Image of Osiris Hotel

Osiris Hotel

14 of 22 hotels in Calella

3 out of 5 from 58 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Sant Jaume, 242, 08370 Calella, Spain
The resort centre, with its shops, bars and restaurants is 350m away, while the beach of Calella is 500m from the hotel.

58 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Anne Briggs
12 years 7 months ago
We have just returned on Sunday from the hotel Osiris, we had a fantastic time. Yes the rooms were basic and yes could do with a upgrade (which is to be done this winter) the kids who's ages ranged from 6 to 12 had a great time we found everyone to be friendly and the kids club was fab.

The food was o.k after all you get what you pay for. We were in the room next to the glass lift on the first floor, it was a bit noisy but everyone was on holiday what do you expect.

We liked it so much we have booked to go back next October.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunways

Recommended
Jane Baker
12 years 7 months ago
Having booked the Santa Susanna and hearing bad reports me and my friends checked many reviews on a number of sites and came across several rating the Osiris very nicely - infact a couple of reviewers had stated they thought this was more like a 4 star hotel not 3! So we booked it instead!

We arrived to a very average reception area - immediately there were kids screaming and running riot. We were offered a larger room, albeit with a smaller balcony which was fine. The reception staff were pleasant enough - and even recommended the Amaika for dinner (one in their chain of hotels) as "people often like the food there" - it got me wondering what was so different about it from their own (but I left that thought behind for short while!)The state of the hotel became apparent straight after leaving the reception area.

The hotel was very very badly in need of an update! It looked like somewhere along the line a bit of paint had been applied here and there, but the general appearance was quite shoddy. On entering our room there was an "old damp" smell about it - it was incredibly basic - with very old fashioned bedding. The bath looked dirty - but it was more an age thing than dirt!

We unpacked and took a stroll out. On returning back to the hotel we went for dinner - if it wasn't battered, it had been deep fried just for the hell of it! But I managed to find some chicken and chips and it was ok.

After dinner we took a walk to the Amaika to see what we would have had if we'd chosen to eat there! On entering the hotel you immediately get an impression this is an altogether better hotel. It is graded at a higher star rating but this hotel was the basic minimum you'd expect at even a 2* or 3* in our opinion. The food immediately looked more appetising - certainly there was more choice.

We took a peek into a room and it look cleaner and more modern than the hotel we were in. Nevertheless we accepted that we'd got a bargain and knew we'd not be spending too much time at the hotel anyway especially as the beach was close. Around 1030pm we went to our room. One of my friend's was sitting on the balcony when I could suddenly hear a "hissing" sound. I say "hissing" as I daren't actually write what I could hear! Someone was actually urinating on the balcony of the room next door. There was an obvious slope on the balcony and the urine was running into ours! My friend immediately went to the bathroom to throw some water on the balcony - I politely asked the neighbours if someone was doing this and got no answer - they couldn't hear me I suspect as there was this very very loud scottish woman who was screetching at very high decibels without taking a breath.

I immediately phoned reception to ask them if they could send someone up to clean the balcony as we were unable to use it until this was done, and was informed this couldn't happen until the next day! I told them we were using the balcony and was told there was nothing they could do about it.

I immediately rang our rep - she was very helpful and explained she'd contact us the following day as this wasn't the sort of service you'd expect. It was bedtime for most - but for the screecher next door - she wasn't going to shut up. I am an extremely heavy sleeper and yet was woken no less than 3 times but the yelling and screaming from next door - mainly the woman! Reception did what they could to quieten her - but there was a whole "Brits abroad" mentality whereby she was obviously very drunk - and getting more so by the minute which gave her the right to ruin everyone else sleep! Peace was not to be had.

The next day we got up and went to breakfast - whilst there wasn't anything battered - most things were very deep fried an the bacon would have been very good if you shoes needed new soles! Fortunately the rep did call us and got us moved the Amaika - during the holiday we did venture back to the roof top jacuzzis as this was child free. But it was very damp and dingy looking and not at all pleasant.

The jacuzzis had a smell about them there was no way I was going to sit in what might have been a steaming bath of germs! Apparently this hotel is closing for a refit - but if you read other reviews it sounds like it had had one! But that's not obvious.

This hotel is cheap and nasty. As a travel agent I will now only book it if someone has been there before and knows what to expect. Otherwise I book the Amaika - much nicer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TailorMade

John Mcdonald
12 years 8 months ago
We stayed here for one week and it was great
when we arrived we were on the third floor but that was the fault of tour operator. Spoke to reception and two hours later we were on the first floor in a huge room cleaner was in every day.

I am not the tidiest person in the world but the cleaner we had was brilliant. Yes the food was repetetive but never went hungry and loved the rice pud.

The pool was always busy but what do you expect, other people are on holiday too!!!.Staff in restaurant were brilliant with the kids always made a point of coming over,
Yes hotel needs a lick of paint but paint doesn't make a holiday.

Mini disco repetetive but kids dont know any better and mine loved it just not long enough.

Only one fault was one barman who was a bit of a jobsworth. Anyone picking faults here are expecting the Ritz at Blackpool prices. Only thing to say is to remember when you are on holiday so are others,if you want peace and quiet stay on a desert island.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Willie J
12 years 8 months ago
The hotel is gettting a refit the food was ok apart from chips every night/lunch dinner. The staff here great upstairs sun terraces.

The and downstairs bar where great as there were no kids. It is re opening as the Callela palace.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SERGIO

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
Just got back from the Calella in the Costa Brava , stayed at the hotel Osiris . I got a cheap package on teletext , so was not expecting to much .

All in all I had mixed feelings about this place . I thought the food for the price was great value and if anyone expected better are living in a dream world. Saying that tho the deserts were dire . The beer was good and staying on an all inclusive was not good for my all so ready bulging waste line .

The rooms were to say the least drab and dated , but like i said you gets what you pay for . The beds tho were comfy , but what are those 2 ft pillows about ? The noise at night was unbelievable , scooters screaming past with no baffle in the exhaust all night long . Plus the noise from inconsiderate guests making noises in the corridors till 4am , the flimsy doors don't help with the noise much . The walls are so thin i could even here next door trump in his sleep

The staff were a bit on the indifferent side and only spoke to us cos my wife was Italian and understood Spanish . Some were on the rude side . MR snack bar waiter Im talking about you . I found the Spanish in general a bit ignorant . Don't they realise that tourists are their liefs blood and economy ?

Ok I know theres a lot of negatives in there but to be totally honest I had a great time . I made friends I got drunk and I ate well and got to read all of the Devinci code , great book by the way . If your on a tight budget this place is ok . If your fussy and don't like noise then pay extra and stay well clear .

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Choice

Hood
12 years 9 months ago
After reading reports on the internet was feeling very apprehensive about going on hoiliday but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Segoura

Recommended
Hood
12 years 9 months ago
After reading umpteen reports on the internet was dreading going on holiday but was pleasantly surprised.

Only problem was that we were at the back of the hotel and the noise was deafening from the lorries and scooters and mopeds going up the hill at all times of the night.

The bin men even emptied the rubbish in the middle of the night WHAT A RACKET. The food was passable - excellent the first week - but by the second was desperate for somewhere else to eat.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Segoura

Recommended
C. Folks
12 years 9 months ago
3 star rating is a joke, barely 2 stars, rooms very basic and dated - no air con, floors dirty.

Very noisy hotel, doors banging and shouting until 3am. Our room was at the rear of the hotel with a very noisy road at night.

Reception area looked fine initially, but on closer inspection, sofa's were ripped and tatty, curtains had burn holes in them and bins overflowing with rubbish.

Food ok-ish. Bar area ressembled a working mans clubhouse. Manager totally indifferent to complaints, saying English expect to much. AVOID
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperial travel Ltd

James
12 years 9 months ago
Very run down hotel. Ok if you get drunk every night then you would not notice the noise, drab rooms and other drunks.

Worst hotel ever visited.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Trust Accommodation.com

Flynn
12 years 9 months ago
After being transferred from Hotel Alexis to Hotel Osiris our 1 week holiday began.
On first impressions the hotel seemed clean. the staff were very friendly and we began to enjoy our holiday greatly.

The entertainment during the day was excellent and varied from water polo to its a pool knock-out (various pool side games which i enjoyed immensely)
The entertainers were fun and seemed more than ready to have fun.

The evening entertainment was not the best i have ever seen, however, there was the choice of staying up in the rooms to watch various DVDs which were put on by the hotel.

The rooms were kept clean and i advise a trip to the roof terrace for some peace and quiet, although the hotel wasn't too bad for noise we felt that the walls could have been thicker.

The food wasn't to bad but became repetitive and by the end of the week we were glad that we would be getting a change of food.

The hotel was situated not far from the beach and if you didn't mind a 10-15 minute walk there was a lovely bit of beach surrounded with cliffs, the sea was clean as was the beach and we enjoyed our stay on the beach that day.

All in all I enjoyed my holiday and would consider returning to the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ryan air

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum