Image of Calypso Servigroup Hotel

Calypso Servigroup Hotel

40 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 34 reviews
3 stars
Av del Derramador, 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
This hotel has two lounge bars for guests to enjoy, along with the swimming pool and sun terrace. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. There is an entertainment programme and plenty of activities for the children to do.

34 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Food was disappointing
7 years 8 months ago
The cleaning staff were excellent and always left our room spotlessly clean and tidy!

However, the food has dropped in standard both in quality and variety! This was an important issue for us as we had booked to stay over the Christmas and New Year period.

On a previous Christmas holiday, the food was much better and more enjoyable!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 4 months ago
Overall good hotel and would stay again but found the room alright but the bathroom very small also the balcony a bit small.Food ok but have had more choice in lots of other hotels.good position for the beach, busses and pubs and clubs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
my husband daughter and myself went to the villa de benidorm on 11 april2010 we should have come back on the 18 april, but could not get home because of the volcanic eruption,so had to book into another hotel whitch was the calipso,for 9days it was the best holiday we have had in a long time .the staff were so nice and friendly. food brill and all drinks were 2 for 1, the bedroom was so nice and very cleane. we have only been back 2weeks and have booked again for 6th june 2010 cant wait, just wish we would have book there in the first place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked in are selfs

Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
Hote; was very good cant fault the food at all even the gala dinner was the best ive had in benidorm at new year .

Hotel was very clean and cleaners couldnt be any nicer . Our room was spot on and we had asked for extra pillows and got them in less than 5 minute fantastic beds a bit hard .

Location was fantastic everything you needed was at your finger tips 2 mins to the beach bars shops etc on your door step

Staff are very nice cant fault any of them at all .

Entertainment well not for us as the last post said more for older couples but we dont stay in hotel for entertainment to much going on out and about .

Yes i would return to this hotel again if the price was right cant fault it in any way .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
8 years 9 months ago
second visit to this hotel. we were in the main building this time instead of the annexe and found the rooms to be a bit bigger. rooms were spotless as was all of the hotel. food was really good, good choice, just not enough veg. only complaint was that brekkie finished at 9.45am.
we did not stay in for entertainment as it looked more geared for older people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flyglobespan

Recommended
Glynis HT Admin
Recommended for the ‘older visitor’
9 years 2 months ago
Have just returned from the Calypso having spent 4 nights here with 3 of my friends.

We were in room 909 on the 9th floor. We faced the front of the hotel, friends were in room 810 and were more on the side of the hotel. Our room was larger than our friends and we also had a larger balcony. However, our balcony was Perspex which made you feel a little dizzy as there was nothing to break up your eye view. Our friends’ balcony had bars which made the height not seem so severe.

The rooms were clean and had a handy free fridge. LCD large TV on the wall. (Friends bathroom was quite squashed with the toilet practically on top of the bath) Our bathroom was a little better laid out and larger.

We were full board and the food was excellent. Breakfast was the usual cold ham/cheeses etc with plenty of choice for a cooked breakfast. The sausage was really nice (British style.) The chef was available to cook you freshly fried eggs to your liking.

Lunch was excellent with chef's cooking, ie chops, chicken kebabs etc. More or less the same food as you get in hotels for an evening meal. We'd expected just beef burgers etc. so it was a nice surprise to have such a choice for lunch. The lemon ice cream from the machine was really quenching. Evening meals again were faultless - plenty of choice.

Entertainment wasn't really our cup of tea as it was mainly ballroom dancing type stuff, but we sat outside on the terrace for a few drinks and enjoyed watching all the older couples enjoying themselves.

The hotel attracts a lot of the older couples and so maintains a nice peaceful atmosphere. There's nothing there really for children apart from a small playground area with a slide etc. Definitely not a choice of hotel for the younger generation.

While we were there the hotel has a 2 for 1 drinks policy that is available all hours. This includes all drinks, plus tea and coffee/bottled water etc. 2 pints of lager therefore was just €2.30, 2 brandy and 2 lemonades were around €3.70, 2 bottles of water €1.20.

The pool area was fine with plenty of sunbeds plus tables and chairs and a bar area.

Across the road from the hotel is a large bar that has outside tables, it can be a little noisy at night until the music stops. The hotel is handy for the market and there's a few shops just outside the hotel without you having to cross the road.

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to older visitors for a peaceful, relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
stayed for long weekend on a fullboard basis. i have been to many hotels in benidorm but this one beats all hands down for quality of food. all dishes cooked extremely well. strict on dress code in restaraunt for men. but very polite at telling you. hotel was very clean. rooms were a little small but fine for 2 people, linen was spotless. had a fridge and lcd tv on wall. bathroom was a letdown as it had mould on tile grout and some cracked tiles i think they forgot bathrooms when doing the hotel refurb. wee also had a good size balcony.
location was superb. right on the doorsteps of all or favourite pubs. so needless to say we didnt stay in for the entertainment which did seem busy as it was ballroom dancing and as it was december there were mainly the older generation in benidorm. i would definately visit this hotel again but maybe not in december
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: globespan

Recommended
Big Ron
9 years 11 months ago
The Calypso Hotel has just had a refurb at the start of the year.All the rooms now have a 22'flat screens TVs with BBC1 and ITV,and two movie channels, as well as a small fridge,and first class aircon/heating.The hotel is cleaned to a high stardard.The sittings for meals, are Breakfast 8.00 to 9.30, Lunch 12.30 to 14.30 and Dinner 18.30 to 21.30.The buffet is first class with lots of choice at all meals.The hotel is in two buildings the main hotel with 11 floors and the annex with 4 floors both are equally as good, however rooms in the main building face on to the street and there is some noise, but once the balcony doors are closed this soon stops.The entertainment in the hotel is gear towards the older customerbut why stay in the hotel when all Benidorm has to offer is on the doorstep. The hotel is situated within five minutes of the beach and close to all the nightlife, it is about 20minutes walk from the old town or 5 minutes from a bus stop.During September this hotel caters mainly for the older customer and there were no children staying during my visit.Would I recommend this hotel?yes.Would I return?yes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
10 years ago
this holtel was brill food was good was all referbished this year, new air con tvs in rooms. show cooking in dining room. no faults here!! will be back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Dawn
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Calypso Hotel which had recently been refurbished. We found it lovely, the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels if needed. Televisions in rooms had english film and news channels. The food was great something for everyone! There were plenty of sunbeds although there weren't many families at the time of our holiday so it might get busier in high season. Most staff were very pleasant especially in the dining area. Although we didn't stay for it the entertainment seemed varied.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ?

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum