Image of Golden Avenida Suites Aparthotel

Golden Avenida Suites Aparthotel

7 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 76 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain

76 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    29
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Benjie
The Grandkids loved it
4 years 7 months ago
We had a great time here, previous reviewers have said it needed refurbishment, well it must have had it in the last couple of years because we found it to be of excellent standard. Rooms were spacious in an apartment style and very clean, with the maids in every day. Plenty of choice in the restaurant staff both here and in the bar were always friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Pool area was great for our Grandkids (5 and 18 months) with plenty of shallow paddling areas for them. There was the usual problems of people reserving sunbeds with towels but we always managed to get somewhere around the pool.

Entertainment was mostly aimed at kids, but that was good because our 5 year old Grandson loved it and the kids club they ran every day. Shops and Bars are only a five minute walk away, Beach about 10/15 mins. I would recommend this Hotel to any one with young families.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Nixon Party
A very tired hotel
7 years 5 months ago
A very tired hotel and would as per previous posts I would class this as more 2* than 3*plus. Food was basically chips with everything (even breakfast) and most of the time very unappetising! (Watch out for the bugs living in the bread display!)

Rooms were good size but in need of updating as they are now quite shabby. Room appeared clean on arrival, however it wasn't cleaned again properly during our 2 week stay. Basically the room smelt of stale urine for 2 weeks, the floor wasn't washed and the sheets weren't changed in the 2nd week. Heard others also complaining of poor cleaning so we weren’t the only ones.

If you get a holiday here as a cheap break then it'll be OK, We paid £2500 so are disappointed with what we got for our money. Also good luck if your room is on the roadside of the hotel apparently the noise is so bad people were asking to be moved. Drunk people going home in early hours singing, cars etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
LENNOX
7 years 6 months ago
The hotel has been a good hotel in its day in need of refurbishment. Difficult to get sunbed as there is a stampede every morning at 0830. Staff all very good would not return can be overcrowded and noisy around pool ok for children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMPSON

Hall
8 years 2 months ago
Got home last night after 1 week self catering. The hotel is loveley the staff are very polite friendly & hard working. The entertainment team are brilliant they manage to get everyone joining in but are not at all pushy. Dan & David are great these are the only names i can remeber but they were all great ! The barmen (one was from Senegal) were so polite helpful & friendly. the pools are loveley they are coldish but so refreshing in the hot weather. The rooms were a fair size for 3 we had a pool view which was nice. Did not have problems with noise at night. The life guard saved a little girl from near drowning he was just on his way back from his break & spotted her straight away & was straight in there ! I wish there had been a conventional oven & some smaller saucepans in the room as I woul liked to have done some more cooking (eating out every day especially with a 6ft 3 17 year old is expensive) but the room was very reasonable price via Thomsons we booked Ryan Air flights which also were very good but expensive in flight refreshments. well done Golden Avenida I will recommend to friends
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
Booked a week
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Stacey
8 years 3 months ago
This hotel was fantastic. Yes the rooms were basic and in need of a lick of paint but they weren`t untidy or dirty.

As people have said previously, sunbeds were a nightmare. As the beach was a good 15min walk away, the pool was the placce to be with young children.
The hotel wasn`t as busy when we visited and there was always sunbeds available just not in the location we wanted round the baby pool. My husband was one of the many others who joined the que at 8.45am to get us beds at the baby pool so we could watch our children. Towels were removed after 11am if no one was on them.

All the staff were fantastic, especially the kids reps. They really made an effort to get to know you and your children.

As food was expensive in the resort we bought a meal ticket for the hotel and it was the best thing we could have done. The food was lovely and such an amazing choice, they even catered for the kids with child friendly food like smiley faces and hot dogs.

All in all this place was brilliant and i would go back tomorrow especially if you like spending your days round a pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Gorrie
8 years 4 months ago
The hotel apartments were a little tired and in need of refurbishment but spacious and adaquate. We requested accommodation in a quiet location of the hotel and were placed away from the pool area, however we did find that the back of the hotel facing the road was probably worse with the late night revellers returning at all hours.

Drinks and poolside snack bar food expensive and poor quality but have only praise for the breakfast and evening meals which were first class.

Staff were really friendly and helpful and totally amazing with the children. The entertainment for the kids was fantastic and enabled us to have a great holiday break as well.

Our biggest critisisms are the measures by Thompson to try to manage the sunbed allocation. The hotel is specifically designed to attract children and families and as the beach is a 10 - 15 minute walk away and not particularly child friendly it is natural that most guests will want to remain at the pool. Sadly there are insufficient sunbeds around the pool area and one half of the outside pool area is shaded from the sun for most of the day.

I was amazed and bewildered by the fact that staff keep the entrance doors to the pool area locked until 9.00 am daily. The queue commences at 8.00am and by the time the doors are opened at 9.00am it resembles the stampede at Harrods sale, with guests running, jostling and shoving each other to get the best positons around the poolside. With all sunbeds claimed by an array of beach towels by 9.15am the madness decends into mass departure, as guests trundle off to the dining area for breakfast.

Despite notices that staff will remove towels from sunbeds left unattended we saw no evidence of this. We really felt for those families who wanted to keep an eye on young children in the pool who were beaten in the frenzy by couples selfishly wanting a premium sunbathing spot.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Jones Family
8 years 5 months ago
my family and i have just returned from salou staying at the avenida suites.
the food is excellent plenty of choice for everyone ,every night was really good one of the nicest hotels i have stayed in.
i think this hotel is really good value stayed in salou 4 times this is the best hotel.
entertainment of a night was ok couple of shows done by the reps and a couple of outside acts brought in
the hotel is expensive for drinks but they do have happy hour twice a night ,everyone gets drinks in the happy hours it was 4.80 euros for a vodka and coke
hotel is lovely and clean staff really helpful would definitley stay at this hotel again and would reccommend it to anyone enjoy if you are going wish i was.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Kelly
8 years 5 months ago
Hotel was always clean and rooms made up every day. Plentiful towels provided. The hotel rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Food is amazing plenty of choice and breakfast goes on til 10.15 so not too early either.

A fantastic hotel only negative was the drink prices if this hotel could upgrade to all inclusive im sure it would be unbeatable.

Would still go back as it was worth every penny!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
We stayed on a self catering basis, however we loved the idea that you could buy breakfast and or evening meal as you wished. We had a few and enjoyed them very much.

All the staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful especially Sarah and the tall guy at the Hotel Reception - he even printed me off details of all the Mango shops in Barcelona!

The entertainment at the hotel was good with plenty going on all day if you wanted to join in.

I cant fault anything at the hotel the rooms clean and tidy and clean bedding and towels daily, if yu needed more yo only had to ask. The cleaners were friendly pleasant and honest, they found a piece of jewelery of my daughter's and left in on her pillow. The rooms were good everything that you needed. The aircon SUPERB.

The bar staff worked very long hours and they ran a tight ship especially during the happy hours. The bar area and chairs were always kept tidy. The pool was lovely there were no inflatables which for some people in our party was a disappointment.

If I had to make one minor critism it was that the shop wasn't open long enough. But we survived there are plenty nearby

The Thomson Reps were friendly and helpful. Portaventura was amazing we did the night visit as we had teenagers. Barcelona I love and we did it again.

Salou itself was very busy we had a few great meals, special thanks to Ros in Uncle Sam's American Diner who was always friendly and cheerful.

CAFE Mumbai in the old town does the most amazing Chicken Tikka, what ever you do dont get it muddle up with Masala and Mumbai which are opposite each other,near to teh hotel.

Masala did the worse chicken tikka ever served on Cabbage, yes Cabbage!!! instead of onions. the portions were small and poor quality and extremely expensive. If you complain they dont want to know

All in all we had a great holiday and would go back again, Thanks to everyone at Golden Avenida
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices