Image of Sol Costa Daurada Hotel

Sol Costa Daurada Hotel

44 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 42 reviews
4 stars
Avinguda dels Paisos Catalans, 43840 Salou, Tarragona, Spain

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs Y Kneesaw
Had a lovely week
3 years 8 months ago
Had a lovely week (half term) with my son. Very clean hotel with lovely pool area...service...food and staff lovely. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating. Evening entertainment could do with being reviewed. Hotel in a quiet area away from hustle and bustle of town although only a 10/15 minute walk away and same to portaventure theme/water parks although there is a courtesy bus. Very pleased would go again cannot fault.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave travel

Recommended
Chris
8 years 2 months ago
Excellent hotel, second visit, staff friendly, clean and lovely food. good location for our party as we went to see the WRC rally and we were just a 5min walk from the service park. We will definitely go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Sal
8 years 6 months ago
the hotel was spotless & the beds were comfy,we were half board &were upgraded to full board free of charge so we saved a good deal of money,there was a wide variety of food on offer hot &cold &plenty of desserts&fruit, the pool area could be kept a bit cleaner&the bus from the hotel could be more regular,it operates twice a day,(although its only a 10-15 minute walk into town) other than that we had a great holiday,i would recommend this hotel to friends we went as a family ages ranging from 50s down to a baby!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
I'm sorry, but I'm astonished at some of the negative comments about this hotel on here. Big, new and clean, easy to get to, 500m (if that) from Port Aventura, friendly and helpful staff, 10-15 mins walk to the beach, seafront etc. How big a food selection do some people expect? A huge amount of cold foods and salads to choose from. Of COURSE there's fish! It's by an ocean, with lots of FISH in it, where lots of locals go to FISH and to sell them! At least it's all fresh! On top of that there is tons of cooked stuff to have with chips, or boiled, or roast potatoes, or shallots, plus a cook at the end of the restaurant cooking fresh meats and, yes, fish!
Then, if you can manage it, you too can suffer 'death by dessert'!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Recommended
Brian Sains
9 years 6 months ago
Stayed at hotel for 7 nights with our children of 19 and 17, so not really kids but our children anyway !!

Rooms and hotel inside spotlessly clean, but pool area could have been better. Food fantastic, vast amount and selection for breakfast and evening meal.

Situated in a mainly residential part of Salou, and a 1 mile walk to beach, and a 200 yard walk to nearest supermarket, which you will probably need as the price of bar food and drink in hotel was very expensive, mainly due to poor exchange rate, 1.20 euro to pound.

Reception staff very good, and most of the bar staff too, but a few were a bit slow !!!

Entertainment, now then. At the time we went the Spanish were just starting their holidays, so the hotel had plenty of stuff going on during the day around the pool. At least 5 hours of young kids clubs and loud music by pool each day. In the evening, something every night and very loud till way gone midnight !!!

Half the rooms have poolside view, and there is no escaping for an early night as the noise is very loud, so if you want an early night request a non pool view room. That sounds bad but it wasn't, as the entertainment staff worked very hard. This hotel at this time of year caters for families with kids under 13 in my opinion, but we still had a great time, and I would say it is a 3 star and not a 4 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Susan
9 years 7 months ago
We stayed in this hotel from 12- 19th May. On arrival the main pool was closed Monday and Tuesday of our holiday. On the Wednesday we had a power cut for about 1 hour. On the Thursday the indoor pool was closed all day. And the water was turned off for 2 and half hours in the Hotel.
The food was very varied. If you like chips for breakfast then you'll like this hotel. There is plenty of fish in the evening.
The hotel is very clean but it is a 20 minute walk from the town.
There is a bus but it only runs 2 buses in the morning and 2 in the afternoon.
If lying at the pool be warned that there is loud rock music blaring all day. I asked 3 different members of staff to turn it down or off but i was completely ignored. The entertainment was mainly for very young children. I had my son of 14 with me and there was nothing for him to do and the entertainment was not aimed at his age group. The drink was expensive as well it was 10 euro for 2 vodka's. If using the indoor sauna and steam room it is 3.50 euro for 10 minutes.
I wouldn't use this hotel again. I didn;t feel relaxed at all at this hotel. There was nothing to do if the weather was changeable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Rutter
9 years 7 months ago
Have just got back from a week at this hotel 19th-27th May. We travelled as a family, grandparents, parents, 4 children (all well behaved) and an infant (10 months).
The hotel itself was fine, basically you get what you pay for and we had a really good deal on this hotel. Its fantastic for the theme park 'portaventura' 5 mins away, which was our aim of going (3 days), courtesy bus there and back from hotel.
Close to the centre , we walked into the centre/harbour everyday ...about 10 mins, if that!If you don't want to walk theres a little train that goes every half hour from hotel, 2 euros, you can either stay on it all the way around back to hotel (about an hour) or jump off where you want.

The pool and area was spotless, music just about audible (no loud music) which was good for naps by the pool.The rooms were spotless, ours overlooked the pool but there was no music or noise around pool in the evening anyway, mini fridge in room which was handy as we were making bottles up for baby every night. Towels changed and beds made everyday.
Indoor pool fantastic for baby to go in as outdoor pool was very chilly. You can pay a deposit and use hotel towels for sunbathing etc 10euros, which you get back when you return them.
The food was really good, had full and varied choice for every meal time (meat, fish, veg, potatoes, salad,desserts ...just about everything you can imagine, with even a separate 'fresh' grill area serving steaks etc, cooked in front of you!) ...compared to the rubbish food served in resort it was fantastic! (i put on half a stone unfortunately!!)
The vodka and coke was 5 euros, but to be honest the measures were huge so had to buy another coke to go with it, so worked out reasonable.The biggest tip i'd give you if you have children, is to buy a couple of kids drinks bottles and a bottle of squash to keep in room, we filled them up every mealtime to take down, we saved a fortune on pop!!

I wouldn't particularly choose to go to that resort again, but i can't fault the hotel at all, you have to remember the review is on the hotel and not the resort. I had read some horrendous reviews on this hotel before i went, so was dreading it, but was pleasantly suprised.

The main downside was the childrens disco, on every night at 9pm which was too late for our children who were all tucked up in bed exhausted by that time of night!! ...felt it should have been on 7ish!
The children aged (6,7,9,10 and 10 months) had brilliant time and are begging to go back again next year for the themepark. Will probably take them for a long weekend instead, but stay at this hotel, because its very reasonably priced.

I hope this helps :-)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Smith
10 years 2 months ago
The Hotel Was very good.

The only thing that let it down for me was the entertainment,the children had not a lot to do in the day time, my little girl loved woody woodpecker, he came to the hotel for the kids mini disco time two times a week,

The food was ok but if you dont eat fish you will find it hard as there was lots of fish, but on the whole the food was good,

the outdoor pool was very very cold, i used the indoor pool it was more like a bath,

The hotel is about a 5-10 min walk from beach and 10-15 min from port aventure, but you can get a free bus to both if you dont fancy the walk.

The hotel was very very clean,

We would go again, so overall it gets two thumbs up from us,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Julie
10 years 2 months ago
this was my 3rd time at this hotel,went out on a 40th birthday treat, 10girls having a girly 4 days.had great time,if you visit this hotel you will want to go back.our ages ranged from 16-50 all had a great time
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Les
10 years 3 months ago
The hotel was very clean rooms cleaned every day beds made and towels replaced in bathroom the pool is also cleaned nightly between 12am and 2am..The hotel food is what you would expect being abroad,not brilliant but not to bad and there was quite a wide selection they also had a cook at the back of the dining area who would cook you chops and beef ribs fried eggs and so on ,Hotel location was good close to shops and bars and only short walk from the beach,although there is a steep hill to go up on the way back to the hotel..Hotel staff where great always there with a smile and a nice welcome..Entertainment well where do we start the reps where really good but some of the so callled local tallent where rubbish thankfully they didnt have many nights with the local talent on but all in all a good time was had by all
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices