Image of Cala Font Hotel

Cala Font Hotel

32 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 44 reviews
3 stars
Calle de les Dunes, 2, 43840 Salou, Spain

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    25
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sean Casson
8 years 7 months ago
The rooms in the Cala Font are what you would expect of a 3 star hotel. We found it to be a bit of a squeeze but in fairness there were 4 of us with 4 cases, lilo ,inflatable rings, ect ect.
I think all rooms are no smoking,but as smoking is something of an Olympic sport in Spain this led to people smoking on balcony's.(so much so that it was unpleasant to sit on your own balcony).
The beds could at best be described as very firm, mine was harder than Mr T!
The maid service in our room was exceptional, and after reading other reviews I think this is the case throughout the hotel.
The food was plentiful and reasonably varied, my only moan would be that it was not always hot.(there are microwaves dotted around the restaurant).
Dogs are allowed in the hotel, and as quite a large proportion of the guests were Spanish they brought there pets. This was a little strange at first but they were never a problem.(no they don`t go in the pool area or the dinning hall).
If you are on a budget and want a clean, quite hotel and don`t mind a bit of a walk (up hill) then this is a very good hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Fenlon
8 years 10 months ago
A little apprehensive after reading previous reviews. I visited the hotel with my daughter (16) and her friend (15). I emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before we arrived requesting a sea view and were very happy with our room allocation the view was perfect. The room was large considering we had 3 beds in it, the bathroom etc was more than adequate and very clean. The walls of the rooms are very thin, unfortunately we had a heavy snorer next door!

The food was varied, plentiful and hot, I don't know what people are complaining about you are in Spain after all, although if you are vegetarian you might get a little fed up with the salads. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and there are many little coves along the beach to visit if you want to find a quieter place, the sea is great and very clean. Hotel entertainment quite poor and didn't start until 10.00pm with a kids mini disco, main entertainment started at 11.00pm, not worth waiting for. Cap Salou is quiet with a handful of bars and restaurants. Mikeys and the Crows Nest both had a good atmosphere and there is a small fun fair for younger children in the resort center. It's easy to get around by bus into most of the resorts. We visited Portaventura, paid for 1 day and got an extra day free from the Thomas Cook rep. You do have to queue rather a long time for the bigger rides, probably not suitable for children under 10 as there are not many rides they can go on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
C Fairhurst
8 years 11 months ago
we have stayed at the cala font four times over the past six years without any problems and always reccomended the hotel to our friends and family for its clenliness and a good standard of food . location is great but our last visit in may 09 was a very unfortunate stay from our lasts visits the food on display was so bad we resorted to eating the childrens menu and eating out watching other guiests sampling goats hocks and other bits and more bits of whatever was in the dishes there used to be specials most nights on our last stay the special now offer is reheat nights listening to the microwaves dinging away watching the looks on peoples faces is the only entertianment on offer at this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Alan Robertson
9 years 9 months ago
we are just back from the cala font hotel , it was a late deal we got . our room looked on to the road so the curtains had to be shut , the food was i think recycled by which i mean the sausages which we got a breakfast was in some cases reheated and brought back out at dinner , sometimes the food was lukewarm ,there are 2 microwaves there to heat the food . the hotel is on a steep hill which can be bad if you have trouble walking , happy hour is between 11 and 12 which i thought was a bit late . The entertainment was not very good . the rooms were ok and the maids came in every morning to make the beds and sort of tidy up , it was our first trip to cap salou , i dont think we will be back there .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Abbie Price
9 years 10 months ago
We stayed for two weeks at this hotel on a half board basis and we will deffiantly not be staying again! the food was vile, sometimes not even being properly cooked and all the meat was just fat! the rooms were clean but the walls were paper thin so hard to get to sleep when someones got their telly on next door. reception staff were very helpful no fault there, entertainment didnt start till 10 at night so not good for kids. the worst hotel ive ever visited!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Constantine's
10 years 8 months ago
We have just returned today after 2 weeks at the Cala Font Hotel, the Hotel is nice and right on the Beach.

The Pool Area is lovely but if you want a Sunbed you have to be up by 8.30am to get your chairs is place as the Sunbeds don't get unlocked until 10.00am. This is a pain really, I think the beds should be put out each morning and each room should be allocated as many beds as their are people. I would recommend that you get a spot next to the roadside as this area has the sun all day long, on the opposite side the sun's only out until 4.30pm.

The Entertainment on a Evening is terrible, we didn't see one good performance during our stay.

The food was very repetitive, the same most days, by the end of the 2 weeks I was sick of Pasta and Salad.

The Bar wasn't too badly priced for a Brandy & Coke and 2 Cokes it was 8 Euros on a par with most of the other bars in the resort.

The shop in the hotel is very reasonable and the little chap was very friendly, we bought Airbeds for 3 Euros and a Parasol for 7 Euros (we used this around the Pool and on the Beach) as it does get very hot in the Afternoon.

The Rooms are on the small side but as you're only sleeping there it's not too bad. The maids came in most days but really apart from making the beds I don't think she does very much more as our floor was never swept in our 2 weeks stay. If you want fresh towels you have to leave the old ones in the bath. We hire a Safe 46 Euros for 2 weeks but you do get 10 Euros back.

The Reception staff are very friendly, but some of the bar staff were quiet surly. Elizabeth who works in the Poolside Snack Bar during the day and in the Bar at night is very nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

10 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the Cala Font Hotel for two weeks from 18th August, two adults and two children aged 6 and 10.

The location of the Cala Font in Cap Salou is briliant, probably one of the best we saw in the area with a fantastic view of the sea and a small beach literally on it's doorstep but the hotel is set on a very steep slope which can be quite slippy.

There are a few bars and restaurants within walking distance aswell as a play area for children with trampolines, mini go karts and arcade type games which cost 2
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

10 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the Cala Font for two weeks beginning August 18. After reading previous reviews about noise from neighbouring rooms we e-mailed the hotel about 10 days before the holiday asking for a room in a quiet location, ideally an end room on the top floor, away from the lift. We ended up in room 316 - an almost end room - and it was mostly fine. It was a bit disconcerting sitting on the loo listening to someone in the bathroom in the next room, but we found that the sound did not carry once we closed the bathroom door. The balcony door also seemed to block out noise from outside the hotel very well. Our upstairs neighbour seemed to spend a lot of time walking backwards and forwards in high heels at about 8am and midnight - but a good pair of earplugs soon blocked everything out and we all slept well generally.

We had a lovely view over the bays to Salou and the mountains beyond - loads of people would be on the path down to the beach in the evening taking pictures of the view. We could also see a small part of the Cala Font beach. The balcony caught the afternoon/evening sun, but there was often a lot of wind around in the mornings.

We thought the hotel was in a great location - Salou was packed every time we passed through it and the hotels there seemed to be very close to bars, etc. We picked the Cala Font hoping it would be quieter and also because it was next to the beach and certainly think that we picked the right place to stay.

I'd also been a bit worried about the reports of animals being allowed, but again experienced no problems because of this. My 9 year old son was delighted to see lots of dogs - there was one in the room opposite but we hardly heard it.

As most of the other reviews said, the hotel was kept spotlessly clean. There appeared to be a couple of occasions during the day when the stairs, lobby, etc were swept and mopped by an army of cleaners. Our room appeared to be thoroughly cleaned every day, although we always seemed to need to rub the sand off our feet before getting into bed. Towels were changed when we wanted them to be and our couple of requests were dealt with promptly.

We enjoyed the food in the restaurant and mostly had no difficulty in getting a clean table. We usually ate dinner early so never had any problems then, but our breakfast times varied and we had to queue for a minute or two once or twice before being escorted to a clean table. We normally had a bottle of water at dinner 1.50
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
We stayed here last year and thought it suited us so we went back again this year,its a very nice hotel situated within a small cove,views are beautiful as is the small beach,the food in the hotel is ok,with something on offer for everyone,although we did eat out a few nights just for a change,staff in the pool bar haven't grasped the concept that you can actually serve 2 people at once,especially if one only requires a drink and not food,so you can be left waiting while they are making a toastie.We always went into salou at night,because we knew about the hotel "entertainment" from last year,it cost about 7/10 euro for a taxi,the bus was 1.75 per person,the same coming back.I hired a car at the airport and the biggest problem I had was parking in the hotel carpark,what a nightmare,some of the parking had to be seen to be believed,be warned if you come back early evening you'll be lucky if you get a space.I would return to the hotel but I really would just use it as a place to sleep or get a late drink.The beach in La Pienada is relly nice and is usually less crowded than the main one in Salou so its worth visiting while your there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct holidays

Recommended
Harris
10 years 10 months ago
Have returned today from the cala font, Cap Salou, what an absolute disaster. Can I point out firstly the hotel is very clean.

We normaly go all inclusive, but decided to give ourselves a little flexibility and chose the half board option. The food in the restaurant is awful, on day 2 of our stay we had to inform the manager that the bread layed out for breakfast was mouldy, he promptly removed the bread but we was offered no appology, the very same day was chicken fillets for evening meal, my husband cut into his to find it raw through the middle.... uncooked meat is a regular occurance, especially when its cooked on the hot plate by the chef for you to watch.

Staff are over worked, there was a daily shortage of coffee cups, glasses and very often food, was not replenished quickly enough leaving people standing around, forming queues. Goodness knows how they will cope in high season. The restaurant staff tend to be lacking in communication skills also. rest of the staff tended to be quite helpful.

The chappy in the gift shop is the happiest man I have ever met, and he's very well priced, we purchased our own parasol for 7 euro rather than pay the guy on the beach 3 each day to hire one.(the sunbeds at the beach are 4 euro each per day, pedalos are 10 euro per hour)he also let us top up the inflatables if they began to deflate.

The entertainment is hopeless, and kids disco starts at 9.30 to 10.00 at night????? And ends at midnight, adult entertainment is watching the kids flake out from exhaustion 1 by 1.

The rooms are spotlessy clean on arrival, however very small, we had 3 single beds pushed together to make one huge bed, a 2 to 3 foot gap and then another bed against the wall, we did not unpack as there is one tiny wardrobe and would not fit 4 peoples clothes in. Not sure about every room but in ours you have to hold lid up on the seat when using the loo because the cistern is in the way and it only lifted part of the way............the list of moaning could go on, but I won't.

If you have already booked I hope you enjoy, if not stay clear, I cried on day 5 to come home, I'v never done that, normally I don't want to leave, I am not a fussy person, but sometimes enough is enough, I would never visit this hotel again even if it was for free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum