Image of Golden Port Salou Park Hotel

Golden Port Salou Park Hotel

19 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 48 reviews
3 stars
Pompeu Fabra, 32, 43840, Salou, Tarragona, Spain
The ever popular Golden Port Salou Hotel, part of the Golden Hotel Chain, is immaculate ans well run with spacious sun terraces, ideal for stretching out, especially as trees provide shade from he midday rays.

48 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lynne Bolstridge
golden port salou
5 years ago
Wouldnt say this was a 4 star. Have stayed in much better. Went in a group of 13 & felt at first like we were at a SAGA hotel. Lights turned off on us whilst playing pool at 12pm!!! Staff were pleasant & Israel aka Lola was brill.

Food was excellent but pool area was mainly shaded. Had to complain about the pool as there were bugs swimming in it. Kids fished them out in plastic cups!!. Thomson rep spoke to management as staff said there was nothing in the pool. Next day pool was full of chlorine which sent kids eyes red but bugs had gone.

We had a great holiday but this hotel really needs touching up in certain areas before it slips too far. Wouldnt stay here again unless it had a facelift.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

No entertainment for us dancers
8 years 3 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in May 2010, and we both enjoyed ourselves. The food was great and a great varied selection, I ate very well, as I mostly always do on holiday, thinking I would be dancing it off in the evening.

The deal with Thomsons couldn’t have been better. We paid 2 weeks half board price, and for an extra 1p per night each ( yes 14pence extra each for our 2 week holiday ) we were offered full board, yes I took up the offer, and only then to find when we got to the hotel, they upped it to full board plus, meaning that one soft drink or wine per meal was free.

As we are both dancers, and used to dancing in the evenings but alas, no live music / entertainment at all in this or approx. 7 other hotels we visited, no dancing therefore no weight loss!

The staff where helpful, rooms where clean tidy and cleaned to the normal stats. The location was good. In fact the whole experience was good, except sadly for the evening entertainment for dancing adults like ourselves, but that again wasn’t just in this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
B Cooper
8 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from our holiday having travelled with our daughter and son in law and their two children.Our first impression of Golden Port Salou was very nice.The hotel reception area was very bright and welcoming .Our room was quite spacious and very clean.In fact the first thing i look at is the bathroom and i was not dissapointed the towels and everything were immaculate.All areas including pool area were of a high standard in cleanliness.hotel staff were all friendly and the entertainment staff worked really hard especially the kids club.You could not fault the food plenty of choice.I will warn you if you are leaving on an early flight home you have to tell reception the night before if you want breakfast as the retaurant doesnt open till 7 45 am.Salou is nice and has a well kept beach although the sun beds and parasolls are expensive; 14 euros for 2 beds and a parasoll.We visited Portaventura but quite a lot of the attractionsand eating places were closed possibly as it was towards the end of the season but when you pay 44 euros each you would expect it all to be open .Take a packed lunch as the food available is daylight robbery.I would recommend the hotel to anyone .We enjoyed it but would not go back for a while as there is too many other places to go.I rate this hotel 5 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
8 years 10 months ago
Where to start!When we walked into the reception area we were instantly impressed by the look of the place very grand looking.The staff in the hotel are always happy to help nothing was to much trouble at all.The rooms are spotless and spacious air con was ok and they were made up and cleaned everyday and again staff always greeted you with a friendly 'hola'.The food was varied and plentiful I had no problem finding something I liked at every meal,the only thing that caught me out was that water at dinner has to be paid for but I understand that from next season you can choose a plus option to have drinks included.We visited the spa twice during our stay and it is fantastic
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Griffiths
8 years 10 months ago
staff are very friendly but little things let it down,pool needed cleaning my sheets were not changed as often as i would have liked,room not very clean towels when you wanted them,coffee making in room when you manage to get coffee and milk bought our own.The rep made the holiday one of the best ever,she restored my faith in thomson holidays
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Colin Whittock
8 years 11 months ago
Having stayed in several 4 star hotels. this rates as one of the best i've visited.
On arrival, i found the staff very very friendly, efficient and helpful. No issues whatsoever and their English is very good.
The hotel itself is in very good order and clean.
The rooms are adequate, not the best i've seen, but more than adequate. Aircon worked well, fridge could have been a bit colder but it was ok, TV (only 2 English channels plus Spanish German etc etc), kettle, hairdryer and a proper shower over a bath, so you get the choice. Theres a small safe in the room but they're about 18 euros a week plus a 6 euro deposit. Maybe that's normal...i dont remember the last place i stayed being that much.
Dining was brilliant...breakfast includes the usual full english choices, cereals, toast, salad/meat/cheeses etc, fruit, youghurt, croissants...there's masses of choice. Make sure you get to breakfast before 09.00, or you'll have to join quite a queue.
Evening meals, you're spoilt for choice. Soup, masses of salad/meat/cheeses etc, occasionally prawns and mussels and fruit of all varieties.
Then the choice of about 5 main courses from roast meat, griddled fish, loads of Spanish dishes like octopus, other fish dishes, meat based dishes...you really cant fault it (or remember it all).
Then some lovely gateaux, various small cakes, ice cream, sorbet etc etc...again, too much to remember.
Plenty of variety of fresh fruit again if you want to top up.
Drinks are ordered at the table, fairly good prices.
I've seen some complain about not being directed to the table. I found sometimes they do, sometimes they dont. I didnt read anything into this and it didnt bother me. Perhaps a little Spanish when greeting the staff helps...perhaps not, but they seem to appreciate it and it's not too much to ask, and not too much to learn...and perhaps it's got nothing to do with it.

Pools were good and clean...and stayed that way (i've stayed in some hotels where it slowly got 'dirtier' as the two weeks went on, then miraculosly got clean again as a new batch of holidaymakers were due)
Plenty of sunbeds, but get out at 9am if you want one in the morning...its a rush.

Didnt really see much of the entertainment, but was'nt particually impressed. Not bad, but not brialliant either.

I did think perhaps they could do with some more staff on the bar. Local beer is reasonably priced, but a whisky and coke cost about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Holidays

Recommended
Silvertopsy
9 years 1 month ago
Four-star hotel, but rooms more 3-star. Tea & Coffee and sugar sachets in room with kettle and very small fridge useful for keeping milk and other drinks cool. Our air-conditioning didn't work (maybe too early in season). Metal clothes dryer on balcony. Hair-dryer provided. Plenty of choice for breakfast, the restaurant gets very busy after 9am. Hotel very comfortable with plenty of seating everywhere. Two pools outside as well as childrens pool. Inside pool as well. Staff very pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ryanair

Recommended
Watson
9 years 2 months ago
Hotel clean, food excellent, lots of choice, some members of staff are very anti english, if you are non english you get pool view, and seated first in resturant., even when queing to be seeted you are ignored then you get pointed to your seat when others are seated. When i complained to thomson rep she was not aware said it was here first week in job and didnt seem interested. When speaking to other guests in hotel they all agreed that the english were not treated fairly. Would not use this hotel again and i pity anyone going.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

9 years 2 months ago
First of all, I couldn't believe some of the negative views of this hotel. We are English and had a lovely room with a pool view and were treat with the utmost respect in the restaurant. Evening meal was superb, particularly the theme nights. Food was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Breakfast was nothing special though, but it was nice to have coffee pots already on your table. Staff friendly and nothing was a bother. Can't understand people saying it was 15 minute walk to the centre. It took us 5 minutes. Seen a little entertainment as we went out most nights, but what we did see was very good. Pool area was lovely with a walk-in pool. There is an adults only area on the first floor terrace with hot tubs. Nice and quiet and chilled, but a real sun trap.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
James Polo
9 years 2 months ago
Brill
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum