Image of Santa Monica Playa Hotel

Santa Monica Playa Hotel

43 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Falset, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 5 months ago
This place is the worst excuse for a hotel I have ever heard of in my life.

The rooms were dirty and never cleaned properly, when we got there there was a big crack in the balcony which upon departure was made out to have been made by us, the pool was full of litter, leaves, plastic bags etc. On the second day we asked for some clean towels but were refused them being told we could only have them every 3 days.

The food was discusting, consisting of the same cold mush every night, and after paying money to go half board we ended up eating out every day and night.

The location was the best thing about the hotel, if a short walk to the clubs is what you are looking for in your stay.

Every member of staff I spoke to was rude including the manageress, we went and complained about the quality of food when the receptionist reluctently agreed using foul language, we would often come in late after a night on the town only to find the security guard asleep on the far couches and was tellin us to be quiet because are shoes were making noise.
We had all gotten holiday insurance but ended up having an accident by spilling make up on the bed cover which made a stain, due to this we have the managress banging on our door just before our departure demanding 60 Euros for the damage, she was very rude and very bad tempered.

We never watched the entertainment and jugeing by the rest of the hotel am glad we never.

I would never stay in this hotel again not even if it was a free holiday and I would certainly never reccommend this hotel to anybody.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Denise & Michael
11 years 2 months ago
First impressions were fantastic with the large impressive marble reception hall. The pool area is opposite the reception and was clean if a little small and at night doubled as the entertainment area.
Our room was clean but basic with a double and a single bed, but was in dire need of a fridge and a kettle!

We stayed on a half board basis and totally regret making that decision. It was like grounghog day!
The same foods day in day out,which was tasteless and unapealing.The microwave in the restaurant was very handy as the food was usually tepid or downright cold.
The kids menu was terrible and didn't vary much from chips, fish fingers or dry pasta with ketchup. Our 3 year old always had a hard time finding something to eat.


On the whole the staff were very happy to help, but one day we came back to our room to find that the maid had left the door unlocked, when we reported this to reception all we got was a " thank you for telling us" no offer of an apology.

We wouldn't recommend this hotel mainly for the food aspect and will not be using it again....

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My travel/Airtours

11 years 4 months ago
We booked this last minute to take the children on a holiday as prices rocket in the summer holidays (as i am sure all parents know!) Nothing for the kids to do, tiny pool area and tiny games area so luckily we had some friends staying at the Hotel Avendia just a short walk away where they had entertainment for the children. Hotel rooms were tiny, towels were changed everyday, not sure about the bedding though as the same mark was on one of the sheets all week!! Staff did not speak good english - i think to be honest it is mainly the spanish that holiday there. I found the spanish holidays makers very, very rude indeed. They just push there way into queues, never say excuse me or thankyou which by the end of the week I was getting rather annoyed with. I will not be returning to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours/my travel

11 years 7 months ago
This hotel would have been ok if we hadn't gone when the Spanish elderly are having their holiday (and 3,000 students descended on Salou for a university sports tournament, worthwhile checking if this is a yearly event). We were the only British in the hotel until about the middle of the week we went.

The food was typically Spanish, not good for my fussy eater.

The entertainment was Spanish.

We ended up spending all our money on eating out. However saved a bit by buying croissants etc at the local supermarket to feed the kids until lunchtime.

The pools where not clean, there were leaves and plastic bags in them from the minute we got there until the day before we left when they were cleaned. Perhaps they felt the residents they had wouldn't use them so didn't bother.

The location was good apart from the two bars/clubs right opposite that could be noisy until about 2 or 3 am.

Can't fault the rooms or the staff.

We would go to this hotel again but at a different time of year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway

Recommended
Whittle
12 years 3 months ago
Had open mind about this hotel as booked over the internet via tour operator as a quick holiday for me and the two children.

On arrival having read previous reports felt initially impressed with the cleanliness and the reception staff were most helpful and polite. Our room was clean and tidy although balcony view back onto side road looking at rear of other hotels in locality. It was extremely noises at night due to the over exuberance of holiday makers full of good cheer and not thought for other holiday makers..it was too Spanish for my liking everything geared to their taste and language.

Also had to complain to hotel regarding surly attitude of bar staff who one in particular spoilt the entire two weeks with his attitude towards my children who were 13 and 14 respectively and were completely ignored by them on two many occasions ..When children are on holiday I realise some can be a pain but giving them the freedom to purchase their drinks and etc on their is all part of the fun and most Spanish waiters fall over themselves to have a bit of fun with them...not in this place arrogant rude and surly..I never used the bar after my complaint the children felt uncomfortable.

The food was tasteless although usual variety supplied at breakfast and dinner but largely inedible.

The pool area and pool was too small for the size of the hotel. I felt I had wasted good money which could have been spent at a lot nicer hotel/resort will not be ever be going back. It's a kiss me quick lager swilling area at night don't bother with this place...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours/mytravel

P Page
12 years 3 months ago
Great Hotel, read some reviews regarding the pool being to small but it was fine for us.
We were a party of four adults with an 8 year old and a 2 year old and they both loved it.

Sun beds were locked until 8 am so no need to be up at 5 am to put towels out to secure a bed, pool was immaculate, cleaned morning and night, patio cleaned twice a day as well.

Hotel was very clean with friendly English speaking staff.

Overall the hotel is geared towards the English.

Restaurant was clean with a buffet style choice which the main courses were changed everyday. Good choice of food from fresh salad to fish/meat dishes plus a special cooking dish which tended to be a Roast (Beef/Ham etc..), plenty of sweet choices, Ice cream, cakes, sponges etc... Breakfast was the same, cereals, fruit, bacon, egg etc...

Entertainment is as you would expect, the entertainers did a show most nights with other booked entertainers on the odd night (magician/kareoke). The same entertainers did the children activities during the day and were brill. They also did events for the adults like shooting competitions.

Rooms are basic but clean and practical, bathroom was nice, clean, roomy and the shower was fine.
Air conditioning is brilliant, and is on as long as you want it with your own control in each room. We had to turn ours off on occasion as we got too cold!

Calella is a busy resort with plenty of shops and bars/restaurants.

The beach is a stone throw from the hotel but is very shingly, with a steep drop into the sea which then goes very deep in a short distance, not recommened for children.
Beds and parasols are available for a small fee.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as we had a great time in a friendly, clean hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Miss J Wilkins
12 years 5 months ago
We stayed in this hotel in June 2006, I would really recommend this hotel, Food was a bit too good, had too much weight to lose on my return home.

Hotel very clean, Staff very helpful, rooms spacious and spotless.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Stuart & Annemarie Hall
13 years 3 months ago
Having just come back from this hotel, I feel I just had to comment on the cleanliness and friendliness of this hotel.

The food was good, and the entertainment was also very good, but repeated every week.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TV Travelshop

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
This hotel is very close to shops, beach, bus stops, taxi rank and caf
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jumbo tours

Recommended
Parr
13 years 5 months ago
I booked my holiday over the internet so I was a bit apprehensive. Asked for a pool view, did'nt get one. was put on the back of the hotel on a very busy street. We clearly observed drug dealing and groups of young people hanging about on the street. Very noisy.

The pool was lovely and the hotel itself was very nice. But the food was horrible. Out of 11 days we ate breakfast twice and evening meal 3 times, and that was just eating for the sake of having something. So we ate out most days so the holiday cost us alot more. Chips, chips and more chips nothing else offered. Fish on offer every night.

Alright if you are a penguin. Was really disappointed. The entertainment was nothing to write home about either. Still enjoyed our holiday but won't be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jumbo tours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum