Image of Olympic Hotel

Olympic Hotel

21 of 22 hotels in Calella

3 out of 5 from 100 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Benavente, 08370 Calella, Spain

100 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    40
  • Average
    37
  • Poor
    10

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sandra Hutchinson
Disappointed !!
11 months ago
Arrived at 1 in the morning had 3 small children so priority was getting them to bed , however, noticed right away bathroom was very shabby there was small rusty hole in bath , very awkward situated shower , a cupboard soar that opened with pipes in it an next doors bathroom cupboard door was visible and as we soon heard it was extremely noisy via this cupboard door, in the morning we could see that it wasn't the lightening that made it look drab an dated, went out on balcony and our view was a building site of a supermarket being built, the noise and dust we had to put up with was awful but worse was the open drain that was opened up an filled up the massive hole with raw sewage it was disgusting!!

There is a disco next to hotel and noise from it is very disruptive when your trying to sleep an when there coming in from that all you get is shouting n doors banging it doesn't help that the walls are made of cardboard well that's how it sounds , so I go an complain an ask for rooms away from front of hotel to be told there are none it's fully booked, then I'm told no they have 1 room, so I contact my tour operator and they say they will look around for us , well we never heard back from them so to say we were disappointed with holiday is understatement. If your young an looking to party an not worried bout where you stay then this hotel is for you .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: A1Travel

Diane Grogan
Hostel NOT Hotel
4 years ago
This is by far the worst hotel I have ever been to, rooms are small, walls are thin, cleanliness is nil, youths run amok in the corridors, hotel staff are rude, all inclusive is a joke we tried to eat all of three times and had about 3 drinks on the package in two weeks, I am complaining to the head office at H TOP this has been a waste of money.
Youths kept us awake from 2am to 6am then when you just about settled the maids started to knock on the doors to clean the rooms from 8am, when told to come back later they didn’t always in two weeks our room was tided over ( not cleaned ) twice, we had to ask for towels and toilet rolls.
Security actually knocked on my door one evening and told me to shush as I had music on my phone ( not loud ) but when we complained about the youths we were told we could move to a higher floor when rooms came available. There are a whole load of issues with this hotel.

Don’t go here if you want to sleep and eat, the all-inclusive was not worth it, it was more like a hostel than a hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsaver

Loreta
Not bad at all :)
4 years 2 months ago
OK, where should I start. We had great holiday and location is perfect, like 5 min from the beach and all night life/ restaurants. A lot of space around pool and was always free sunbeds. I would say this place is more for families with kids. Was far too noisy but for the price we paid is worth it. As everyone says in previous comments walls are definitely way too thin and you can hear everything :) Good news that you can use other H TOP hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Hotel tip: Try to get top floor :)

Recommended
Much better than expected
4 years 9 months ago
Hotel was fine, very clean and tidy. Read some bad reviews a day or so before we went but they were, in my opinion unfounded. Very good value for money.

Rooms were adequate, main point, they were clean. Food was alright with plenty of choices. Only negative comment, was one of the Bar Staff was a right misery always complaining about something or other.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Recommended
Michelle Senior
good value for money
4 years 10 months ago
We booked this last minute and read bad reviews and all I can say is people want a five star for three star price.

Room was cleaned daily and towels changed etc. Entertainment every day and night, the food was plentiful and nothing to complain about we ate well for a week!

For the price we paid was excellent value for money and would go again!

The beach is a short walk away and we went every day it was lovely
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Recommended
Great holiday and would go back
7 years 10 months ago
Arrived around 9am (via Ferris coach) to be told that the room was not ready yet. No problem as this is what I expected. Dropped luggage in spare room and went down town for a bit of shopping and then to Papas bar for a very good breakfast.
Returned to hotel at 12 to get AI card and room key, but was not able to get safety deposit key till 3pm.

The reception was a bit hectic all day, but the girls were very efficient and friendly.
Internet computers in the foyer and main bar. The decor is a bit tired, but not bad. Hotel is clean, but the daytime bar staff have a habit of leaving all the dirty glasses piled up at the end of the bar until the evening bar staff came on duty.

There was no real noise where my room was, but the reception area seemed to have a lot of youngsters around about 2 -3 am when I was usually coming home.
The room was fine, no pool view as usual, but a/c, shower, TV all worked OK. No hairdryer in room. The room floor got flooded during a thunder storm, I was on 7th floor and had shut the patio doors but it came in under these, but as I got back there late I just threw towels down and it was OK next day.

The food was the usual AI food, soup, pasta, fish, veal, pork and chicken. Breakfast was the usual mix of cold meats and cooked food. Fried and scrambled eggs on alternative days. The bar was only one drink per AI card but you could take 2 cards with you and get 2 drinks. The bar staff were friendly enough if you took the time to talk to them and have a bit of banter, but like all the barmen in all hotels seem to work at their own speed. The entertainment was a bit hit and miss with the usual kids disco and flamenco dancers and reps dance show.

Overall we had a great holiday, probably more to do with the company we met there. We ended up with a nice crowd of up to 10 people sat outside the front of the hotel having a very pleasant drink in the sun. This was the first time I have stayed in this hotel, but have stayed in most of the HTOP hotels over the years. It was OK, and just what I expected of a 3* hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Moore
7 years 11 months ago
yes the hotel is dated and yes it could do with a new paint job but it was clean and there was plenty of hot food the only problem was you could only get one drink per card so there was long queues at the bar all i can say if you go to this hotel go with an open mind also a holiday is what you make it heres a helpful hint if you are going to the beach book you sunbed and parasol from the hotel its cheeper
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: media travel

Recommended
Moore
Dated but clean and good food
8 years ago
Yes, the hotel is dated and yes it could do with a new paint job but it was clean and there was plenty of hot food.

The only problem was you could only get one drink per card so there was long queues at the bar all I can say if you go to this hotel go with an open mind also a holiday is what you make it.

Here’s a helpful hint if you are going to the beach book you sunbed and parasol from the hotel its cheaper.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
X-marshie-x
8 years ago
Well from what i had read prior to me and my other half going here i was a wee bit worried of what i had got us into! (never mentioned the reports to him)

We got to the hotel and booked in and was up in the room within 10 mins and the room was clean balcony with front view. (ashtray for me)

The food was great but they need to widen the variety by putting more than pasta on. Dont hand me pasta again haha.

This hotel was really good one of the best one i think we have stayed in we would go back but i would make sure i wasnt on a floor with germans. (they were everywhere and making noise but not at night time just during the day).

The only off putting thing was the toilet, there was a hatch door to the side of it i opened to investigate as i do and it was piping and the other rooms toilet hatch thing.. Not very comforting!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ryan Air/ Sun 4U

Recommended
Mrs C Anderson
8 years 2 months ago
Change your booking now. This hotel is full of coach trips of teenagers, stag parties, drunks and other travellers that have been thrown out of their accommodation. The noise is horrendous. For the first 2 nights a stag party drank, fought and yelled in the room above us, one of them falling through the patio door on the second night. Nothing was done by the hotel. You can hear everything, people on the toilet, every word and lots of unmentionables. The staff are rude and unhelpful, they wouldn't even help us put the television on to find a BBC station to get news on flight delays. We moved hotel as soon as we could. They doubled their rates when the volcano caused problems. The food is like school meals. Locals call it "Beruit". Please don't go - I used to be a travel agent and still travel regularly and would NEVER book anyone into this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun4U

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum