Image of Marinada Hotel

Marinada Hotel

40 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars
Carrer del Fra Juníper Serra, 4, 43840 Salou, Tarragona, Spain

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the marinada apartments,read a few reviews before we went was quite unsure about going, but when we arrived was plesently suprised,good location,nice and clean and friendly staff would def go again, only down side was the pool too small for amount of people staying there
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
Stayed in Hotel Marinada in Salou for 7 nights arriving on the 26th of August 2008. First impression of hotel was good and only got better throughout our stay. The room was ideal for us, not massive but plenty of hanging space for clothes and very clean. Towels changed every day if we had wished. Food was great and a nice selection to choose from I dont think menu was repeated the 7 nights we ate there. Ideal location near to bars and 10 minutes to a nice small beach probally 15 to main Salou beach. Staff seemed friendly although we did not have much dealings with them only for drinks at tea time and they were always very polite. The entertainment was very Spanish orientated but the hotel did seem to be mainly spanish guests. We would give the Marinada Hotel 8 out of 10 and would have been 10 out of 10 if there had been more entertainment for English speaking guests. If we return to Salou we will stay in the Marinada Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelrepublic

Recommended
JJ
9 years 5 months ago
Apartments are in a nice quiet part of salou - short walking distance to the main street - room was clean and tidy but very small - there was 5 of us 3 adults and 2 children (cot included) and we had to share one room with very little space - never really saw many staff about - entertainment ok if your into older music - not really suitable for families - although over in the hotel the entertainment was lot better - thats were we did go a few nights as they had children disco and entertainment - dont think i would come again to this hotel as we would need a larger room but its clean thats all that really matters
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Falcon

Recommended
Wilson
9 years 6 months ago
If you like a clean hotel, fresh food, friendly service and a great location for families then this is the hotel for you.

We were changed to this hotel 24 hours prior to departure and after reading some poor reviews we were slightly concerned...but I'm pleased to say we were very happy with the change of hotel.

It's a good looking hotel located on a quiet street just off from the main drag in Salou, takes 5 mins walk into the heart of Salou (fountains) and 10 mins to the beach at "toddler and pram" speed! We used the small cove beach at the top of Vendell Street, it's quiet and safe.

We found the location great as within minutes you could be in lively bars and when you wanted a good nights sleep then the hotel was in an area that was quiet after midnight. Yes there is karaoke...but this is Salou after all...everything in and around the hotel shuts down at midnight, so if it's not your thing you dont have to listen to it for long. I shouldnt think young couples and single parties would like the hotel entertainment but there's club and pubs just around the corner. The entertainment is family based, kids disco followed by an act every night.

The pool area is lovely, lots of vegitation and trees...and yes the trees do provide SOME shade, but is that so bad?!!! Would rather look at trees then a brick wall. The pool has a great attentive lifeguard and two areas for children. There's also mini golf, giant chess board and a park for the kids. The rooms were a good size, cleaned daily by cheerful staff and the bathroom had a great bonus; a powerful hairdryer (important for us ladies!)

The food was a pleasant suprise, this being our 3rd stay in Salou (last time in a 4star hotel) the food is always a low point and we usually end up eating out - but this time we ate at the hotel every day. If you like fresh fruit and veg, then you will enjoy meal times, you get the sort of stuff we pay a fortune for in UK supermarkets (asparagus, stuffed aubugines etc). There is of course chips, chicken, burgers etc but there was always a special on, ie lasange, cannelloni, pizza, paella, seafood - all excellent quality.

Most importantly the staff were very helpful and very friendly, something you dont always get in hotels in Salou. There was a security guard 24 hours and safety deposit boxes. I cant talk for the apartments across the road...but we felt very secure in the hotel.

We would recommend this hotel, predominatley to families and older couples but also younger people as its nearby to the bar/club scene. We liked the fact that it was a very mixed hotel, mostly British, Irish and Dutch but French and Spanish groups too.

Try Champions Bar around the corner if you have kids as they entertain them for you whilst you enjoy a drink in the warm evening air. Warning the sangria is very strong stuff!

Happy holidays x

P.S Would have given it 10/10 had it been that wee bit closer the the beach...just being picky!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Andrea Ward
9 years 6 months ago
This, in our opinion is one of the best hotels in Salou to stay at. It is absolutely spotless. The rooms are cleaned every day, with fresh towels. The bedding is changed every 4 days. The food is excellent, loads of choice for everyone, even the most faddy people. Fresh vegetables every day, which is quite rare in most Spanish hotels, with at least 3 or 4 different vegetables each meal.

The breakfasts are varied as well, both English and continental foods available. Gorgeous fried eggs etc.

Every time you go back to the buffet for more food, there was always two or three different dishes which had been brought out. Not good for the diet conscious!

Hotel staff extremely polite and very helpful. Any problems sorted out within a matter of minutes. Location of the hotel is excellent, near the bars etc, but not the noise.

Lovely pool area, plenty of sunbeds, none of the usual towels put out at ridiculously early hours as with most hotels.

I would not recommend this hotel for very young children as there is no kids club, but lots for older children to do.

The gym, sauna, indoor pool and jacuzzi is free, which in some hotels there is an extra charge for these facilities. All in all would recommend this hotel highly. This is our second visit to the hotel and would certainly return again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Amanda John
10 years 4 months ago
When we booked the holiday we were unaware that the apartments were seperate from the hotel. We arrived in the early hours of the morning. We had to collect our keys from the hotel reception and then we were left to find our room in the apartment building. The room was extremely small and smelled of cigarette - not very pleasant! The maids also woke you up early to clean the rooms and paid no attention to the 'do not disturb' signs on the door! The hotel was in walking distance to the bars and beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Amanda
10 years 4 months ago
What we were told was that it was basic - well they weren't wrong! But they didn't tell us that basic also meant leaving 75 euros deposit for breakages and 18 euros for a safety deposit box... so be warned, your tour operator may not tell you this. We were fortunate that this didn't hinder our budget, although it could have!

The rooms were small annd unfortunately the beds were very close to the unkempt toilets, which made the room smell like drains all night... lovely!

We had a nice veranda though, where we could catch the variety performances going on at the neighbouring hotel, as opposed to the seven nights of full karaoke we recieved at our own bar.

On a much nicer note, the apartments were pretty close to the nightlife of Salou, meaning we didn't have to walk too far after a heavy night out!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended
Bruce
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Marinada Hotel in July 2007 and found it a very welcoming and friendly place to stay. The food was excellent and plentiful, all staff were very friendly and willing to help and the room was cleaned every day. We have little or no complaints worth mentioning and as a family we would certainly return and we would recommend this hotel to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
John
10 years 6 months ago
We as a party of ten stayed for 7 nights the hotel is spotless and staff very helpful, the road the hotel is in is a rabbit run for the young spanish coming from disco and clubs at all hours of the night and the noise from them is disturbing.

The apartments belonging to the hotel are right opposite and if you stay there beware as four apartments were broken into while we were there.

A couple of girls from Liverpool had all there money stolen on first day and although no sign of a forced entry the hotel, tour operator, or police would not help them, we ended up having a collection for them so make sure you get a safe deposit box if you go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Sue
11 years 2 months ago
We arrived to what we had been told was a 1 bed apartment when in fact it was a studio apartment that was supposed to sleep 4 (yes it did but left you no room at all). The rooms were filthy and even had dried blood on the walls. We were put on the ground floor adjacent to the bar and karaoke (great with 4 young children). Our friends room had a filthy cot and even dirtier room. We complained to the reception and asked if they had any rooms within the hotel to be told they were closing on the 28th October for end of season and the barman would be around the apartments until we checked out on the 30th. We complained to the rep who eventually move us to another hotel at a cost of 160 euros.

The staff couldn't have cared less they were on their last week of work for the season.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices