Image of Rosamar Hotel

Rosamar Hotel

57 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 53 reviews
3 stars
Av del Derramador, 6, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
The Rosamar Hotel is a modern high rise hotel, benefiting from its refit in 2011. The rooms are basic but fit the needs of any traveller, with its neutral colour schemes and facilities. The hotel is close to the beach which is just a few hundred meters away, shops and nightlife. The snack bar poolside is open all day and evening if you are not heading to this hotels restaurant.

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rick
Disappointing
5 years 10 months ago
Just came back from Benidorm. Mailed Rosamar prior to going requesting low level room as wife is in a wheelchair, they acknowledged straight away telling me that i could have the 1st floor with a walk in shower so i mailed them again to thank them & asked them if they could sort out a bouquet of flowers for the 7th as it was our 44 year anniversary, again they replied saying they would so it was left at that.

Arrived 01/09/12 11.45 am, went down for lunch in clobber i arrived in buttoned t shirt/ shellies. Food selection very poor, 2 types of meat, spare ribs & meatballs. Hard tatties & lots of veg/salad if you are a rabbit, sweet selection next to nothing. Saturday evening dinner-- dressed in 3/4s & sleeveless top (smart) food selection again very poor. Sunday breakfast dressed in long beach shorts/sleeveless vest, eggs like rubber, no bacon again very poor. Didn't bother with lunch, couldn't face it. Evening dinner - again dress wear same style as Saturday (all new). Monday breakfast , kicked it into touch, couldnt face it again, ate out. Monday lunch - kicked into touch, same reason.
Evening dinner - dresswear same style as previous, again all new. Tuesday breakfast - kicked into touch, ate out. Tuesday lunch --- kicked into touch.
Evening dinner - dresswear as previous (new), we stood at the door waiting to be called to a table when out of the blue the head waiter stormed over to me ranting/raving about my clobber & pointing at a picture on the wall of what should be worn, other holiday makers just stared in amazement. I told him that my dress wear was very tidy & that he should go & look at others with their bare pot bellies hanging out (some women included) but he just went on & on, When I turned to walk away, a 2nd waiter tried to reason. with him but i was so mad i just told them again to stick it. We ate out everyday after that & wouldn't return on principle.

Our room, smell of sewage every day, complained & they just came with a spray. Cleaner - changed bed linen & towels daily, a light sweep with a brush & a quick swish with a mop, didn't remove any stains on floor. Toilet/shower room curtain top rail hanging loose ,grab handle at shower loose & fixed to wall by rusty screws. Room decor - very drab.

Electrics - lights were on a different supply to the wall sockets, the lights went off 1 day but the TV was still on. Handyman came & said that i didn't have a card in the wall slot so he stuck a card in, lights came on so i asked him why the TV was still working without a card, he couldn't answer, so I asked him how the electric/lights had worked for 3 days without a card, again he couldn't answer. 2 out of 3 wall sockets didn't work but by now i couldn't be bothered to complain.

Wednesday afternoon our last day, i was making my way to the toilet when i got a free shower from outside the toilet door, looked up & water was coming in through the ceiling, ran downstairs to reception, they called the handyman, he removed a ceiling panel & extracted almost 2 buckets of water blaming us for having the air con on & the balcony door open, I told him that we had just come in but deaf ears.

Evening entertainment --- OK if you're Spanish.

Reception - the young lad was spot on, the older man growled/snarled.
Oh i forgot to add - NO FLOWERS FOR THE WIFE.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Clean hotel in great location
6 years 4 months ago
We were pleasantly surprised with all aspects of the Hotel Rosamar. A clean hotel in an excellent location. The food was very good - plenty of choice including show cooking and theme nights - loved the Spanish Night with Catalan bread and ham.

The hotel staff were efficient and the maids were forever cleaning every nook and cranny. We did not stay in for the entertainment.

We will return next February for sure.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
John
Centrally located
6 years 5 months ago
Our room was very clean and cleaned daily.

We only stayed bed and breakfast but breakfast was really nice.

The hotel is centrally based for all the local entertainment and the beach.

The staff were all nice and helpful when we approached them. We didn't use the hotel for entertainment as the location is within easy reach of lots of bars with their own entertainment.

We would use this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Laura
7 years ago
Arrived to the Rosamar and was checked in very quickly. Room was clean and of a good size, Pool area is very nice and bar prices are reasonable. This hotel takes a lot of bookings for mixed nationalities, a lot of Spanish whilst we were there, which didn’t bother us. The food wasn’t to our taste, breakfast was the best meal of the day however the evening meal consisted of pork pork and more pork, with a bit of squid on other nights. Not enough variety. The entertainment during the day wasn’t too bad but nothing was in English so we couldn’t understand what they were saying. The evening entertainment consisted of Spanish pensioners ball room dancing, these people went staying in the hotel they just came into the hotel every night, all music was Spanish, it was no good for families and my son was bored. The bar staff are really friendly and a credit to the hotel. I think the hotel needs to involve everybody in all activities if they are expecting British people to spend their hard earned money to holiday here. All in all I probably wouldn’t visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Very much geared towards the Spanish
7 years ago
After returning from the Rosamar a couple of hours ago, I've got round to writing this review.

I would not go to this hotel again.

The entertainment is geared towards the Spanish every night with hardly a word of English spoken, the bar staff seem a miserable bunch unless they are dealing with the Spanish.

The lifts are a joke and you could be waiting up to 15 minutes at times to get one, that's if you can beat the rude Spanish guests that seem to think they can just walk right up and get a lift before you.

The rooms are basic, the only plug socket that worked for us was in the bathroom, forget being sat out on your balcony after midnight, as they switch the balcony lights off at that time.

Food, again everything was geared towards the Spanish guests with very little British selection.

Overall, I got the impression that this hotel prefers to have Spanish guests and the British are tolerated begrudgingly. This was our first time half board and I didn't enjoy it, back to self catering in future for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jane
Would return
7 years 3 months ago
Went to this hotel for 3 days. I did request a low floor the others in the party were given floors 10 and 11 after begging the reception man I got floor 8 he did say if I asked the next day they would try and move me but as only there for 3 days did not bother.

The rooms were clean the bathroom was dated and it did take me a while to find out how to work the shower.

The food was very nice in my opinion it was presented very well and was hot. We did have a Chinese night while I was there but they did have other options if you don’t like the theme nights.

The pool area is at the front of the hotel and is not over large we spent the day at the beach as weather was lovely. Can see it being hard to get a bed in high season as there did not seem much room but that is like most hotels in Benidorm.

I would return to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 7 months ago
Staff very helpful especially in the restaurant they always tried to seat us together (8 of us) which was not easy when the Hotel is full. The food was well presented especially salads, have had better but also had a lot worse, and for what we paid it was adequate. The rooms are ready for a refirb but are clean, only thing missing is a hairdryer but can be borrowed from reception. Didn't go into cabaret room so cannot comment. Pool area O.K. Very good value for money!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self booked

Recommended
Cameron Family
8 years 11 months ago
After reading revues about this hotel we went with an open mind.
First thing was we requested a lower floor as my husband does not handle heights to well, and surprise surprise we were put on the 11th floor, next morning we asked to be put on a lower floor this was done after I was told by receptionist I should have informed them and I told her we had e/m the hotel and the travel agent also requested the lower floor.
The rooms are ok the decor in the bathroom could do with a spruce up but overall the rooms were ok and the beds were firm not like some hotels we have been to..
The hotel needs to look at there lifts, they are impossible to get and very very warm the fans in them are next to useless.
The food was ok.
The pool could be bigger and I would suggest the hotel could put something up on the stone divider to stop kids standing up on it as it is an accident waiting to happen ..
The location of the hotel is very good,plenty of shops and entertainment on your door step and beach less than 5min walk.
Overall we had a good time, and the hotel is not as bad as some make out, although if we ever go back we would try another hotel,.




Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: globespan

Nigel
9 years 2 months ago
Just a quick review of The Hotel Rosamar, I am a frequent traveller to Benidorm and Often try different hotels. This was my first visit to the Rosamar, despite some of the reviews I found the staff very friendly apart from the chef in the dinning area who never spoke or cracked a smile! The rooms are a good size but a little outdated, the hotel enjoys a fantastic position but was let down badly by a limited choice of food. I admit I am not the most adventurous with food, but when you have a choice of two soups and the choice is garlic or fish soup I struggled! Roast beef and Yorkshire pudding on a Sunday served with chips not roast potatoes? And a very poor daily desert section with very limited fresh fruit. There are many better hotels for the same money; The Calypso next door has far superior food. Average hotel but would not stay there again. I am returning to Benidorm next week, but this time staying at The Sol Pelicanos where I have always enjoyed.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Mark
9 years 11 months ago
Stayed at this hotel for a week interesting to say the least.

food is appaling cold samey and if not eaten at lunch served again in the evening

the bar staff are the most miserable bunch you could hope to meet

the only good thing for us apart from the location was the entertainer guy called steve, he is english (never mind )but what a really nice guy keeped the kids busy all day and was really chatty with the adults as well.

loads of good pubs and clubs near by
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum