Image of Bal Beach Hotel

Bal Beach Hotel

25 of 27 hotels in Bodrum

2 out of 5 from 8 reviews
2 stars
Koyun Baba Mevki, Gumusluk, Turkey

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wiles
14 years 1 month ago
OK just to add to the reviews already here.

All inclusive! What a laugh limited choice of food and the same almost every meal. Drinks only beer, vodka and wine with some soft drinks mainly cola, but only when you could get it, everything would run out all the time, one evening we only had water to drink!!

The staff seemed very fed up and couldn't speak any English apart from 'finish' which we heard a lot of.

The hotel was run down and dirty, I had to check the plates in the dining room and the cups were even worse, rings inside, drips outside and even lipstick around the rims on some.

The rooms, especially the bathroom was really bad, mould and grime everywhere, most stuff not working, and no change of towels or bedding for the whole stay, also ran out of toilet paper.

The steep road down to the pool area was patched and dangerous especially at night. And all the talk of the hotel not getting paid etc was a load of rubbish, one guest phoned the UK agent and was told they knew of the Turkish company going bust long before it did and had been paying the hotel direct, I just don't believe the manager was letting us all stay out of his own pocket!

And that wouldn't account for the state of the place. There was no entertainment at all. I have travelled extensively and have never been in such a bad hotel. I could write a book but I think the message is clear.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: nextescape

Dee
14 years 1 month ago
This hotel is located "at the end of the earth". There is no beach, no enterainment, no one speaks English and the menu consists of chicken, pasta, salads and more chicken and pasta!!!!! Drinks limited and often running out. TV does not work! There is nothing much for the children to do other than swim swim and swim. Never again. Travel to and from the airport costs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Your Holidays

Imp
14 years 2 months ago
We were there the first week of their season; it filled up towards the end of the week. Our package was suspiciously cheap, included transfers, from our local (Manchester) airport and no fuel supplement. Flight, transfers and hotel, all were fine. Hotel had reopened after a break. Our room was a bit musty, but clean. Comfortable bed. Room done each day. Nice touch, petals and rose arangement on bed after 1st night. Water never really heated up. Nice balcony, but not all rooms have them. Staff and guests were mainly from Turkey or the region. Not much English spoken but we all managed. Food was excellent. Lots of fresh salad, olives, feta cheese, rice and pasta, fresh proper bread, sweet sweets and good coffee. Mediterranean casseroles, mainly chicken,some lamb, some spiced beef. Turkish, tasty and healthy. It's about three miles from Gumusluk but by the sea. There are well kept grassy areas, a good pool, plenty of loungers, two bars, one free. . There is not a beach, but you easily access the water from a nice wateredge and there is a jetty that you can dive off. There are no other hotels, bars or shops within walking distance, but the local bus calls at the hotel. Entertainment; simple outdoor pool tables, tabletennis etc. Turkish europop from the bar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: bookable holidays

Recommended
Halliday
14 years 2 months ago
The hotel kept running out of butter, milk, cola, sprite and one day ran out of all drinks! tv did not work. wardrobe door fell off, drawers fell apart. balcony overlooked ceptic tank smell was awful.

We asked to move. told to move to family room below our one, still overlooking ceptic tank!!

Food was discusting.Chicken and pasta every day for 14 days!! no other meat or fish on offer. Would never go back even if you paid me. Hotel staff did best they could but always running out of drinks and supply of food. However not chicken!!

Hotel Manager could not speak English so very difficult to complain to him. When you ask for a drink the staff always say 'finish' all gone! No entertainment in the evenings for adults or children.

Sometimes no beer either. No beach just concrete.no hot water in room for four days. no clean towels for 9 days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompson

Matthew
14 years 2 months ago
Immediately before our arrival at the hotel the Turkish broker company who pass on the money from UK bookings went bankrupt. The hotel continued to accommodate UK guests despite having received no money from them (other hotels in the area kicked people out --- many people got moved to other hotels or had to go home early). I believe this reflects very well on the hotel, and the fact that they are keen to maintain a positive reputation in the UK bodes well for the future.

Therefore, the hotel were operating under severe financial constraints during our stay. This led to the food at meals being a little repetitive, and various drinks sometimes ran out at the bar.

The location is excellent --- the pool and bar area are immediately adjacent to the sea (although there is no beach). The sea is easily accessible.

The facilities were clean but basic. Acquiring clean towels and new toilet rolls may sometimes require a little proactivity.

The staff are extremely friendly, although their English is basic.

Do note that there is no entertainment on offer at the hotel, and there is nowhere within walking distance. However, buses to Gumusluk (10mins) and Bodrum (45 mins) are available on request, and very cheap.

Considering how little we paid for the holiday, and the constraints that the hotel were operating under, we were very satisfied.

Recommended as a quiet break, not suitable for children or adults looking to party.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: hotels4u

William Parker
14 years 2 months ago
just back from bal beach hotel it could be a really nice hotel. scenery is lovely; but food is not. If you have kids forget it, there is nothing for them to do or eat. You can get chips and pizza by the pool, but you have to pay extra for them and they are not cheap. we only had hot water twice in 7 days and hardly any staff spoke English including the manager. Therefore it was a waste of time complaining,I know there were problems with payments from UK, but don't think that made any difference as far as food and language goes.So if you are going too BAL BEACH HOTEL good luck!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: AI Travrl

Sarah
14 years 2 months ago
Do Not go!! Change your hotel now if you can. If you cant take lots of food, drink and toilet roll. Do not take kids as they will drive you mad with their complaints of boredom. Do not take kids that cant swim. (pool too deep and no shallow end) wear shoes at all times as walkways are hazzardous and remember to keep on in shower as tiling is so bad my little one cut his foot. Do not visit outside toilets unless wearing nose plugs and you have a keen interest in insects and mildew.

Anyone looking to loose weight this is your ideal hitel, chicken and pasta every day for two weeks, no choice or alternative apart from fly salad. If you like a drink remember the duty free as they do not replemish stock (1 bottle of vodka a week or so it seems) beer lovers , well you wont be unless you like flat warm plastic bottled beer.

Hotel ran out of food and drink not just once but on a regular basis, the deal we had was reasonably priced but there were alternatives at booking that I am pretty sure would have at least fed you in the all inclusive package.

The jetty is broken and in need of serious repair. The beach is concrete and the only bit of remotley soft sand is a hazardous climb across a wrecked boat complete with 4 inch nails sticking out.
Maybe in a few years time when they have sacked the manger whose one purpose thoughout of stay was to inform us he didnt speak any english (unless you were a bikini clad teenager) and to shout and bang his fists at his staff, who had little to do as there were no drinks to serve, it may improve. The views are fantastic but they lost their appeal as hunger and thirst set in.

Good luck to anyone who dare venture to this hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: planet travel

Bal BeachHotel
14 years 2 months ago
We travelled as a couple to Bal Beach Hotel in Gumusluk in June 2008, We arrived at the hotel and met with a turkish man at reception unfortunately he did not speak any english so we were just led to our room and just left to it, we could not get any information about the hotel or the resort such as meal times etc. Hotel was situated in a beautiful location by the sea but we were disappointed with the rest of the place, the staff were polite towards the end of our holiday but spoke very little english so communication was very hard. The food was terrible chicken, chicken and chicken!!!! oh and salad... for breakfast lunch and dinner. Limited alcohol, beer was nice but on many occasions there was nothing but beer or water to drink especially in the evenings, they promised entertainment but did not deliver any, very disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Holidays 4 U

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.