Image of Esplai Hotel

Esplai Hotel

17 of 22 hotels in Calella

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Ramón y Cajal, 16, 08370 Calella, Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
S Garner
9 years 8 months ago
I read all the reports on the Esplai before going and thought nothing could be that bad! Believe me it was!!!
It is nothing but a youth hostel for German Students and Football teams
Food Choice Non exsistant, old and staff very rude and unhelpfull
If you have a choice please dont go to the Esplai
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Holiday travel shop

Darren
10 years 10 months ago
If you are thinking about going here dont.When we arrived full of 17 to 18 year olds play there own music in reception,took 3 hours to get our rooms.Food was pork or pork or pork every night,except friday when they pushed the boat out.Bar staff were rude and unhappy,drinks watered down especialy vodka.entertainment was poor apart from Matthew he was fun.a/c in rooms would work then not.walls paper thin could here two teenages always arqueing.Only good point was poolside snackbar but that shut at 18.30pm so beware they state snacks till 23.00.I am not being fussy i have been to many cheap hotels which you get what you pay for this is not one of them will would not go back even if it was free
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris

Bennett
10 years 10 months ago
I enjoyed the mini disco especially a song that goes " its a no no no its a no no no" but dont know what its called/

If any of you know please let me know. Overall my holiday there was brilliant.

I would definately go again. Thanks
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ryanair

Recommended
Julie
10 years 11 months ago
We thought we would take a "family" holiday and thought the Esplai looked nice. Where do I start??.

When we arrived we noticed there was a lot (about 80) single guys and girls, all about 17 yrs old. The noise was very bad. There was absolutly no entertainemt apart from a kids disco for 15 mins on a night. The food was very repetitive and you had to que in a single line for about 20 mins for each drink from the bar, as there was only ever 1 waiter on. The noise in the hotel on a night was bad until about 5 in the morning....doors slamming, loud music and lots of roudy youngsters. I dont ever complain about holidays but I will say if you want a family holiday dont go here, unless you want youngsters insulting you all the time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jet2

Laura And Eva
10 years 11 months ago
hotel esplai is the best hotel in calella and we enjoyed it.
its got some ace pubs and bars around the corners, beach boys and molly malones are 2 of the best bars around there. were going back again next year because its buzzin and a proper laugh. the bar man behind the bar was cute and the staff are nice and polite.

love from laura and eva
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: ferris

Recommended
Jacqui
12 years 1 month ago
My husband and I were looking for a cheap break away for a week and are just back from Hotel Esplai.

The hotel is very clean and rooms are maintained on a daily basis.

We were All Inclusive and the food was quite poor (mealtimes were restricted), but the way we seen it, was that you get what you pay for and at the end of the day we got more than our monies worth with the drink we had. If you are not too fussy you should be able to find something to eat at all mealtimes. I always could, but my husband is fussier than me and on a few occasions would sit with a plate of chips and salad. There is a nice cafe accross the road from the hotel where we ate on a few occasions. This was cheap and between 2000 and 0000 hours they had happy hour where you got 2 drinks for the price of one.

One of the hotel receptionists (short blonde hair) was outstanding. There was an incident that happened when we were there and she was so helpful and understanding.
Many of the bar staff don't speak or understand English very well although most were very friendly and helpful. Although one of them was very rude to my husband when a kid threw a plastic ball at my husband (we didn't know the kid). It landed and smashed on the floor and he went mad at my husband. My husband tried to explain that it wasn't him and he didn't know the kid and he seemed to dislike us after that.

The entertainment was non existant until our final night when there was a karaoke. For some reason on our last night (24th may) everything seemed to pick up and more of an effort was taken around the hotel (tablecloths, food standards etc)I think it may be that the season is just about to kick in.

The worst thing about this hotel was the noise. We stayed at the back of this hotel and the house behind had about 4 or 5 dogs that barked throughout the night. The hotel behind was also very noisy and we had broken sleep from going to bed til around 4 or 5am.

For the money we spent on the holiday we can't complain. I would go back to this hotel, but only if we got a cheap deal again and were guaranteed a room away from the dogs!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: grasshopper.com

Recommended
M Doran
12 years 9 months ago
On arrival the hotel looked really nice however the staff were very unfriendly, unhelpful and bar staff in particular were very arrogant except for the two younger bar staff. The water was pouring from the air conditioning running through the lamp and we were told it would be fixed the next day but 3 phone calls and a visit to finally get moved to another room. the noise in the hotel was horrendous from midnight to 5am. The timing for meals and snacks was very restrictive. The entertainment was non existant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: globespan

Alison Pollock
12 years 10 months ago
The hotel was extremely clean there was a new change of towels each day and the floors brushed and mopped and beds made.

Food was not he best but it wasn't worth complaining about as there was a wide range of foods to choose from.

The location was great the beach as really near to the hotel and there was amusements, pubs, bars, clubs and also restaurants if you fancied a change from the hotel food.

Hotel staff were nice and a laugh especially two boys with black hair and a bald headed boy. They were always carrying on

Entertainment was good there was a mini disco, parrot shows and discos and we all had a real laugh watching and taking part.

Yes! I would definitely visit this hotel next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ryanair

Recommended
Lorraine Johnson
12 years 11 months ago
We stayed in the hotel Esplai Callela. This was our third year at this hotel.

Each year I have found the hotel very, very clean.

Staff friendly always willing to help.

Maybe the food is a little repetitive but there are many choices so you can eat something different every night.

My only complaint is the sunbeds I think they should have a rule that you can't put your towels on them unless your using them. We didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris

Recommended
Mark Firmin
13 years ago
The cleanliness of the hotel I really can not knock. The rooms are cleaned daily along with clean towels daily. The bar area and pool are very clean to.

Hotel food was an all time low would not recomend taking children who don't eat much. Friday seems to be the only good day where and much wider variety buffet is put on.

The location is ideal its a short walk away from a lovery beach which is not crowded at all, unlike the pool area which you have to be up by 8 to get a bed. The beach boys club/ bar is ideal for those a really fun night.

Hotel bar staff are really rude and do not smile at you at all. They just slam your drinks down and walk off which tends to drag everyone mood down. Many british familys we met said theis was the worse down full of the hotel

Hotel entertainment was almost non existant. A mini diso that lasted 30 min, and some pool side activities.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum