Image of Medplaya Santa Monica Hotel

Medplaya Santa Monica Hotel

4 of 22 hotels in Calella

4 out of 5 from 78 reviews
3 stars
Avenida del Turisme, 72-78, 08370 Calella, Barcelona, Spain
Set in the Riera area of Calella, with Calella's beach is 250m away (reached via a subway under the coastal railway). Located 100m from shops, restaurants and bars. Hotel is on a busy main road.

78 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    20
  • Very Good
    45
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
NORA
Food was abit repetitive but would return
7 years 2 months ago
I spent ten days with my family at the Santa Monica Hotel.

Hotel reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Restaurant staff were also very friendly. I taught my two year old grandaughter a few spanish phrases and they were really pleased. They really made a fuss of all the children.

Food was good but a bit repetitive. Snacks were good also.

When we first arrived there was only one entertainment rep, Fernando, but two days into the holiday two more reps arrived, Sabina and Stephanie. They were absolutely wonderful with the children and really made our holiday.

We would definately return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stott
7 years 11 months ago
just got back must say one of best holidays for years if your after relaxing time for young children you wont go wrong here the food is great good variety entertainment really good only down side is typical brits who will find anything to moan at ie no english bacon no mash no etc etc etc to these people the best thing to do in the future is spend a bit more and go 5 star or stay at home go on the sunbed shops and eat what you want and let us geniune people enjoy our holiday in piece i bet you have all said since comeing home i wish i was back there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended
Price
8 years ago
The hotel on arrival was clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and able to help with our basic questions. This hotel is cheap and cheerful which was exactly what we wanted. The location is close to the beach and close to a nice town, with restaurants. we traveled to Barcelona by train from here, a 20 minute stroll along the beach to the station. Return train fare for an adult was 7 Euro's to Barcelona, which was a great experience,
Overall a good hotel, no frills and no complaints.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Tony Leggett
8 years 9 months ago
Our first time in an hotel as have usually gone self-catering in a villa, extended family, grand parents, parents and 2 infants. Hotel clean if a little basic, had to rent kettle to have a drink in the room, walls a little thin and the lifts, 2 of them, could be a bit of a nightmare with push-chairs. However, rooms were kept clean, towels changed daily. Meals could be a bit samey, full english for breakfast every day but there were other choices, evening meals were nothing special but overall, did manage to put on 6 pounds over the 2 weeks so couldn't have been that bad! Enjoyed time spent in and around the pool but make sure you get your towel out early if you want one of the central sun-loungers. Evening entertainment was ok if a little cheesey, but enjoyable. All in all, enjoyed our 2 weeks and would go again,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
CHRIS
8 years 10 months ago
THE HOTEL WAS VERY CLEAN, STAFF VERY FRIENDLY TOWELS CHANGED DAILY AND THE ROOMS CLEANED AND BEDS MADE EVERY DAY. BEACH 5 MINS FROM HOTEL SHOPS JUST DOWN THE ROAD, FOOD WAS EXCELLANT WITH LOADS OF CHOICE, THE POOL AREA WAS CLEAN AND THE SUNBEDS WERE LOCKED UP TIL 8 O CLOCK AM SO NO GETTING UP EXTRA EARLY TO CLAIM ONE. THE ENTERTAINMENT WAS ABIT CHEESY BUT GOOD 4 THE KIDS ENTERTAINMENT TEAM WORK HARD DAY AND NIGHT KEEPING EVERYONE OCCUPIED IF U WANTED 2 JOIN IN. ALL IN ALL GOOD VALUE 4 MONEY AS A 3 STAR HOTEL WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE THIS HOTEL.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
Mr Hunter & Family
8 years 11 months ago
We stayed on a Half Board basis for a week at the end of July.
Food : Excellent choice (dont know how others can complain)!! O.K it may be a little repetitive at times but what else do you want for breakfast (bacon,egg,beans,sausages,fried bread,fruit,cereal,rolls,toast,fruit juice,tea,coffee,cold meats,cheeses, the list goes on)
Evening meal had just as much choice in abundance, we managed to eat a different meal for the 7 nights.

Cleanliness: rooms cleaned daily, beds made, towels changed, we had a corner room which looked on to car park at side and the infamous empty pool next door (but i do not plan to sit and look out my hotel room all day, so do not see a problem, also had view of sea and hotel pool). General hotel area kept really clean.

Location: 5 mins from beach through the tunnel under railway and same walk along to shops, bars etc.

Hotel staff: very friendly and helpful with information.

Entertainment: Must confess that i did not stay in every night to watch but other peoples opinions of it said that it was fairly good and kept the kids entertained.

Just one complaint i have is that parking is very limited in resort, if you manage to get a space and you move the next day you will struggle to get it back. you can park at the beach in the blue zone free of charge MON-FRI but this is chargable at weekends.

We also taken the train from Calella station to Barcelona which only cost around 22euros return for four of us, very reasonable, visited nou camp and done the city tour, fairly expensive but worth it

Overall, this is a good family hotel and i would not hesitate to return if i was visiting Costa Brava area again.

Location:
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Individually

Recommended
Sherlock
9 years ago
This is a great budget hotel if there is such a thing with the price of the Euro at the moment. Not sure how Thompson/First Choice give this a 3 Sun rating compared to other 3 Sun Hotels we have stayed in.
The rooms where clean with fresh towels every day, beds were made every day, sheets where not changed for the week we were there though. There is no hair dryer in the room.
The room we had overlooked a disused hotel nextdoor, so our view was a stagnant green pool and the rooms at the back of the hotel overlooked the main road, so would reccommend asking for a pool view.
The food was good, plenty of choice, and fruit juice/tea/coffee included at breakfast, the resturuant didnt open for evening meal till 7pm though.
The bar was a combined indoor-outdoor bar, 2 sides to the same bar. The outdoor side was also the snack bar, you cannot order food from the inside bar, you have to walk round to the ouside part and get served by the same bar person, hmmm..Faulty Towers, there is no waiter service indoor or at the poolside.
The bar area had several support pillars blocking the view of the stage, and there was no outdoor stage but the entertainment was very good. this made up for what the hotel is lacking. There was not a great deal to do during the day, a few games but no music playing. Happy Hour but only 3 days a week, and the snack bar closes during happy hour.
The beach is quite close (5min walk) but you have to go through a short subway under the coastal railway to get to it. You cannot really notice the railway from the hotel. Its not a sandy beach, its more like very fine gravel but plenty of activities there, 2 sunbeds on the beach with a parasol will set up back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Dee Zoe And Emi
9 years 9 months ago
Hotel very clean,but corridors and landing could have been better kept. Food excellent my 7year old ate everything. hotels location was ok the only thing i hated was having to go under the subway to get to the beach. Staff where the best and a great big thanks to Maggie and Fernando hotel entertainers they did a super job with the entertainment,and nothing was too much trouble.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Skytours

Recommended
Wendy
10 years 8 months ago
the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.the thompson reps were miserbale and unhelpful and so were the restaurant staff.the bar staff were very unpredictable-the bar manager was ok.the entertainment staff were great,my kids loved christina and bruce!the lifts were very slow at meal times.the food was alright but something wasn't quite right because 5 of our party had a very bad sickness bug for the last few days!i would not recommended this hotel to anyone but the resort i would.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Jensen
10 years 8 months ago
we have just came back from he santa monica and have had a lovely time. the rooms were cleaned every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was lovely and had a carvery every night. my husband and i enjoyed the meals every night and there was always something for my daughter to eat even though she is a fussy eater. Bruce (benjamima as the kids liked to call him) was lovely and so was christina.the hotel is very close to the sea and town and there is lots to do. would go again x the reception staff were also very helpful especially the manager. all in all a lovely holiday xx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum