Image of Medplaya Calypso Hotel

Medplaya Calypso Hotel

8 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 78 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Pompeu Fabra, 43, 43840 Salou, Spain
The Calypso is set slightly away from the busy tourist area, yet those essential shops, restaurants, bars and discos can all be found within 100m.

78 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    33
  • Very Good
    27
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve W
hotel calypso. 99% good. one problem.
3 years 4 months ago
Good food. Excellent entertainment every night. Not far from the town, and the beaches.
My ONLY negative point is that there is no proper control over the smoking areas. If there's an ashtray available you can take it to any area you wish. This means that you can NOT sit ANYWHERE without being constantly choked with tobacco smoke.
My view is that the smoking area should be restricted to the tables at the far side of the entertainment area, away from the building, and the bar, and certainly NOT allowed in the al fresco dining area!!.
Even sat on your balcony you could not escape the constant haze.
This was not pleasant for me, or my partner.
AND I'M A SMOKER!

I found the staff very helpful, and friendly, though one of the barmen did pretend to be grumpy, which we thought very funny, and always had a laugh with him.
Steve.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lowcost

Hotel tip: Pool view rooms are good, if you want to watch the entertainment from your room. The entertainment is over by 11pm so no problem with noise, unless you go to bed early. Calypso 1 is the block with the restaurant, bars, etc. so I thought it the best choice

Recommended
Margaret Marshall
Family Hotel
5 years 6 months ago
Stayed for 2 weeks advertised as a 3 star at that is what it is.
Rooms were clean and towels changed daily but do not think sheets were cleaned in the 2 weeks we were there.

Food was good and had no complaints.

Entertainment was also very good and I liked that it started at 10.30pm as I went out at night for a wee walk so times were fine.

Pool area. 12 days were good but as others have said not big enough for the amount of guests. Plenty of sun beds up to 10.30am but a lack of places to put them. 2 days before we left the hotel decided to lock up the sun beds until 10am as some Spanish holiday makers complained about not getting a bed but they never came to the pool until after lunch time. The hotel assistant manager was not a very nice person when I asked her why she said it was to clean the pool area but that did not happen, all everyone did was put chairs where they wanted their beds so she was going to lock up the chairs as well it was like living in a concentration camp so be aware if you have children who get up early you will not get a bed or in the pool until 10am.

Would I return to this hotel NO not unless they changes there opening times for the pool but you can still swim at 8pm in the evening if you want as the opening times are 10am - 8pm I suggested 9.00am until 7pm as no one was in the pool at 8pm but was told that is the times if not happy tough, it was a good job I was coming home but felt sorry for young families trying to keep kids away from the pool until 10am.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Proud To Be Welsh
would not recommend this hotel
5 years 6 months ago
On Arrival at the hotel could not have a room for 2.5 hours, but other people arriving after us had rooms (very Strange) Thomson Rep was very rude did not want to know about any problems.

Food is cold and basically all the food was cold and not cooked properly. Hotel staff very rude too. Rooms basic and not very clean. There was a scrum for the sun beds (locked up suggest take pliers with you to unlock sunbeds if you want to get them down)

There seemed to be no comprehension of Basic Health and Safety, also in the morning people got quite nasty, this is all that you what for your holiday, not!
Cleanliness:
Location:
Entertainment:
Excellent complex and will return
6 years 5 months ago
Stayed in Calypso 2 which on other sites people have said was dirty, we found nothing at all wrong. The maids in every day, clean towels every day, bedding changed once a week, rooms big enough for two adults and my son who is nearly 6ft tall and is a rugby player so not tiny.

The meal times were excellent breakfast from 8.00 until 11.00, lots to choose from fried, cereals, fruit, and European style. Lunch was from 1.00 till 3.00, again plenty to choose from and dinner was from 8.00 till 10.00, again nothing to complain about and a good choice of food.

Drinks all day and in fact you could eat all day from 8.00 until 11.30 as plenty of snacks etc.

Staff friendly but kept busy all day.

Entertainment during day and night time, excellent they did shows such as Grease, Mamma Mia and We Will Rock You.

Will book again for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Robert
So very disappointed
7 years 3 months ago
After reading some of the comments about this hotel I was a little concerned but took the view that one mans opinion can vary vastly from another’s so decided to keep an open mind. The fact I am writing this review only 90minutes after getting off the plane may indicate my disappointment of the holiday I have just experienced.

The hotel itself was okay, not a palace but clean, the staff on the other hand I found to be on the miserable side so unlike other hotels I have visited in the same group in Benidorm.

The food I can only describe as being atrocious which makes me wonder how some reviewers can give it any score at all. Mind you if you like tripe and pig’s cheek and countless hot dogs and hamburgers then this may just be your idea of paradise.
I disagreed with having to stand in line as an all exclusive guest hoping that some passing waiter would acknowledge your existence as he passed you to serve Spanish guests who really do get priority at this hotel.
Whilst the kids on holiday seemed to like the constant drinks on hand, my two grandchildren soon sickened of the kids menu which was boring and repetitive.

As for the entertainment well I can only comment that I was pleased to get out of the hotel at night to seek some. An example - on the night of the 30th a kids Halloween night was advertised, we actually got Spanish dancers to entertain the Spanish guests. One English guest was so incensed at the food on offer he took of his all-inclusive armband and in no uncertain terms offered it back to the manager coupled with a few choice words.

In conclusion I suppose you only get what you pay for but surely at £998 for two people for a week we should get more than that which was offered.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mark
Cheap but not worth it
7 years 5 months ago
Just arrived back from 2 weeks at the hotel calypso. Like everyone we read the reviews, and being a family who travel a lot, we know what to look for and everything seemed fine.

Before the negatives, its important to say the hotel staff are all so helpful and friendly. NOW for the hotel, oh what a nightmare, the food is terrible, barely warm, no choice, everyone was unhappy, and my family plus many others, had upset stomachs.

The hotel pool was lovely and warm week 1 and freezing week 2. Now for the worst, the rooms, the hotel is made up of 2 wings, calypso 1 and 2. 1 is the best and what we stayed in, 2 is much older and has graffiti on the lifts and carpets dirty. Our wing was better but only go here if you don't like sleep. The walls are like cardboard, so each night we got to sleep at 3am after banging and shouting stopped in rooms around (you can hear every word) and then woken at 06:30 when the baby in room next door woke each day. In 10 years of dozens of holidays abroad, this is the worst i have ever stayed in, its cheap but not worth it
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
MW
What a joke!
7 years 5 months ago
If you like Brits abroad, people who like burgers and chips with every meal, and 10 portions of everything whether they want it or not, you will love it here.

The pool is a joke, not enough room to get on or off your sunbeds, and the water is manky and greasy after about noon. You have to fight for sunbeds every morning.

Queuing up to receive max of 2 drinks in plastic glasses, and missing out and having to wait if someone wants to pay cash (not sure how that works when I have already paid up front for all inclusive!)

I’m not a snob but this hotel made me feel like one - and would defiantly not stay here again - holiday from hell, head for the beach during the day and go down town at night, in fact skip Salou altogether. Port Aventura worth the 3 day pass though. Despite this we had a great laugh and made the most of it, but truth in the saying you get what you pay for - be warned!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Diane
Great value for money.
7 years 5 months ago
The hotel was lovely and clean, rooms and towels cleaned everyday and beds changed weekly, the staff were friendly and worked very hard all day and night.

The food was lovely loads of choice, my daughter tried a lot of the food. The location is excellent bout 10 minutes from the shops and on the outskirts before cap salou,

The bus to the park is just outside and a train also picks up outside hotel. The entertainment team worked very hard and the shows were excellent. Great value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kelly
7 years 6 months ago
The Calypso hotel is fab!!! you can upgrade to AI when you get there if u prefer.

Hotel food is plentiful and has lots of choice fish meats salads rices pasta etc ....

Hotel is close enough to the main strip but yet not on top of the hustle n bustle

The hotel staff are amazing esp samba the hotel bar man who actually saved my partners life how could we ever forget you.

The animation team in the evening were fantastic. when we got there i read the board n seen shoews like greece, dirty dancing etc just like the usual i thought. i was amazed how hard and well these shows were. The humour entertainment and enjoyment we had was fantastic we spen 6/7 nights at the hotel as it was so good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
Our opinions on this hotel are as below;
Good points;
The Hotels Entertainment staff work hard and are very good.
The hotel is kept very clean.
The 2 for 1 drinks from 8-9pm are great.
Bad Points;
The shows are on too late - 10.30 start.
The food is not varied enough and luke warm.
The pools are too small for the number of guests.

There are lots of shops nearby and the beach is about 20 mins walk. There is a noddy train that will take you round Salou for 2.50 each, so you can take in the views. We would not go again, but we dont visit the same hotel twice anyway.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices