Image of Calella Palace H. Top Hotel

Calella Palace H. Top Hotel

15 of 22 hotels in Calella

3 out of 5 from 37 reviews
4 stars
Carrer de Maria Cardona, 9, 08370 Calella, Barcelona, Spain

37 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    19
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Floyd Carter
Things have changed here
7 years 3 months ago
Stayed here many years ago, things have now changed.

The hotel mostly now caters for Spanish and German people including 18-25 year olds.

Drinks fine, breakfast fine, but the rest - I do not wish to comment. No snack bar any more, only sandwich behind the bar but not very good. Staff very hard working, entertainment again very poor, nothing any more for any children.

Pool cleaned every day, rooms cleaned every day, fresh towels daily.

As stated before hotel is now more for people closer to home, entertainment ball room dancing, disco, a few records, nothing to be entertained by.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Would return but not in high season
7 years 7 months ago
We arrived 10pm on 20th December. The reception staff pleasant and efficient. The hotel looked well cared for.

Food was ok, typical buffet food, but very disappointed that there was no carvery on Xmas day, just help yourself to chicken legs. There was a bottle of red and white wine on the table, the waiter also came round with a bottle of Cava which he topped up when wanted. We had the wine Xmas eve and Xmas day.

All the restaurant staff worked very hard and smiled their way through Xmas. We didn't get involved in the entertainment as it was very loud, so you couldn't have a conversation.

We would use this hotel again if it was a late offer, but not in the high season. One real criticism, NO comfortable chairs, in fact there wasn't a lounge area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Green
8 years 6 months ago
We were allocated the Calella Palace as the hotel we were booked to go to was closing.This hotel is listed as a 4star but we would'nt give it 2 stars.Apart from the breakfasts which were ok, the lunches and dinner were absolute rubbish,pork was on offer every day and a cheap cut of pork at that.Noodle soup was watery and tasteless this was on 4 times in the week.Choice of vegetables was poor why do the Spanish think we only like chips?. Fish was on the menu but a lot of the time it was like fried herring.The entertainment was non existant apart from someone playing CD's.On the Saturday night a large group on Spanish came into the hotel,nothing with that but they took over,they seemed to have brought their own compere and a singer,they both ignored the other English speaking guests.We were pushed to one side.This hotel looks to be an old hotel that has been cheaply refurbished to make it look like a 4star. We would never come to this hotel again and will warn other people against it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: howards way travel

8 years 10 months ago
Just arrived home and I must say that the food has gone downhill since my last visit. Pork was on offer every day, noodle soup was on three times a week and was glad I only stayed for a week. Not much vegetables and deserts were the same. I think the hotel should be a 2 star at best. Entertainment rubbish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Ferris?Set Travel

8 years 11 months ago
exchanged to this hotel from pineda palace,overall this hotel far exceeded our expectations.plenty of sun lounger space,2 average size pools,small play park consisting of one slide and two rocking horses.large reception area consists of tables and chairs and five internet computers.two pool tables and its own gift shop.drinks from the bar were good,although at peak times you had to queue upto 5 mins to be served.staff ranging from cleaners to receptionists were very polite and hard-working.entertainment consisted of childrens disco to average cabaret acts.there were two parts to the restaurant,one mainly for the childern and family,and one for mainly adults.the restaurant staff could have done with more pace when it came to renewing the food.the one major downside to this hotel would have to be the lifts,there are only 3 lifts to cover 8 floors,and at busy times these were very slow, overall we had a good 3 days at this hotel and would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ON THE BEACH

Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
Arrived arond 20 to midnight after trying to find somewhere to park my hire car,to be met by a large group of German students outside hotel.
Was told by friendly Asian receptionist if we would like a snack there was one still available up untill midnight.
Managed to get a drink at the bar before the midnight free drink cut off.mentioned to the wife about an odour in the bar,like the smell you get from a dirty old fashioned mop.
Impression of hotel reception area, good, shame about seating,which is the same a used in bar areas.
Rooms very good two double beds nice bathroom but no bidet.Rooms cleaned an clean towels every day.Air conditioning only seemed to work at certain times(seperate timer in plant room I think). Yes the walls are thin.
Most of the staff are friendly esp the maids, but the bar staff were the most grumpy.
As there were at least a few hundred German students already there,plus the arrival of at least two coach loads of Israel students two days into holiday apart from the families already there ,meal times and getting a drink in the evening was a challenge.Waiting in a queue for 5 mins and seeing one or more of these students walk up, start chating to a friend and stay in the queue.
Entertainment was bad. There was supposed to be a kids disco for the 20 or so British children there.One night the entertainers started the games/dancing for the children,left the music playing and went outside chatting.
I would give this hotel a 3* raing, not a 4*
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Jonesy
9 years 6 months ago
Bad Points: Be aware that this hotel has extermely thin bedroom walls, you are able to hear everything your neighbours do or say!! Not very relaxing due to the noise levels. Do not expcet to get a lie in or early night unless you take ear guards! Not a 4 star hotel more like 3 star.

Good Poitns: Hotel extremely clean and rooms nice. Food varied choice but slightly repetativeon A/I.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Toner
9 years 7 months ago
how can i begin..when my wife&i first checked in with our 9 year old & infant we were impressed by the hotel..then when we proceeded to check in and ask for a room on the groung floor with our 9 week old in mind that we requested when the booking was made..we there then told no..sorry..as was a an abled bodied party arriving next day and dont want to split them up..we then proceeded to carry the pram up 5 flights of stairs(after a 15 min wait for lift) as 1 lift constantly broken and no one give it up for a baby..then upon arrival in the room(after midnite)we exclaimed "what"...no kettle to boil infants water for bottle etc"?..so back to recption to request kettle after been greeted by what seems like 2000 staggering intoxicated folk being told id love it here because thee beer is "free"..then when politely ask for kettle..i was told "sorry..hotel has no kettles!"..well "may i have some hot water for babys bottle por favour?".."no come back in the morning when bar is open..&was told "i only check people in & not supply kettles"..so parents of small children beware..in fact id strongly advise to avoid..if you dont want to wait for a lift and have to carry your pushchair up a number of flights of stairs&because its "free"beer all day by the late afternoon there will be alot of intoxicated beings falling over your pram/pushchair&those fit enough to stand will drool over the babies..honestly..ive never seen a hotel ever in over 20 years of travelling that i could not wait to leave..and so we did..8 days into a 2 week all inclusive..we complained as ive never done before with the noise in the corridors at nite being partied in&smoked in(even tho its a non smoking hotel)..asked to be moved.."no sorry..hotel full"we were told..the food was ok..but believe me the canteen is small for the hotel&at meal times we were crammed in and it became an"everyman for himself"..senario..dont get me wrong im no killjoy and enjoy a beer and abit of banter with holiday makers..but it was holiday from hell&none of the staff were interested and got so bad we had to cut our holiday short and spend
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave holidays

9 years 7 months ago
this hotel was great we loved it.the hotel was spotless.the staff were kind.the maids were kind.the entertainment was good.they had stuff on for the kids and for the adults.they had a kid club for the kids in the day.the bar men were very genorous.the location was fine. and i would visit this hotel again thanks x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris coach holidays

Recommended
Stevie And Carol
9 years 8 months ago
Went here for three nights for my 40th birthday with my family and friends.Very clean hotel and in a good location.

BEWARE OF PICKPOCKETS.

Bar staff rubbish unless you're a young female, thats when carlos cuellar lookalike rushes over to serve you! Food was not too bad,typical spanish lukewarm fish and pork.Walls are thin but luckily both my neighbours were quiet.I wouldn't visit this hotel in peak season as it would be too busy.On saturday night the hotel was overrun by spanish and spanish music all night which was a bit unfair. I would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: low cost beds

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum