Image of Sunclub Salou Apartments

Sunclub Salou Apartments

25 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 47 reviews
4 stars
Carrer de la Cala de la Font, 1, 43840 Salou, Spain
The Sunclub Salou is located in a quiet area of the family resort of Cap Salou. The complex offers a good standard of accommodation and a selection of activities. Both the beach and a range of shops and restaurants are only a short walk away.

47 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 5 months ago
Stayed only for a week.Hotel room was kept very clean as the maids were in every day except Sunday. Pool and surrounding area were good though you had to be up early to get a sunbed.

Lots of kids to do and the reps were great.Tiny Tash worked her little legs off. Hotel staff not the friendliest and one of the receptionists frightened my youngest with her attitude. Everything seemed to much trouble for them, even getting us a extra patio chair as there were 5 of us got a cold deathly stare when asked for.

The food from the restaurant was awful and expensive. Saying all that the air conditioning was a welcome relief in the evenings and at around 12am the entertainment finished.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
WRIGHT
7 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the sun apartments in cap salou in June 2010.The holiday was great. Cannot understand some of the negativity i read before we went.The bins were emptied in our rooms every day and clean towels and bedding changed every other day.Full kitchen ammenities,2 electric rings however i suggest take your own electric kettle, toaster provided and microwave.Staff very friendly and speak fluent english.Located at top of a hill, and yes a bit hilly to go down to the restaurants and the beach but not an issue.Tiny Tash was the entertainment rep who was brill,with entertainment each night.The first choice reps were great with the kids all day (there were 4 on each day)Shop on site was well equipped sold plenty of english food but a bit expensive,but found a cheaper supermarket 2 streets away.You could buy food from the bar/restaurant in the hotel eg chips,burgers,etc,Only down point the pool was always cold! No fighting for sunbeds no matter what time of day you could always get one.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Kelly
8 years 4 months ago
I have just arrived home with my family after an 11 night stay in the Sun Club. It was not a bad hotel although I wouldn't go again.

I found the evening entertainment quite boring after 2 nights so didn't stay there anymore, there sound system made it hard to understand them when around the pool. I also would like to say please do not waste your money in playing the bingo or plate game as I clearly watched the same entertainer CHEAT twice firstly letting someone win 135 euros on bingo despite them missing their claim and still let them win after another 3 numbers were called, I them watched someone beg her to be chosen for the plate game and low and behold when the child picked the winning ticket she quickly took it off him and revealed oh its ********** to play. I then heard the lady chosen thanking her.

The pool was NOT cleaned regular.

We went for breakfast one morning at 9.30 then went for walk down the beach returned back at 1.15 and our left over breakfast was still sitting there and the only things enjoying it were the flies.(how nice) We were fully inclusive of all our drinks which was a waste of 480 pound for 11 days 2 adults 3 kids.. My husband was only ever allowed half a pint at a time in a plastic glass. For me all the local spirits were free which was not many I had the local Vodka which made me very ill after just 2 glasses. We were also given 50% discount on any other drinks but when it come to happy hour we had to pay the full amount to get our extra drink. WHY? The bar staff were never very polite nor smiled very much. However the hotel receptionist were great very helpful.

Be careful of the swimming pool drains this is the white plastic edging around the pool as my daughter fell down this when it collapsed and ended up with a massive bruise on her leg. Over all we did enjoy our holiday because it is what you make it at the end of the day but would not go back to the Sun Club not even if we won a holiday there.

Hey and the ladies outside who plait the children's hair are very lovely you can always barter with them as well I paid 15 euros for my daughter to have half head plaited and also knocked 6 euros off a 15 euro bag. The shop on site is expensive but no dearer than all the others around there.

I would highly recommend getting the express passes from Portaventura theme Park if you go as the queues to go on the rides in August were approx hour half long.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

S.J.
8 years 4 months ago
We're back a week or so after a 2 week holiday and we had a super family holiday,meself the mrs and 2 boys 9 and 7.The hotel was busy during our stay and perfect for a family stay.The rooms are spacious,air conditioned and adaquetly cleaned,we tend to do most of the cleaning ourselves anyway.We had absoloutly no problems with staff.The Hotel location is 1 of the big pluses. Bus Stop outside the door,very cheap once you have your buscard.5 minutes to Salou centre. 5 minute walk to pubs and restraunts of Cap Salou. The hotel entertainment was ok,but we headed out for dinner and entertainment mostly,although we had a fine breakfast the morning we departed.The hotel minimarket is well stocked but very expensive.We saved a small fortune by making the 5 minute walk to michael angelo supermarket,on the left in la pineada direction.If your looking for 5 star luxury this is not the place for you,but a practical base for a family holiday,perfect.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: falcon

Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
These apparments are in a great location with the bus stop right on the door step they are a really good holiday base, and a shop on site. night and during the day, i also found the girls doing the night entertainment very unfriendly and infact abit rude to the kids. The pool was clean but alitThey where clean the cleaners came around every day with fresh towels and to empty the bins.The first choice kids club team where great and the hotel staff where ok the big problem that let these apparments down was the night entertainment it was awful the same two girls every night and bingo bingo bingo almost every tle cold as the sun never seemed to hit around there and we found it hard to get space around the pool. The cafe in the hotel was not up to much but was ok for snack food like chips and burgers we ate in the smugglers inn one night which was lovely and then in the paddok every night which was a 5min walk from the sunclub. If you stay here get a prepaid bus card from sunclub reception it works out 1euro each way on the bus much cheeper than paying the bus drivers. All in all we had a lovely time staying in capsalou as i said the sunclub was a good base.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: falcon

Recommended
Claire
8 years 6 months ago
Just arrived back today from the Sunclub, me, my husband and 3 year old daughter had a lovely time. The apartments were very spacious, roomy and clean and tidy. Lovely big balconies and everything you might need there (other than a Kettle, definately worth taking a travel kettle as the hob takes forever to boil water). There was a Microwave, 2 ring electric cooker, extractor fan, toaster, juicer, jug,pots, pans, and the usual crockery plus a teatowel which amazed me as Ive never been S.C anywhere and been give a teatowel LOL.
The bathroom was spacious and shower lovely and powerful, hot water a plenty and clean towels frequently, theres a hairdryer too so no need to pack one! Absolutely loads of wardrobe space, 2 in the main bedroom and 2 in the living area.
The pool is average sized but clean and tidy, a small childrens pool and a park which to be honest is literally a slide and wendy house but a small basketball/football area to the side of it. Sunbeds were in short supply but there was only 1 day when we didnt manage to get them and theres a little grass so we put our towels on there, the poolside is shaded in the mornings but come lunchtime its great!
2 lifts in the hotel, quite small but we never seemed to wait long at all. Reception staff all spoke good english and were very helpful and polite, bar staff and shop staff english speaking too.
The Take Away and Restaurant were average but ok for a quick pizza or burger, its better to walk into the village if you'd pefer a good evening meal. Prices seemt steep but its our Euro exchange rate which is the problem, the prices over there havent really changed its just we are getting a lot less Euros for our Sterling. Prices of Take Out in Euro - Chips 2.60, Burger 4.20, Pizza 7.20, Bacon Sandwich 4.20, Coca Cola 2.10, San Miguel 2.60 (Happy Hour 2-4-1 between 7pm - 8pm)
The shop has a cash machine and was ok priced, bottled Water 0.45, ice creams 1.50, all english newspapers 2 euro's. Initially we found the food and drink costly but its again the exchange rate not the shops/restaurants at ault.
In Cap Salou village theres a few supermarkets and gift shops, a small funfair which has 2 bars, serves food and has nightly entertainment, its not fantastically polished but has a lovely holiday atmosphere and my little girl loved it. Theres some trampolines, electric dodgem cars, inflatable slide/castle, flying plane roundabout and plenty of football,air hockey tables and a small shooting range.
The Smugglers Inn was great, staff all friendly and mainly english, my husband had a T-Bone Steak and its was huge and so tender!
The Paddock was also a lovely place to eat with such friendly staff and a vast menu including Rabbit of all things LOL.
Transport into Salou was frequent, Buses every few minutes and priced at 1.85 Euro. A little Train (well it has wheels so not a real one! LOL) was a lovely way to get into Salou, it cost 3 Euro per trip but worth every penny, the green line and blue line both went into Salou and stopped directly outside the Hotel, a small taxi rank outside too.
The hotel is on a steep incline but we had a buggy and to be honest its a short walk so doesnt tire you out too much (secret is to have a beer before attempting and it doesnt feel so bad at all :) )
We didnt really stay to watch any entertainment but its was on in the Hotel nightly plus kids club stuff going on most of the time.
To be honest, I read tons of bad reviews before we went and was quite concerned but we shouldnt have been at all. Lovely place, lovely people, and to be honest it is a mainly Self Catering place therefore its never gonna be a plush 5* Hotel is it??!!

Well worth a visit, great fun!!!!! ooohhhh beaches lovely too :)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
the hotel itself is ok the fact that it's on top of a hill is a big factor with children .
food at the hotel was ok nothing special just plain.
entertainment was utter Dir i mean to me it seemed the same 3 girls singing as different acts every other night just awful.
the pool its self is heated now apparently and the twice we went in it it wasn't cold at all the children's end of the pool area was dirty wasn't swepl at all grit everywhere all the sunbeds were broke hardly any umbrellas for when the sun does come around the pool side.
the machine's inside the bar area are always breaking mainly because the kids are jamming the coin mec,s up the wrong money and the hotel don't want to no.
and it stats you can't reserve sun beds as your towel will be removed yet on are last day at 9 in the morning we counted 15 towel anbd not 1 person in site not even having food the more i write this the more i could go on and on im just glad we never spent much time there as we were always out
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Weaver
9 years 7 months ago
On arriving to the hotel we found checking into the hotel to be very efficient and organized. The room was very clean and spacious with all facilities needed!!! The staff and in house entertainment were excellent every night of the week, and no noise carried through the hotel . The location of the hotel is ideal, located near to the beach, a short bus ride to port aventura and a short bus ride to salou.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Scott Family
10 years 4 months ago
Just back from a weeks stay at this hotel, which is deffinately not 4 star, i feel it was a rip off to be perfectly honest i have been on much better holidays for less money.

One good thing about the hotel is the rooms, they are massive.

Bad points.... the hotel opposite has its entertaiment so laod it keeps you up till all hours if you have a pool view room. Also pool tables round pool are aload to be used until 1am, so as the balls are being dispensed it sounds like a huge roar of thunger and the kids are so roudy round them, ok if you are up till then but with a 2 yr old we were in bed slightly earlier than that.

Sun doesnt arrive around the pool till the afternoon and the pool area is very cramped.

Cap Salou was dissapointing, but Salou is a dive, better off going to Cambrills its only round the courner and a different class!

Lined and towels were change once whilst we were there...not nearly enough in my opinion!

As for daytime and evneing entertainment i dont know how first choice dare call this there hotel, they hire a girl froman entertainments company to do all the entertainment which consists of a quiz, bingo, a bit of a kids disco and perhaps another game show, then medica singers etc if you are lucky.

Very disapointed, worst holiday i have ever been on, disapointed with first choice as i expected better from them, will not be returning to this hotel or region for that matter
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Dawn Barlow
10 years 5 months ago
We found this hotel to be very clean, rooms cleaned on a daily basis except Sundays when you are just given clean towels and loo rolls. The pool was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds. The only down side of the pool area was that no snacks are served only drinks. Lunch is served in the restaurant as well as breakfast and evening meals. We tried the breakfast once it wasn't to bad there was a good selection including fresh made pancakes which the kids loved.

There wasn't much entertainment in the hotel and when there was it was Spanish, but we went out in the evenings so it didn't really matter. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and spoke good English. The location of the hotel was good, only a few minute walk from the main beach, which does get very busy. There were plenty of shops near the hotel including supermarkets, plenty of places to eat and small friendly bars.

One place we returned to many times for breakfast and evening meals was called the Vines, this was an English bar which served very good meals always very filling.

Beware of the pavements down the side streets many of them have loose tiles.

Porta Ventura is definitely worth a visit, there is something there for all ages and the shows are great. It is worth getting tickets for Porta Ventura in this country as you get a much better deal.

This was the 3rd time we have been to Salou and it is certainly developing over the years, but we would definitely go back again in the future, i would even stay in the same apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices