Image of Jaime I Hotel

Jaime I Hotel

64 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 33 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Logronyo, 16, 43840 Salou, Tarragona, Spain

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not the best
5 years 8 months ago
Arrived in the mid-morning it was bright outside but the lobby is so dark stuck and in the eighties it took a while for my eyes to see. Got a room but because there was no air conditioning or heating as the balcony door was broken, I went to reception so after siesta they decided to re room us. Brilliant as the room had another balcony attached to it and stuck in the corner, the new room was fantastic. the hotel was ok but not and I stress not a 3 star accommodation, ok maybe a 2 star or a 1 and 1/2 star. It’s just stuck in the 80s.

Bathroom were very good and only modernised the made a hash of the baths had the taps out of the wall at the end of the bath and the other end had a plug under your bum and the overflow stuck in your back.so stupid. The lighting on the stairwell was not working only emergency lighting available on the stairs. But the corridors were ok again dark tiling stuck in the 80s.

The rooms are spotless and if there is one thing about this hotel it is the rooms are spotless. The bar however was in need of a refurbishment. The varnish on the pillars has well rubbed off and the quick splash of paint added lately is in a bad way. The dining room consists of 3 extremely large room catering for 1600 sittings at night. Ok the food is exactly the same for breakfast and dinner repetition is a good thing when dealing with that amount of people. It’s of ok standard but a little variation would help. There is a guy cooking fried eggs and pancakes he is fantastic he needs to be in management to show the rest of the staff public awareness. If there was a need for new young and I mean young staff needed it’s in the bar, it should be well rocking but it’s a deadbeat.

So all in all I had an ok-ish holiday in a close proximity of the beach (if they opened the side gate during the morning it would make it much easier for the customers. But the local pusher outside the gate is making a super business yes the drug pusher at the main gate as why they have a young man standing there after 5 o clock in the evening. It’s not a customer friendly hotel I would never recommend it to anyone so bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: self

Wouldnt recommend
6 years 4 months ago
Clean towels every day room sort of cleaned every day that's the good points. Bad points- food was awful, luke warm each night expected to get food poisoning but started to eat out every night after 2nd night there lots of choice but so bland and boring and cold staff not very friendly rooms very basic and anything you want had to be paid for like an iron or leave case in locked room etc pool area had plenty of beds entertainment was very childish all i can say really wont return.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Jackie
8 years 5 months ago
playa margarita salou spain.plenty of choice with food but all spiced and cold.hotel cleaners very pleasant and hard working lifts always in working order and air con good.two english channels both news.good location for young people not for me with an 80yr old.didnt feel safe on main street lots of pick pockets regularly short changed in shops and if you try to buy genuine article(football shirt)they blatantly try to swap it with fake.half way through week woke 2,15am by fire alarms raised by night porter as 4 men armed with guns and gas tried to enter hotel via fire escape,didnt sleep at night during the remainder of the holiday waisted the days in bed when felt bit more safe.neighbours arguing nightly into early hours anyway.lots of spanish entertainment and young children appeared catered for.would not go back if it was free
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

L Redican
10 years 5 months ago
first time we have stayed in this hotel before,but would stay here again.we were worried about staying here because of what we had read on different sites before going.no need to have worried,hotel was great,we stayed for 5 nights halfboard.

hotel was clean and tidy.reception is a little dated,but we didnt care about that.maids cleaned every day plus clean towels every day.they were nice and pleasent, as were all the staff.we were woken only once,as people were arriving late at night.

the food was fine,had a choice of different meals.some of which i would"nt have eaten,not because it was vile,but because it was"nt our type of food.catered for all types of people and tastes.as soon as you left the restaurant the table was cleared and ready for the next people.restaurant was very busy,but there was three rooms to choose from.so always found somewhere to sit and eat.

our room was also fine.i requested a pool view,which we got.it was great sitting on the balcony having a drink and relaxing.i have never written a review before,but wanted to take the time to do it this time because we were a little put off this hotel by what we had read,so i wanted to put the record straight,dont worry about going here, its good.i"ve stayed in a lot worse.hope you enjoy yourself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: xcape

Recommended
Emma N
10 years 6 months ago
Read many reviews before we headed away, and because I had organised this whole holiday I was quite nervous about the reactions of some of my group. However I found this hotel just perfect for what I needed it for, we all had maids every day, who were very pleasant, rooms were clean, sheets changed twice in our 10 day stay, fresh towels every day. Nothing wrong with the food, yes it may be a little repetitive, but its nothing less than what you would expect given the amount of people they are trying to feed.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for young families, or older couples, there seemed to be an awful lot of spainish kids on trips staying in the hotel, and they did not want to keep quiet at night, but as our group were quite young ourselves it didn't bother us as we were out most nights anyway.
Rooms are basic, but again its all you need, mostly three single beds to a room, there is a safe, but its 25euro to rent it, and you get 10euro back when you are leaving.
Hotel staff were all pleasant, apart from the waiting staff in the dining halls, probably onle because they were rushed off their feet, but at times they can be rude, so avoid them at all costs, I had a run in with one, and I promise I'll never sit at an unmade table again, not that I realised at the time!

Overall I was impressed with this hotel, there were no difficulties, the maids were lovely, the reception staff were helpful, the main pool was clean and enjoyable. Im not going to say the hotel was out of this world, it was average, but apart from the lifts breaking every single day, I have no complaints. My experience rating only relates to how I feel the hotel should rate, as it certainly isn't 5 star quality, but if you are looking for somewhere to put your feet up after a long day at the beach then I would recommend this hotel. I would definately stay in the Jaime I again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independantly Booked

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
We arrived at 10 pm so dinner had finished we were given a packed picnic type dinner which apart from the apple was inedible, at meal time it was akin to feeding time at chester zoo, its a hotel that is for the spanish who think they are the replacment germans for being ignorant they push your children out of the way to get to the food first god only knows why, the staff on reception are probably the most ignorant of all they excell in bad manners.
We got 5 towels to start but they only changed them two at a time for some reason every other day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

11 years 6 months ago
After reading the reviews on this hotel was not looking forward to going. Stayed here exactly ten years ago and thought it was fine then, however did only have one 2 year old child.

This time taking my three children, 12, 9 and 5. Hotel exactly as brochure said. Location pefect for beach, nightlife. Staff, didn'7t have much to do with them apart from checking in. No signature was required, no passports to be left with them during our stay.

On one occassion when we left our key card in the room we had to ask reception for another. They didnt ask for i d or anything which i found a bit unsafe.

The hotel caters mainly for the Spanish. Around 85% of people were Spanish. Mainly old ladies and loads of school children.

Entertainment was not of my standard.All Spanish. Worst place i had been to. Finished at 11.30 most nights, later on weekends. We spent most of our time at other bars and were lucky enough to get a sitter so got to sample many of the clubs and late night bars.

The food wasnt as bad as i thought, a bit repetetive but we did spend 2 weeks full board. Always a selection of hot cooked meats, fish, pasta and rice (typical spanish food)I didnt mind this but my other half complained. Children lived on pasta, french fries and ice-cream. No childrens menu.

I wouldn't return to this hotel. For the price we paid I think I could've gone and got better value elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Sam
11 years 6 months ago
Positives:
good location for town,beach,water& theme park, variation of food but mainly for the Spanish. No bad stomachs,clean rooms, life gaurd at the pools

Negatives:
(Here we go), very noisy hotel in the early hours because of gangs comming back from clubs drunk and trying to destroy the hotel. Lots of noisy school childeren too.

The restaraunt full of people with no manners, so when you go to get your food you have to push in and do the same, it was like a cattle market.

It was hard to communicate with the staff, their understanding of English was like my spanish(poor)and I didnt think the bar staff were very friendly neither, give them a tip and then its not too bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel/aspro

Bennion
11 years 6 months ago
jamie 1 we last visited 2 years ago which we loved so much we went back again and will be giong back this year again in sept the bar staff even reconised us again from two years ago which is pretty impressive with the amount of people they must meet in a year, again food was good ,not exellent but they do cater for a lot of countries,town is ex for astroll and what we like best shopping
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

Recommended
Steve And Maureen
11 years 6 months ago
we stayed in this hotel on a half board basis for the last week of june and the first week of july.
the hotel was kept clean to a basic standard. fresh towels every day but the bedding was only changed once and that was 3 days before we left.
if you go to this hotel then dont go on any board basis that involves eating the food here. i wouldnt feed the food they provided to farm animals let alone humans. it was the same every day, including the fact that it was raw. the kids menu was hard chicken nuggets, chips and beans. every day. we ate in the restaraunt for 4 days then went out after that.
the hotel staff were'nt very friendly or helpful. when we arrived at the hotel we were given our key and the receptionist waved her arm in a very vague direction and said 'over there' to tell us where our romm was. it took us 20 minutes to actually find it in the end. we had to climb 2 flights of stairs with 3 suitcases and a pushchair and a sleeping child because the lifts did'nt work. i only saw them working once the whole time we stayed there.
the balconies are totally unsafe because the railings are too low. it really wouldnt take much at all for someone to fall over them.
the rooms are really small. we had 2 double beds in our room so had to put my son and daughter in the same bed.
the entertainment in this hotel is awful. its all in spanish for a start, and one man and his keyboard is'nt what i would call entertainment.
and heres the worst bit, as if all that isnt bad enough. they have a really quite nice park in the hotel for the kids but you cant take your kids on there. my son was spat on, kicked, slapped, pulled about and one girl even gave him a chinese burn. and thats the spanish children. if they see someone playing on their own then they just pounce. you cant look away for a second. this happened around the pool too, hence we only spent one full day at the pool. (the rest of the holiday was spent outside the hotel. we only went back to shower or to sleep.). and it wasnt just our kids either. we spoke to a few of the english families who all said the same thing. there was also one incident where 2 english boys wanted to play football on the vol;leyball pitch and got told they werent allowed. 10 minutes later a group of spanish boys were playing football on there and there were allowed. when the 2 english boys asked why they werent allowed to play but the spanish boys were, the man in charge shouted at them.
the spanish in this hotel are extremely rude and arrogant. this hotel is for spanish people. it is not an english hotel and they make sure you know that.
i have already sent my complaint in to the tour operator and they are taking this hotel off their books. thats how bad it is.
.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro/mytravel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum