Image of Best San Diego Hotel

Best San Diego Hotel

49 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 31 reviews
3 stars
Carrer del Pened├Ęs, 23, 43840 Salou, Spain

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lindamcdowell
Family Hotel
4 years 7 months ago
As a Mum with two teenage girls, the hotel suited us all. It was situated five minutes walk from the main shopping and nightlife area, which kept the noise levels down. The Hotel was very family orientated with entertainment every night, but finishing at twelve which was good. The food was buffet style and of a high standard. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I would certainly return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Recommended
Rachael
8 years 6 months ago
Great Value for Money! Stayed at the hotel for my Hen weekend June 2009. The hotel is great value, clean and close to beach and bars. The food was great, lots of choice and full english every morning (which was greatly needed). Rooms are very basic but good. We had a quad room which was compact , it was a room with 4 single beds wedged in. However this was funny. Pool was clean and there were always plenty of sun loungers. No need to get up early. The room was cleaned every day. Hotel staff were friendly, the manager sent free champers and fruit to our room to start my hen weekend with a bang. Lovely touch. The hotel itself was great value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpha rooms and ryanair

Recommended
Clare
9 years 4 months ago
The hotel staff were very friendly although some could not understand english. The pool is very small for such a large hotel. The food is the same in the morning and most nights. The entertainment is not brilliant. My children were very bored most of the time. When we arrived at 11 in the morning we were told they dont allocate rooms out till after 12.30 which was very annoying when they said put your cases in the cupboard and come back later. I wolud not return to this hotel. If i had read the reviews before hand i would not have booked it. Also the pool bar was very expensive. They also dont have enough sun beds and people start queing early in the morning to put there towels on them and then they go out for the day. The hotel holiday makers were mostly spanish and french with a small proportion of english.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Emily
9 years 4 months ago
We arrived at the hotel quite late at night and we were all kindly directed to our rooms. First impression of staff was good but later changed dramatically. We could hear loud music until the early hours of the morning from the hotel's entertainment and from other hotels. Extremely annoying considering that we'd been travelling most of the day.

The next day, after a disturbing night's sleep, we had chance to properly check out the room and the rest of the hotel. The room was mostly clean. The beds were kind of uncomfortable but well organised and washed. Plug sockets in the room were broke and didn't look suitable to use. Plenty of space to put clothes and belongings. The bathroom was vry clean. Soap, shower caps, shower gel and shampoo were always on offer in the bathroom. Toilet roll was always put there too.

In reception, the seats are torn and damaged. Nothing like what is seen in brochures and pictures of the hotel. Old fashioned computer, with internet, are in the reception area but the fees to use the internet are quite expensive.

The public toilets in the hotel often smell of urine, don't have toilet roll available and have urine on the floor. Nothing like the toilets in the rooms. The bar area is clean with plenty of indoor and outdoor places to sit. The pool and jacuzzi are also clean but there is rarely staff around the pool making sure that children aren't going in the jacuzzi and causing trouble in the pool (apparently, the hotel was supposed to have strict rules against this). The pool is quite small, though.

Food is open in the morning and evening, same time everyday. A lot of food on offer for both adults and children, although, the menu for children is predictable. I wouldn't recommend eating the meat from the hotel's restaurant as it looked very undercooked most of the time. Fruit and puddings were always nice, though. I had a good first impression of the cleanliness of the restaurant until one day in the second week where there were ants on and under over half of the tables there. Yes, ants were around all the food. Which brings me on to the staff.

I went straight to the staff at reception and told them. They looked at me as though I was lying and nothing was done about it. Most of the staff speak little English, with some speaking none at all. Bar staff would always be really rude and snappy towards British people with accents they couldn't understand, to the point where they wouldn't serve them at all.

The entertainment was often inappropriate and lasted until the early hours of the morning. For example, they put on a disco for the children in the hotel. After that, without any warning at all, they started playing a game for the adults with a strong sex theme which included demonstrating sexual possitions. And the children saw all this. Then after the game ended, the disco started again. I was disgusted. This was on at least once a week. The only decent night of entertainment was a show with parrotts who were trained to do tricks with colours and bike and such. Then you could have a picture with the parrotts and get a copy.

Although the hotel was kind of disappointing, the location of the hotel and the things to do around it were amazing. Very close to a small beach and only a small walk away from a bigger beach. Near lots of bars, restaurants and shops. I recommend The Victoria, over the road, to any British people staying at the hotel. And the Red Lion, a British pub, amongst the shops and restaurants. Uncle Sam's American Diner is also a good restaurant to visit, but it is expensive. You'd get a lot for your money, though. Many Spanish people handing out leaflets for trips to Barcelona and other places. These are great to go on and there's a lot to offer so there's something for people with different tastes. Port Aventura theme park and water park are a 15 minute bus drive away. Both the trips and tickets for Port Aventura are expensive but they're worth your money. If you go to the theme park, it's best to get a 3day ticket because there's a lot to see (a mistake we made by only getting a 1 day ticket). Be sure to visit The House Of Illusions if you like magic and good entertainment.

Overall, I would rate the holiday 8/10. But that is purely based on the fact that the variety of things to do outside the hotel made up for the rude staff and bad food in the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Pick a different hotel in the same location. The location was amazing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Not sure. I didn't book the holiday.

Michelle
10 years ago
having read mixed messages about this hotel and taking it was dec the hotel was full of spanish o.a.p.s not a problem but entertainment was poor nothing said in english and they played bingo in spanish even asked them to say no in english but said no then no music only spanish dancing staff ace only there for 4 days and had to get reception to open our door 6 times as card would not open our door rooms could do with a lick of paint radiators rusty lots more wrong to friends room shut wardrobe door and plaster fell off walls. breackfasts ok tea time was same every night but staff were very nice . pool was very worn childrens pool dirty never used pool once location ok but on hill not far to beach 10 min walk and shops ok if you staying for couple of days for price
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Dodds
10 years 2 months ago
Arrived at the San Diego Hotel late evening after being transferred from the Hotel we originally booked (Marinada) due to overbooking. The Hotel is in a good location, near shops, bars and not too far from beach.

The rooms were adequatly sized and clean but we were allocated the 5th Floor overlooking the bin area so that was not pleasant and with young children, pushchairs etc waiting for the lifts was time consuming.

However the main problem with this hotel is the food, we travel to spain at least 2 a year and have done for the last 15 years now and this is the first time we have had to eat out when we have been Half Board. It may have been worse due to it being the end of Season October, but the food was bearly warm and everything had a detergent taste (rice, potatoes, salad everything). I usually love the food abroad trying little bits of everything but after giving it 2 days we had to eat out the rest of the week. The time slot given to the British guests was also very poor 08.00-08.30 for breakfast and 06.45-07.30 for Evening Meal.
We asked reception to change this for a later sitting but were told that we had to eat according to our nationality.
I must admit in October this Hotel was geared up for the Spanish Mundo Senior Group (old age Pensioners the spanish government send on holiday for free). So the entertainment etc was all geared to them nothing at all for the British.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Steven Brady
11 years 3 months ago
I have just spent a week at San Diego and I would recommend it. Good location 5min walk away from main strip so you get piece and quiet at night.

Hotel was very clean, rooms cleaned every day. If you like your food this is the hotel for you 3 star hotel 5 star food I ate like a king for a week good choice different dishes every night.

Breakfast was good basically the same every day but still good qaulity food freshly cooked pancakes were to good to say no to.

Rooms were small but done the job only thing that would of made hotel better would be if they had a fridge in room for beer, wine, juice, water etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Recommended
George
11 years 3 months ago
The San Diego is one of the best hotels I have been to.

The girl cleaners were very pleasant and keep the hotel spotless. The big chef was very good once you got to know him.

The entertainers were good although amateurs.

Our room was spotless and the Ladies got a rose every week at dinner.

The pool was good the location was excellent, recommend it to anybody will go back anytime.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: fleetway travel

Recommended
Ellis
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel was clean, apart from the blood from the fight outside my door in the early hours of one morning! it was there for 3 days!

The food was awful, repetitive, under cooked, salty and unimaginative , th ekids food was predictable, the usual pink chicken burgers and oven chips...yummy!they even burned baked beans every day!The curry had no spice and the only thing harder than the rolls was the butter, get the idea!

A central location, a bit noisy day and night, we had an outside facing room overlooking the bins of the hotel opposite, lovely!

The bar staff by the pool however were excellent, very friendly, good with the kids.The entertainment was the same evry night, good for little ones but boring for adults, the good thing was the 2 for 1 on drinks between 8 and 1000 pm. the victoria over the road was good entertainment though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Ashleigh
11 years 6 months ago
I went to Salou for my birthday with my family and friends it was nice of the chief to cook my birthday cake.

The hotel food wasnt edible it was very cold and wasnt cooked.

The bar staff were horrible they would snatch the money out of your hand and not smile. A lady who was sitting by me ordered a pizza and sent it back 4 times because it was frozen inside.

The location was good because we was in the centre and there was lots of people and pubs there the entertainment in the hotel was good for the kids but there was a bar down the raod called the Cavern and it is really good and there is a English pub over the road to the hotel.

The hotel was very clean because it would get cleand every day. Portaventura was really good but I would not go back 2 the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices