Image of Volga Hotel

Volga Hotel

1 of 22 hotels in Calella

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
C/ Jovara 350, 08370, Calella, Barcelona, Spain

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Fergus
8 years 5 months ago
Spotless hotel, not for the younger traveller. But staff helpfull and friendly. Nice rooms, but not very big - but you don't spend all your holiday in your room. I would definately stop here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independant traveler

Recommended
Conner
9 years 11 months ago
The food was out of this world. Our room was cleaned every day and the location was 5 min walk from the beach and 2 min walk from the 2 main streets with bars and shops. The train station was a 2 min walk which was excellent for getting to Barcelona. All in all a great holiday!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcostbeds.com

Recommended
G Cook
10 years 11 months ago
The hotel was spotless, the staff were very helpful, the food was extremley good ,the rooms were cleaned daily, the pool was also cleaned daily, sun loungers were plentiful.

The entertaiment was ok but you dont go to Spain to find English entertainment you can stay home to do that childrens inflatables are also provided by the pool I really cant find fault this Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Octopus

Recommended
LINDA RICE
11 years 2 months ago
The Hotel Volga was lovely. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our room was delightful - roomy and clean too.

The food was a sight to behold. A fantastic selection to suit all tastes. A lot of effort was put in by the staff - we had a couple of themed evenings whilst there - it was wonderful.

We found the hotel staff to be extremely polite, the head waiter had a bit of a "bite" when I dared to take a drink down to the dining room which had been purchased in the upstairs bar!!!

We thought the bar staff were fantastic - although we only had a couple of drinks at night - they remembered what we had, how we liked the drinks, etc. Their command of English was excellent.

The entertainment was not too bad - ideal for us older ones - and at least we did not have to go out at night looking for entertainment, as there was something on everynight.

The only thing wrong with the hotel is the location - take away the railway and it was great. We also had a side room which overlooked both the school, road and railway line and late in the afternoon it was very noisy. However we could see the beach and sea too which was lovely.

I would definitely go back to this hotel - tomorrow if possible! Suggest you ask for a poolside view.

Callella has a lovely pedestrianised shopping area, and a typical market on Wednesday and Saturday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: LEGER HOLIDAYS

Recommended
Mrs. L. Owens
11 years 7 months ago
The hotel rooms and public areas were kept very clean and the housekeeping staff were very friendly. However the food was of a very poor standard.

Much of the meat was undercooked and choice was very limited both main course and sweets.

The hot food was usually cold The location of the hotel was very noisy only fifty metres (approx) from the local railway station trains ran 24 hrs.

The majority of the restaurant staff were very sullen and unhelpful as were a lot of the bar staff. Entertainment quite varied.

I would not return to this hotel again because of the poor standard of customer relations and poor food.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Edentours

Margaret
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel staff were marvelous, the hotel was spotlessly clean.

The pool was cleaned everyday.

The rooms are comfortable.

The beach was only walking distance from the hotel, and the market town.

The entertainment was good, in particular the last night with the flamenco dancers was good.

The food was excellent, and the waiting staff was good.

Yes I would go back again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kingfisher

Recommended
Angie & John
12 years 1 month ago
This hotels location is great although unless you pay for the garage, parking may be difficult (as with all of Calella)

The hotel is geared towards "older people" but it is one of the better hotels in Calella. I would never take kids there as they would be bored stiff with balllroom dancing and a lot of Spanish use this hotel so the music is geared in that direction.

Luckily we were on a Rockin holiday so only used the hotel to sleep and eat. The walls are VERY thin but the rooms are lovely and the staff are lovely too. The restaurant manager is a bit pedantic and likes a quiet dining room so when England won the first match and our men came in a bit "merry" he was not very impressed! Food was nice but a bit reptative for me, although friends loved the food.

All in all good value and we will stay there again as the location is the best ever.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant Alpha rooms

Recommended
April
12 years 10 months ago
The food in this hotel is to everyones satisfactory it is amazing and tasty.

The location is very good it is a 2 minuet to the train station the beach and the shops.

The staff are very lovely and helpful. The bar staff are good seen as though there are two people on very busy days and they handle all the running around very well but could do with more bar staff there is one man that is very helpful he deals with your needs and if you do not like something he will take it away and have it done better.

The entertainment it not like it was the first time I went but it was good I really like the flamenco dancers they're are very talented and it is good when they get people up to dance there steps it is kinda hard but when you get into it, it is fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: kingfisher

Recommended
Barney & Susan
13 years 9 months ago
Excellent hotel and staff very friendly.

Try to get a room overlooking the pool and therefore with sea views.

Rooms very clean.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private

Recommended
John
13 years 11 months ago
food fantastic
very clean
located about a 100mters from train stn
hotel staff very freindly
enterainment every night
i would go back (like a shot)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: indepedant

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum