Image of Santa Susanna Resort Hotel

Santa Susanna Resort Hotel

11 of 13 hotels in Santa Susanna

3 out of 5 from 40 reviews
Crta. Nacional II, KM. 673, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pegg
13 years 1 month ago
I have read the reports on this hotel and to be honest people who say you get what you pay for and the kids are on holiday too, is garbage it doesn't matter how much you pay we all have certain standards and some parents do care if their children are rude naughty and foul mouthed whether they are on holiday or not.

I found that this hotel should certainly not have been a 3 star more like 1 or 2.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: family travel

Mike/doreen
13 years 2 months ago
Just got back what a good laugh 10% of the pepole moaning about one thing or another, the other 90% getting on with it and having a great time.

The food not the best but you will allways find something you like.

Location set back from resort front but you have a free bus or fun train running till 10 at night a walk on the front a must.

Hotel staff were great, look out for the bar manager real good guy with his team of boys from Bangldesh they will have you pooped up by midnight, get them going on cricket.

Entertainment ok karioke allways good for a laugh but were they put on the shows outside they could do with some lighting to make the best of artist like flemenco dancers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: u2 travel

Recommended
Susan Falconer
13 years 2 months ago
This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in!!!We arrived in the early afternoon and I could not hide my dismay at the prospect of staying in such a dark and dismal place for the following 7 nights.

There is no air con whatsoever in the hotel and its very dark. Its situated on a busy dual carriageway and the terrace for sitting with you're drink overlooks this road!!! No views at all. The bar area is uncomfortable with rows of wooden benches! Staff in the bar OK and reception staff very pleasant. The room we had the pleasure of staying in was awful. It was tiny and cramped and unbearable hot. It was cooler outside in the sun!! However, you can hire a fan and a fridge although the fridge wasn't cold. The bathroom tiles were a mess and dirty as was the bath. No storage for toiletries and the bath leaked. The toilet brush holder was absolutely disgusting and full of excrement! The rest of the hotel reasonable clean but I never saw the pool (which was dirty) being tested.

The restaurant was also unbearably hot and you could not stay very long and enjoy you're food which I can only describe as 'slops'. My 2 kids hardly ate a thing. It was so obvious that the food was recycled from previous meals! Some of the food was OK but only some!! Puddings disgusting and the same every day!

The hotel was over run with kids who were left to their own devices and regularly ran amok around the corridors. Entertainment terrible and crowded. We did not stay in the evenings and regularly went into the town. The free train was really good and the drivers very friendly and helpful although sometimes this service was unreliable and we were left waiting for over an hour for one.

The resort was lovely with a lovely beach and some really friendly people. I would visit the resort but never again will I return to this hotel as it was a disgrace and more resembled a hostel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletext holidays

Lazenby
13 years 2 months ago
The hotel must have been a German Hofbrau House of some sort in the past. It is ready for refurbishment but clean.

Our rooms were in the older part of the building they were spacious and were cleaned every day and dirty towels were replaced. There is NO AIR CONDITIONING and the heat in the bedrooms was unbearable,the dining room was even worse. You can hire a fan but there were none left so we went to the supermarket next door and bought one IT WAS CHEAPER than hiring one.

Food was OK plenty of choice and burgers/toasties at the pool bar. Only complaint was the Coffee wasn't very nice.

The Hotel is situated overlooking a dual carriageway but caused no problems. You can walk into the town in around 15 minutes but there is a bus/train that you can get outside the hotel.

Hotel staff were very pleasant and worked hard. Please leave them a tip at the end of the holiday they don't get paid much.

Entertainment was OK, the kids reps were good with the kids. It's a family hotel with lots of children, as you would expect.

The hotel is basic "Cheap and Cheerful" and you get what you pay for. If you want the Ritz this isn't the place for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway Travel

Recommended
Sara B
13 years 3 months ago
Just got back after a 5 night stay at hotel Santa Susana, never again!

In a nut shell, the food was vile, tea and coffee vile. Like Nhs food.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Rooms cleaned everyday.

Pool very murky and freezing cold. A cold north wind, so it appears very chiily.

We paid 35 euros to have a room on day of departure, room 007, shower not working, rusty bath and sink.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletex tholidays

Wood Family
13 years 3 months ago
Worst all inclusive hotel ever stayed in! Although food edible - just, was repetitive, lacked variety or any budget spent hence re-serving of previous dishes just slightly re-vamped. Also expect to pay for limited snacks after 9pm

Contrary to other reviews we had no real complaints about the cleanliness. Rooms and beds fully remade daily and clean towels replaced every day.

No adjacent bars whatsoever but only ten minute walk to centre of resort. Although large supermarket right next to hotel.All staff very pleasant and hard working.

Entertainment is very, very poor so be prepared to make your own.

In a nutshell worst all round all-inclusive ever!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hays travel

13 years 3 months ago
Booked for a cheap break and was pleasantly suprised!!

We were allocated room 116 on arrival nice English speaking receptionist, room was clean with shower,tv, and clean towels.

**Do be aware though there is some noise during the night when people are returning to their rooms as the corridor is not carpeted**
We did complain about some disturbance and the management sorted it out immeadiately they couldnt have been more helpful.

Food was a bit of a mismatched effort although it was edible if you didnt like the hot food there was always salad. The menu did change everyday and some of the food was a bit repetitive

**Have a taste of the small buns with cream in and icing on the top they were really nice**

The entertainment was a bit dire, although they do have a quiz on downstairs and a disco and play housey housey (bingo) and there is a movie on everynight its also quicker to get served downstairs.

Amstel Beer is on tap as is a cocktail special it was pink panther then changed to sex on the beach, although try a vodka kiwi and lemonade!!

The bar staff at this hotel work long hours and are always courtious and friendly, although the bar manager (small chubby man in a suit) speaks to them terribly, another thing plese leave a tip for the barstaff before you go!! it will be much appreciated.

All in all we were pleased with what we got for a cheap break some of the reviews on here are a bit misleading it really isnt that bad!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2 Can Travel

Recommended
Stuart
13 years 3 months ago
Good clean hotel, friendly staff, family orientated but quite a few groups of older people and all seemed to be having a good time.

We all enjoyed the food I don't know how they do it for the price.

Kids loved the pool you have to be down early to get a sun bed.

The entertainment nothing special but a nice atmosphere, sit out on the terrace have a drink watch the entertainment chat to the other guests and enjoy your self, we did.

Located on a busy-ish road and a bit away from sea but tourist train & minibus run regularly. Great value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hello Holidays

Recommended
13 years 5 months ago
Okay I am going to be brutally honest as I think we work hard all year for our holidays.
This hotel is okay. Nothing to write home about, a bit dark inside, small pool, good food, not much entertainment, keyboard player, parrot show, mini disco, same tape every night for half an hour and two guitarist. We noticed the entertaiment team suddenly appear more as the hotel got busier. We were invited to a welcome meeting on the Wednesday and had been there since the Friday before! The staff are friendly. The hotel is on a main road. You can get a free bus or train to the nearest town, takes about five minutes. The nearest town Santa Susana is suvenior shops and a beach across the road. Like I say its okay if you want a cheap all inclusive, but nothing to write home about. Another tip weather not too good in April.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: HELLO HOLIDAYS

Terri
13 years 5 months ago
The hotel was excellent considering how cheap it was to stay there all-inclusive,you certainly get more than what you pay for.

The staff work very, very long hours and always seem friendly and helpful even though on several occasions I witnessed some hotel residents speaking to them as if they were something on the bottom of their shoe.the majority of staff are asian and live at the hotel where they spend over 12 hours a day working with seemingly very few breaks.

I think they ultimately pay the price of British holidaymakers getting a cheap holiday deal. The hotel was cleaned every day and the bar and pool staff were always around to clear drinks and dining tables although I treat it like Mcdonalds and returned my own plates.

There was always lots of choice at breakfast,dinner and tea. I enjoyed the food especially the breakfast and if you miss a meal there is always plenty burgers, chips and hotdogs at the pool bar.

Be advised though the entertainment becomes repetative so take enough money to go on the town in Malgrat de Mar, which is only a ten minute walk from the hotel.

The weather was fine in April, the coolest temp was roughly 20c and hottest day was roughly 28c. I still came back with a sun tan as did the rest of my group.

I enjoyed the holiday and hotel and would certainly revisit. The resort is ideally situated so you can explore the Costa Brava and the train service is excellent and cheap only 3 euros into barcelona which is roughly
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidayroomsdirect.com

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.