Image of Santa Susanna Resort Hotel

Santa Susanna Resort Hotel

11 of 13 hotels in Santa Susanna

3 out of 5 from 40 reviews
Crta. Nacional II, KM. 673, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
I would not recommend this holiday to anyone
12 years 2 months ago
We paid £600 for all-inclusive for 10 nights, so I didn't expect too much and I was right, the hotel was 15 minutes from the beach, the food was disgusting most of the time, the beer was flat and the staff were unhelpful. the beds didn't get changed the whole time we were there.
I would not recommend this holiday to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Independently

Mrs Angela Wilson
12 years 3 months ago
Hi,i have just returned from a 10day all inclusive holiday with my husband and 4yrs daughter and could honestly have stayed longer.

The hotel was very clean although could have done with some refurbishing, the room had no air conditioning and was a bit small but for all the time spent in your room it was fine.

The food was ok you would always find something to eat you wouldn't go hunger and if you missed breakfast, lunch or dinner the snack bar by the pool was open with hotdogs,burgers,chips and toasties. My daughter didn't eat much at lunch or dinner but enjoyed the breakfast.

Both pool's were a bit cold but it didn't seem to bother the kids( just the big kids).

The hotel is situated on a busy road but you couldn't hear the traffic. Just a ten minute walk into the town which is really nice and family oriented.

The hotel staff we found were very pleasant and worked really hard to keep everyone happy, the entertainment staff don't get paid there on like a work's experience scheme and only get their board and food. Entertainment was poor but the kids always seemed happy!

The Nou camp is a must see, amazing stadium even though we support Chelsea!!

All in all very pleased with the hotel definetly value for money, would return to this hotel again no probs!

You have to remember ther is no pleasing some people and I feel you will be pleasantly suprised after reading some of the bad reviews. Enjoy your hols!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Beach Sun

Recommended
Jamie & Danny
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel is very clean and all staff were very friendly & helpful. They cleaned our rooms everyday.

The location is poor as you are on a dual carriage way and our room was facing carrefour supermarket which was a little anoying as they speak over the microphone every ten minutes.

I would recommend this hotel mainly for families, all the children seemed to enjoy themselves.

The only fault i had was with the travel company as they messed up on our transfers

I would visit this hotel again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Recommended
Vicki And Brandon
12 years 4 months ago
I won't waffle on and i'll cut to the chase.

We flew to Barcelona, we were met by taxi and told to wait for 2 other flights to land. We waited for almost 2 hours...we were then the last to be dropped off.
We arrived at the hotel at 11.45pm after checking in we were too late for food or drinks as everything had shut!!!!

The hotel looked Bavarian situated on a dual carriageway, a supermarket and car park to your right and construction work all around.

The food was unbearable. The meat had a 'gone off' taste and both off us came down with tummy trouble. There was no choice on the buffet. I would not class this as all inclusive as you are only allowed food at the times stipulated by the hotel.

A few holidaymakers and their kids were vile. They were allowed to run riot. I am glad I left my 2 behind while me and dad went for our relaxing break!!!! Most people we spoke to in the hotel were disgusted. I'm glad we only went for 3 days some were there for 14 days. I felt very sorry for everyone when we left and I was so glad when we did.

Despite this we both had a laugh between ourselves and made sure we were drunk enough to cope with the hell around us.

I don't expect the Ritz for what we paid however I do expect some standards as opposed to none.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic via teletext

12 years 4 months ago
We stayed all inclusive at the santa susanna club, on arrival we found it to be just off a busy main road we also found the rooms to be filthy and had to report to reception that our rooms were filthy and one of them was covered in excrement all over the toilet seat and bowl, obviously they had not been serviced properly since the last clients vacated, as all the surfaces such as shelving in wardrobes, tops of headboard of beds and floors were all covered in scum or dirt.

There was not real glass tumbler to be found anywhere within the hotel, every glass was thick plastic and most of them were filthy and usually scratched and lipstick stained, the food was inedible so we decided to eat out every day rather than use the restaurant facility, we visited a lot of other similar standard hotels in the area, all of which were far superior and much cleaner and they all served your drinks in real glasses.

I most certainly would not reccomend this hotel to anyone, even if it was offered for free.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fly Globespan

Karen Wild
12 years 5 months ago
We arrived at Girona airport at around 8.30 pm on wed 11th April and were told we would have to wait about half an hour to set off to the hotel as they were waiting for another flight to arrive. We said that was no problem and went and sat down for a coffee. TWO hours later we were still waiting-it was tipping with rain and we were all getting cold and hungry, had they told us we would have been waiting two hours we would have got something to eat at the airport!!

We finally set off and the rep on the coach tells us that we were not going to the Santa Suzanna resort hotel but was now going to a 4* hotel called Royal Sun. We asked why but she said she did't know.

We just went with the flow so when the coach dropped other people off at the Santa Suzanna hotel before our stop I think we were all pleasantly believed we weren't staying there.

Anyway next stop was The Royal Sun-it looked gorgeous. we went to the front desk to book in but they knew nothing about us (old guy at desk couldn't speak a word of English and just kept shaking his head and didn't even want to help-SO RUDE)managed to get an English speaking guy who then tried to help-we then called the Santa Suzanna hotel ourselves who told us that we were staying there and that they were waiting for us-GREAT WE HAD TO GO BACK-obviously the coach and the rep was long gone so the hotel ordered us a taxi(only helpful thing they did) and off we went.

Well what can I say without swearing -I will be as honest as I possibly can-

We have to walk with all our cases through a crowd of drunken louts who have obviously been drinking all day and night, as if that wasn't bad enough a lady asks my 16 year old daughter if we were just arriving or going and when my daughter answer her with 'arriving' she replied -God help you. And that said it all !

Our rooms were right under the bar and behind the kitchens. The walls were paper thin. By now this was 1.30 in the morning, we couldn't get anything to eat and to be honest I don't know how to explain how noisy it was because you'd have to be there to realise just how noisy it actually was.

All we could hear were people shouting, big wooden pew like chairs being dragged across the floor continuously, peoples feet walking above us and that went on until about two in the morning.

It was absolutely freezing and all we had on the beds was a sheet and a thin throw like cover.

The rooms were clean at least but one out of the 3 rooms we had actually had 3 single beds in and seeing as they were only small rooms it was a bit of a squash it there.

Then at 6am we were woken again by the noise of the scraping of chairs and talking-the cleaners were above and behind us.

We were all so hungry so decided to get food from the bar by the pool-not much choice-cheese and some kind of ham in a toastie or a not cooked burger(ham and not beef) in a roll. Oh and chips-all stuff which was not really suitable for breakfast!!

We decided we couldn't stay and rang Imperial Travel who we booked the holiday with-DO NOT BOOK THROUGH THESE PEOPLE-they are rude and basically didn't want to know. The manager was some jumped up young boy who just didn't want to know even though he admitted he wouldn't have put up with this himself!!

The only thing we could do was to try and change our flights to get home early so we went on line at the hotel(yes they do have Internet access) and we paid another
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: imperial travel

PJ
13 years ago
I went with 6 of my mates to celebrate my 40th birthday for a short break & we had a brilliant time - despite some of the reviews we'd seen!

The all-inclusive drinks were readily available with plenty of choice & ample supplies - and we made the most of them.

The hotel was basic but clean.

We found the food was varied & plentiful with something for everyone's taste - and if you didn't fancy the restaurant there were pizza and toasties (I had a birthday toastie with candles!!) too.

The hotel was located next to a main road, but not a problem. There was easy access to beach and other places further afield if you fancied it.

We could not fault the staff as they were hard-working & friendly.

The entertainment was good and you could enjoy it if you took it in the spirit intended. Or just complement the hotel provided entertainment with your own as we did!

If you want the Ritz then pay the Ritz prices, but if you're after a cheap, fun-filled break go for it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Recommended
Woolrych
13 years ago
My partner and I booked this all inclusive 5 day holiday only as a cheap break away so we did not expect to much!

We arrived late and had to pay for soft drinks!! We got to our room which was large enough for both of us, very basic but was bright, funny smell to it though. We had patio doors and a double window which none of them locked or closed properly. No air con, or fan in the room.

The maid service in my opinion was non-existent, all she done was pulled the top cover over the bed and changed the towels, she never changed the sheet once in the time we were there! The bin was not emptied once (we had to use a plastic bag in the end) and the floor was never mopped up once!

The food: Well what can I say, it was disgusting!! I can't understand these other people writing about how nice the food was! Our first meal there was breakfast, and if you like your food swimming in grease then this is the place for you. The sausages were raw inside (and I did pick up a few just incase they were not all like that) but they were. The milk for your cereal was warm if not going sour! The tea and coffee is diabolical. The evening meals from the first night had a funny smell about them, I did try to eat some of their dishes but the meat tasted off!! The salads were nice. After a couple of nights trying to eat something at the evening meals I realised they just recycle the dishes from the night before, and it does not smell or taste nice, so after each mealtime when we couldn't eat what they were offering (and there is not that much variation) we would go into the town and get something there!!

In one bar/restaurant in the town the manager told us that the Santa Susanna resort hotel had changed its name as it had been on Holidays from Hell and I can understand why.

The staff: The restaurant staff were horrible!! Very hostile, one in particular looked at one point to want to hit us because we left our food (which was supposed to be a meat dish, it tasted off). The bar staff most of the time were pleasant. The reception staff were ignorant and miserable!! Someone commented on this review site about the manager and his dirty old suit, well he still had that same dirty old suit on and he was a horrible, horrible arrogant man!!

We did not stay in the hotel on an evening to see the entertainment to comment but from the sound of it rattling round the hotel later on at night it was very dated and repetitive!!

The location of the hotel did not worry us as it was only a 5 min run on the fun train or the mini bus (free)so it was easy enough to get away from the hotel (which we did all of the time).

I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you do not have any taste buds left and you have a cast iron stomach for their so called alcohol drinks! and if you are not bothered about your room being cleaned or using the same sheet for a week! and if you do go take lots of extra cash to eat out as we did!!

One final thing to say: Don't Do It!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2 Can Travel

Mrs Smith
13 years 1 month ago
The room was large enough,although could have been cleaned better.

If you are disabled, forget it ! Everything is up or down stairs and there are not many lifts, the toilets are on a floor of there own the bar is upstairs the restaraunt is downstairs, and you cannot get to the pool without going downstairs.

The entertainment if you could get a seat inside was rubbish,there were far too many children left to thier own devises,playing in the lifts or making a nuisance of themselves, I think it is absolutely diabolical that there isnt a courtesy room available unless you pay 65 euros !

Also you wouldnt have to pay for fans or cots(68 euros a week)our holiday would have been a lot more bearable if there was air conditioning and we had clean sheets at least once!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hello holidays

Debbie
13 years 1 month ago
The hotel room was dirty and disgusting.
The bath was all cracked the toilet seat was chipped.
Make sure you take plenty of spray because you get bit rotten.

Never tasted anything like it. Rubbish variety.
We had to eat out every day.
I'm surprised we didn't come home with food poisoning.

The location was not bad because there was a bus that run every 10 Min's.

The staff was very grumpy and did not have a smile on there faces, but the manger was worse with his dirty filthy suit that he wore every day, what a very rude man.

The entertainment was rubbish it was karaoke every night and you were sitting in a dark depressing room.

Never ever would I go back there again it was a HOLIDAY FROM HELL........
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.