Image of Balmes Hotel

Balmes Hotel

19 of 22 hotels in Calella

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Carrer del Vint-i-cinc de Balmes, 123, 08370 Calella, Spain
The Hotel Balmes is ideal for a laid back holiday on the Costa Brava. Alternatively the nearby train station, where regular services run to Barcelona, gives you the opportunity to explore the culture of the picturesque resorts.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul + Cath
10 years 6 months ago
We wanted a quick break so booked last minute, the hotel is very clean, beds and towles changed daily, no problems with the staff they are very friendly, food ok but could be bettter, make a big fuss over the children, drinks are in big measures and a good price wine is ok cheapish but you only pay for what you get.
Pool is big and well cleaned no problems with sunbeds,
We didnt want to be right in the middle of things so this was great for us. Would go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked online

Recommended
Chapman
11 years 5 months ago
Booked a week last minute deal through Hays and having read the reviews I thought "can not be that bad hope I have'nt wasted my money", well the reviews were quite accurate.

The Hotel; although clean and tidy is showing its age, staff helpful and friendly enough. Full of school parties from Britain, Holland and Italy, got use to knocking on the door and the sound of running down the corridoors in the early hours, and also the older ones coming home from the night clubs!!! No dashing down on a morning to put your towels down which was very refreshing change, forget the entertainment they simply is'nt any unless you like pool aerobics or old fashioned outdoor disco.

Food; Small buffet service consisting of the usual salad stuff and choice of meats,(fish, beef or pork) and vegatables. We managed to find something different to eat every night and were happy with the quality, but be prepared for que jumping kids.

Location; in the older part of the resort some would call it rustic and full of character, me, a dump. About 10mins to the shingle beach and shopping centre with loads of shop but only one decent pub The flying Horse, mostly Tapas or cafe bars.

The Rooms; what you would expect small with three beds in the one room, small wardrobe, fair size bathroom, air conditioned, nice view from the small balcony(not!!) of the steet below and building work opposite(although near completion, so not much noise to be fair).The maids come in every day to clean and tidy and to change the towels.

Overall will not go again Hotel is a 2 star rating not a 3 as advertised.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hays

Firkin
12 years 7 months ago
Hotel facilities for children were very good there is a small pool outside a play area with slide and climbing frames ect., and most outside games, bowls, skittles, table tennis, basketball, hoop. Inside there was a ball pit and many toys and games to play with

The beach is close but an underpass is needed to get under the train lines

I feel that although the rooms were clean and newly painted they were a little shabby in the bathroom and kitchen areas. Also maids left patio windows open when the rooms were cleaned which we did not like
even though we were sold this holiday as a friendly hotel for families.

It seems that the German travel agencies use it for their equivilent of 18-30 no parents and much noise.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Shipp
12 years 7 months ago
If you go all inclusive, they act like you are getting it for free, bad service by certain bar staff member which was reported by a few holiday makers, which in turn spoils your holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sun holidays

Krissie
13 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful we stayed in a 1 bedroom self catering apartment.

The pool & pool area was lovely and cleaned every morning. The hotel did have a restaraunt,bar,pool bar and a pool restaraunt. The shops and bars were great and all very close by. The beach was good but the sea had a deep drop which was no good for young kids as the waves were strong.

The train which ran across the beach was fantastic and cheap, we all went into Barcelona for the day which took a good hour but the train was air con, and only cost 6 euros return, we also went into Lorret de Mar by train and that was 3 euros return.

We all enjoyed our weeks hol and would definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fiirst Choice

Recommended
Mel Green
13 years 5 months ago
Terrible.

When we arrived at the hotel it was a real disappointment. The rooms which was to sleep 4 of us was so small, hardly enough room to move around. The linen was dirty and untidy and as already stated in a previous post, bathroom door was see through!

The balcony was a joke...not even enough space for two people to sit out on. Even if there was you really wouldn't want to due to the poor view of the awful pool area which was plain and not enjoyable to relax around.

In all fairness, the reception was helpful but I suppose that was only when they are gaining very excessive commission off you to change your travellers cheques!!

Cleanliness....poor. Don't recall rooms being cleaned once throughout the week and had to go to the reception mid week to ask them to give a couple of fresh towels.

Location was not too bad, but although like previously said its near to a very busy road and drivers would not consider stopping if you happened to be in the middle of it!

The entertainment...non existent. Never saw any at the hotel in the time we was there. Ended up having to go to Lloret de Mar for a decent night out.

All in all I would never visit hotel Balmes again nor would I recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

13 years 5 months ago
Getting There

I flew to Barcelona and got the train to the resort takes 1.5 hours and cost us 8 euros as opposed to 80 euros in a taxi .
10 minute walk with the cases to hotel from Station or plentiful taxis.
Booked hotel through Alpharooms worked out very very cheap.

Hotel Room.

Rooms were clean, air conditioned, serviced regular, telly, dated bathroom.
Plenty big enough for three beds.

Food

Was adequate and always enough choice with 3-4 courses available. Would recommend having a meal out though to break it up.
Cheap wine service with meal.

Facilities

Pool was clean, big enough, childrens play area, plenty of sunbeds,

Location

Situated in the "quieter end" of town. However a very nice shopping road linked it to the modern end and was a nice walk of an evening stopping at the pavement cafes etc.

Resort

It is a nice old fashioned resort, not too many english people here. Not suitable for those wanting a rowdy holiday , but ideal for a family or couple etc.
I would go back.

One downside

The beach whilst clean is not very pleasant as it is very pebbly and pretty dangerous getting in and out therefore my child was not allowed in.In addition as the beach runs right along the coast so you have to go under the railway to access the beach. However we had a pram and it was no real problem.

Conclusion

Resort is good, hotel is good, beach is a letdown. Arrange the holiday yourself and fly to Barcelona

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Easyjet/Alpharooms

Sables
14 years 4 months ago
To get to the Hotel Balmes you have to use an underpass where you have to go down and up a steep ramp which is not wheelchair friendly or cross the busy main road.

We found the hotel staff not very helpful with our needs.

All the disabled access ramps either had plant pots on them or the doors were closed and table near them. The ramp up to the swimming pool area and the surrounding area were very slippery when wet.

S/C rooms were only cleaned once a week this included linen and towel change.

The balconies were very small and slopped forward,the beds were uncomfortable creaked when you moved, bathroom doors were frosted glass which weren't very private.

Main road was busy and building work at the back of the hotel woke us every morning 07.45 Mon-Sat.

Noise could be heard from other apartments, bright corridor lights on all the time.

I would not rate the hotel Balmes as a 3*
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum