This time I was sure it had.

Food was very bland, and when they can't make a decent paella in a hotel in Spain and one in the Valencia region home of paella!

That's my only gripe. Hotel clean, staff great, rooms good, beds made and clean towels every day.

Will possibly give this hotel a miss the next time we go back to Benidorm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Steph
Very very disappointing
8 years 1 month ago
Location is very good next to indoor market. Rooms are very basic and needs upgrading, TV signal is very very poor, as is the actual TV. Also they turn off a/c after midnight which annoys loads of guest who complain at reception each day; beds are very un-comfortable, requiring a good drink to ease you into a good sleep.

The food isn’t great, we ended up eating out for evening meals, breakfast gets you going, but so called English sausage is bland and deep fried cheap rubbish.
Pool is superb, as is the little Jacuzzis, but overall I won’t come back, its living off a TV programme, and that’s about all id say really, quite disappointed in it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mark757
8 years 4 months ago
Stayed in the Sol Ocas and it was a very typical 3* hotel. We found the place spotless in all public areas and the bedrooms.

Most facilities are shared with the Sol Pelicanos but both hotels have their own bar and restaurant and meals must be taken in your allocated hotel. The food was normal for a 3* hotel, I guess it could become repetitive but there was always something to eat and for the price we paid the quality was fine, breakfast was better than the evening meal though.

There is a small pool at the Sol Ocas which we normally used or you can use the pool at The Pelicanos which is massive and is used for the setting of the series 'Benidorm'.

The staff were not rude but were not particularly warm either, they were just doing their job.

I have given the entertainment a rating of 3 but have based this purely on the posters advertising what was going on, as we always went out in the evening I didn't actually see it myself.

The location is good, about 5 minutes from the beach and about the same to the main nightlife area but far enough away to avoid the noise at night.

Benidorm is full of stag and hens and their behaviour was going beyond just drunken fun, I heard reports of hotel furniture being smashed, families feeling uneasy around pool areas and the police having to be constantly called to attend incidents at the hotels.

Benidorm was cleaner and better maintained than my previous visit and I just hope the stag and hens don't force people to go elsewhere.

I would recommend this hotel but if you want a huge choice of food then maybe you would be better paying more and going to a 4* hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum